Discussion Coronavirus

They aren't silly. Over half the players are on $50,000. They won't survive on a 80% pay cut.

I get some players are on hundreds of thousands a year, but we have to make sure rookies in their first year or players 35-40 on each list are also taken care of.
Minimum contract is about $80,000 for players in their 1st-2nd year and once a player is past their 2nd year, their minimum is $100,000.

They have also all already been paid 50% of their contracts for the year.

worded over in WA footy circles is dangerfield and the AFLPA are going to throw them to the wolves anyways

instead of coming down with a pay cut next year, which would affect the players at the top end, they wanna just reduce the list size. to get the money down.

bye bye rookies. bye bye fringe players, bye bye some of the speculative draftees.

but old mate fyfe can still collect his 1 million a season. a bloke who's so far removed from footy over here, it's not funny. atleast nic nat still has a strong connection to his feeder club and footy.
It should be staggered

50-100k earners take a 20% cut (still substantial)
100-200k - 30%

And so on

They aren't silly. Over half the players are on $50,000. They won't survive on a 80% pay cut.

I get some players are on hundreds of thousands a year, but we have to make sure rookies in their first year or players 35-40 on each list are also taken care of.

It's 80% of a months wages not of the contract.

I will say, depends on the industry.

We're working down cost elsewhere globally before impacting "people", because we can. Already prior to COVID19 we reduced from a team of 12 to a team of 6, effectively halving in restructures, this allows us to maintain current people because of 4-5 years back, and drive cost elsewhere but then, multinational with reach so expected and different to say mum & dad store round the corner or partnered law firm in high offices "existing".

What this is largely showing is a couple things for me;
  • We need a serious discussion on what our internet infrastructure is. It cannot handle properly the amount of people remote working without sacrifices elsewhere, I can barely video my manager in the same state and with a 40m cord I can plug into my exchange direct. It is insufficient.
  • We need to have a serious discussion of states of emergency. I have no problem at all, drinking soup, having bread and drinking water. Don't need much to actually survive. It should not take a week to see vegetation however because of fear responses. It should not spike to literal assaults in shopping aisles. There will always be panic and fear, but this has been largely a clusterf response and we need to do infinitely better. Otherwise, we kill ourselves, our identity and physically.
Yes, it's "better" today, but today is also almost 4 months later.

Guessing it helps a ton that we're in a warm climate and just coming out of summer.

We need to stop the spread before winter hits or we could be in big trouble.
Looking like this is indeed the case:

Gives places like Italy and the US cause for optimism, but doesn't necessarily augur well for us, if we don't get on top of this ASAP.

Any of you guys watching this tonight?
5a264609709383c5bcca1a7422afa2db.jpg

I'm the principal of a school in WA. Very hard motivating teachers to keep working at the moment and the term break is two weeks away which feels like an eternity.

Would have been smart to bring WA holidays in line with Victoria, just my opinion.
Yeh, I work at a school in Vic that is currently on holidays.
The whole thing about keeping the schools open is because the students aren't the one's getting and spreading it which is all well and fine but keeping the schools open requires all of the staff coming in as well and they are the one's that are at risk.

he's usually very very good. what happened?
Crapping on about only quarantining West Australians only no other Australians, pointing fingers at 'the East' i.e NSW, just pandering to West Australians inferiority complex.

Blood hell keep the border shut for ever AFAIAC if that is STILL the retrograde attitude.

Dear George,

I wanted to reach out to you in what is a very difficult time for everyone. We are obviously feeling for all of those who have been seriously impacted by this horrible pandemic. I very much hope that you and your families are staying safe and well at this time.

And, while football is not exactly front of mind for anyone right now, I also wanted to assure you that the St Kilda Football Club is well and truly up for this fight!

The football industry and our beloved club has not been immune to the pain felt across so many businesses and industries.

The decision to defer the AFL competition for two months is unprecedented but clearly correct. The most important battle for everyone in this country right now is to deal with this awful virus and its broader impact as best as we can. We all need to play our part, follow government advice and protect the most vulnerable members of our community.

This week has been a devastating one for the St Kilda Football Club. In line with the AFL, and every club, we have made the heartbreaking decision to temporarily stand down a large number of our staff at RSEA Park.

As difficult as this was for our team, it was the only possible decision if we hope to overcome the enormous financial impact that postponing the season will have on the club.

Only a handful of staff, working on reduced hours, remain to support our players’ health and well-being and to lead our fight for survival.

The jobs of those stood down will be waiting for them when the Club is able to fully operate again and we will do everything in our power to support our people, many of whom have already pledged to keep on working to help the club.

It is our duty now to forge on. St Kilda has existed for 147 years and we need it to be here for many generations to come. There is too much history and too many people who care deeply about this club for us to allow any other outcome.

And we have some unfinished business, including delivering our second flag to our deserving members.

But we need the help of our supporters more than we ever have. So many of you have already shown you intend to be there for the club. Despite the disappointing outcome on Sunday, our membership tally has continued to rise and thousands of you have sent messages of support.

Thank you for your loyalty. We are desperate to show how much this means to us once we get back on the field.

We hope to be able to provide some support and distraction to all of you through the coming months. Despite matches being suspended, we will provide opportunities for our supporters to connect with our players and each other through our website, app, email, and social media channels.

Again, I wish you all the best through the upcoming period.

History shows us that all pandemics end at some point. I am certain it will end, and footy will be back.

And when it does, with the support of the St Kilda faithful, we intend to emerge stronger than ever.

Take care, and I can’t wait to see you all at the footy.

Andrew Bassat

Dear George,

I wanted to reach out to you in what is a very difficult time for everyone. We are obviously feeling for all of those who have been seriously impacted by this horrible pandemic. I very much hope that you and your families are staying safe and well at this time.

And, while football is not exactly front of mind for anyone right now, I also wanted to assure you that the St Kilda Football Club is well and truly up for this fight!

The football industry and our beloved club has not been immune to the pain felt across so many businesses and industries.

The decision to defer the AFL competition for two months is unprecedented but clearly correct. The most important battle for everyone in this country right now is to deal with this awful virus and its broader impact as best as we can. We all need to play our part, follow government advice and protect the most vulnerable members of our community.

This week has been a devastating one for the St Kilda Football Club. In line with the AFL, and every club, we have made the heartbreaking decision to temporarily stand down a large number of our staff at RSEA Park.

As difficult as this was for our team, it was the only possible decision if we hope to overcome the enormous financial impact that postponing the season will have on the club.

Only a handful of staff, working on reduced hours, remain to support our players’ health and well-being and to lead our fight for survival.

The jobs of those stood down will be waiting for them when the Club is able to fully operate again and we will do everything in our power to support our people, many of whom have already pledged to keep on working to help the club.

It is our duty now to forge on. St Kilda has existed for 147 years and we need it to be here for many generations to come. There is too much history and too many people who care deeply about this club for us to allow any other outcome.

And we have some unfinished business, including delivering our second flag to our deserving members.

But we need the help of our supporters more than we ever have. So many of you have already shown you intend to be there for the club. Despite the disappointing outcome on Sunday, our membership tally has continued to rise and thousands of you have sent messages of support.

Thank you for your loyalty. We are desperate to show how much this means to us once we get back on the field.

We hope to be able to provide some support and distraction to all of you through the coming months. Despite matches being suspended, we will provide opportunities for our supporters to connect with our players and each other through our website, app, email, and social media channels.

Again, I wish you all the best through the upcoming period.

History shows us that all pandemics end at some point. I am certain it will end, and footy will be back.

And when it does, with the support of the St Kilda faithful, we intend to emerge stronger than ever.

Take care, and I can’t wait to see you all at the footy.

Andrew Bassat
Still can’t believe you use your real name. Having said that my real name is plugger66

If my name was actually Plugger66 I'm sure it'd be easy to find in the phone book.

I reckon there's about 150 million George's. But I'm the most special one.

If my name was actually Plugger66 I'm sure it'd be easy to find in the phone book.

I reckon there's about 150 million George's. But I'm the most special one.
George I doubt phone books do first names. My first name is plugger66. My last name is a secret but a clue is lennynormsmith10

You should wander about being called Joffaboy

Yeah my parents sure gave me something to aspire to with my name. Thankfully I rose to the challenge

Average wage in the afl is 371k. Even if you take into account players earning significantly more than that I seriously doubt half are on 50k or less.

Average doesn't really matter in this situation though. Not all players are on 370,000. Base contracts are very low, and a lot of players are in that bracket. Rookies, players that have been given lifelines at other clubs. There's a lot.