Crawford games for the collection

benfranklin

Sep 20, 2013
Gday all. I have a question.

I have been slowly compiling Hawks memories on DVD - premierships, other big finals, documentaries, key moments like the merger game, etc...

I obviously have lots of video of the behemoths of the club in the 70s and 80s, and from the current crop '07-onwards... But there is a glaring omission:

Crawf.

The bloke soldiered through some pretty lean Hawthorn years, so HIS BEST doesn't feature in much of what I have.

Here is the question: does anyone remember any particular games where he was really on show? perhaps some blinders from his brownlow year? any other big crawf memories?

I remember Rd 11 2003 like it was yesterday: only 2 years after our great year in 2001, we had just lost 4 in a row and were languishing at 3-7. Members and fans were frustrated and disaffected, the media was baying for Schwab's blood, and the club was in disarray.

In a best on ground performance, Crawf led us to a gritty victory over Adelaide at the MCG, and then pulled the team together and marched them off the ground arm-in-arm. It was reminiscent of Langford Snr. holding the guernsey aloft after Rd 22 1996 against Melbourne. Another statement from an all-time great of the club that, no matter what happens, the Hawthorn Football Club will stick together and will strive for glory.

There was also a game against Essendon out at Waverley when Crawf "tagged" Hird and completely destroyed him. Like, absolutely wiped him off the field. Maybe in 1998 or his Brownlow year?

Rd 18 1999 vs freo 41 disposals.
Rd 17 1999 vs adelaide 41 disposals (a good fortnight)
Rd 15 1999 vs Lions 38 disposals
Rd 14 2000 vs StK 36 disposals
Rd 2 1993 (His second game ever) 5 goals. (his most ever)
Rd 18 2006 vs Freo 13 marks (He likes playing freo in round 18 evidently)
In that brilliant Elim Final in 2007 (the buddy coming of age game) he had 28 uncontested possessions
If it's contested footy you're after, Rd 7 1999 and rd 2 1999 vs Syd and Adelaide respectively he had a career high 17 possessions.

Hope this helps.

There was also a game against Essendon out at Waverley when Crawf "tagged" Hird and completely destroyed him. Like, absolutely wiped him off the field. Maybe in 1998 or his Brownlow year?

Another Waverley night game against Carlton where he went head to head with Craig Bradley and kicked his ass.
It was a Saturday night game but I can't remember the round or year.

The last 6 or 7 H&A games of 1999, Crawf just blitzed, resulting in him coming from behind in the Brownlow Count with the 3 votes after 3 votes continually being polled... there would be some highlights there.
Yeh I mentioned this in that other thread. He just simply dominated the last month and a bit of the 1999 season. Won us some games off his own brilliance. He was at his absolute peak as a footballer in these games. So so dominant.

No joke, that was as dominant display by a small, aggressive player as I've seen pretty much. It was just awesome to watch.

This is the game that immediately springs to mind for me.
Crawf absolutely destfoyed Tird.
Although i have always suspected that Hawthorn had a fair idea that Tird may not have been right, crawf embarrased the bastard like never before.
Flogged the prick.
And now Tird can go forth and multiply.
I wonder if Tanya took notes on that day.
Shit bloke.

This is the game that immediately springs to mind for me.
Crawf absolutely destfoyed Tird.
Although i have always suspected that Hawthorn had a fair idea that Tird may not have been right, crawf embarrased the bastard like never before.
Flogged the prick.
And now Tird can go forth and multiply.
I wonder if Tanya took notes on that day.
Shit bloke.

classic post mate! agh Crawf theres never been anybody like him imagine the lean years he was involved in would of been shocking.And then 2008 nobody deserved it more .I really miss him from the game now.:(

The standing ovation he got when he came off in the third quarter after this.........

"From the resulting centre bounce, the captain sharked a King tap, burnt off his pursuers, bounced twice and goaled from forty metres to stretch the margin to six goals and completely deflate the opposition." Mark O'Connor

http://www.hawkheadquarters.com/printarticle.aspx?articleid=35

......was beautiful. I was on the Southern side of the ground and on the opposite side, as he walked the boundary, the crowd rose with with his every step.

Loved it, loved it, still love it.

Crawford games for the collection