Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) 2020

Jason mp Research at the moment suggests that children still get the virus at a similar rate to adults but their symptoms are nearly always much less severe. The mechanism(s) behind this are not 100% elucidated. However, a plausible explanation is as children’s immune systems are still developing, they are more shielded from cytokine storm-type immune response.
Thanks MSB, yer I knew that children could be infected, hadn't heard that possible reason before.

You need to read this article. I have been on the chloroquine drug mentioned in the article for about four years for my autoimmune diseases (cancer was a poor second on diseases that have tried to kill me).

I have had a few crashes that ended in sepsis and organs starting to pack it in and doctors declaring I have a 5% chance of survival. Clearly they were wrong but its been very very nasty and I’ve spent time in hospital fighting it.

The chloroquine drug interrupts one autoimmune cycle response and I have been healthy since I started on it. I imagine the HIV drug works in another autoimmune cycle.

The cycle the chloroquine interrupts is the one of the cycles that is contributing (it’s not the only cycle) to the problems from the covid virus. Knowing how well it’s worked for me makes me feel very positive about these new trials.

The world may not end this year after all.

Ps The drug is actually hydroxychloroquine and one trade name is plaquenil. It was used to prevent/treat malaria and iirc it was first used around 1960. It’s cheap as - I get 100 tablets for $20 and it’s one a day. It changed my life for the better.

I won’t be cashing out my super just yet.

My young fella has regional trials for football tomorrow. I’m glad they are going ahead after all the hard work he has put in.Made this level as an underager for the last 2 years. Has been training since before Christmas and I would have been devastated for him if it was canceled due to this virus.

My daughter made school states this year for swimming.
It was cancelled today😩

Couldn't agree more, then there are those who have no idea what is happening like the Southern African Nations, South America etc etc etc. All of the southern hemisphere countries with scarce health systems heading into colder, flu ridden seasons. It's going to be like a tumbling dice for years to come.

It might sound callous, but the median age in Africa is under 20 years old (19.7). I think they've got the least to worry about at the moment.

You need to read this article. I have been on the chloroquine drug mentioned in the article for about four years for my autoimmune diseases (cancer was a poor second on diseases that have tried to kill me).

I have had a few crashes that ended in sepsis and organs starting to pack it in and doctors declaring I have a 5% chance of survival. Clearly they were wrong but its been very very nasty and I’ve spent time in hospital fighting it.

The chloroquine drug interrupts one autoimmune cycle response and I have been healthy since I started on it. I imagine the HIV drug works in another autoimmune cycle.

The cycle the chloroquine interrupts is the one of the cycles that is contributing (it’s not the only cycle) to the problems from the covid virus. Knowing how well it’s worked for me makes me feel very positive about these new trials.

The world may not end this year after all.

Ps The drug is actually hydroxychloroquine and one trade name is plaquenil. It was used to prevent/treat malaria and iirc it was first used around 1960. It’s cheap as - I get 100 tablets for $20 and it’s one a day. It changed my life for the better.

I won’t be cashing out my super just yet.

The Chinese have been using Chloroquine throughout and results from their research is due to be published very shortly.

Chloroquine is not available in South Korea (nor in Australia) so they have been using Hydroxychloroquine instead. It's been part of their basic treatment plan for some time.

Conversations overheard at work today:

- you gotta make sure you don't have any money or the banks are going to take it away to cover other stuff (unspecified)
- best time to buy real estate 'cause the price will just be getting higher 'cause it's one of the few things that will hold value
- worst time to buy real estate 'cause we are all bubbled up and the bottom will crash out leading to a buyers market
- nothing is wrong (multiple variants)
- we are all doomed (multiple variants)

Since my wife and I are currently house hunting I would have liked to talk about that ... but the conversational atmosphere is just not a good space atm

Speaking of which I was in Coles on Sunday afternoon and personally feeling fine but it was like I could feel fear and anxiety pushing at me from all directions the whole time I was in there (a bit like you feel the sound hitting you when you walk into a nightclub type environment) - really weird feeling.

Taking a day off work wednesday just to go shopping so i can eat. Supermarkets continue to stock shelves in the mornings and by the time i finish work there is nothing. Walked in today to only exotic meats... chicken necks, liver, ox. Living off take away at the moment

know what you mean vice. plenty of tp when i popped into the store today, i made sure to give all the staff an extra smile (I too, can help fight this virus.......), I think it was my own anxiety tbh that made it so odd, pretty packed but nothing too unsettling otherwise. I think I have this no touching of the face thing down pat. oh and i tried farfalle for the first time in years today as my bog standard penne and fettuccine was out..

in the morning there was no flour at my local aldi early in the day(like not even the crate was there), later on in the day a friend got a pack from a dwindling supply from the same location. I've never really thought about times of stock deliveries/shelf replenishments... what a time to be brought back down to the mundane realities of life

hope everyone is staying safe, now to rewatch some of the womens matches from over the weekend, I need my footy fix

thus ends my coronavirus journal entry 1... :)

Was in Woolies at Carindale this morning. I’ve never seen the place that busy on a Monday morning. And I’ve never seen so many registers open, or staff repacking shelves.

The Chinese have been using Chloroquine throughout and results from their research is due to be published very shortly.

Chloroquine is not available in South Korea (nor in Australia) so they have been using Hydroxychloroquine instead. It's been part of their basic treatment plan for some time.

both China and South Korea have dramatically lowered their infection rate. Hopefully the drugs have been part of that, cause it means every county could lower their rate of infection. E0337337-380A-4376-957F-5F4CC50400E6.png

If you get holding the published data I’d love a look at it.

View attachment 840851

both China and South Korea have dramatically lowered their infection rate. Hopefully the drugs have been part of that, cause it means every county could lower their rate of infection.
If you get holding the published data I’d love a look at it.

They lowered their infection rate because they shut down movement of people and a whole bunch of other strategies. That medication and others are for people who already have the infection and are in hospital.

Yep it’s part of a wider program that has worked. China and South Korea are leading the way in number of tests being performed so it’s possible that the high detections have allowed widespread use of drugs that limit the contagious period and contribute to lower rates of infection.

There’s no single fix for this virus.

Treating people in hospital also means people get out faster and free up a bed so more people can be treated, which would also impact on recovery/death rates.

6B8A12E0-63B5-4F7A-8D13-CBE33938B148.png

Just home from doing the pensioner run (7am-8am) at Woolies......Dear god, what a schermozzle! I got there at 6.40 and the line was already approx 100mtr long, by the time the door opened, would have to have been nearly two hundred there.

..took a while to get in, they checked our cards etc at the door, but took nearly 3/4hr to get out through the registers! I got out alive, had doubts for a while.

It seems to be a shortage of meat now, there is none. Toilet paper fiasco might finally settle down and it will be meat people are after.

This could all be the new normal for the next few months. Oh fun!:eek:

Just home from doing the pensioner run (7am-8am) at Woolies......Dear god, what a schermozzle! I got there at 6.40 and the line was already approx 100mtr long, by the time door opened would have to have been nearly two hundred there.

..took a while to get in, they checked our cards etc at the door, but took nearly 3/4hr to get out through the registers! I got out alive, had doubts for a while.

It seems to be a shortage of meat now, there is none. Toilet paper fiasco might settle down now and it will be meat people are after.

I'm going to do a grocery shop this morning although I'll wait till the morning rush settles down. I wont be buying trolly's full though, I live by myself so what I need should fit in one of those little red baskets. I'm going to make up a heap of Mexican in the slow cooker and freeze it, hopefully they still have a few kilos of mince left by the time I get there.

That's my usual modus operaandi anyway but I'll do a couple of slow cooks instead of one.

I'll update my shopping ordeal when I get back.

Just home from doing the pensioner run (7am-8am) at Woolies......Dear god, what a schermozzle! I got there at 6.40 and the line was already approx 100mtr long, by the time the door opened, would have to have been nearly two hundred there.

It seems to be a shortage of meat now, there is none. Toilet paper fiasco might finally settle down and it will be meat people are after.

Is this really a good idea?
In the current climate, to have a mass gathering of pensioners/more vulnerable people (To this virus) in the one place all at the same time?
It seems to be the exact opposite to the advice given by the experts.

Time to go back to the local butcher.
Hope you managed to stock up .
For mind it's non perishables , and the basics are what we need to have more of.
I'm thinking about buying vegetable seeds as well, mainly to give us something to do if we get locked down for a couple of weeks.
( I hope I don't start panic buying at bunnings now.)
Stuff that you need to entertain yourself like extra guitar strings , heaven forbid if I can't play . some people would say that anyway pftt.
Anyway stay safe Macmum .

Is this really a good idea?
In the current climate, to have a mass gathering of pensioners/more vulnerable people (To this virus) in the one place all at the same time?
It seems to be the exact opposite to the advice given by the experts.
I'm betting Woolies didn't think they would have had such a massive turn-out...

Guessing the oldies are panic buying veterans with all they've been through.

Article on why Italy death rate with an older population is higher than elsewhere.

A quick search has Australia's 65+ age population in 2018 sitting at 15.7 %
Say it is 16% in 2019 . On Australia's population of 26 million that is 4.16 million seniors
Italy with 23 % of 60 million that is 13.8 million seniors.

Below two sentences from article dated 10/3/19

Italy has one of the oldest populations in the world, with a median age of about 46 years old. Nearly 60% of the population is aged 40 and over, about 23% of which is over 65 – heightening the population’s risk with regards to the novel coronavirus currently spreading through Italy.

According to Italy’s national health institute, the average age of those who have died was 81, and many of the deceased had preexisting health conditions.

Posting here, because it’s the right thread for it.

I would hazard to guess most businesses, big and small will be in the same boat.

The government is just prolonging the pain, by dragging the shut down out.

I genuinely don’t understand how people still believe things might return to normal by May or June.

The government keeps saying 6 months, because they know we’re going in to winter, and the only way our health care system can cope is to drag it out.

Our tourism sector, hospitality sector and all the support businesses are going to be in for a world of pain.

If China is on top of their pandemic, many of our primary industries might survive, if we can keep our mining and farming, pastoral and commercial fishing sectors going, as well as the transport industry needed to move these goods.

Europe is shutting down, and hoping summer slows the virus.

The rest of Asia is not far behind now, as the virus is growing exponentially there now. Except for China, Singapore, Korea and Japan.

If the northern hemisphere recovers before us, they’re going to close their borders to Australia, and we won’t be getting international tourists back until we recover.

In the States, businesses are taking it upon themselves to shut down. MGM, the largest casino operator in America has shut all their casinos. They own 10 of the biggest casinos in Vegas, not sure what they own in Atlantic city.

We were always going to suffer economically. Tourism and hospitality were always going to be the hardest hit.

We had the chance to stop it, but the majority buried their heads in the sand.

We could have closed our borders early. And we could have recovered by May.

If Europe recovers early, we would have been open for businesses, ready for them.

Instead we’re heading down the path of the UK, but with a longer time line.

And we’re going to find the rest of the world has their door shut to us until we get on top of it here.

Coronavirus disease (COVID-19) 2020