Opinion Commentary & Media VIII

Albanese is the worst prime minister we have had, which is saying something.
This is flat out wrong.

In May 2019 Scott morrison was warned by a group made up of the former (ie retired) heads of every fire fighting organisation in the country that he needed to release federal money money set aside for aerial fire fighting and book in fire fighting aircraft from the international fleet. He chose to ignore that warning because he didn't like the optics of that decision - making him look like he might acknowledge climate change was real.

Because of that decision those fire fighting aircraft were not available during the 19/20 fires and in specific cases their non availability meant fires that could have been stopped earlier burnt property and in some cases killled people.

Morrision released the money in December 2019 to plenty of fanfare but by then it was too late as the aircraft were already elsewhere being used in other situations.

Some of Albanese's decisions are questionable but nothing he did was on the scale of that incompetent buffoonery.

Look, in my younger years, I used to hold what I now consider very sh1tty views. Even then, the only significance I attached to this particular date back then was that it pissed off the 'other side' to my politics.

I am grateful that I do not hold those views anymore. With an epiphany of empathy, I began to understand that we simply can't have a date to celebrate our country if that date is so obviously awful for its original inhabitants, and something which often goes unsaid, is also so closely linked to the British Empire ripping its underprivileged citizens from their homelands and deporting them to the other side of the world. It's madness.

It really is absolutely not a big ask for Australia to pick a date that includes all and isn't a stark reminder of all the pain and loss that they've been through, and yet it would help so much.

The only thing stopping this change is childish team sport politics, IMO.
The most obvious point about that is that Jan 26th is the day a colony called NSW was formed. Australia began on January 1st 1901.

India celebrate their national day on January 26th too.

They picked that day because it was the day they ceased to be a colony and became an independent country.

We pick the day we a part of the east coast ceased to be a bunch of independent countries and became a colony.

Out of curiosity, as was always a big thing when some of us were younger, is the Hottest 100 still popular?

Not sure for some of us, it would have been a big part of coming of age as it was back then?

How about December 3rd? Eureka Stockade?

Hear me out, when miners of all backgrounds European, Asian, Indigenous, and all other cultures made a stand against the tyranny of the police at the time as mates back in 1854.

Given that Australia is such a multicultural country and our matesmanship. January 26th also wasn't the birth of a nation either.
I love it but not Sydney centric so won’t fly

Fair point. As always Sydney have to make it about themselves before we agree on anything.

You’d reckon it would be easy enough to pick a date that everyone could get behind. Today could be designated as Captain Cook Day.
Lol you mean Captain Phillip Day! He set up the penal colony. Maybe in Victoria we could commemorate the opening of Pentridge, same thing.

Stick to trying to win games of football NMFC. It’s by far the most important thing the club needs to do. Focus 1000% on that.

Another bottom 2 finish won’t sit well with a lot of fans, despite being “inclusive” and promoting “equality” and making Arden St a “safe place”.

Win games of footy. That’s all most fans care about.

Ummm...what? Trade, draft, injuries...vibes??

SEN are responsible for inflicting the comedy stylings of Andy Maher on us five days a week, but this may be the dumbest thing they've ever put forward.
I dig your vibe, man.

Ummm...what? Trade, draft, injuries...vibes??

SEN are responsible for inflicting the comedy stylings of Andy Maher on us five days a week, but this may be the dumbest thing they've ever put forward.

It seems they're trying to gee the Dogs up for the first game of the year against us.

Stick to trying to win games of football NMFC. It’s by far the most important thing the club needs to do. Focus 1000% on that.

Another bottom 2 finish won’t sit well with a lot of fans, despite being “inclusive” and promoting “equality” and making Arden St a “safe place”.

Win games of footy. That’s all most fans care about.

Yeah nah.

Collingwood have done plenty of winning but turned off comments and copping it from loudmouths in quote tweets. Precisely 100% of angry north posters in this thread would be angry even if we just went 26-0.

Yeah nah.

Collingwood have done plenty of winning but turned off comments and copping it from loudmouths in quote tweets. Precisely 100% of angry north posters in this thread would be angry even if we just went 26-0.

For a 26-0 W/L record… I’d almost let Piers Morgan run the club

This is flat out wrong.

In May 2019 Scott morrison was warned by a group made up of the former (ie retired) heads of every fire fighting organisation in the country that he needed to release federal money money set aside for aerial fire fighting and book in fire fighting aircraft from the international fleet. He chose to ignore that warning because he didn't like the optics of that decision - making him look like he might acknowledge climate change was real.

Because of that decision those fire fighting aircraft were not available during the 19/20 fires and in specific cases their non availability meant fires that could have been stopped earlier burnt property and in some cases killled people.

Morrision released the money in December 2019 to plenty of fanfare but by then it was too late as the aircraft were already elsewhere being used in other situations.

Some of Albanese's decisions are questionable but nothing he did was on the scale of that incompetent buffoonery.

I’m not sure I’m ready for a debate with someone who says some of Albanese’s decisions are questionable.

I’m guessing you also think Dan Andrews was a brilliant premier who did a great job during Covid and left the state in great shape?

I’m not sure I’m ready for a debate with someone who says some of Albanese’s decisions are questionable.

I’m guessing you also think Dan Andrews was a brilliant premier who did a great job during Covid and left the state in great shape?
Thanks Sky after dark.

The most obvious point about that is that Jan 26th is the day a colony called NSW was formed. Australia began on January 1st 1901.

India celebrate their national day on January 26th too.

They picked that day because it was the day they ceased to be a colony and became an independent country.

We pick the day we a part of the east coast ceased to be a bunch of independent countries and became a colony.

Jan 26 has always been NSW Day. That alone should be reason for any proud Victorian to reject it as the preferred national day.

I too am from a European immigrant family who helped build our modern county.

We’re not forced to feel guilty, and nor do we. Our own ancestors have been through similar. We’re not that soft as to think it’s about us either.

We’re reminded of the ppl important to our country who lost their lives. We’re reminded to have a chat, dad brings up that road trip to Perth story from 20 years ago for the hundreth time and how mum almost made us have an accident.

We continue our day.

No body’s forcing you to do anything other than be a normal compassionate human being.

No ... I'm saying the failure to get those aircraft leased in the light of the advice given and conditions on the East Coast at the time was an abysmal failure and worse than anything Albanese has done.

Especially because it was done on the basis of trying to virtue signal that climate change wasn't real. He ignored the advice of experts because he wanted to appeal to people who were wrong (ie factually incorrect) about something else and was scared that listening to those experts might send "the wrong" (ie factually correct) message to the rest of the population about that something else. As a result he made the worst natural disaster in Australian history worse than it needed to be.

That set of stupid decision making on its own is enough to make Scummo the worst PM we've had since Howard.

No ... I'm saying the failure to get those aircraft leased in the light of the advice given and conditions on the East Coast at the time was an abysmal failure and worse than anything Albanese has done.

Especially because it was done on the basis of trying to virtue signal that climate change wasn't real. He ignored the advice of experts because he wanted to appeal to people who were wrong (ie factually incorrect) about something else and was scared that listening to those experts might send "the wrong" (ie factually correct) message to the rest of the population about that something else. As a result he made the worst natural disaster in Australian history worse than it needed to be.

That set of stupid decision making on its own is enough to make Scummo the worst PM we've had since Howard.

It was obviously a massive gamble to take in the pursuit of culture wars/virtue signalling but not to him as he honestly believed he had Jebus on his side.

It wasn't even a gamble. We (ie anyone who had anything to do with fighting fires and anyone who lived in rural nsw) all knew it was coming.

Opinion Commentary & Media VIII