blackdiamond

Dec 7, 2000
Melbourne, Victoria
Port Adelaide
New Orleans Saints, Detroit Tigers
I bet all you Crows supporters are really, really happy tonight! You guys now have a new shed, the old one is going to now become a carpark and you guys are going to have a bigger shed.

After the millions that the Crows have made over the years you would at least think they would have built you guys a club room by now, then again the Crows are not really a club, they are only a team.

A new shed, what a laugh!

------------------
Port Adelaide Forever

Well, I guess the millions the Crows have made over the last 10 years have been mostly distributed to the local SANFL clubs (including the Magpies). We are proud to support the SANFL, unlike the other AFL team in South Australia.

Crow54!

I am extremely sorry that the Port Adelaide Football Club did not give any money back to the SANFL last season, my apologies.

However on the rules of entry for the Port Adelaide Football Club the licence fee had to be paid back faster than any other club before it. The loss for the year 2000 was only small and it is fair to say that if the payments were not so large, and were on par with what Adelaide paid back per year we would have made a profit, therefore making the SANFL very happy.

I think it would be fair to have a spit if we were to make a loss like the Kangaroos however this is not the case.

So what if maybe the Port Adelaide Football Club gave a bit of money to their supporters rather than the SANFL where you think it should truly go.

The Crows are said to be 'The Team For All South Australians', but are they?

If this is so I am sure they would have built you something more than a shed!

Perhaps this further emphasises the difference between a team and a club.

Port Adelaide - Power to the people!

------------------
Port Adelaide Forever

Originally posted by Scott:
Crow54!

The Crows are said to be 'The Team For All South Australians', but are they?

If this is so I am sure they would have built you something more than a shed!

Perhaps this further emphasises the difference between a team and a club.

Port Adelaide - Power to the people!

I guess by spreading out our profit to all the SANFL teams, you could say the Crows are a team for all South Aussies, smile.

As for the social club situation, the Crows did have plans for extensions to the present social club, but a bit of hokey-pokey went on with the very same local clubs we support. Apparently none of them wanted the Crows social club to take away support from their own clubs. I think a vocal official from a western suburbs club may have had a bit to do with this, and also a seaside club was planning to upgrade its social amenities.

100 % RIGHT THERE 54

The crows are the team for ALL south Aussies....Not for a Polluted Part of Adelaide like Port......
wink.gif

GO CROWS!

------------------
"I came here to win, I am a winner" - Denzel Washington , Remember The Titans ; 2000

Originally posted by Crow54:
Well, I guess the millions the Crows have made over the last 10 years have been mostly distributed to the local SANFL clubs (including the Magpies). We are proud to support the SANFL, unlike the other AFL team in South Australia.

C'mon Crow54, Stop it. You always make me laugh. The Crows are proud to support the SANFL, please. You fool the SANFL which includes the 9 clubs actually owns the Crows & Power licences. The Crows aren't doing them a favour by distributing money back to them. They are doing the Crows a favour by letting them represent the SANFL in the AFL. WAKE UP!!!!!.

QT!

You say the Crows are a 'Team For All South Australians', but you are wrong.

Great the Crows give back money to the SANFL but what about their supporters? They get nothing, are they not also South Australians?

Obviously not the 'Team For All South Australians'.

------------------
Port Adelaide Forever

QT!

Great the Crows give back money to the SANFL but what about their supporters? They get nothing, are they not also South Australians?

Obviously not the 'Team For All South Australians'.

HAHAHAHAA

What the hell is that meant to mean???

------------------
"I came here to win, I am a winner" - Denzel Washington , Remember The Titans ; 2000

Originally posted by carb70:
C'mon Crow54, Stop it. You always make me laugh. The Crows are proud to support the SANFL, please. You fool the SANFL which includes the 9 clubs actually owns the Crows & Power licences. The Crows aren't doing them a favour by distributing money back to them. They are doing the Crows a favour by letting them represent the SANFL in the AFL. WAKE UP!!!!!.

Your reasoning here is so convoluted I can barely understand it, and I can't believe you're saying the SANFL isn't pleased the Crows are distributing money back to its local clubs. What would happen if NEITHER AFL team sent money back? If the Crows kept all their money would they be better acknowledging the favour the SANFL is doing them?

My question should read pretty simple, I will spell it out once again.

What have the Crows given their supporters in the years that they have been in the competition, I am not talking about the premierships because that is obvious, but what else have they given them?

It would appear that Port have given their supporters more in the short time that they have been in the competition. At least we have a clubroom, the Crows are still trying to force this stupid shed thing on you, and your taking the bait.

------------------
Port Adelaide Forever

I can't believe the dribble coming from the "Power". What have the Crows done for their supporters and the State.

Well after the BankSA debacle earlier in the '90s, they gave hope and inspiration to the State. Where were you when they one their first game in 1991, I know where I was. Where we you when the won their first finals game in 1993, I know where I was. Where were you when the won the first preliminary final in 1997 then again in 1998, I know where I was. And again where were you when the won their first and second flag, I know where I was. They have given memories that Power supporters can't imagine and will forever be in our hearts and minds. The team for ALL South Australians, you bet they are.

PS : We don't need a club room that only fits 4000 people. Give me great memories like above any day.

Kirkyno1!

First of all if you read my question I said take out the premierships what have the Crows given you, obviously nothing because you had ignore that part, not that I was surprised.

You can thank the Port Adelaide Football Club for getting our state through the State Bank debacle. Hell we would still be playing in the SANFL if Port didn't force the hand of the SANFL, don't tell me it was all the Crows work.

Last of all Im quite happy if you like to celebrate your Crows wins in a shed however it would be much better in a club though.

------------------
Port Adelaide Forever

Kirkyno1!

Last of all Im quite happy if you like to celebrate your Crows wins in a shed however it would be much better in a club though.

How would it be better? Better atmosphere, better beer, better chairs? Better toilets, better supporters, better band? Heck, it would be luverly to have a club, but a Crows shed is better to me any day than a Power Palace, lol.

Well said Crow54. I'm glad your happy about your tin shed social club. Its great to see the club look after its supporters. I mean even people locked up in jail have better facilities than Crows supporters, it just proves how much the club loves you and no Crow54 because I'm a Port supporter and I used jail as a example it doesn't mean I have spent time there.

Originally posted by carb70:
Well said Crow54. I'm glad your happy about your tin shed social club. Its great to see the club look after its supporters. I mean even people locked up in jail have better facilities than Crows supporters, it just proves how much the club loves you and no Crow54 because I'm a Port supporter and I used jail as a example it doesn't mean I have spent time there.

Well Crabby, you have me here, I can't argue on this at all, wouldn't have a clue about the facilities at Yatala or Mobilong or any other jail.... I'm glad you added the last phrase for us, you had me wondering there for a while, lol

I'm siding with the Port supporters here (and I never thought I'd hear myself say that...)

The club hasn't done SHIT for it's supporters. Sure, they've won a couple of premierships, but what have they done for the fans? Given us a ****ing tin shed, that's what. We have more money than any other club in the competition, and we're given a second rate, derelict tin shed as a replacement for a proper club. Wake up! I'm as much of a Crows supporter as the rest of you, but this is just ridiculous! I mean, we've supported them for 10 years now - spent a shitload of money on tickets, merchandise, and followed the team around the country to games - and we still don't have a proper club for our supporters... If you work it out, most of us have spent thousands of dollars in the past 10 years - I myself spent at least $500 on final trips and tickets in 1997/1998 and that's only two years - and what do we get in return? **** all.

The slogan "The Team For All South Australians" won't mean shit until the club wakes up and realises it needs its supporters... I mean, the club doesn't even sponsor its cheer squad. Instead, the cheer squad spends much of it's revenue on buying things for the club - Come on!

Last year's family day was another joke - Instead of having the players wandering around amongst the fans, etc, like any normal "club", we had "Autograph Booths", where you had to line up for over 1/2 hour, just for a signature. By the time you'd lined up and waited for your particular player, they'd gone, and someone else was there. And god forbid if you wanted to take photos once you got in there! That wasn't allowed! If you wanted a photo, you had to go to the photo booth and pay a stack for one of "their" photos!

I am sick to death of the club wrapping our players in cotton wool - the supporters just aren't allowed to get anywhere near the players anymore... I've waited outside the visitors changerooms at Footy Park before, with some friends who follow other teams, and their club's officials have basically opened the doors to the supporters, and let everyone in to talk to the players and get autographs and everything - Can you imagine the Crows doing that? God no!

Things like this give me the severe shits. Most of us have been loyal supporters since day one - and this Tin Shed is our thanks... it's a joke.

------------------
'...and we won't give up, till the premiership cup is safely in our hands...'

Go South!

Well Done!

It only took ten days but finally one of you Crows supporters understood my statement.

Just another thing to add as well, we Port supporters can go to the 'Club' 365 days a year, you Crows supporters only have access to the 'Shed' once every two weeks during the Football season.

Can you tell me of another professional sporting club in the world that would limit supporters access like this, you should all be asking Bill Sanders for more.

------------------
Port Adelaide Forever

Go South!

Well Done!

It only took ten days but finally one of you Crows supporters understood my statement.

Just another thing to add as well, we Port supporters can go to the 'Club' 365 days a year, you Crows supporters only have access to the 'Shed' once every two weeks during the Football season.

Can you tell me of another professional sporting club in the world that would limit supporters access like this, you should all be asking Bill Sanders for more.

Yeah, I wrote the club a letter a while ago, but *surprise*, no response.

The point you make about the shed being only open for once every two weeks during the footy season is spot on - I said something about that in the letter I reckon - it's ridiculous... Even if they did find the time to respond to some criticism (like that's ever going to happen), they'd probably just reply and say that we already DO have a social club - which is true - the problem is, it's a ****ing pokey, tiny little hole thing, that serves virtually no purpose whatsoever.

------------------

Originally posted by Go South:
I'm siding with the Port supporters here (and I never thought I'd hear myself say that...)

The club hasn't done SHIT for it's supporters. Sure, they've won a couple of premierships, but what have they done for the fans? Given us a ****ing tin shed, that's what. We have more money than any other club in the competition, and we're given a second rate, derelict tin shed as a replacement for a proper club. Wake up! I'm as much of a Crows supporter as the rest of you, but this is just ridiculous! I mean, we've supported them for 10 years now - spent a shitload of money on tickets, merchandise, and followed the team around the country to games - and we still don't have a proper club for our supporters... If you work it out, most of us have spent thousands of dollars in the past 10 years - I myself spent at least $500 on final trips and tickets in 1997/1998 and that's only two years - and what do we get in return? **** all.

The slogan "The Team For All South Australians" won't mean shit until the club wakes up and realises it needs its supporters... I mean, the club doesn't even sponsor its cheer squad. Instead, the cheer squad spends much of it's revenue on buying things for the club - Come on!

Last year's family day was another joke - Instead of having the players wandering around amongst the fans, etc, like any normal "club", we had "Autograph Booths", where you had to line up for over 1/2 hour, just for a signature. By the time you'd lined up and waited for your particular player, they'd gone, and someone else was there. And god forbid if you wanted to take photos once you got in there! That wasn't allowed! If you wanted a photo, you had to go to the photo booth and pay a stack for one of "their" photos!

FINALLY a crow supporter that has taken the one eyed goggles off!! I dont beleive any crow supporter that says they are happy with the social facilities down there. They treat it like a business basically!

Ports family fun day was great...players were walking around everywhere, they even had the internal trial that day to give a look a tthe guys in action, they didnt shy away from any photos or anything. Well it does give us another thing to rib crows fans about...it does sound funny when you hear a fan say "you wanna go down the shed after the game"...its just a way of the crows looking more "brutal" or aggresive i guess...they have a reputation of being the chardonnay set...i bet Bill Sanders said at a meeting "lets call it the shed, make it sound more lower class, then we will get rid of the snobby names"

Would you rather spend your time in a nice building which is open whenever, counter meals, pub, pictures and history over the place...or in a shed 11 times a year at the most??

Originally posted by Macca19:

building which is open whenever, counter meals, pub, pictures and history over the place...or in a shed 11 times a year at the most??

At the moment I can go to the Crows Social Club at Footy Park for a meal, drink, whatever, and eat my meal under pictures of Crow teams since their inception into the AFL; there are also pictures from our two premiership wins in the top Aussie rules competition, and pictures of our Club Champions and others, plus the two premiership flags. So I have THAT, and a huge shed, which can fit in more supporters than any other social facility in the AFL, big smile.

Originally posted by Crow54:
At the moment I can go to the Crows Social Club at Footy Park for a meal, drink, whatever, and eat my meal under pictures of Crow teams since their inception into the AFL; there are also pictures from our two premiership wins in the top Aussie rules competition, and pictures of our Club Champions and others, plus the two premiership flags. So I have THAT, and a huge shed, which can fit in more supporters than any other social facility in the AFL, big smile.

Yes, you can go to that pokey little hole and enjoy a meal... but from a club that earns a shitload more money than any other in the league - I expect more.

------------------

Sorry, forgot now what does the Adelaide Football Club do with the shitload of money it makes. Ah, thats right 80% goes back to the SANFL for distribution to the local clubs. Now for the other club, what happens when you distribute 80% of nothing, well believe it or not its NOTHING!!!

Accountants, obviously not, unless of course you setup a foundation which means the funds don't need to get channelled back thru the SANFL. Well, done Port another reason to despise you (as if I didnt have enough).

Originally posted by kirkyno1:
Sorry, forgot now what does the Adelaide Football Club do with the shitload of money it makes. Ah, thats right 80% goes back to the SANFL for distribution to the local clubs. Now for the other club, what happens when you distribute 80% of nothing, well believe it or not its NOTHING!!!

Accountants, obviously not, unless of course you setup a foundation which means the funds don't need to get channelled back thru the SANFL. Well, done Port another reason to despise you (as if I didnt have enough).

have a little sook why dont you! Get your dummy out...port have a liscence fee to pay off believe it or not...and we also had to pay it off a llot quicker than the crows did, meaning more money in each payment, which means the money we made got wittled away because of the liscence fee. If you get your blinkers off for 5 minutes youd realise this

For those of you who are really worried about the "shed" being just that....

on the Crows website it is written that the new shed will be carpeted, have 5kms of curtains, have a huge sound system, permanent super screen, and a few bars, one of which will have a lounge.

CROWS NOW HAVE NEW SHED!