Coronavirus 2020 / Worldwide (Stats live update in OP) Part 7: This Thread is for Reasonable ON TOPIC Discussion

In the peak fortnight of the outbreak to date (25 August to 7 September), the COVID-19 case rate among 2-dose vaccinated people was 49.5 per 100,000 while in unvaccinated people it was 561 per 100,000, a more than 10-fold difference. The rates of COVID-19 ICU admissions or deaths peaked in the fortnight 8 September to 21 September at 0.9 per 100,000 in 2-dose vaccinated people compared to 15.6 per 100,000 in unvaccinated people, a greater than 16-fold difference.

My issue is he is wheeled out as an expert when he's just an ABC journalist that knows a bit more about medicine than the average journo
He's been given a big platform to push his views and called an expert by his employer, it's the kind of sh*t I get pissed off at commercial news for doing.

He's not an expert in vaccines or viruses or pandemic responses and he's not currently practicing which means there is no requirement for him to keep up with his training.

His voice shouldn't be given more weight by the public than actual experts in the relevant fields
How is anyone surprised by this? It's like an "experts comments" in the AFL from someone who knows barely more than the people actually watching the game.

I'm not sure what more people want to know? Worried about getting sick? Get vaccinated. Get healthy. Wash your hands. Drink bleach.

How is anyone surprised by this? It's like an "experts comments" in the AFL from someone who knows barely more than the people actually watching the game.

I'm not sure what more people want to know? Worried about getting sick? Get vaccinated. Get healthy. Wash your hands. Drink bleach.
and de-lice

He's quite often catastrophised and gone against the consensus from actual pandemic experts.
And no I don't mean the Pollies version of an expert.

We shouldn't have the public broadcaster platforming Brian Taylor types

The prevalence of the Delta variant in sampled test results Worldwide. South America the only real outlier with the Gamma, Lambda and Mu strains, but all have been in decline as a proportion of cases for at least 2 months. Source Nextstrain GISAID

Global global.png

Europe
europe.png
North America north america.png
South America south americaa.png

News this afternoon worth keeping an eye on.
Delays in Pfizer supply next month.

View attachment 1239138
I thought we be swimming in Pfizer in October.. Scotty for Hawaiian Marketing told us.
After NSW got most of the last 2 months other states get there share next
Do not worry Dan will now say he would of let us have something earlier although use this

Herald Sun leak
Basically as everyone thought looks like 80% is the new 70% and 90% the new 80% in vic
Helps as it looks like we will not be swimming in Vax in October after NSW got brought forward extra the last 2 months
Thanks Scotty.. and thanks Dan for your **** ups as well

The plan, which will kick in once 70 per cent of people aged over 16 are fully vaccinated, introduces “cautious” changes initially amid ongoing fears hospitals would be overwhelmed by spiralling cases.
Travel limits are set to be expanded to up to 25km across Melbourne, while some hospitality venues will reopen with strict caps or even be limited to outdoor service-only.

Significant changes on statewide travel, community sport, and density limits for indoor pubs and restaurants may be linked to the 80 per cent jab rate.
As well as 70 and 80 per cent vaccine targets, Mr Andrews will today also outline a third stage once jab rates climb higher, which will affect how Christmas and the new year will look.

Industry figures said they feared this would lead to “90 being the new 80” regarding the percentage of people needed to be vaccinated to reopen properly.

The Sunday Herald Sun can reveal that Year 12 students will return to school in the first week of October, ahead of VCE exams beginning later that month.
There will be a staggered return of other year levels, with Prep to Grade 2 students next in line, followed by all others towards the end of the month.

The slow release from lockdowns is likely to anger large parts of the community, who one minister said were wanting to see “light at the end of the tunnel” and reward for vaccinations.

still agreeing on the details at the last minute...
pretty sure we know in Vic we be locked down to 80%
and a week out from 80% it be we need to wait for 90%
then a week out from 90% it be wait for 20th booster.

Then our vax rate will drop as people work out you get nothing for being double vaxed

pretty sure we know in Vic we be locked down to 80%
and a week out from 80% it be we need to wait for 90%
then a week out from 90% it be wait for 20th booster.

Then our vax rate will drop as people work out you get nothing for being double vaxed

probably nothing left on the other side in relation to hospitality/retail anyway... :(

Even 40% double vaxed now give them someone to sell too

No idea why you do not open to the double vaxed now.
Dan really has no idea how to give hope
All he does is talk down to people.

I support the fact we will need restrictions probably for at least the next year.
I understand we could end up with lockdowns again if sh*t hits the fan.

Yeah, another 18 months of peoples lives, no big deal, need to fight the invisible enemy for as long as it takes.

The children and their schooling, the business owners being crippled, well, end of the day, **** em, amirite?

Especially for people working from home, or getting government gibs, it's a pretty sweet deal.

And especially for folks who had no friends and no social life to begin with, this is barely even a lockdown, really.

Just life as usual but now everybody has to suffer with you. Keep it going, Dan, fight that virus!

Yeah, another 18 months of peoples lives, no big deal, need to fight the invisible enemy for as long as it takes.

The children and their schooling, the business owners being crippled, well, end of the day, fu** em, amirite?

Especially for people working from home, or getting government gibs, it's a pretty sweet deal.

And especially for folks who had no friends and no social life to begin with, this is barely even a lockdown, really.

Just life as usual but now everybody has to suffer with you. Keep it going, Dan, fight that virus!
and the alternative is to let people go to the gym and pub tomorrow and have a few hundred die and few hundred more get long covid or wait for the 80 which is just around the corner

im with you mate, the covids will keep on mutating, its with us forever, we need to shut down everything permanently

too bad for the kids in school today who never got to experience real life but hey, like i said before, stuff em, amirite?

My issue is he is wheeled out as an expert when he's just an ABC journalist that knows a bit more about medicine than the average journo
He's been given a big platform to push his views and called an expert by his employer, it's the kind of sh*t I get pissed off at commercial news for doing.

He's not an expert in vaccines or viruses or pandemic responses and he's not currently practicing which means there is no requirement for him to keep up with his training.

His voice shouldn't be given more weight by the public than actual experts in the relevant fields
People's standards on expertise vary depends
on the alignment to certain political teams.

I prefer more of the best, I'm not easily pleased with Damian Drum because he's more of a footy coach than you and I...