Frank Lampard

Brett Kirk
Luke Ball
Paul Scholes
Makybe Diva
Guy Rigoni

Zuri Hall GIF by Golden Globes

Screen Shot 2022-11-25 at 3.07.28 pm.png

Cripps, if you replaced him with Oliver. Dees would’ve gone b2b.

I don't understand this comment. As stated several times, Cripps has never played in a final, so there's no proof that we would've gone B2B if he was in our team.

Oliver, on the other hand, has already proven to be an excellent finals performer. He was easily in our top 3 players in the 2021 finals series and he almost dragged us over the line in the QF against Sydney this year.

I don't understand this comment. As stated several times, Cripps has never played in a final, so there's no proof that we would've gone B2B if he was in our team.

Oliver, on the other hand, has already proven to be an excellent finals performer. He was easily in our top 3 players in the 2021 finals series and he almost dragged us over the line in the QF against Sydney this year.

Cripps would’ve dragged you over the line. Won the Brownlow for a reason. Guys an absolute unit.

but to be fair he wouldn't have if he played for melbourne with dees' midfield how many votes is Cripps realistically getting, 15? maybe 18 maximum.

More than Trac or Oliver, Neale would’ve won it if Cripps played for the Dees. Thank god he doesn’t.

I watched Oliver turn around a Grand Final against my own team think you're talking shite here
It's interesting that you think it was Oliver. I watched with a mate, a Western Bulldogs supporter, and both of us think it was Jackson going into the ruck that turned the game. We also thought, as good as Oliver was, that Petracca was better.

Cripps.

Oliver is extremely consistent and a beast in the packs and would love him at my club: he's better at what he does than anyone we have (including our recruit Tom Mitchell). He gives about 10-15 minutes of dynamite pretty much every quarter he plays, and he's a big part of why Melbourne blow sides away quickly.

His stamina is good and he is very durable: haven't seen him play injured but i suspect he would still produce. Defensive side is OK but not brilliant. He's not visibly a leader, he does set a brilliant example and supports his team mates and seems to bring his best effort all the time.

Cripps is a leader, his example but also active direction on the ground is obvious even to an enemy side: in fact Carlton have an unhealthy absence of leaders aside from him. Skills are good inside and outside, he seems a bit more comfortable in the air than Oliver and almost as good on the deck. Has played injured a bit, so not as durable as Oliver, but still has acceptable output when limping.

Oliver is the better for centre clearances, around the ground Cripps seems more versatile (obviously you put your best in the centre so it's not a clear distinction) but the leadership factor, while hard to quantify, really does stand out as a point of difference.

Would swapping in Cripps for Oliver have won Melbourne a final this year? Cripps was hurt so maybe not. Certainly in the Carlton's two shameful late season capitulations it really was Cripps trying to drag a bunch of spineless carcasses over the line. They have a bunch of snipers and sooks like Owie and Curnow, once a run gets going they look like Phar Lap but if it gets tough they are donkeys.

Melbourne has enough exemplars and self-starters like May Petracca and Oliver, and some leadership (Gawn is a steady leader and hate to say it but that flog Viney does spur his mates on), so maybe Cripps wouldn't benefit them that much. The Dees get beaten by fit clubs that produce good footy in time on, its how the pretty shabby Pies list have picked them off recently. Melbourne doesn't have a lack of leadership, just maybe a few C and D tier players to fill in when their stars get tired.

Just so long as some idiot club doesn't gift them a super-fit AA player who can play 90% game time to support their rucks and mids...:huh:

Cripps.

Oliver is extremely consistent and a beast in the packs and would love him at my club: he's better at what he does than anyone we have (including our recruit Tom Mitchell). He gives about 10-15 minutes of dynamite pretty much every quarter he plays, and he's a big part of why Melbourne blow sides away quickly.

His stamina is good and he is very durable: haven't seen him play injured but i suspect he would still produce. Defensive side is OK but not brilliant. He's not visibly a leader, he does set a brilliant example and supports his team mates and seems to bring his best effort all the time.

Cripps is a leader, his example but also active direction on the ground is obvious even to an enemy side: in fact Carlton have an unhealthy absence of leaders aside from him. Skills are good inside and outside, he seems a bit more comfortable in the air than Oliver and almost as good on the deck. Has played injured a bit, so not as durable as Oliver, but still has acceptable output when limping.

Oliver is the better for centre clearances, around the ground Cripps seems more versatile (obviously you put your best in the centre so it's not a clear distinction) but the leadership factor, while hard to quantify, really does stand out as a point of difference.

Would swapping in Cripps for Oliver have won Melbourne a final this year? Cripps was hurt so maybe not. Certainly in the Carlton's two shameful late season capitulations it really was Cripps trying to drag a bunch of spineless carcasses over the line. They have a bunch of snipers and sooks like Owie and Curnow, once a run gets going they look like Phar Lap but if it gets tough they are donkeys.

Melbourne has enough exemplars and self-starters like May Petracca and Oliver, and some leadership (Gawn is a steady leader and hate to say it but that flog Viney does spur his mates on), so maybe Cripps wouldn't benefit them that much. The Dees get beaten by fit clubs that produce good footy in time on, its how the pretty shabby Pies list have picked them off recently. Melbourne doesn't have a lack of leadership, just maybe a few C and D tier players to fill in when their stars get tired.

Just so long as some idiot club doesn't gift them a super-fit AA player who can play 90% game time to support their rucks and mids...:huh:

I also think it’s a presence thing. The best players have it. Whenever I see Cripps get the ball I shit myself, he’s a unit that can bulldoze his way through multiple players. Almost impossible to tackle when he’s on.

Judd, GAJ, Dusty, Carey, Matthews and pretty much the whole 01-03 lions team had that X factor. I’d even say Trac and DeGoey have that to a lesser extent as well.

Whereas with players like Oliver you typically find out he had a great game after reading the stats sheet once the game is over. I can’t count the amount of times I’ve seen Dees games and been like ‘oh Oliver got 35+ touches that game? He had a great match’. Never been like that with Cripps, you know every time when he’s demolishing a game.

Cripps.

His stamina is good and he is very durable: haven't seen him play injured but i suspect he would still produce.

You'd be surprised. He plays injured a lot of the time, his shoulders are ****ed and are heavily strapped each game. How he gets up for each game week in, week out baffles me while still being able to produce what he does.

Cripps or Oliver.