Confirmed Commentators for 7/Fox next year.

I read somewhere a few weeks ago the line up of seven's callers for next season , was nearly spot on except no malthouse of course . However Sandy Roberts was listed as calling the saturday afternoon game with McLaughlin . Zempalis was to call games in Perth . So I guess I am asking , is Sandy Roberts completely out of the scene now ? I am nostalgic and wouldnt mind hearing him call again on the tv .

is Sandy Roberts completely out of the scene now ? I am nostalgic and wouldnt mind hearing him call again on the tv .

I feel the same way. It would be nice to hear an old-style caller who isn't making up new words all the time and using Americanised language. Hope he calls at least a few games. He hasn't called AFL for many years though. I assumed he had retired from football because otherwise why would they have Bruce and Dennis calling every game when they have a demonstrably superior caller in Sandy already in their stable?

I don't really miss Roberts calling football. His tennis commentary each summer is just awful, I'm pretty sure I can do without him the rest of the year.

Luke Darcy????? Of all the people 7 could poach from 10, why get the worst, least knowledgable muppet on their payroll? They may as well have nabbed Strauchanie for special comments.

I'll withhold judgement on Basil. The guy is a complete tool, but he's got a reasonable voice for TV. He might make a decent commentator.

I feel the same way. It would be nice to hear an old-style caller who isn't making up new words all the time and using Americanised language. Hope he calls at least a few games. He hasn't called AFL for many years though. I assumed he had retired from football because otherwise why would they have Bruce and Dennis calling every game when they have a demonstrably superior caller in Sandy already in their stable?

He calls on the country radio stations for the ' crocmedia ' group . Has for the past couple of seasons , Peter Donegan on there also . These dudes are heaps better play by play footy callers than some of the guys on tv .

So the channel 7 footy commentary team next season will be:
commentators: McAvaney, Commetti, Taylor, Zemplis, McLachlan
special comments: Harley, Matthews, Malthouse, Darcy, Kirk
field commentary reporters: Watson, Richardson

Is there someone I missed? Will there be more inclusions? Thanks.

He calls on the country radio stations for the ' crocmedia ' group . Has for the past couple of seasons , Peter Donegan on there also . These dudes are heaps better play by play footy callers than some of the guys on tv .

Ah, very interesting. Good to know the old guys are still in practice - maybe one of them will get a guernsey at 7 at some stage. I know it's unlikely because they are not young anymore, but my great memories of football are from the times of the great callers and I'd love to hear some of them again. They had the right mix of accurate calling and appropriate levels of excitement. These days it's all hyperbole, nothing statements, useless "analysis" and nonsense language.

I have a feeling channel 7 are trolling.

Or maybe they bought a shitload of fox shares?

They can't seriously be trying to get people to watch their broadcasts with these no hopers?

It is obvious 7 have run out of money, hence the hiring of cheap as chips flogs like the bristle and Luke Darcy.

BT would be one of the highest paid commentators in the game.

Confirmed Commentators for 7/Fox next year.