NZ set the Poms a 658 run target - looks like they're making up for lost time there too, because there's still another half hour to play, subject to the light.
My gut says the impact she was going for was that he isnt just the most valuable player (ie player of the match) but a force higher than that, a totally dominant man who can singlehandedly win or lose the series.I am a fan of Isha Guha, but her comment was a shit for brains, stupid comment. There was absolutely no reason at all for her to replace player, with primate, when describing Bumrah as the MVP.
Good on her for apologising, but if Bumrah was asked about it in a presser last night and he teed off at her, I would have applauded him, despite some would have said he is bullying a female commentator. Stupidity has to be called out these days, as so much of it goes thru to the keeper - pun intended.
Think the Kiwis are scared of bazball and will bat out their innings. Southee just got out and its 9/453 and Kiwis lead by 657.NZ lead England narrowly by 612 runs, with just over two days remaining.
This is the 21st time a team has chased 600+ to win a Test. So far it's resulted in 2 draws and 18 losses. One of the draws was the timeless Test in South Africa, when on day 10, England got to within 42 of their target of 696, before time ran out - if they didn't leave when they did, they would have missed their ship.Think the Kiwis are scared of bazball and will bat out their innings. Southee just got out and its 9/453 and Kiwis lead by 657.
Cancel that Kiwis all out for 453, Bethell out first ball of the new over.
The Cricinfo commentary said its only the 2nd time Kiwis have lead by 600+ runs, in 450 odd test matches.
I used the statguru linked and changed it to Oz in the query and Oz has led by 600+ runs 7 times.
I did it for the poms and they have done it twice, back in the middle of the 2 world wars.
1930 v Windies in Jamaica they led by 835 runs when the first ever triple century was scored by opener Andy Sandham, he was 39 and made 325 and there was no Hobbs, Sutcliffe and Hammond in that test. He made 50 batting in the middle order in the 2nd innings. It was his last Test he played.
England made 849 and 9/272 after Windies only made 286 and they weren't forced to follow on. They saved the test making 5/408, with the great George Headley making 223. They played for 7 days and day 8 and 9 was washed out. I first read this scorecard in the mid 90's from a Wisden's book and was astonished by so many things that happened in that test match.
1928 v Australia at the Brisbane Exhibition Ground, they led by 741 runs and it was Bradman's debut. Poms made 521, they had Hobbs, Sutcliffe and Hammond, but they only scored in the 40's, Oz made 122, Bradman made 18, Poms didn't enforce the follow on and they made 8/342. Aussies then got caught on a rain affected wicket, 2 players were absent injured, only made 66 and Poms won by 675 runs, which is still the biggest ever winning margin by runs. I have read this scorecard many times over the last 40 years.
The biggest Australia have ever led by was 734 runs v Windies in Sydney in 1969. I've heard Ian Chappell talk about this game and the conservative captaincy of Bill Lawry a few times.
Oz were 2-1 up and it was the 5th test. The 4th test in Adelaide was a draw, after the Windies made 616 in their 2nd innings and set Oz 360 to win. Oz got to 9/339 after being 3/300, but 4 or 5 run outs meant the game went right down to the wire.
In the 5th test Oz made 619, Lawry 150 and Walters 200+, bowled out Windies for 279 and conservative Bill Lawry not wanting to give Windies a chance with 2 days and 2 sessions to go, it was a 6 day test as extra day used to be added on if a series could be won or drawn by a victory in the last test of a series. Oz batted again and made 8/394, Dougie made another century and Lawry set Windies 735 to win. They were out early on day 6 for 352.
5 of the other 6 times Oz has done it was pre WWII. The other time was v poms in Brisbane in 2006-07 series, so first test and lead by 647 runs.
I couldn't be bothered looking them all up, so thank's for the stats Phil, as when I was writing about the famous 1930 test in Jamaica, I was pretty sure the only other time that a draw resulted in any 600+ run chases, would have been that 1938 10 day test in Durban.This is the 21st time a team has chased 600+ to win a Test. So far it's resulted in 2 draws and 18 losses. One of the draws was the timeless Test in South Africa, when on day 10, England got to within 42 of their target of 696, before time ran out - if they didn't leave when they did, they would have missed their ship.
Exactly.My gut says the impact she was going for was that he isn't just the most valuable player (ie player of the match) but a force higher than that, a totally dominant man who can singlehandedly win or lose the series.
Agree with a lot of this post but its a fine line here - the thing that makes her so appealing as a commentator is that she doesn't dumb things down. Its why she's a million times better to listen that someone like BT's endless garbage in the footy. But yeah when you walk that line these are the risks you take.Exactly.
This was someone with a hefty vocabulary actually using a word in one of its proper but rarely used contexts, albeit in a way the vast majority of us don't understand (except for Grave Danger).
The Age/SMH cricket writer Daniel Brettiq summed it up well.
Primate, of course, can refer to a person in charge. Among other things, it is the label applied to the head of the Anglican Church. In the context of an India-Australia series in which Bumrah has been close to unplayable, it might have been intended to refer to the alpha-male of the bowling attack. Misspoken or not, Guha clearly intended to speak in praise.
But this wasn't an after dinner discussion amongst well educated intellects playing word games on the BBC to impress each other. IMHO her slip was in forgetting where she was, what her role is as a commentator and (most importantly) the audience she was addressing, not to mention the times. She was being a bit clever by half and that's never appreciated by the masses.
Reckon she regretted it and understood that it was gonna go global the moment it came out of her mouth.
Suggestions it was intended as a racist smear is laughably ignorant given her ongoing commitment to calling out racism and family background. And ultimately it's that heritage that saved her from what would have been a horrible pile on that probably would have ended her broadcast career otherwise. In this case (almost) everyone has moved on pretty quickly given her classy apology.
100%. My comment was intended as a dig at the mob mentality rather than quality commentary and specifically how the collective outrage of the mob around just one word can be so easily prodded into action by the media.Agree with a lot of this post but its a fine line here - the thing that makes her so appealing as a commentator is that she doesn't dumb things down. Its why she's a million times better to listen that someone like BT's endless garbage in the footy. But yeah when you walk that line these are the risks you take.
Up to 25mm tomorrow as well. The Aussies need a miracle.Rain forecast pretty much all day today. Looks like this Test will be a fizzer.
When a mate asked me about the series result at start of November, I said 2-2 with a draw in Sydney because of the rain.Rain forecast pretty much all day today. Looks like this Test will be a fizzer.
Maybe someone can come up with a comparison between time lost in Brisvegas tests due to rain, and the other venues.Up to 25mm tomorrow as well. The Aussies need a miracle.
I've thought that since day 1.Rain forecast pretty much all day today. Looks like this Test will be a fizzer.
I'm sure I saw someone posted on here an article about the SCG having the worst run over the past decade or two at least. I never went as far as to verify it though.Maybe someone can come up with a comparison between time lost in Brisvegas tests due to rain, and the other venues.
Like probably many I suspect the Gabba will have the highest amount of lost time due to weather conditions, but it would be interesting to see if the facts support that opinion.
Sydney is way out in front of all test grounds for complete days lost. Saw a figure a few years ago and it was 23 days I think and rainy Manchester was in the high teens.Maybe someone (REH?) can come up with a comparison between time lost in Brisvegas tests due to rain, and the other venues.
Like probably many I suspect the Gabba will have the highest amount of lost time due to weather conditions, but it would be interesting to see if the facts support that opinion.
The figures I saw were on Cricinfo were from about 5 to 10 years ago.Maybe someone can come up with a comparison between time lost in Brisvegas tests due to rain, and the other venues.
Edit
I was thinking REH would be the bloke to answer that question, and he has already touched on it in the post above!
Which is why a win in Melbourne is so important - if we can win there, the pressure will be on India to defy Sydney's notorious weather to win there, to retain the trophy.I'm sure I saw someone posted on here an article about the SCG having the worst run over the past decade or two at least. I never went as far as to verify it though.
From January 6 2023. Ric Finlay tweeted at 9.33 am and then that day - day 3, was completely lost so Sydney went up to 26 days lost.
Sydney’s rain curse strikes again as Shane Warne’s SCG wish gains traction
‘Time for a change’: Warnie’s Sydney wish in sharp focus after ‘grim’ cricket sightwww.foxsports.com.au
The New South Wales capital, for whatever reason, is peppered by rain during the first week of the calendar year every summer. Six of the past seven Tests at the SCG have been interrupted by rain, with four of those matches ending as draws.
In 2016, only 11 overs were bowled during the middle three days of the New Year’s Test against the West Indies, a particularly dire affair.
As revealed by cricket statistician Ric Finlay, 26 days of Test cricket have now been washed out in Sydney after Friday, comfortably the most for Australian venues.
According to ABC meteorologist Thomas Saunders, 64 per cent of Test cricket days in Sydney have seen rain over the past eight years.
Rain has almost become customary for the annual event – even the SCG covers have their own advertising, with a large NRMA Insurance logo plastered over the tarp.