Opinion Crushed the Culture

If we trade hard for picks to rebuild that would effectively be Brad falling on his sword. As that course of action would take multiple years to bare fruit years he doesn't have I don't believe.

In fact if we're going down that path I'd prefer we went and got Ratten.

Not sure Ratten is ideal for rebuilding or that he'd even put his hand up for such a job.

He'd be more interested in getting a team into contention.

Ok so thinking a little more positively we have these players to recall:

Wood - gun - think he'll be awesome
Garner - solid, heaps of potential
Turner - tough player - has shown potential
Wright - solid
Waite - great when fit
Clarke - looks the goods
Wagner - not sure - needs more strength

And although he's been playing and looking much better - Daw could be pretty good if he gets his kicking right. So could we actually be ok next year??

I believe so we could be ok next year, Perhaps? Maybe though without Waite..??.
Out of all those players only Wagner looked like a dear in the headlights, but he'll come good.
Daw just got to keep playing him, Wood is awesome. We need Garner and Turner.
I reckon Ben McKay could be something special.

Combination of issues.

- The highs of winning 9 straight.

- Then losing 4 straight

- Barely losing to the Hawks.

- Higgins, Lmac, Waite, Garner, Turner, Wright and Wood all out for the majority if the season

- Finished 12 games with a man down on the bench

- Losing 4 straight heading into finals

- Shock news on Boomer.

Again, its not one issue. Its a combination of events that has folks down.

Ask your self this, if we were top 4 heading into finals with a relatively fit side and were told this will be boomers last year, would we be freaking out like this...maybe a lil, but not like what were seeing.

Instead, the team would be energised to send boom off with a flag.

-

Sent from my HTC 2PS6200 using Tapatalk

I think a lot of it has to do with two-faced supporters. Jump on the FB page after a win and you see everyone congratulating the troops and acting like they bleed blue and white, then contrast that with the comments after a loss... I don't think the 'shinboner spirit' is as questionable in the players as it is these so called 'supporters' calling for the head of Scott and certain players.

The players and staff ABSOLUTELY see a lot of what is said and I'm sure it effects the outfit.

Too much doubt and criticism from the supporters. Analysis and discussion on what we can do to strengthen the side is fine, duh... but when we start unnecessarily and blatently insulting players it's any wonder they fall out of form. Our big 10 and zip at the start of the year was us at arguably us at our biggest, and we fell HARD. What did the supporters do? "axe Scott" "drop so-and-so" "pathetic North".

Honestly I'm fed up with a lot of our supporters. Walking out before the game is over and all that crap. We might have 45k supporters, but I reckon about 10k of us are actually true supporters of the Shinboners. If the club makes bad decisions and subsequently losses games, it's a shame I agree, but it's on us to stand by the NMFC no matter what. That's the Shinboner spirit. It starts with the supporters.

Still in disbelief...

... about the amount of negative reaction against the club. The failure to respect a decision you don't agree with, and to see that it was seen as both difficult and necessary is, quite frankly, astonishing.

End of an era, no doubt, but they always end. It's a sad time, but it's one person and one event in 150 years of club history.

Thank you for all the memories Boomer. A true pleasure.

Well said Kimbo. As much as I disagree with the Boomer decision, giving the poor girl who answers the phone at the club a piece of your mind hardly solves anything. Have had several high level members tell me they have written nasty letters to the club and won't be renewing. My response : do you have a North Melbourne membership or a boomer one? Go buy a Richmond one.

well do it, I was having some fun with a thread about Bulldogs history a few weeks back and it got merged with the game thread, so lets merge everything now I say.

Like merge all threads into three...

North we are shit
North we are not shit
North and the future

Still in disbelief...

... about the amount of negative reaction against the club. The failure to respect a decision you don't agree with, and to see that it was seen as both difficult and necessary is, quite frankly, astonishing.

End of an era, no doubt, but they always end. It's a sad time, but it's one person and one event in 150 years of club history.

Thank you for all the memories Boomer. A true pleasure.

Lets be clear.

It's how it was delivered and the lack of planning around something that was on the cards for years.

Whether he can play on and be effective is debatable.

Lets be clear.

It's how it was delivered and the lack of planning around something that was on the cards for years.

I think if we'd won enough to get into the top 4 we wouldn't have retired them.

The fact we didn't was a flag that with these senior players the highest we're going is bottom half of the 8.

Yrah it's been on the cards but I really believe that it was only actually decided recently and we probably had things set up but when pushed we answered. To be honest I'd much prefer a tweet or email than a leak to a fat head journo.

We have a middling side historically proven.

This whole we've done anything to the culture of the club is pretty simplistic and it makes me question how weak people think that the club is.

I am genuinely interested in seeing what happens in 2017. Will we make finals? Will we even be in the race? Will we slip significantly? Will we achieve more?

All are possible.

Petrie, Firrito an Dal Santo
Would have been retired irrespective of where we finished.
Boomer I dare say would have got another year if that had happened

Sent from my E6653 using Tapatalk

Dal Santo would have got another year.

It's irrelevant now anyway. We are a fair way from anything.

I hope against hope that from this adversity comes a remarkable turnaround and we play out of our skins and all of their last games are Victories. Alas I cannot see it happening.

Lets be clear.

I don't think it was as poor as some, like you, make out and it doesn't change my view of the reactions. Indeed the response by club and players seems a few steps above.

Well said Kimbo. As much as I disagree with the Boomer decision, giving the poor girl who answers the phone at the club a piece of your mind hardly solves anything. Have had several high level members tell me they have written nasty letters to the club and won't be renewing. My response : do you have a North Melbourne membership or a boomer one? Go buy a Richmond one.
I wrote an email to the club letting them know of my displeasure not at the delisting of the other 3 but how they handled the Boomer delisting, I think it was poor and reflects badly on the club. I wasnt sure who to send it to so sent the same email to 2 different email addresses. Low and behold I got 2 responses with 2 different signatures BUT same email. Obviously they had a stock standard reply to all correspondence. I dont think I am in the go and barrack for Richmond league but the club needs to know how the people who finance the club feel about the decisions they have made. Having had a long career in Customer Service, I believe that businesses including our footy club should hear both the good and the bad from us

Not sure how you can crush a culture that didn't really exist to start with.

Or if that culture did exist it wasn't achieving anything much anyway.

Despite wavering on Boomer slightly, I now firmly believe the club has certainly done the right thing by moving on the 4 senior players, the next step is shaking up off field also (regarding on field performance, not administration).

We can easily bounce back from this, wouldn't surprise me at all if we improve in the expectation we bring in a FA or two and trade aggressively.

Opinion Crushed the Culture