D1 2009

KB, how are the boys going at this stage of pre season compared to previous years ?

Have they ajusted to the new coaches style ?, have they had their prime movers on the park ? and big losses, any big gains ?

Dont give me dribble, what can we expect from the Ruppo boys in 09 ?

And any word on what the price for a blonde will be on game day ?

My market for 09

Friars - $3.60
Ruppo - $4.50
Nobs - $6.00
Om's- $8.00
Bees - $10.00
Reds - $13.50
Swans - $18.00
Aquinas - $25.00
Leo's - $31.00
Two Blues - $51.00
ill take it swans are the districts ???
ill have 100 on them and costello or kealy for comp what ever odds you give i dont mind.....;)

NQR,

I read with interest the hoo-hah on the WRFL site about your mooted move to SMD. I hope for your sake it all works out, and the SMD boys help you work into a regular senior footballer.

Having observed a bit of D1 football during the break from captaining the 2nd best Test side in the world, I can assure you there are plenty of quality senior fullbacks (particularly at NOBs and Fitzroy) who will make things very tough for you if you're not fit and mobile enough to work defensively.

I'm sure the players and coaching staff at SMD will ensure that you don't 'hate it down at South and be back at colts within a month'. ;) With Messrs Ray and Kealy both by your side, you'll undoubtedly be working hard together to get into decent shape for a BIG 2009 at Lindsay Hassett.

Cheers and welcome to the VAFA,

Grum

NQR,

I read with interest the hoo-hah on the WRFL site about your mooted move to SMD. I hope for your sake it all works out, and the SMD boys help you work into a regular senior footballer.

Having observed a bit of D1 football during the break from captaining the 2nd best Test side in the world, I can assure you there are plenty of quality senior fullbacks (particularly at NOBs and Fitzroy) who will make things very tough for you if you're not fit and mobile enough to work defensively.

I'm sure the players and coaching staff at SMD will ensure that you don't 'hate it down at South and be back at colts within a month'. ;) With Messrs Ray and Kealy both by your side, you'll undoubtedly be working hard together to get into decent shape for a BIG 2009 at Lindsay Hassett.

Grum

Hmmmmm.

I think that should be taken as a complimentary welcome......though upon reading it again, is it a bit of a backhander? :eek:

Can't say I'm familiar with NQR's on-field resume, but it looks like he's much sought after by the boys at the Districts.

It's nice to be loved. :thumbsu:

PS - saints, let's be honest, Cheevers already plays the 'everywhere' role for you guys when required, and sometimes when he simply decides to off his own bat. At least he did it very effectively in rd 13 last season!!!

Hmmmmm.

I think that should be taken as a complimentary welcome......though upon reading it again, is it a bit of a backhander? :eek:

Can't say I'm familiar with NQR's on-field resume, but it looks like he's much sought after by the boys at the Districts.

It's nice to be loved. :thumbsu:

PS - saints, let's be honest, Cheevers already plays the 'everywhere' role for you guys when required, and sometimes when he simply decides to off his own bat. At least he did it very effectively in rd 13 last season!!![/quote]

Without a doubt he does,and thats the beauty of him. Can play key back, key forward, mid It's no secret than when Cheevo plays well SMD play well. He's an absolute freak amd I regards him as our best player. In the last 2 years he would of won at least 3 or 4 games off his own boot.

NQR,

Grum
thanks heaps for the advice and i have no doubt that there are quality full backs in this comp and now that baseball and cricket are over im hoping to get to training more and put in the work which has always been my biggest problem and if i can do that i have no doubt that ill have a good year....
so far things are goin good down smd great bunch of blokes down there very young too (avg age around 24 at a guess) with a lot of quality hopefully we can put a few wins together and give d1 a shake

thanks heaps for the welcome and hope the hands ok;);)

nqr

Isnt it just a lovefest at the minute.

Harps are you getting jealous that scribe is showing some attention towards other posters?

Bring on rd 1 ey!

Robbo's retiring. Life is full of disappointments. Global economic crisis. Missing out on the Rudd's cash handouts. Industrial democracy down the gurgler. Medical insurance going up. A dog that will only eat roast chicken. The culture at football clubs. Au revoir ma petit cherie KB. Keep the flag flying and don't be surprised when the meek inherit the earth.

Rupppo are playing Mazenod this Saturday at Rupppo, the ground has never been better. We then play Doutta Stars and NOBS in that order. Can't wait, chin up Robbo, it is never as bad as it seems.

Other matches?

smd are playin sunshine heights (wrfl div 1 promoted this year) in 2 or 3 weeks and therry penola the week after should be good to get a cpl runs under the belt god knows i need them lol

Aquinas had a practice match on the weekend against Forest Hill,with plenty of new faces taking the field the coaching staff walked away happy at what they saw,the result a slender margin to the Bloods.

No Sparkles, after receiving a few emails from Frase today I'm quite happy to report that all is well between us. Thanks for your concern though.

G'Day Harper

Surely the new Full Foward from the pmc must be presented with the famous NO 13 Jumper this year.
For those of you that don't no, the nimber 13 jumper at SMD was once worn by one of there greatest ever players.
The man that made this jumper famous was a goal kicking machine and if not for injury when he was 18 or 19 may well have made the big time.
If this boy from pmc is as good they say he is, he must be given the no 13.

THEVET

G'Day Harper

Surely the new Full Foward from the pmc must be presented with the famous NO 13 Jumper this year.
For those of you that don't no, the nimber 13 jumper at SMD was once worn by one of there greatest ever players.
The man that made this jumper famous was a goal kicking machine and if not for injury when he was 18 or 19 may well have made the big time.

THEVET

Welcome back VET. Long time away. A little birdy has told me that the 13 will go to one S.Acqualina

G'Day Harper

THEVET

Geez, do you Slapper some money Vet? Biggest rap on Big Footy for years, let's not put too much pressure on the kid. I think Matty should find his feet at SMD in a number around the 70's or 80's then we'll see.

Multiple B&F's, Multiple Premierships, 2 X GF BOG's and one being one of Slappers best mates should get Aqua over the line for #13. That and the fact that I can't find #62 anymore.

Geez, do you Slapper some money Vet? Biggest rap on Big Footy for years, let's not put too much pressure on the kid. I think Matty should find his feet at SMD in a number around the 70's or 80's then we'll see.

Multiple B&F's, Multiple Premierships, 2 X GF BOG's and one being one of Slappers best mates should get Aqua over the line for #13. That and the fact that I can't find #62 anymore.

Excellent choice.

Welcome back VET. Long time away. A little birdy has told me that the 13 will go to one S.Acqualina

I think the same little bird told me you would fit into the no 5 jumper saints, I find this hard to believe, could you confirm or deny this!!!

THEVET

haha i know im big harps but 60 or 70 surely not that big lol plus aqualina is a legend of the club he can have #13 ill take #17 thanks prez;);) on a serious note though im rapt that my clerance has gone through and can now look foward to havin a good year down at smd and hopefully add some silverwear to the cabinet down at lindsey hasset res.....

I think the same little bird told me you would fit into the no 5 jumper saints, I find this hard to believe, could you confirm or deny this!!!

THEVET

I am going to stcik with 26 this year. Have worn the number for 4 years and have 3 flags so I think good idea to stay the same. I was trying to get back to the number 6 but thats already taken.

We going to see you down this year?

Heard a rumour that big Andrew Alabakis will be making a return to the training track on Tuesday after being in a good paddock over the Christmas period. Should significantly boost the ruck stocks down at tigerland