COVID-19 / Coronavirus

It will be state wide within a couple of days. I might have this wrong but from what I was hearing from friends and family over there, it seemed that a lot of Australians had a relaxed approach. No mandatory wearing of masks or use of hand sanitizers etc. That's been a daily thing over here. Haven't gone out in public without a mask for months.

Yep, here in HK it's been almost 6 months since I went outside without a mask, such that it feels weird if you forget. Things sort of returning to normal here, but after three weeks of no local cases a new one popped up this week and seems to be turning into a cluster. It's the second time or third that's happened here now. They have got on top each time in the past, I guess through contact tracing and just people generally doing things to reduce the spread (masks, hand wash, distancing etc). Hopefully they succeed again and we can start the countdown again, without having to impose closures/restrictions etc.

Does this lockdown apply to anyone who wants to protest black lives matter? That protest was so vital. Will the lock down apply to private security shagging return quarantined women?

Dan’s government has dropped the ball. Sent all the wrong messaging. Can’t go golfing or fishing but you can protest in your thousands in response to the murder of a black man in America.

Absolutely crazy state with a crazy identity politics driven premier. Anyway I’m off to get my birth certificate changed to reflect I am now a woman even though I have fathered numerous children. It’s a brave new world
You're sounding a bit fragile there old mate.

I'm not sure where identity politics comes into this current situation but I'm sure you'll be able to explain what you mean and why you're planning on becoming a woman.

Yep, here in HK it's been almost 6 months since I went outside without a mask, such that it feels weird if you forget. Things sort of returning to normal here, but after three weeks of no local cases a new one popped up this week and seems to be turning into a cluster. It's the second time or third that's happened here now. They have got on top each time in the past, I guess through contact tracing and just people generally doing things to reduce the spread (masks, hand wash, distancing etc). Hopefully they succeed again and we can start the countdown again, without having to impose closures/restrictions etc.
Interesting .
My cousin has been living there for a few years . Basically said the same.

He reckons they just clicked into gear , everyone just knew what to do and that was that.

After a week it just felt the norm eg wearing a mask etc

Interesting .

He reckons they just clicked into gear , everyone just knew what to do and that was that.

Yeah it was like muscle memory from SARS, the people who were here then just knew what they had to do. Then pretty much everyone else kind of got politely convinced to follow suit. It's eased off a little now, with the summer heat, but there was a period of months in which I didn't see a single person outside without a mask on.

You're sounding a bit fragile there old mate.

I'm not sure where identity politics comes into this current situation but I'm sure you'll be able to explain what you mean and why you're planning on becoming a woman.
I am a woman by choice (just check my birth certificate) but like most women I’m not fragile. It’s a shame you assume I’m fragile because of my femininity- sexist much. Unfortunately I think a great many businesses, and residents in unjustified Flemington high rise lockdown, are a little bit more fragile than you and me. Ps. I didn’t pick you for a transphobic Gralin. I always took you for being a one eyed lefty sycophant - I guess I was wrong.

Interesting .

Japan the gold standard!

I am a woman by choice (just check my birth certificate) but like most women I’m not fragile. It’s a shame you assume I’m fragile because of my femininity- sexist much. Unfortunately I think a great many businesses, and residents in unjustified Flemington high rise lockdown, are a little bit more fragile than you and me. Ps. I didn’t pick you for a transphobic Gralin. I always took you for being a one eyed lefty sycophant - I guess I was wrong.

Well played.

So no explanation just insults.

I coach multiple netball sides and an 18u girls footy side ......often mocked for being
“ over the top “ with my precautions.......
On the flip side I watched clubs Like Montrose have scant regard for what was needed ......
point being ....until EVERYONE is on board ......just keep us in lock down .
Right now im taking calls from girls heartbroken their gunna be isolated.

ps ..my real responsibilities start now as a jr coach ......I hope others see it the same way .

Does this lockdown apply to anyone who wants to protest black lives matter? That protest was so vital. Will the lock down apply to private security shagging return quarantined women?

Dan’s government has dropped the ball. Sent all the wrong messaging. Can’t go golfing or fishing but you can protest in your thousands in response to the murder of a black man in America.

Absolutely crazy state with a crazy identity politics driven premier. Anyway I’m off to get my birth certificate changed to reflect I am now a woman even though I have fathered numerous children. It’s a brave new world
Not irresponsible in any way though

Michael O’Brien was calling for a staged reopening of business in Victoria today.

As useless as a marzipan dildo.

Bahahaha... You calling him a "marzipan dildo". What is Commie Dan then?

“I think we have to learn to live with this bloody virus until such time that there’s a vaccine,” O’Brien said.

“And that may never happen.

“We’ve actually gotta be open to the prospect that, a bit like the common cold, there may never be a vaccine for coronavirus.

“Now if that’s the case, we can’t just live in lockdown for the rest of our lives.

“We’ve gotta learn to live with this damn thing, and the way you do that is by protecting the vulnerable, but then having sensible reopening where you can do it safely, and I think you can do both, I think you can walk and chew gum at the same time.

“And that’s what we’re gonna need to, because the alternative is we live the rest of our lives in lockdown.

“I don’t think you wanna do that, I don’t think I wanna do that.

“The economic devastation of this thing is already shocking, we’ve lost 200,000 jobs in Victoria in the last month alone, goodness knows how bad the number’s gonna be next month.

“We’ve gotta find ways to live with this thing until there’s a vaccine, and that means sensible, slow and safe reopening of sections of the economy while protecting those people who are really vulnerable if they get the virus.”

I don't necessarily think that, but they just might have been smart enough to invite ADF like every other state as they were able to realise they are not the smartest to solve this, or refused to let planes in when you had rent-a-coronavirus security guards. Or maybe not... the ADF I think probably the other less likely.

Chairman Dan made a decision, he knew better and we are all paying for it, the only one not paying for it is him he can go wherever he likes in the guise of work. Show some leadership Dan do a press conference from home you a** clown. (Yes he's gone past Galah as an insult, though still a good one to shoot down opposition supporters at the footy)

A lot of ppl blame Muslims at the end of Ramadan for spreading it, and there is no doubt there was some spike because of that in Victoria among others... but how on Earth was there no spike in Lakemba for example where they have done the same thing? There should be a two/three or morefold increase in that area of NSW simply because of the greater numbers in a confined area. The reason their government did not put them into the same situation as Dan did.

There is a labour government in Qld, she has no issues, won't take planes or people into her state, uses the ADF no issues. This is a like 4 like comparison from the same party. She has a heart, seems a bit clueless but has a heart and didn't blame her ppl from her state ever, not from Day 1. Dan did every day until this second spike.

The saddest thing is we are comparing two political bikie gangs in Victoria over who would have done a better job, the answer is nobody knows, if they weren't part of a political party they'd be charged with organised crime like a bikie gang, but as politicians they write laws that make sure only they can hold power. No one else can. Dan is in charge at this time, so he is responsible, if it was Liberal in charge even Jeff he would be getting the exact same spray.

P.S: I would argue this is a very nice spray.

Everyone everywhere has been saying winter is an issue. Just saying. Publicly Jeff has been supporting the current govt

They aren't idiots, idiots wouldn't have gotten to the position they have.

You also don't have to be an ALP supporter to not like Morrison, he's got members of his own party that don't like him. I'm sure it's the same with Andrews.

Thanks for clarifying, mate.

(Note to self: politicians are NOT idiots)

Bahahaha... You calling him a "marzipan dildo". What is Commie Dan then?

“I think we have to learn to live with this bloody virus until such time that there’s a vaccine,” O’Brien said.

“And that may never happen.

“We’ve actually gotta be open to the prospect that, a bit like the common cold, there may never be a vaccine for coronavirus.

“Now if that’s the case, we can’t just live in lockdown for the rest of our lives.

“We’ve gotta learn to live with this damn thing, and the way you do that is by protecting the vulnerable, but then having sensible reopening where you can do it safely, and I think you can do both, I think you can walk and chew gum at the same time.

“And that’s what we’re gonna need to, because the alternative is we live the rest of our lives in lockdown.

“I don’t think you wanna do that, I don’t think I wanna do that.

“The economic devastation of this thing is already shocking, we’ve lost 200,000 jobs in Victoria in the last month alone, goodness knows how bad the number’s gonna be next month.

“We’ve gotta find ways to live with this thing until there’s a vaccine, and that means sensible, slow and safe reopening of sections of the economy while protecting those people who are really vulnerable if they get the virus.”

Jobs before lives.

Couldn’t lead starving wolves to fresh meat.

I hope you at least got the marzipan dildo reference, tige.

Everyone everywhere has been saying winter is an issue. Just saying. Publicly Jeff has been supporting the current govt
Wow Pess that is the greatest stretch to find out whether I'm drunk tonight ever. Even by HHQ standards. Jeff has been saying that is downright lying mate. Can you quote your labour ticket number at 17 branches. Absolute gold.

Why is the ADF the go to answer for everything?
I'll say in the 5 other states and 2 territories where they were let in, the only state they were refused until it was too late and still hamstrung.

Well they seem to be doing slightly better than us.

Not saying it's a panacea but community transmissions (of which there are zero they came from somewhere and we know where) are about 420-nil in Victoria's favour compared to the rest of the country that used ADF.

So yes they may not be the answer for anything, but they do seem to be a small answer in Victoria... I would however never send them to the USA, Brazil or India.

You mean the same protests that DA strongly advised people attending that occurred in every major city in this country, and the western world for that matter, and has yet to reveal one community transmission here? Interesting take.

An Australian General once said "The standard you walk past, is the standard you accept".... When Honest Dan looked the other way to the BLM protest, many took that to be implied laissez faire on social distancing...

Victoria is no longer the place to be. It is the state of disarray.

An Australian General once said "The standard you walk past, is the standard you accept".... When Honest Dan looked the other way to the BLM protest, many took that to be implied laissez faire on social distancing...

Alan Jones sums up Dan magnificently.

yet BLM had no effect in any other state ???

COVID-19 / Coronavirus