COVID-19 / Coronavirus

Pat yourselves on the back as you cower in your caves from a threat no more serious that a bad flu. From a threat far less likely to kill anyone under 65 than driving to the corner grocery.

So, yes, Pat yourselves on the back and revel in your cowardice. You may have never seen anything more dumb than America, but I’ve never seen anything more cowardly than your posting here.

Pat yourselves on the back as you cower in your caves from a threat no more serious that a bad flu. From a threat far less likely to kill anyone under 65 than driving to the corner grocery.

So, yes, Pat yourselves on the back and revel in your cowardice. You may have never seen anything more dumb than America, but I’ve never seen anything more cowardly than your posting here.

The fear from the general public to a viral infection that statistically kills barely anyone under the age of 65 I find astounding.

Who are you replying to?

Go home Donald, you're drunk....

Won't all the world's governments be pissed off when they come here and find out that they really didn't need to voluntarily destroy their entire economies after all?

Bit of a boo-boo, really

The fear from the general public to a viral infection that statistically kills barely anyone under the age of 65 I find astounding.
Last time I checked 1/4 of deaths in NY were under 65. It isn’t simply age profile related. This is just a myth perpetrated by statistically illiterate people. AND there are other consequences than death to be very very concerned about. For example, the flu doesn’t cause strokes in healthy people in their 30s and 40s.

I knew I'd get trolled if I came back.
I have NFI where you are getting your information, but of the 75,000 plus deaths in the USA from Covid a little over 12,500 have been under the age of 65.
Numbers from the CDC.

Seriously, this joint is stupefying for people just saying shit to say shit.

Oh, and the Corona virus being hardly different from a bout of regular flu....
61,000 people died from flu all year in the USA in 2019.
57,000 just died in March of this year from Covid. And that's WITH a shutdown the last couple months, which DOESN'T happen for yearly flu. If Covid had been allowed to just move through society with everyone out and about and going about daily lives, the numbers would be at least twice as high.

Last post here with facts from me, some on here are ****ing sick in the head.

Won't all the world's governments be pissed off when they come here and find out that they really didn't need to voluntarily destroy their entire economies after all?

Bit of a boo-boo, really
Not that we could have avoided economic downturn even if we took no actions to protect citizens from covid-19....it is a completely false dichotomy.

I have NFI where you are getting your information, but of the 75,000 plus deaths in the USA from Covid a little over 12,500 have been under the age of 65.
Numbers from the CDC.

57,000 just died in March of this year from Covid. And that's WITH a shutdown the last couple months, which DOESN'T happen for yearly flu. If Covid had been allowed to just move through society with everyone out and about and going about daily lives, the numbers would be at least twice as high.

Last post here with facts from me, some on here are ******* sick in the head.
Nah don’t leave. It is a handful of people with that view. Your insight into on the ground activity from outside the australia bubble is insightful and important from r people unsure of how serious this virus is.

Numbers from the CDC.

Last post here with facts from me, some on here are ******* sick in the head.

So yeah that's still a small % of under 65 deaths compared to over 65, especially when you consider a lot more of the population is under 65. Any idea how many of those 12500 are extremely overweight etc amongst other issues ?

In Australia we are currently at 0 under 65 deaths out of 97 deaths, it'll be interesting to see how that progresses.

Last time I checked 1/4 of deaths in NY were under 65. It isn’t simply age profile related. This is just a myth perpetrated by statistically illiterate people. AND there are other consequences than death to be very very concerned about. For example, the flu doesn’t cause strokes in healthy people in their 30s and 40s.

Look the virus is a concern and I'm worried for the people in the high risk zones but I just don't see a good possible solution to be honest. We can't exactly lock ourselves away in the hope of a vaccine that may or may never arrive.

I was delighted to see our government have a stage 3 exit strategy on Friday, doing it slowly, I was never for opening everything back up in one swoop.

So yeah that's still a small % of under 65 deaths compared to over 65, especially when you consider a lot more of the population is under 65. Any idea how many of those 12500 are extremely overweight etc amongst other issues ?

In Australia we are currently at 0 under 65 deaths out of 97 deaths, it'll be interesting to see how that progresses.

I'll try and be respectful.
Every single night on the news channels, from one hospital to the next around this country, nurses and doctors file out of the hospital and to a waiting camera say - 'I've never in my life seen anything like this virus. Please stay home.'
From Mount Sinai to Bethesda to University of KU Med. Doctors in their 30's, doctors in their 60's, these are the best ER physicians you'll find regardless of jokes to the counter.

But I guess they're just cowards living in caves with no idea of what this disease is about.
Maybe because Aus got the right start on it, likely never got the influx from overseas travellers carrying the second more deadly strain of the Corona virus that hit the East coast of America and Chicago from Europe, you're feeling good and like you know something everyone else is just unaware of.
Like if you just say it's fat Americans with underlying conditions, that works because it fits your experience in Oz. Except for all the skinny peeps in Italy that didn't work out so good as a hypothesis.
Smokers then those Iti's? Oddly, there is an inverse relationship with smokers suffering somewhat smaller numbers as a percentage of sufferers.
Of course there are trends, of course we can see older people 65+ do way way worse. So who's parent or grandparent are you offering up? Why is their life somehow cheap to you?
Bigger shame medical professionals say their experience is anything but pure and simple in terms of demographics. The one thing they say over and over in shocked voices is that this disease is taking people without rhyme or reason, that very healthy individuals crash just like anyone else and it's heartbreaking.
If you like thick skin and not feeling for others, god bless, I hope this shit never crosses your doorstep and you never have anyone ever worrying for your sake.

But making shit up is dumb, and being an Australian myself I reckon we're better than that.

I'll try and be respectful.
Every single night on the news channels, from one hospital to the next around this country, nurses and doctors file out of the hospital and to a waiting camera say - 'I've never in my life seen anything like this virus. Please stay home.'
From Mount Sinai to Bethesda to University of KU Med. Doctors in their 30's, doctors in their 60's, these are the best ER physicians you'll find regardless of jokes to the counter.

But I guess they're just cowards living in caves with no idea of what this disease is about.
Maybe because Aus got the right start on it, likely never got the influx from overseas travellers carrying the second more deadly strain of the Corona virus that hit the East coast of America and Chicago from Europe, you're feeling good and like you know something everyone else is just unaware of.
Like if you just say it's fat Americans with underlying conditions, that works because it fits your experience in Oz. Except for all the skinny peeps in Italy that didn't work out so good as a hypothesis.
Smokers then those Iti's? Oddly, there is an inverse relationship with smokers suffering somewhat smaller numbers as a percentage of sufferers.
Of course there are trends, of course we can see older people 65+ do way way worse. So who's parent or grandparent are you offering up? Why is their life somehow cheap to you?
Bigger shame medical professionals say their experience is anything but pure and simple in terms of demographics. The one thing they say over and over in shocked voices is that this disease is taking people without rhyme or reason, that very healthy individuals crash just like anyone else and it's heartbreaking.
If you like thick skin and not feeling for others, god bless, I hope this shit never crosses your doorstep and you never have anyone ever worrying for your sake.

But making shit up is dumb, and being an Australian myself I reckon we're better than that.
NY Stats. Hope the link works!

Great post, useful numbers.
Just for reference to any interested, hypertension is high blood pressure.
Last figure I saw for the US was 30% of Americans suffer hbp.
Best I could find for Australia was over age 18 (2018/19) 34% suffer hbp.
Would be interesting to go through all those comorbidities and see the rates in the general population for both countries.

Look the virus is a concern and I'm worried for the people in the high risk zones but I just don't see a good possible solution to be honest. We can't exactly lock ourselves away in the hope of a vaccine that may or may never arrive.

I was delighted to see our government have a stage 3 exit strategy on Friday, doing it slowly, I was never for opening everything back up in one swoop.
By locking down we gave ourselves time to develop treatments and an understanding of the virus and structures in place to track and trace such as the app. We have educated our health workers on what they have to do and the message about social distancing and washing hands etc is well understood by the population. This gives us the opportunity to get out of lock down.

A vaccine was never going to be the exit strategy. For one, they take at least a year to develop and two, I don’t think there has ever been a vaccine developed for a corona virus. So we need to break new ground here and mutation means it will be a constant battle to stay on top of it.

By locking down we gave ourselves time to develop treatments and an understanding of the virus and structures in place to track and trace such as the app. We have educated our health workers on what they have to do and the message about social distancing and washing hands etc is well understood by the population. This gives us the opportunity to get out of lock down.

A vaccine was never going to be the exit strategy. For one, they take at least a year to develop and two, I don’t think there has ever been a vaccine developed for a corona virus. So we need to break new ground here and mutation means it will be a constant battle to stay on top of it.

Yeah mate I agree with all that and I'm fully on board with it.

The only people I have a real issue with is the ones that think we can just stay on stage 3 restrictions indefinitely and pray for a vaccine. I'm not saying that's anyone on here BTW.

Easing of restrictions, 10 people outside, 5 visitors at home, 10 to a wedding and 20 to 30 to a funeral and most importantly:

"There have been a lot of work between the AFL and the public health team and we will be able to, we have agreed to a set of arrangements to allow training for AFL, for rugby league, other professional sports, to resume from just before midnight tomorrow night."

Mr Andrews has said they have screened 160,000+ thousand people and the results of that (and presumably further surveys) will inform further changes over a 3 week period.

I find it ironic those who rely on the "you have more chance of being killed in a car crash if you are under 65", strawman.
And why is that the case? Because of measures such as outlawing drink driving; mandatory seat belts; a thousandfold increase in vehicle safety; better quality roads, better driver skills and so on. In other words, steps were taken to mitigate the risk.

Edging closer to seeing a return to the field for the Hawks.

Dodgy injury list must be days away....

Though personally I think people will find it hard watching 16 rounds with no crowd involvement.

Be better to have a much shortened season, FIFA world cup style almost, where each result means more.

I find it ironic those who rely on the "you have more chance of being killed in a car crash if you are under 65", strawman.
And why is that the case? Because of measures such as outlawing drink driving; mandatory seat belts; a thousandfold increase in vehicle safety; better quality roads, better driver skills and so on. In other words, steps were taken to mitigate the risk.

You could reduce speed limits to 20km per hour and that would do a fine job to mitigate the risk even more so, very unlikely to have a fatality crashing at that speed.

Pessimistic I originally thought I'd struggle with closed doors footy and it's far from ideal, but after 7 weeks of absolutely zero sport worldwide I can get around it. Looking forward to catching up with mates in a pub to watch the Hawks from July onwards I hope.

COVID-19 / Coronavirus