Commentators sniping players tonight

tomthetiger said:
Who cares what the commentators have to say? The people who watch it ffs! I care personally, because I can't enjoy a game of footy anymore without it being ruined by smart asses like Dennis, Derm and Gary. They joke around more than they actually commentate, and in a very arrogant and irritating manner. To say it should just be ignored - especially considering some of the far less relevant stuff that gets posted here - is just foolish.

Give me the dry channel 7 commentary team any day. Too many attention seeking whores calling these days. I blame rex hunt.

how bad was it v pies when we had the collingwood assistant coach Michael christian comentating...at one oint he lost the plot and thought he was coaching the team.....SOS had to say to him are you coaching or comentating

Melbourne thinks its the hub of footy knowledge...funny that when was the last Melb team to win a flag......they know nothing.....

Bring in 7....7 have said they have aa new style of comentating wher they say less and let the pictures tell the story....the game is over comentated in my view....just shup up all of them.......

Cabbie said:
Melbourne thinks its the hub of footy knowledge...funny that when was the last Melb team to win a flag......they know nothing.....
Perth and Adelaide commentators are just as bad.

We need blokes who can leave an allegience at the door and actually watch all the games every week...surely thats not too much to ask for blokes paid the amount they are

Underdog said:
Perth and Adelaide commentators are just as bad.

We need blokes who can leave an allegience at the door and actually watch all the games every week...surely thats not too much to ask for blokes paid the amount they are

You are right.

Brucey was never a state bias caller, he had his 'special' players but called it how it was. It will be good to have him back calling AFL, the guy is a wealth of knowledge on the game.

Embers said:
One incident involving Derm and Gary Lyon after Staker took a mark in the square, Gary said you have crossed his name out and Derm goes on to say Staker isnt a footballer.

Sure commentators can criticise players but a comment like that was really unnecessary and went too far. It was taken too a personal level, and despite Staker had taken the most important mark in the game to date they continued to barrage him with insults

Criticise, but theres no need to bully players like that. He had an off day today Staker on a good opponent, forgetting the fact he had a very good game the week before hand.

Very poor form and a reason why I cant wait till Channel 7 get the rights next year, they have class.

Of course no one on Big Folly snipes other teams / players.

Stakers last qtr in the GF stick in alot of people memories rightly or wrongly. I dont judge a player on one game that is for sure.

Yes bring on Don Scott and and Robbo.

I too noticed that the commentating was fairly Melbo-centric. Whatever was happening it was how the Saints could do better, or how the Saints were playing well. However, it's to be expected as it was a game over East and they are commentators from over East. At times it seemed that Dennis couldn't get a word in.

Our commentators are just as bad though, if not worse though. Apart from Cometti, Gossage and Lane are horrible. They aren't really even true Waussies. I agree with Underdog. These guys get paid to commentate the game so they should take time out of their busy schedules to learn a bit of background knowledge about the teams that are playing. I mean West Coast's midfield had been their weekness leading up to their game against Adelaide. Our forward line was doing decently and our backline was holding us up many times when the rest went missing.

Channel 9 is going downhill at a rate of nots, and not just AFL coverage. Won't miss them at all. The AFL are changing stations at a good time.

Cabbie said:
how bad was it v pies when we had the collingwood assistant coach Michael christian comentating...at one oint he lost the plot and thought he was coaching the team.....SOS had to say to him are you coaching or comentating

Bring in 7....7 have said they have aa new style of comentating wher they say less and let the pictures tell the story....the game is over comentated in my view....just shup up all of them.......

You are so right ..have a simple solution Cabbie.

Why dont the two WA teams each other 22 times year. and best out of 5 in the finals.

You dont need Melbourne.

SingaporeSling said:
You are so right ..have a simple solution Cabbie.

Why dont the two WA teams each other 22 times year. and best out of 5 in the finals.

You dont need Melbourne.

Or how about commentators, whether they're from Melbourne or not leanr a bit of background information about the teams that are playing so they aren't just reciting the same old boring crap.

Embers said:
One incident involving Derm and Gary Lyon after Staker took a mark in the square, Gary said you have crossed his name out and Derm goes on to say Staker isnt a footballer.

Sure commentators can criticise players but a comment like that was really unnecessary and went too far. It was taken too a personal level, and despite Staker had taken the most important mark in the game to date they continued to barrage him with insults
Dermie says it the way it is! Did you see when Rob Harvey took a mark 35mtrs out staight in front. Dermie says that he would be the #18 on the list you would want to take this kick. Harvs went on to miss the goal.
Dermie knows his stuff and will comment if it is good or bad:thumbsu:

I'm now convinced people in WA have a bigger chip than that from SA - and that's saying something.

Last night you had the WA biased, Eagle adoring Commetti. Add to that the St Kilda hating Dwayne from SA (not sure why he hates us, his Geelong connection I presume) and Dermie & Gary who I wouldn't describe as either pro or anti St Kilda.

Fair dinkum, is there an aspect of last nights game you morons haven't complained about? I wouldn't be surprised if you're disappointed you won - one less thing for you to whinge about

Embers said:

Criticise, but theres no need to bully players like that. He had an off day today Staker on a good opponent, forgetting the fact he had a very good game the week before hand.

Very poor form and a reason why I cant wait till Channel 7 get the rights next year, they have class.

You should try barracking for Collingwood - we get that crap every week. Stephen Quartermains the worst.

Get over it.

Hadders said:
You won the game, who really cares what the commentators say. Are you so insecure that you care to start a new thread about it?

Exactly. People give too much credence to the spoken word of commentators as if they are the oracles of the game or something. Just remember, these commentators are entitled to their opinions, just as we are, and that's all the weight it carries. It's up to West Coast to determine if Staker is a footballer, not the commentary box.

JeffDunne said:
I'm now convinced people in WA have a bigger chip than that from SA - and that's saying something.

Last night you had the WA biased, Eagle adoring Commetti. Add to that the St Kilda hating Dwayne from SA (not sure why he hates us, his Geelong connection I presume) and Dermie & Gary who I wouldn't describe as either pro or anti St Kilda.

Fair dinkum, is there an aspect of last nights game you morons haven't complained about? I wouldn't be surprised if you're disappointed you won - one less thing for you to whinge about

if you saw it from our perspective your opiinion would differ...every week we put up with dumb victorian comentators like Michael Christian (a Pies assistant coach) Walls Dermie and Lyon and who know crap.....Lyon isnt a premiership player...he was a great player but not elite............yet he carries on like he won 10 of them....he bags west coast structure......a structure that kicked 26 goals last week and 14 last night on a dodgy surface......and has 14 games from 18 this season.....

and after the game all they did was bemone Macguires injury...yeah its sad blah blah blah but geez we saw a great performance last night and after the game it barely rated a mention...even DUMB TonyJones started TELLING kerr how bad macguires incisdent was........geez FFS ask him about how we went.....

the networks are based in vitorian owned by vitorians and to be quite honest
the Victorian Bias is pathetic...and for people to sit thier and defend it is laughable

Hadders said:
And those good points were? That Lyon and Derm didn't bow down on their knees and praise the efforts of every Eagles player tonight? I heard plenty of praise heaped onto a lot of Eagles players yet a criticism of a player who isn't doing as well as he can is not allowed?

I'm sorry I didn't realise that the eagle was such a protected species in this country.

Dont try that immature **** with me, it really wont work. I wont comment on the above but perhaps you should try using your head before acting on things in the future (a word of advice both Collingwood supporters and players alike, could use).

Adelaide Hawk said:
Exactly. People give too much credence to the spoken word of commentators as if they are the oracles of the game or something. Just remember, these commentators are entitled to their opinions, just as we are, and that's all the weight it carries. It's up to West Coast to determine if Staker is a footballer, not the commentary box.

hang on sec......

as viewrs we have to right to fair and balanced views also.....OK then I'll get on thier and say harvey and Pecett are slow and has beens...imagine if that was said you would all be raising your arms saying how bad that is......

I didnt here one bit of criticism of Gehrig or Riewoldt last night...if I was comentating

I would say gehrig ios lazy and ought to get out of the gym for 5 minutes and onto the running track and Riewoldt ought to get out of the beauty salon and learn how to kick...limagine the outrgae if that was said...and to be homnest thats what needs to happen......BUT YOU wont here it from the fair and banced VIC comentators

Cabbie said:
it was odd and pathetic.....VIC comenatators want the vic team to win and cant stand the way west coast goes about it....we were in front all game yet they were bagging US...have a look at the opposition...not once did Lyon criticise Gehrig for being lazy...or have a go at Riewoldts shonky kicking action......all they di was praise the midefiled because thats all they know (gee they read the paper!!)....no superlatives for Graham who was super and Brett Jones who was great...I dont think they even realise who brett jones is let alone give him a good comment

I love it to be honest stick up the VICS again:D

Well, I was very ****ed off with the commentatores. I thought they were actually barracking for the Eagles. Very quiet when the Saints scored and almost wet themselves when the Eagles scored a goal.

thought it was very un -Victorian of them. Dennis as usual rooted for the west, but that is understandable.

Of course they were critical of roo's kicking style. Bagged him more than once. were you listening with the sound off. FFS. :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Graham wasn;t "super". Roo should have kicked 7 goals.

On the other hand, your mid-field was superlative. Killed us, WHICH WAS WELL RECOGNISED.

mike14 said:
I can't believe people still actually watch AFL games with the volume on.

I try not too, but it was a delayed telecast so there wasnt much choice. From now on though, volume goes off.

tomthetiger said:
Dont try that immature **** with me, it really wont work. I wont comment on the above but perhaps you should try using your head before acting on things in the future (a word of advice both Collingwood supporters and players alike, could use).

And why won't you comment on the above? Oh that's right your a Richmond supporter, your attention span won't let you understand any response over a single line. But wait a second...are you really a Richmond supporter?? "The Judd of Big Footy", well it'd explain why you've whined about the commentary last night.

i agree with previous poster that ch9 commentary team have lost the plot from the continual rubbish they talk about OTHER than the footy. they remind you of blokes going to work on a monday morning talking about there weekend at morning smoko. get back to what you are supposed to do and commentate the footy leave your banter for when your having a beer after the match. oh and on denis c. has been going backwards the last 2 years because of the above:)

It was embarassingly bad...Brereton was pathetic.

Not only the Staker crack but he had a go at Riewoldt for only being able to kick when no pressure was on him....which history says is utter crap...kicking yips YES...is that common during a blokes career ?..YES...but why label a champion CHF a junk time player ???....BECAUSE IT BIGNOTES BRERETON THATS WHY !!!...he acts as tho he never had periods of poor kicking or lack of form ...TOTALLY UP HIMSELF

Then in junk time he had another go at Riewoldt for producing goals when the game was over...what the hell is he supposed to do ?...give up coz the game is over ?...NOT try anymore perhaps ?

Brereton is chock full of himself at the moment and needs to have a good look in the mirror....they never bring out the BAD footage of him ..the hundreds of easy missed goals...the times he gave up on the field and lay down....all we see are "highlights" of ex-players.....some of them believe their own press.

Staker didnt have a shocker...he was simply beaten...nor did Riewoldt....but if u listen to Brereton u'd swear he's the only bloke that knows how to play footy....

BRERETON HAS BECOME EMBARASSING

GET HIM OFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF !!!!!!!

Commentators sniping players tonight