D1 2009

Aquinas lost to Parkdale today by 3 points. Solid hit out for both sides.. 3 praccy matches now and ready to play the real stuff!!

werribee absolutely pants NOBs today - 90 odd points and with at least 8 senior players missing.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Was there to watch it. Was a pretty impressive win, considering the talent off the field.

Young blokes that have come up from the juniors seem very handy, and quick. Which was something i was a little concerned about when you think that T.Lee, Alifraco, Renault are missing from todays team that played last year.

Im tipping that NOBs had a few out too. would expect a more competitive game come the serious stuff, but Werribee have had a great preseason and have reason to be optimistic.

A finals berth this season upon promotion would be a fantastic achievement, lets just hope they can stay fit, and regain a couple that are struggling at the moment.

Go tiges....

Was there to watch it. Was a pretty impressive win, considering the talent off the field.

Young blokes that have come up from the juniors seem very handy, and quick. Which was something i was a little concerned about when you think that T.Lee, Alifraco, Renault are missing from todays team that played last year.

Im tipping that NOBs had a few out too. would expect a more competitive game come the serious stuff, but Werribee have had a great preseason and have reason to be optimistic.

A finals berth this season upon promotion would be a fantastic achievement, lets just hope they can stay fit, and regain a couple that are struggling at the moment.

Go tiges....

would hate to be on the selection panel in two weeks time if most of those boys come back in

:thumbsu:

Into the great unknown. Real games. Practice match form is overrated. You're never really sure what the opposition is up to so you shouldn't get too carried away when you smash an opponent.

Rupo has been single minded in its preparation for the season. Basically a squad was picked for the three matches and very few outsiders have managed to get a game in the past three weeks.

Still a few to be included once the season starts.

Strengths. A forward who will kick a lot of goals and allow some easy pickings for a smart guy who provides the second lead [or a front and centre specialist]. The boys have to remember to spread the opportunities to keep the opposition guessing. Plenty of run and talent around the ball.

Weaknesses. Ruck will be a problem. The most important part of the ruck contest is the tap. Good hitout numbers usually mean a win. Just look at the AFL.

Height is a problem, especially in the backline. No key defenders so someone will have to pinch hit. Small around the flanks in the back half but this can be rectified with some team changes.

Finally I hope the coach applies some sense and allows the younger kids to develop in the under 19s. The gains to be made through proper development and management of the younger players far outweigh the risks of putting boys in against men. The younger players who have succeeded at Rupo were 18 and 19 year olds when they played senior footy. I think that's about right. The standard of opposition these kids will face in the u19 Premier Grade will provide a challenge worthy of the talent of these kids.

As I have always maintained Praccy matches are exactly that. It was good to see however that players that came up to play in the seniors were able to slot in easily and play the way the side plays. With the silly season over I'm sure were all looking forward to the 18th.

Glad to see the lid firmly on Westy.:thumbsu:

Roy,

Howzit?

I may be new to this thread, but FYI I'm a boer from out west of Melbourne, and it's due to my passing interest in Werribee Amateurs that I've joined this thread. Granted, I did spend a past life in the WRFL posting under another name (which I'll leave you to work oot), which is why I'm familiar with NQR's work at Port Colts. A couple of my old school chaps also play for NOBSPC now.

Excuse my naivety, but it doesn't take too much background research to note that you traditionally post from pre-season until mid-season, get whacked by the Fitzroy people, and then crawl back into a hole. Either you're slightly de-ranged or a glutton for punishment, or both.

NB - I don't claim to be an icon or a legend like yourself, however, I have a large lunchbox I usually take to the local braais, which I'm happy to lend you for the duration of the season.

Regards

Grum

Glad to see the lid firmly on Westy.:thumbsu:
Trying hard to get the new social rooms finished for you guys rnd 1, but as usual council putting up barriers. Taken from Sept 08 till now to build 4 suquare walls. Typical. See you Wednesday night:thumbsu:

Thats after the council downsized & failed to do the following:

• Seal Driveway / Carpark
  • Provide substanial shelter for spectators (as football can be a winter sport)
  • stop listening to the flogs who complain about the use of: whistles, Lights and car horns when goal is kicked. Here is a hint to those who live close to sporting fields. If you cant handle the noise, lights or congestion of streets on a Saturday Afternoon. MOVE!!!!
Sorry wydham city council have frustrated me for years with the lack of improvements put into the ground.......

One other thing about the game on Saturday. Cam lee was stiff to give away two 25m Penalties..... Apparantly umpire could lip read when the poor bloke just stood the mark. Vafa, your ticki touchwood enough with swearing at umpires costing blokes weeks, i think your umpires, who usually do a great job, need to tone thier involvement in the game down a notch.... just a thought. I know its a practice match for them too...

They are a discgrace, but as everyone says there would be no game without them. SMD played yesterday and in terrible conditions we were able to scrape out a win. Therry Pinola will be a very strong side this year. We were still missing a few but most of the guys who missed the first game played yesterday. Can't wait for Werribee, always a good mob to play and you know your going to get a hard contest and once the final siren goes a good bbq and a beer.

what was wrong with the conditions saints ?

shocking groud ?, rained all day ? too windy ?

very good see the lions competitive, hoping they have a good year, as for the districts, all the best aswell in season 2009.

what was wrong with the conditions saints ?

shocking groud ?, rained all day ? too windy ?

very good see the lions competitive, hoping they have a good year, as for the districts, all the best aswell in season 2009.

Ground was excellent miss, wind wasn't really an issue but the boys struggled with the first wet conditions of this campaign.

A big thanks to Rupo for letting us on their ground and keeping the pies warm all day. A quality club run by some very good people. I'd say Therry will occupy the D1 board again very soon, well done to Mads and his lions.

South's tour of the western suburbs continues at Werribee in two weeks and we can't wait.

Yeah, I was right next to Cam and the ump said not to say a word after the free kick was given against him or he will get 25. Cam didn't say a word and was given the 25 with ump saying I could read your lips. Cam replied with I didn't say a word and got another 25. That ump was very precious as I had occassion to talk to him during the breaks and definately lacks people's skills. I understand the ump in the 2's was pretty good especially doing the game on his own. Reckon only made 3 mistakes all day.

Reckon he only made three correct calls all day :D. Might find Westy that there will be a few games like that this year.

Just on Cam, barely says boo anyway. And to get 2 x 25m penalties because the umpire can lip read. Maybe the ump should focus more on the game than trying to read lips.

At least it's good to see the VAFA employing blind AND deaf umpires.

Equal opportunity to the extreme :thumbsu:

Can anyone from Werribee or SMD let me know how Bellingham or the Pelar boys are travelling? Played against all of them last year and am interested to see how they're going in the ammo's. From what i saw of them last year they all should be top players in this comp.

Pelar boys very good addition to our side. Very strong at the contest with good ball skills. Probably a couple a weeks away from their top form but are coming along nicely fitting in with the way we play the game and getting to know all the players. Can slot into many positions which allows other players to play different roles. Tigers will be very unpredictable this year as players will be thrown around every week.

they add depth in terms of our height dept which the tiges lacked occasionally at times last year. they are very versitile in terms of playing all over the ground too. will b a massive addition once both are fully fit:thumbsu:

Can hardly wait for the lunch at Friar Park Rd 1, KB happy to wager 6 stubs of Blonde/Coopers Green for the game available after proceedings finish - let me know.

The 6 pack is on Jack, we will be a very different side this year. We have had a great pre-season, some important returns and a few more players who will be fit Round 1. Still have some outs, so may improve over the journey. Very young but looking pretty good. Go Rupppo

Had a look at SMD on Sunday at our ground, hard to take anything in as the ball was greasy and it rained for the first half. Have to say they seemed to enjoy themselves, no.62 is an old head who is very smart and seems to just love our great game. Therry have a very good brigade of smalls who took it right up to SMD in the conditions.

kb - rupo are always young, always have been and always will be,

reckon the boys might just get "overtheline" in what is shaping as match of the round in a weeks time, both down from " c " grade wanting to get off to a flyer, friar park is a happy hunting ground for the boys ( one go there for one big win ), so very much looking forward to it.

Jack - ground would have to be in fantastic condition wouldn't it ?

rd 1 is upon us ,

here we go

Old Mentonians to open their account against a poor Nobs outfit 33pts

Aquinas to win against the new commers St Leos - 14pts

Werribee to be way to quick for the districts and will get their first win in D1 - 43pts

Fitzroy to cruise to victory - could be a long year for the two blues - 44pts

Match of the round has rupertswood travel out to whitefriars, i think it will be a happy trip home for the boys from sunbury, rupo by 7 pts,