Bird Man

Oct 4, 2010
76ers
Hey guys,

Would love your thoughts on what the AFL season would look like come 2021. Assuming Victoria gets their shiz together and can come to the same level as NSW I'm not sure how the season will still function given both Queensland and Perth are playing political football with borders. Will WC and Freo have moved to a Sydney/Bris Location given the Wests strict border closure and rules on incoming oppo teams.

Can clubs even afford to go another year with very limited ticket sales? even if the AFL helps

Of course I have no inside mail but my gut feel on what restrictions will allow if all goes to plan (which it won’t)

Victorian teams able to play in Victoria and travel to SA/NSW/QLD
WA will hold it’s hard border, so WA teams will have to hub in the east for a period, then come back and host vic clubs in a rolling hub for a period, like early this year.
Crowds allowed in some form. Again depends on what happens over the next few months. Australia could have the virus temporarily eliminated by March if there’s no more hotel quarantine **** ups. That might open the possibility of 100% capacity crowds, but that’s more unlikely. If we could get 25k at the G that would be pretty good. WA and SA could easily have 100% stadiums by March, they could probably have them now.
The season won’t be shortened even if there’s an outbreak, the only reason it was stopped was a lack of contingencies in place. They will move teams around if needed.
A vaccine changes all of this significantly. If murmurings are to be believed the season will be played as a vaccine is rolled out in some form - who really knows what changes that will lead to.

More of the same sheet..
More televised games with more of that fake crowd sheet..
Night GF...
GF played interstate...
More covid suspensions...
Lower membership numbers..
The game shrinks in time played...
More rule changes...
More TV ADS...
More BT...

More of the same sheet..
More televised games with more of that fake crowd sheet..
Night GF...
GF played interstate...
More covid suspensions...
Lower membership numbers..
The game shrinks in time played...
More rule changes...
More TV ADS...
More BT...
I posted a piece on this and I reckon people have lost interest in the game , but Gilligan will still get his bonus

Reckon the game will covid evolve to Bwuce and BT with fellow commentators yapping about their opinions re the game play while the game is played in the background...
Then TV ADS...
Then back to Bwuce...BT...

I'm really interested to know how memberships will work for next year given the club & the AFL probably have no idea how many people will be able to attend games next year.

How will the club manage pricing, seat allocations, and how will the allocate entry into the grounds.
100k members, but maybe the seating is capped at 50k.

How do they choose who can go without pissing people off? It's a shit situation to be in and I can see membership numbers falling for all teams.

Reckon the game will covid evolve to Bwuce and BT with fellow commentators yapping about their opinions re the game play while the game is played in the background...
Then TV ADS...
Then back to Bwuce...BT...

So SEN with some pictures............?

I'm really interested to know how memberships will work for next year given the club & the AFL probably have no idea how many people will be able to attend games next year.

How will the club manage pricing, seat allocations, and how will the allocate entry into the grounds.

How do they choose who can go without pissing people off? It's a sh*t situation to be in and I can see membership numbers falling for all teams.

The issue will surround uncertainty. The more uncertainty the lower the memberships. I think treatments will arrive before vaccines - minimisation before elimination. Follow the money.

How do they choose who can go without pissing people off? It's a sh*t situation to be in and I can see membership numbers falling for all teams.
Not sure how they have done it this year, but if there's a significantly reduced capacity there may have to be some sort of allocation.
Let's say they take a conservative estimate, quarter capacity MCG. There's a chance it will be lower - so members can't be fully promised anything, but also a decent chance it could be higher.
In the public reserve that means 12-13k seats total, home team won't get full control but will perhaps get 10k per game.
With 11 home games that gives us 110k seats, and 14 home games gives 140k seats.

Everyone has to submit at the start of the season the games they could attend (would have to be a minimum number submitted so there's flexibility), and they first ensure everyone gets 1 game, best seats going to coterie members. Then with whatever is left over you probably distribute a couple of extra games to coterie members.
So if you get the equivalent of a GA membership, you are guaranteed 1 game (on the condition that quarter capacity is allowed).
If you get a coterie membership you get better seats and potentially more games (plus plenty of other sweeteners I would imagine)

If we end up with a greater capacity allowed, go through a similar process and everyone gets a little more than they paid for.
Would also be good if a framework was set up to swap tickets with other members because some people won't be able to make games they initially thought they could, and it's unfair if they miss out when a swap was possible.

Surely 100% capacity crowds next year but just required to wear a mask? Sounds sh*t honestly but better than nothing.

Ah, a good ol game of Russian Roulette - Covid style!

I'm hopeful of going to the Gabba Granny - but not without some trepidation. Had a guy behind me coughing away at Metricon on Friday! Am I nervous now - **** yeah! How the hell can I know all his recent contacts? Was he up from Melbourne after a quarantine? It all helps but nothing is certain. All for a game of footy? ;)

Edit: just got call from MCC - I have a ticket to the Grand Final - now Tiges, do your part please!

there won't ever be a vaccine imo.
it's something we are all going to have to live with for a while yet.
Best case scenario is we get limited crowds to game in Vic.

Not sure how they have done it this year, but if there's a significantly reduced capacity there may have to be some sort of allocation.
Let's say they take a conservative estimate, quarter capacity MCG. There's a chance it will be lower - so members can't be fully promised anything, but also a decent chance it could be higher.
In the public reserve that means 12-13k seats total, home team won't get full control but will perhaps get 10k per game.
With 11 home games that gives us 110k seats, and 14 home games gives 140k seats.

Everyone has to submit at the start of the season the games they could attend (would have to be a minimum number submitted so there's flexibility), and they first ensure everyone gets 1 game, best seats going to coterie members. Then with whatever is left over you probably distribute a couple of extra games to coterie members.
So if you get the equivalent of a GA membership, you are guaranteed 1 game (on the condition that quarter capacity is allowed).
If you get a coterie membership you get better seats and potentially more games (plus plenty of other sweeteners I would imagine)

If we end up with a greater capacity allowed, go through a similar process and everyone gets a little more than they paid for.
Would also be good if a framework was set up to swap tickets with other members because some people won't be able to make games they initially thought they could, and it's unfair if they miss out when a swap was possible.
Next year could send a few clubs to the wall.

Covid will still be around, so let's experiment. Love to see two divisions, then compete for national finals

An entire Vic based season would be awesome, and nice to give the GenZers for a taste of what real footy was about.

Division 1
Tiges
Blues
Pies
Bombers
Melb,
Saints,
Norf,
Dogs
Hawks

Division 2 interstate sides
Eagles
Freo
Port
Crows
Cats
Swans
GWS
Sun's
Lions

Some were close this year - looking at you North!
North are actually quite financial and are nowhere near the likes of Melbourne, Dogs, St Kilda and even Carlton.
all without pokies too.

Covid will still be around, so let's experiment. Love to see two divisions, then compete for national finals

An entire Vic based season would be awesome, and nice to give the GenZers for a taste of what real footy was about.

Division 1
Tiges
Blues
Pies
Bombers
Melb,
Saints,
Norf,
Dogs

Division 2 interstate sides
Eagles
Freo
Port
Crows
Cats
Swans
GWS
Sun's
Lions

Promotion relegation is one of the mystic of wogball footy lacks.

Look at how much funess it adds to the lower levels

there won't ever be a vaccine imo.
it's something we are all going to have to live with for a while yet.
Best case scenario is we get limited crowds to game in Vic.
EPL is not expecting crowds at all

Covid 2021