Cripps or Oliver.

Who is the better player

• P. Cripps

Votes: 352 57.6%
  • C. Oliver

Votes: 259 42.4%

You'd be surprised. He plays injured a lot of the time, his shoulders are ****ed and are heavily strapped each game. How he gets up for each game week in, week out baffles me while still being able to produce what he does.
Did not know, thx. He seems pretty fearless.

I also think it’s a presence thing...
Yeah it doesnt make a lot of sense but i agree 100%, Oliver is a known quantity, youre gonna lose the clearances to him for 10-15 minutes every quarter. Thats why hes a star.

Cripps though less consistent (still pretty consistent) walks into the game breaking moments and its a miracle if he doesnt do something.

Oliver dominates his space, Cripps is that rare player that seems to control whole sections of the ground. Its hard to articulate it though, I'd take both in my side.

Did not know, thx. He seems pretty fearless.

Yeah it doesnt make a lot of sense but i agree 100%, Oliver is a known quantity, youre gonna lose the clearances to him for 10-15 minutes every quarter. Thats why hes a star.

Cripps though less consistent (still pretty consistent) walks into the game breaking moments and its a miracle if he doesnt do something.

Oliver dominates his space, Cripps is that rare player that seems to control whole sections of the ground. Its hard to articulate it though, I'd take both in my side.

Which combo would you rather?:

Oliver/Trac
Oliver/Cripps
Trac/Cripps

I’m going the last option.

Cripps.

Oliver is extremely consistent and a beast in the packs and would love him at my club: he's better at what he does than anyone we have (including our recruit Tom Mitchell). He gives about 10-15 minutes of dynamite pretty much every quarter he plays, and he's a big part of why Melbourne blow sides away quickly.

His stamina is good and he is very durable: haven't seen him play injured but i suspect he would still produce. Defensive side is OK but not brilliant. He's not visibly a leader, he does set a brilliant example and supports his team mates and seems to bring his best effort all the time.

Cripps is a leader, his example but also active direction on the ground is obvious even to an enemy side: in fact Carlton have an unhealthy absence of leaders aside from him. Skills are good inside and outside, he seems a bit more comfortable in the air than Oliver and almost as good on the deck. Has played injured a bit, so not as durable as Oliver, but still has acceptable output when limping.

Oliver is the better for centre clearances, around the ground Cripps seems more versatile (obviously you put your best in the centre so it's not a clear distinction) but the leadership factor, while hard to quantify, really does stand out as a point of difference.

Would swapping in Cripps for Oliver have won Melbourne a final this year? Cripps was hurt so maybe not. Certainly in the Carlton's two shameful late season capitulations it really was Cripps trying to drag a bunch of spineless carcasses over the line. They have a bunch of snipers and sooks like Owie and Curnow, once a run gets going they look like Phar Lap but if it gets tough they are donkeys.

Melbourne has enough exemplars and self-starters like May Petracca and Oliver, and some leadership (Gawn is a steady leader and hate to say it but that flog Viney does spur his mates on), so maybe Cripps wouldn't benefit them that much. The Dees get beaten by fit clubs that produce good footy in time on, its how the pretty shabby Pies list have picked them off recently. Melbourne doesn't have a lack of leadership, just maybe a few C and D tier players to fill in when their stars get tired.

Just so long as some idiot club doesn't gift them a super-fit AA player who can play 90% game time to support their rucks and mids...:huh:
I appreciate someone putting in the effort to analyse the 2. I agree with most of what you said. Regarding leadership etc.That's something that Oliver doesn't have. I'm not sure versatility should come into it at all. Cripps is more versatile than Chris Judd. Despite Judd being twice the player.

You make reference to Melbourne losing to fit teams. I totally agree with this.

The things I disagree on is, Oliver defensively. Oliver is good defensively and Cripps is quite poor. Cripps has pretty terrible lateral movement and he gets stepped around quite a lot. Oliver is also quicker and more powerful than Cripps. I think at the end of the day, if anyone puts Petracca over Oliver it's a pretty clear sign that they don't follow the dees closely. Most dees fans have Oliver ahead of Petracca, as do the dees coaches in terms of BnF voting.

And you reference consistency. This is massive. Cripps was quite poor for long stretches last season. If you go back to midseason, Carlton fans and neutrals conceded defeat on the Cripps vs Oliver debate.

If melbourne had Cripps instead of Oliver I'm sure we would've lost about 3 more games. And conversely Carlton would've probably finished about 6th.

Cripps didn't get the nickname plodder for no reason. He is slow. There was probably about 7 games last year where Cripps was playing at about a James Harmes level. Lets not forget this

Carlton fans talk about his good game against Collingwood. Oliver plays at that level every week. That's his standard.

This is the Buckley/Hird argument all over again. Bucks used to front up playing tier 85 footy week in, week out. James Hird would pop in with a 99 for 10 minutes after 6 quiet weeks and people would orgasm "Bucks never lifts", there's something to be said for stone cold consistency.

I haven't seen much of Oliver, but his defensive effort haven't been visible to me, thats probably a time and place thing (he rarely has to defend), I have seen Cripps defend the few times a year I see him (because he has too, he has to do everything).

My argument boils down to the lazy "X factor" one, "yeah Oliver doesn't have the vibe man".

This is the Buckley/Hird argument all over again. Bucks used to front up playing tier 85 footy week in, week out. James Hird would pop in with a 99 for 10 minutes after 6 quiet weeks and people would orgasm "Bucks never lifts", there's something to be said for stone cold consistency.

I haven't seen much of Oliver, but his defensive effort haven't been visible to me, thats probably a time and place thing (he rarely has to defend), I have seen Cripps defend the few times a year I see him (because he has too, he has to do everything).

My argument boils down to the lazy "X factor" one, "yeah Oliver doesn't have the vibe man".
yeah I'm not denying that Cripps' best isn't very good but Oliver's best is 45 touches and a goal. But Cripps' worst is far worse.

Oliver also kicked the sealer in the 2021 granny. So I think Cripps needs to stand up in finals in a big way. He also got caught holding the ball in the Collingwood which effectively lost Carlton the game. even though he'd had a good game, if was very unclutch.

The ‘vibe’ is from being able to see somebody rip apart the game in 10mins to swing/seal it. To me it shows more peak skill and I’ve seen Cripps do it better.

Oliver may be more consistent recently but Cripps has been plagued by injuries. I think he played with a fractured back for the 2020 or 2021 season.

Fully fit this year and he won a Brownlow, don’t see him slowing down next year bar injuries especially when Carlton will do better.

The ‘vibe’ is from being able to see somebody rip apart the game in 10mins to swing/seal it. To me it shows more peak skill and I’ve seen Cripps do it better.

Oliver may be more consistent recently but Cripps has been plagued by injuries. I think he played with a fractured back for the 2020 or 2021 season.

Fully fit this year and he won a Brownlow, don’t see him slowing down next year bar injuries especially when Carlton will do better.

The fractured back issue has been confirmed by about half the carlton playing list in interviews and his friends and family online. Crazy decision by our medical team to let him play

brownlows don't mean much. Cripps wasn't that good this year. I think the brownlow has clouded a lot of people's memories. He had many average games during the middle of the season to the point where even carlton fans conceded that the poll should be closed.

Cripps played at 2 levels this year - clear best in the competition and pretty ordinary. Doesn't change that at his best he was completely unstoppable and hence why he got so many 3 vote games as nobody was his equal in the games he was 'on'.

I'm not denying that his good is very good but it's an absolute myth that his best is better. I agree that stats only say so much but when you crunch all of the stats and the majority of them support Oliver then it means something.

I was surprised though. I thought Cripps would've been better in his top 5 Games. At the same time, Oliver's worst was a bit worse than I expected.

Cripps Top 5 Games
Round 2- 35 touches, 2 goals, 6 i50's, 11 clearances, 503 metres gained, 12 score involvements, 82.9% Disposal efficiency.
Round 6- 32 touches 3 goals, 1 i50's, 8 clearances, 251 metres gained, 7 score involvements, 81.3% Disposal efficiency.
Round 7- 35 touches, 1 goal, 5 i50's, 10 clearances, 386 metres gained, 11 score involvements, 68.6% Disposal efficiency.
Round 20- 41 touches, 0 goals, 6 i50's, 13 clearances, 596 metres gained, 6 score involvements, 73.2% Disposal efficiency.
Round 23- 35 touches, 0 goals, 8 i50's, 12 clearances, 293 metres gained, 3 score involvements, 60% Disposal efficiency.

Oliver's Top 5 Games
Round 3- 38 touches, 0 goals, 15 i50's, 8 clearances, 666 metres gained, 9 score involvements, 65.8%.
Round 6- 41 touches, 0 goals, 9 i50's, 13 clearances, 684 metres gained, 10 score involvements, 65.9%
Round 8- 38 touches, 0 goals, 1 i50's, 8 clearances, 355 metres gained, 6 score involvements, 78.9%
Round 10- 45 touches, 0 goals, 13 i50's, 13 clearances, 621 metres gained, 6 score involvements, 66.7%.
Round 21- 42 touches, 0 goals, 5 i50's, 14 clearances, 412 metres gained, 7 Score involvements. 69%

Cripps Avg: 35.6 touches, 1.2 goals, 5.2 i50's, 10.8 clearances, 406 metres gained, 73.2% Disposal efficiency.
Oliver Avg: 40.8 touches, 0 goals, 8.6 i50's, 11.2 clearances, 548 metres gained, 69.3% Disposal efficiency.

Cripps' Worst 5 Games

Round 9: 26 touches, 0 goals, 6 i50's, 7 clearances, 442 metres gained, 57.7% Disposal efficiency.
Round 10: 19 touches, 1 goal, 3 i50's, 5 clearances, 264 metres gained, 84.2% Disposal efficiency.
Round 15: 22 touches, 0 goals, 1 i50's, 8 clearances, 219 metres gained, 81.8% Disposal efficiency.
Round 18: 17 touches, 1 goal, 2 i50's, 4 clearances, 197 metres gained, 70.6% Disposal efficiency.
Round 21: 24 touches, 1 goals, 1 i50, 10 clearances, 156 metres gained, 66.7% Disposal efficiency.

Oliver's Worst 5 Games
Round 4: 19 touches, 0 goals, 4 i50's, 6 clearances, 359 metres gained, 57.9% Disposal efficiency.
Round 20: 21 touches, 0 goals, 1 i50, 5 clearances, 242 metres gained, 47.6 Disposal efficiency.
Round 9: 29 touches, 0 Goals, 4 i50's, 7 clearances, 261 metres gained, 69% Disposal efficiency.
Round 12: 29 touches, 0 Goals, 2 i50's, 7 clearances, 273 metres gained, 72.4% Disposal efficiency.
Round 22: 29 touches, 0 goals, 8 i50's, 6 clearances, 418 metres gained, 69% Disposal efficiency.

Cripps Avg: 21.6 touches, 0.6 goals, 2.6 i50's, 6.8 clearances, 255.6 metres gained, 72.2% Disposal efficiency.
Oliver Avg: 25.4 touches, 0 goals, 3.8 i50's, 6.2 clearances, 310 metres gained, 63.18% Disposal efficiency.

I'm not denying that his good is very good but it's an absolute myth that his best is better. I agree that stats only say so much but when you crunch all of the stats and the majority of them support Oliver then it means something.

I was surprised though. I thought Cripps would've been better in his top 5 Games. At the same time, Oliver's worst was a bit worse than I expected.

Cripps Top 5 Games
Round 2- 35 touches, 2 goals, 6 i50's, 11 clearances, 503 metres gained, 12 score involvements, 82.9% Disposal efficiency.
Round 6- 32 touches 3 goals, 1 i50's, 8 clearances, 251 metres gained, 7 score involvements, 81.3% Disposal efficiency.
Round 7- 35 touches, 1 goal, 5 i50's, 10 clearances, 386 metres gained, 11 score involvements, 68.6% Disposal efficiency.
Round 20- 41 touches, 0 goals, 6 i50's, 13 clearances, 596 metres gained, 6 score involvements, 73.2% Disposal efficiency.
Round 23- 35 touches, 0 goals, 8 i50's, 12 clearances, 293 metres gained, 3 score involvements, 60% Disposal efficiency.

Oliver's Top 5 Games
Round 3- 38 touches, 0 goals, 15 i50's, 8 clearances, 666 metres gained, 9 score involvements, 65.8%.
Round 6- 41 touches, 0 goals, 9 i50's, 13 clearances, 684 metres gained, 10 score involvements, 65.9%
Round 8- 38 touches, 0 goals, 1 i50's, 8 clearances, 355 metres gained, 6 score involvements, 78.9%
Round 10- 45 touches, 0 goals, 13 i50's, 13 clearances, 621 metres gained, 6 score involvements, 66.7%.
Round 21- 42 touches, 0 goals, 5 i50's, 14 clearances, 412 metres gained, 7 Score involvements. 69%

Cripps Avg: 35.6 touches, 1.2 goals, 5.2 i50's, 10.8 clearances, 406 metres gained, 73.2% Disposal efficiency.
Oliver Avg: 40.8 touches, 0 goals, 8.6 i50's, 11.2 clearances, 548 metres gained, 69.3% Disposal efficiency.

Cripps' Worst 5 Games

Round 9: 26 touches, 0 goals, 6 i50's, 7 clearances, 442 metres gained, 57.7% Disposal efficiency.
Round 10: 19 touches, 1 goal, 3 i50's, 5 clearances, 264 metres gained, 84.2% Disposal efficiency.
Round 15: 22 touches, 0 goals, 1 i50's, 8 clearances, 219 metres gained, 81.8% Disposal efficiency.
Round 18: 17 touches, 1 goal, 2 i50's, 4 clearances, 197 metres gained, 70.6% Disposal efficiency.
Round 21: 24 touches, 1 goals, 1 i50, 10 clearances, 156 metres gained, 66.7% Disposal efficiency.

Oliver's Worst 5 Games
Round 4: 19 touches, 0 goals, 4 i50's, 6 clearances, 359 metres gained, 57.9% Disposal efficiency.
Round 20: 21 touches, 0 goals, 1 i50, 5 clearances, 242 metres gained, 47.6 Disposal efficiency.
Round 9: 29 touches, 0 Goals, 4 i50's, 7 clearances, 261 metres gained, 69% Disposal efficiency.
Round 12: 29 touches, 0 Goals, 2 i50's, 7 clearances, 273 metres gained, 72.4% Disposal efficiency.
Round 22: 29 touches, 0 goals, 8 i50's, 6 clearances, 418 metres gained, 69% Disposal efficiency.

Cripps Avg: 21.6 touches, 0.6 goals, 2.6 i50's, 6.8 clearances, 255.6 metres gained, 72.2% Disposal efficiency.
Oliver Avg: 25.4 touches, 0 goals, 3.8 i50's, 6.2 clearances, 310 metres gained, 63.18% Disposal efficiency.
Cripps also had Round 1, 30 touches and 3 goals.

Round 8 he had 35 and 2 goals.

Round 19, 34 and 1.2
Taking into consideration stats, Oliver shows he was doing a clinic with his inside work, ball winning and ability to will it forward.

Cripps tho, absolutely different beast, just look at the goals too, he was a beast around stoppage, almost impossible to tackle at his best and getting the ball out to the users, and exploding through and out of packs.

And then going forward and being just a ridiculously hard match up.

There’s levels to how much impact they have, Cripps has a next level impact, at his best he is the best in the league by a fair way, Bont was last year.

Cripps also had Round 1, 30 touches and 3 goals.

Round 8 he had 35 and 2 goals.

Round 19, 34 and 1.2
Taking into consideration stats, Oliver shows he was doing a clinic with his inside work, ball winning and ability to will it forward.

Cripps tho, absolutely different beast, just look at the goals too, he was a beast around stoppage, almost impossible to tackle at his best and getting the ball out to the users, and exploding through and out of packs.

And then going forward and being just a ridiculously hard match up.

There’s levels to how much impact they have, Cripps has a next level impact, at his best he is the best in the league by a fair way, Bont was last year.
I picked what I believed was Cripps' top 5 games. You can't just keeping adding in other games because Oliver also had 43 possessions and 1 goal and I still didn't include that in his top 5 games.

Dude, the stats speak for themselves. Why are you talking about clearance work? Oliver is the better clearance player. lol.

The stats support this.

The metres gained stats are damning. Because Oliver also beats Cripps at clearance. So it's pretty indefensible at this point. You can say that Cripps is a a goal kicking mid but in reality its also overstated. He kicked 7 goals in his last 14 games. So it's greatly overstated and somewhat a myth also.

I'm happy for you to include any other stats you like to get a better picture but any time stats are involved Oliver destroys Cripps and to be honest I don't think Cripps is remotely in the same league as Oliver or Petracca.

Cripps Top 5 Games

Oliver's Top 5 Games

Cripps' Worst 5 Games

Oliver's Worst 5 Games

So Oliver doesn’t kick a goal in his best games. Cripps games seem better to me. He has the ability to kick goals no matter how badly he is playing.

Cripps had a great goal-kicking year (20 goals). It's the reason he won the Brownlow.

As a junior Oliver's numbers re goals was good. It's the one area of his game I'd like to see improve.

If Oliver elevates his goal-kicking to 15+ he becomes indisputably the most valuable midfielder in the competition. He's in that conversation now, but he'd put it to bed.

So Oliver doesn’t kick a goal in his best games. Cripps games seem better to me. He has the ability to kick goals no matter how badly he is playing.

yeah Oliver isn't a goal kicker. That's about the only thing going for cripps but at the same time 7 goals in his last 14 games is barely anything special.

I think the stats clearly speak for themselves.

How can you justify them. Especially the metres gained stat. And it's not like Cripps is winning more at clearance because he isn't.

The stats clearly show that Cripps' best is not better. it's a myth.

I've proven that.

yeah Oliver isn't a goal kicker. That's about the only thing going for cripps but at the same time 7 goals in his last 14 games is barely anything special.

I think the stats clearly speak for themselves.

How can you justify them. Especially the metres gained stat. And it's not like Cripps is winning more at clearance because he isn't.

The stats clearly show that Cripps' best is not better. it's a myth.

I've proven that.

Idk man kicking 3 goals and 35+ disposals or whatever it was seems more damaging to me than anything Oliver has done. Each to their own I guess.

he never had 35+ and 3. Don't just add goals and disposals to make your argument sound better. Cripps' best game were listed above. Stick to those.

Nonetheless, you've got to justify getting absolutely smashed for metres gained. It's not even close. it's a spanking. Not to mention inside 50's also smashing him. As well as disposals. These are pretty big metrics we're talking. And these stats suits Cripps because we're taking his best 5 games. Imagine if we took it over the full course of the season, it'd be even more one sided than it already is.

The stats debunk the idea that Cripps' best is the best. Far from it. They're quite damning.

eh like i said last week he's not moving right...... again.

can't kick on his right, has no acceleration and can barely bend over. its annoying. just take a few weeks off ffs.

Oliver all day everyday.

Just checking in to see if anyone is still making a case for Cripps?

Oliver. Superstar.

Even if we’re talking about a bloke who does one thing particularly well, he does that thing perhaps better than anyone who's ever played the game. That alone puts him way above even an excellent footballer like Cripps.

He was ok yesterday. Stats look good but wasn't his best game.

Saad was best on by a mile.

He wouldn't and shouldn't be in AA discussion anymore, stellar first quarter of the season but has been pretty meh since then. Hoping his form picks back up when Pitto is back next week, but not holding my breath. Said it numerous times but reckon he is carrying something, just has that stiffness about him.

As for Oliver, I believe he still has red hair.

What has happened to Cripps? Best player in the league first two months of the year, now has regressed back to 2021 form.

Us Blues fans wonder the same thing. I assume his back acts up, he looks stiffer than earlier in the year. But maybe I'm wrong.

These were all the comments from neutrals and Carlton fans after Round 18. lol. shows you how quickly some people forget how terrible Cripps was for big portions of last season. :)

he never had 35+ and 3. Don't just add goals and disposals to make your argument sound better. Cripps' best game were listed above. Stick to those.

Nonetheless, you've got to justify getting absolutely smashed for metres gained. It's not even close. it's a spanking. Not to mention inside 50's also smashing him. As well as disposals. These are pretty big metrics we're talking. And these stats suits Cripps because we're taking his best 5 games. Imagine if we took it over the full course of the season, it'd be even more one sided than it already is.

The stats debunk the idea that Cripps' best is the best. Far from it. They're quite damning.

Your post said 32 and 3 in round 6. I couldn’t remember exactly so I just said 35. Same thing.

no it's not the same thing. 35 is as close to 32 as 29. You may as well say 29 and 3 then. But like I said, the stats speak for themselves. It's been debunked. The quotes speak for themselves also.

Jesus mate it’s 3 disposals relax. Fine whatever 32 and 3 is better than what Oliver has done imo. You aren’t debunking anything, you just value/prefer the stats Oliver gets. I don’t. Goal kicking mids are so hard to find and they are the most damaging players in the comp, Oliver isn’t one of those.

Also, Cripps being a goal kicking mid is also a complete myth. Before this season, he never kicked more than 13 in a season. And over their careers Cripps has averaged 0.5 goals per game and Oliver 0.3. lol. 0.2 doesn't make up for losing every other stat out there does it?

If people just did a little bit of research they'd get the answers for themselves. This thread should've been closed before 2022 even started. Cripps is closer to a Viney than an Oliver.

Also, Cripps being a goal kicking mid is also a complete myth. Before this season, he never kicked more than 13 in a season. And over their careers Cripps has averaged 0.5 goals per game and Oliver 0.3. lol. 0.2 doesn't make up for losing every other stat out there does it?

If people just did a little bit of research they'd get the answers for themselves. This thread should've been closed before 2022 even started. Cripps is closer to a Viney than an Oliver.

I’m assuming this thread was current form, no?
Oliver career wise has been better, last year he was very good. We’ll have to see how they go on from here, you could end up being right. But for now on current form Cripps is better going into 2023 imo.

Cripps or Oliver.