Sounds super fun to try and keep track of.
AFLW 2024 - Round 9 - Indigenous Round - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Sounds super fun to try and keep track of.
My list below relates to my own cricket career (juniors and years of playing 3rd and 4th grade park cricket)
- Not being able to hit outswingers
- Not getting a bowl so going mid on to mid on from 1pm - 6pm when fielding, often in the heat when spring racing is on
- Having one ump and being rostered to do square leg
- s**t arvo teas
- Teammates who don't take care of the ball
- Blokes who are silent in the field
- Dropping catches
Not an exhaustive list but many of the above are reasons why I haven't played in years and am reticent to come back for veterans
Would love to know why we went to eight balls.Sounds super fun to try and keep track of.
I don't know the official reasons, but the obvious advantage is that you get more actual game time in with fewer end-changes and it keeps the fielding side fresher. I don't think it's particularly onerous for a bowler to deliver 8 balls in succession instead of 6. Most bowlers bowl in multi-over spells anyway.Would love to know why we went to eight balls.
Agree with all of those, although having no umpires at all takes it to a whole new level. Umpiring matches you are playing in is probably one of the least desirable things in sport. You’re either p***ing off the opposition or your teammates, often both.
Jonothan Trott was a shocker, needing to wander towards square leg and have a chat with himself before facing up again. Used to put bowlers right off; they'd be ready and raring to run in again while he's still having a word with the cricket gods.I would love to know when it started that batsmen would begin to take so much time out of the game f**king about.
I do remember players like Jayasuriya in particular who had his idiosyncrasies between deliveries where he had to touch all his equipment etc and Shiv had some routines as well but I don’t remember it holding up play.
When did it become common for guys to start wandering down the pitch and sweeping tiny bits of debris away where they weren’t even in play, backing away from the crease, taking incredible amounts of time to get set, changing gloves every five seconds and generally taking so much time?
The one that really bothers me from that list is the not getting a bowl one.My list below relates to my own cricket career (juniors and years of playing 3rd and 4th grade park cricket)
- Not getting a bowl so going mid on to mid on from 1pm - 6pm when fielding, often in the heat when spring racing is on
- s**t arvo teas
- Dropping catches
Not an exhaustive list but many of the above are reasons why I haven't played in years and am reticent to come back for veterans
I love umpiring your own matches.
Opportunity to wind up the opposition, “nah, going down leg, mate” or triggering your mates - hit pads while halfway down the pitch? That’s plumb!
And then after doing the latter, ignoring the skipper who’s trying to call you in.
The one that really bothers me from that list is the not getting a bowl one.
You're out there for 5 hours plus. You've volunteered your time. You've got 65 odd overs, and you can't spare a measly single over to let some poor bloke do their best?
Variety alone gets wickets sometimes. Some captains treat bowling like a sacred relic only to be touched by a chosen few.
I remember giving a team-mate out caught behind and he gave me an absolute serve and angrily asked if he was out LBW haha. The non striker told him off and that he'd hit the bloody cover off the ball. He still refused to admit he'd even come close to hitting it.Agree with all of those, although having no umpires at all takes it to a whole new level. Umpiring matches you are playing in is probably one of the least desirable things in sport. You’re either p***ing off the opposition or your teammates, often both.
100% Phat.I would love to know when it started that batsmen would begin to take so much time out of the game f**king about.
I do remember players like Jayasuriya in particular who had his idiosyncrasies between deliveries where he had to touch all his equipment etc and Shiv had some routines as well but I don’t remember it holding up play.
When did it become common for guys to start wandering down the pitch and sweeping tiny bits of debris away where they weren’t even in play, backing away from the crease, taking incredible amounts of time to get set, changing gloves every five seconds and generally taking so much time?
Sorry for the indulgence....but the mention of 8 ball overs embarrasses me.....
Was playing in the country in the 80's and one of the guys in our footy side was getting married which meant that there were 7 of our cricket team invited to the wedding which meant most of them batted early and left after getting outMy list below relates to my own cricket career (juniors and years of playing 3rd and 4th grade park cricket)
- s**t arvo teas
- Dropping catches
You're out there for 5 hours plus. You've volunteered your time. You've got 65 odd overs, and you can't spare a measly single over to let some poor bloke do their best?
Variety alone gets wickets sometimes. Some captains treat bowling like a sacred relic only to be touched by a chosen few.
I remember giving a team-mate out caught behind and he gave me an absolute serve and angrily asked if he was out LBW haha. The non striker told him off and that he'd hit the bloody cover off the ball. He still refused to admit he'd even come close to hitting it.
That sucks.What’s frustrating for me is when you bat first, the batsmen fail so the captain thinks only his chosen few can defend a low total. Then when they’ve been belted and the game is lost, he’ll give someone else a bowl.
A few weeks back it was a minefield tailor made for slow medium cutters, but instead he bowls out the quicks, they bowl short and get carted, brings them back for second spell, get carted. 6 runs to win, get thrown the ball. The ball darted everywhere and popped up into the gaps, the batsman had no clue. That was my only over…
That sucks.
The one that really bothers me is the captain who treats spin - any spin except left arm darts around the wicket to a 7-2 off side field, all 6 outside off and can be left completely safely - as inherently risky. It's stupid.
At any given point, slow bowling can be used in as a stress builder, to take the pace off the ball and force the batter to try and make the running, to take wickets, to slow or accelerate the run rate. You can do so, so much more with a spinner than a quick purely by dint of the fact that you can work a quick for 4 without doing very much work yourself; with a spinner if you want that boundary if they're not stuffing up you've got to work for it.
I was once playing in a game with no official umpires and the batting team umpring both ends.Was playing in the country in the 80's and one of the guys in our footy side was getting married which meant that there were 7 of our cricket team invited to the wedding which meant most of them batted early and left after getting out
I was next in.....but had to umpire at square leg with the pads on as there was only 4 of us left to bat the afternoon out. As soon as my teammate got out, we simply exchanged places.....
I actually never minded umpiring despite some of the most blatant cheating from oppo sides (and indeed our own) you'll ever see (we would have all experienced this). I never subscribed to the get even mantra..... If I thought our batsman was out, I gave him out.
For me, it's scoring I don't mind (unless I'm getting unundated with muppets asking me either to update the scoreboard or what the score is).Was playing in the country in the 80's and one of the guys in our footy side was getting married which meant that there were 7 of our cricket team invited to the wedding which meant most of them batted early and left after getting out
I was next in.....but had to umpire at square leg with the pads on as there was only 4 of us left to bat the afternoon out. As soon as my teammate got out, we simply exchanged places.....
I actually never minded umpiring despite some of the most blatant cheating from oppo sides (and indeed our own) you'll ever see (we would have all experienced this). I never subscribed to the get even mantra..... If I thought our batsman was out, I gave him out.
How much are we, mister?For me, it's scoring I don't mind (unless I'm getting unundated with muppets asking me either to update the scoreboard or what the score is).
Guys retiring from international cricket to play in a domestic league overseas...