Cousins sacking justified

Thank god he's not an Eagle anymore.

For once we are with the rest of the footy community looking and pointing at the trainwreck instead of being on it with him.

Get help Cuz, please.. :(

You know what, I guiltily feel the same. If wish this never came to this but unfortunately wishes never happen :thumbsdown:

F*** all the made up characters such as Easter Bunny, Santa Clause, Tooth Fairy and who ever I have missed. These fantasy hopes are ridiculous and should be banned, children grow up finding out they have been stringed along and lied too :mad: What this has to do with Cousins I don't know but it might in some twisted, weird way :thumbsdown:

your ****ing kidding me, right? the board was told about Ben back when Judge was coach, what did they do? they elevated him and Gardiner too captain/vc.

fast forward a few years and we have the Kizon drama with the bikies etc...anyone with half a ****ing brain would hear warning bells by now, right? nope...not our board! forward again and he does the bolt from a booze bus...still no alarm bells ringing that were serious enough for him too be sacked.

and now we're where we are today...and now we hear he's been with Quaid, another upstanding citizen and godfather too Mercanti's child. Anyone with half an ear has known Ben has been on the gear for a long time now, why should our board not have known?
Dude.. do you know any serious drug takers (non-addicts)? They believe they are just having a bit of fun (often they are) and will lie about it if confronted.

What do you do as coach if you have just heard a whisper that a player has taken drugs on the weekend, confront the player about it and he plainly denies it? Not only denies it, but offers the excuse that he was just drunk, or offers a made-up but extremely plausible allibi and is one of your best players?
These types of drug abuser - the ones that use semi regularly but are not addicted yet - become extremely good at concealing their activities.

You know what, I guiltily feel the same. If wish this never came to this but unfortunately wishes never happen :thumbsdown:

F*** all the made up characters such as Easter Bunny, Santa Clause, Tooth Fairy and who ever I have missed. These fantasy hopes are ridiculous and should be banned, children grow up finding out they have been stringed along and lied too :mad: What this has to do with Cousins I don't know but it might in some twisted, weird way :thumbsdown:

WTF are you on about :confused: :eek:

2 Panadols my girl, then get some rest.

See how you feel in the morning, because right now you are not making any sense. :thumbsu:

Dude.. do you know any serious drug takers (non-addicts)? They believe they are just having a bit of fun (often they are) and will lie about it if confronted.

What do you do as coach if you have just heard a whisper that a player has taken drugs on the weekend, confront the player about it and he plainly denies it? Not only denies it, but offers the excuse that he was just drunk, or offers a made-up but extremely plausible allibi and is one of your best players?
These types of drug abuser - the ones that use semi regularly but are not addicted yet - become extremely good at concealing their activities.

Yes, this is the way things are.

Addicts (of all types) quickly learn to be as cunning as dunny rats in terms of concealment of their activities. People may have doubts and concerns about them, but unless you put minders or investigators on them, it will still be just rumours.

Did the board/Woosha give Ben the benefit of the doubt ? Of course, and very, very few of us would have wanted it any other way.

See how you feel in the morning, because right now you are not making any sense. :thumbsu:

That was kinda the point, trying to get away from the situation in yes I will admit, a VERY strange way :D Anything to lighten the mood a little :)

But then again I could have written something a little better, that was a big gibberish to say the least :confused:

I think those panadol had little green cars stamped on them ;)

Re: your previous post BM i totally agree, Ben is heading down a very, very dangerous path.

You have to feel for his folks :(

That's okay. It's Friday evening, we understand ;)

I just felt like writing something weird and spontaneous and all it made me do is look like I was off my face. No I haven't had a drink or taken drugs unless I didnt know :eek: Coming to think of it, I believe my water was spiked it tasted funny, oh wait thats because I used tap water from the dam :eek:

Some soothing beverage could be useful now, what an end to a week!

Can we just forget the guy he brought us great joy but he has f##ked our club far worse than Judd has. Our image and by extension the feeling you get form being a West COast fan has been forever soiled by this year. We will never get over this it has been the worst year of this club. We must always be vigilant abut drugs at our club forever.

Curiously, and perhaps disturbingly, I understood what Issy is on about.

Ben, please get help and listen to those around you that want you to realise you are going down a very dangerous path.

Curiously, and perhaps disturbingly, I understood what Issy is on about.

Ben, please get help and listen to those around you that want you to realise you are going down a very dangerous path.

Hooray someone that understand :thumbsu: :)

Which begs the question what are you on :confused: ;)

As for Ben, I hope this recent situation he has found himself in while finally triggers that he seriously needs help. If it doesn't, nothing will....:(

obviously he should never have gone out the country alone, but for gods sakes would the media just leave the guy alone and let him get the help he needs and in private, his poor family can't take much more i wouldn't think. and those on the west coast board that knew about all this and did nothing should go the same way as ben out the door

Its turning more and more ugly and sad this whole situation but what I find disturbing is that some people are finding this funny or feeling proud they were right about Cousins. Disgusting attitude at its best and simply shouldn't be finding this funny, I hope some of them rot in hell, literally.
Gawd some people can be tossers and sick bastards! :mad: :thumbsdown:
This is no laughing matter :mad::mad::thumbsdown:

No Im not happy but whats mad me angrier is some of the comments made by sickos on this forum :mad: :thumbsdown:

Thanks Isandula for writing this comment and others. I find this situation so utterly tragic, that I nearly broke down in tears today. If it end the way, its looking. Well, there will be no winners in this. And a life lost to drugs is fair worse than anything bad associated with football. A family is fighting for their son.

I too, find it pretty disgusting that people find this situation amusing or a form of entertainment. Its nearly puts me off football completely. What will be a bigger tragedy is that another footballer ( from any team) will get in the same place as Cuz is at the moment and that will be mean we wouldn't haven't learn anything from this. I wish Ben and his family all the best

Yes, this is the way things are.

Addicts (of all types) quickly learn to be as cunning as dunny rats in terms of concealment of their activities. People may have doubts and concerns about them, but unless you put minders or investigators on them, it will still be just rumours.

Did the board/Woosha give Ben the benefit of the doubt ? Of course, and very, very few of us would have wanted it any other way.

On the contrary, Kempie. I did, would and still do want it another way. These were not rumours. They were fact. Everybody in Perth knew Cousins was a drug user. And the club would have had 10 times as much info as us. Footy clubs are like a little sub-society and it would be impossible for a player to keep problems like the one Cousins has got secret.

I mean FFS Cousins was hanging around with the biggest drug dealer in Perth and the captain of his distribution gang (a certain bikie outfit) and he was caught on tape ordering cocaine from one them and the eagles were told this several times by top police. Lets take our heads out of our asses. The club knew he took rec drugs and has known it for a long time. They just didn't know how much and howbig a problem it would become. I believe they considered to be a small time social user and would stay at that level. Naivety in the extreme. This is the reason i think Nisbett should be sacked. He is the one that kept covering Cousins tracks for him, making excuses and using the clubs power to shield him from media scrutiny.

Ultimately Cousins is a grown man and responsible for his own actions but both the club and his family failed him in terms of not recognising the size of his problems or the likely end outcome of condoning him hanging around in bad company.

But my main point is i was never happy that our captain and best player was a reknowned drug user and hung out with the most notorious criminals in Perth and the club never saw fit to do anything about it. I was unhappy about in back in 2000 and couldn't understand what the club was doing and why and felt embarassed when opp supporters brought it up. I feel even worse now. This a massive f*** up and heads should roll at the club as a result. Not a pointless witch hunt. But the people who made the decsisions and failed to safeguard the club from the disease of drugs and protect it's reputations and consistently made the wrong, cheap and cowardly decisions over the best part of a decade should go. I don't trust their judgement anymore.

just a terribly tragic story. if any good can come out of this, at least it has highlighted how powerful drugs can be and once they take a hold of you, it doesn't matter who you are and what's on the line, they can ruin your life.

Ben's seemingly continual relapses does not suprise me at all. Kicking a drug addiciton is not an easy thing to do and for those people sticking the boots into him, you obviously just don't have a grip on the reality of an addiction.

just a terribly tragic story. if any good can come out of this, at least it has highlighted how powerful drugs can be and once they take a hold of you, it doesn't matter who you are and what's on the line, they can ruin your life.

Ben's seemingly continual relapses does not suprise me at all. Kicking a drug addiciton is not an easy thing to do and for those people sticking the boots into him, you obviously just don't have a grip on the reality of an addiction.
As far as we know he's only had the 1 relapse mate.

Everybody in Perth knew Cousins was a drug user. And the club would have had 10 times as much info as us...
The club knew he took rec drugs and has known it for a long time. They just didn't know how much and how big a problem it would become. I believe they considered to be a small time social user and would stay at that level.

I agree with all that, and was pretty much what I was saying myself.

Cousins was hanging around with the biggest drug dealer in Perth and the captain of his distribution gang (a certain bikie outfit) and he was caught on tape ordering cocaine from one them and the eagles were told this several times by top police. i was never happy that our captain and best player was a reknowned drug user and hung out with the most notorious criminals in Perth

There may be a bit of exaggeration there, but I still agree with the gist of it. In fact my earliest posts here on BF were to do with this exact point.

This is the reason i think Nisbett should be sacked. He is the one that kept covering Cousins tracks for him, making excuses and using the clubs power to shield him from media scrutiny. The people who made the decisions and failed to safeguard the club ..and protect it's reputations and consistently made the wrong, cheap and cowardly decisions over the best part of a decade should go. I don't trust their judgement anymore.

Okay. I've chopped your post up a bit, but mostly I agree with you even if if I'm not so sure where the culpability lies.

Hopefully these two up-coming enquiries will shed more light on just who knew what and when, and who made what decisions. Then we can start with the 'head-rolling' business. We'll probably be due for another bout of that by then. :(

Cousins sacking justified