D1 2009

really feel for you, must be tough to be the only team in D1 with injuries.....

makes it even tougher when these injuries have seemingly been so horriffic that they've lasted over two seasons! despite playing them at toorak park (where they're always harder to beat) at the end of the day you played a team who were relegated last year....stop making excuses.

Ease up there Titey, it's not excuse, just a reason. It explains why they are 1-5 after everyone had them in the top 4 preseason. If they had a full side and were still 1-5, then people would be asking serious questions.

That said, you put a team on the park who you think can do the job, and that hasn't been happening. Injuries are just a part of that.

Only Werribee and Fitzroy have managed to keep their senior units close to intact thus far in 2009. At the Bees, 19 players have played 5 or 6 seniors games, at the Roys, its 18. Every other club (including Rupo and OMs) has only 15 or 16 guys with 5+ senior games under their belt.

This (possibly useless) stat suggests to me that most D1 clubs are battling with similar levels of inconsistency in their senior team lists. Maybe I'm simplifying things a little too much? Frankly the key issue is whether the clubs' "core" (top 15) senior players are hitting the park often enough, as opposed to more of the "depth" players (16-30) who continue to run out at 2pm.

I'd be surprised if most clubs didn't have 5-9 senior guys missing from this round of matches. Either side of that range and your either having a good run, or a poor run with injury. We will probably get 3 back this week, leaving our list at 6 short of full strength.

In the end, no matter how they come about, early wins are just as important as those closer to round 18.

Ease up there Titey, it's not excuse, just a reason. It explains why they are 1-5 after everyone had them in the top 4 preseason. If they had a full side and were still 1-5, then people would be asking serious questions.

That said, you put a team on the park who you think can do the job, and that hasn't been happening. Injuries are just a part of that.

scribes right in saying that every team has players out, so yes you are using it as an excuse......

No it doesn't.

You have a coach that pre-dates John Farnham and i remind you that Nobs have won 3 from their last 16 under Farnzy.

Of course, it is due to injuries. That's why a side that was 10-0 last year, couldn't beat an already relgated side from last year who have serious injuries themselves.

I love the way everything is considered except the self appointed guru.

Remember the unfinsihed business?? How embarassing is that now?

Lose on saturday and it may be enough to send Terry on one of his mid season overseas golf trips again!

Perhaps Terry could be replaced by ..well, another Terry who might be out of a job soon!

D-day for the cobbers this week.

No it doesn't.

You have a coach that pre-dates John Farnham and i remind you that Nobs have won 3 from their last 16 under Farnzy.

Of course, it is due to injuries. That's why a side that was 10-0 last year, couldn't beat an already relgated side from last year who have serious injuries themselves.

I love the way everything is considered except the self appointed guru.

Remember the unfinsihed business?? How embarassing is that now?

Lose on saturday and it may be enough to send Terry on one of his mid season overseas golf trips again!

Perhaps Terry could be replaced by ..well, another Terry who might be out of a job soon!

D-day for the cobbers this week.
:thumbsu::thumbsu: one of your best Sly.

would like to wish L.mitchell(old mentonains) all the best for his recovery after his serious injury last weekend and hope he gets on the park sooner rather than later and picks up where he left off.

Baz

Can someone please from NOBS sought Rocky out, he has a vendetta against Terry. This bloke has a passion for NOBS that would not be surpassed since it's inception, the NOBS boys have to stand up this week to shut this blokes mouth, for christs sake.

Rocky is either a player who was dropped at some stage by Terry or copped a belting on the field at some stage. Either way this dribble is disrespectful to a legend of your club.

Rocky clearly has nothing to do with NOBS, and probably never has and definitely never will again, if he has. Stand up NOBS, a club with great history, don't put up with this crap.

Can someone please from NOBS sought Rocky out, he has a vendetta against Terry. This bloke has a passion for NOBS that would not be surpassed since it's inception, the NOBS boys have to stand up this week to shut this blokes mouth, for christs sake.

Rocky is either a player who was dropped at some stage by Terry or copped a belting on the field at some stage. Either way this dribble is disrespectful to a legend of your club.

Rocky clearly has nothing to do with NOBS, and probably never has and definitely never will again, if he has. Stand up NOBS, a club with great history, don't put up with this crap.

This guy can't be serious?

How dare I have a view...based on facts.eg the win/loss record, the golf holidays.
IT is a forum clown and we are all entitled to our views. I will continue to air mine.

How dare anyone question Terry and his process and record.

How dare I have a view...based on facts.eg the win/loss record, the golf holidays.
IT is a forum clown and we are all entitled to our views. I will continue to air mine.

Having spoken to someone that was heavily involved with the coaching/player recruitment process, there was a lot more involved than Rocky is leading on. I doubt that all the details from meetings ect will ever appear on BF, i Although there may not have been a public advertisment, there was definately some extensive scouting done. And the result was that Terry was the best candidate avaliable. He was also given a group of current and past players (recent and not so recent) as assistant coaches, all of who have a big say about the teams/game day. And from players/supporters are saying he has a huge amount of respect around the club. He recent record defiantely leaves something to be desired, but im sure he and the coaching group will find some answers.
It is interesting how much attention and time you give NOBS Rocky, what are your reasons?
Clearly they are struggling, but as mentioned previously, there is still a long way to go.

Indeed KB is serious Rocky. How about limiting the personal attacks and discussing other relevant points relating to your footy club. You are correct that it is a forum, but quite frankly. it is becoming rather tedious indeed.

would like to wish L.mitchell(old mentonains) all the best for his recovery after his serious injury last weekend and hope he gets on the park sooner rather than later and picks up where he left off.

Baz

What happened to him? Was he the young fella who got hurt on the outer wing

KB tis not a matter of sorting the peanut out, as I don't think anyone would be taking his carry on seriously (clearly not involved with the club either). Remembering the advice my parents gave me, Mum said, don't talk to strangers, whilst Dad said, ignore peanuts and don't give them the time of day.

Clearly Rocky has some personal beef with Terry for whatever reason. Whereas at the club he's well liked and respected by players and fans, and to a man is seen to be the best person for the job, without question. If had to summarise, our record this year is a reflection of two things;
* our midfield depth isn't as good as 2008. Losing May, Edmonds and Hancock hurt and our on-ball is lacking the depth of last year.
* Conversion. Kick straight in a couple of games and we'd have 3-4 wins.

Last time I checked, Terry can't win the clearances or kick the goals for the boys. He's doing all he can, if the acid should be on anyone, it's the playing group.

Well best be off, got a European holiday to prepare for....

What happened to him? Was he the young fella who got hurt on the outer wing

yes he got a compound fracture (snapped both the bones) in his left arm when he was tackled. Had surgery on monday and is out for the season. It was a bad break otherwise it might only have been a 6-8 injury. I've played a lot of footy with Louie and it was a shame as he's a quality player who was just starting to hit his straps.....

Everyone at OM obviously wish him all the best for a full and speedy recovery

Inconsistency has plagued the Roys in the last few years, and it's games like this one against North Old Boys that could bring them unstuck. There will come a point when NOB will say enough's enough and pull out a big one. In some of the games i have seen over the last few years, Fitzroy tends to go into their shell when challenged heavily and I'd hate to see that happen this week, because it could really derail the season. Scribe / Mappa / Red Roy, any news on ins and outs for the week ? I'm reading every team has injuries, but I get to see most Fitzroy home games, and i am yet to see anywhere near the same side on the park each time. Is that injuries, or form ?

I will pick the Roys this week, but with some trepedation
South Melbourne over St Leos
Old Mentonians over Aquinas
Rupertswood over Prahran
Werribee over Whitefriars

Speaking of stats (Scribe), I notice that NOB are 5-1 in the Reserves, yet are 1-5 in the Seniors, whereas most other sides are pretty even in comparison (Roys are 4-2 in both, Rupertswood 6-0 & 5-1, and the other about a game difference). Any thoughts why one would be playing well and the other not ?

Werribee are pantsing their opposition, regardless where they sit on the ladder

NOBS must clearly have 30 blokes capable of filling the 16th-22nd man in a senior side, but none of them can make a stance when playing seniors, perhaps? Ive seen two games and this suggests so.

Serafini Spirit,

This would be the first week of the season where there's a significant number of players returning (5), and thus forcing several guys out of the side and back to the reserves. We are in a better position list-wise this week, with only 4 or 5 or our best 22 missing.

You're correct that we need to win one of these critical matches to set up our season (and possibly further derail NOBSPC's), and we have recently been incapable of doing so. Last season it'd be fair to say we lost 2 matches against sides ranked lower than us in Aquinas at BSO and SMD at Lindsay Hassett. Those were upsets of sorts, but our other results pretty much followed ladder form.

Tomorrow we obviously face a wounded opponent, but both times we've travelled to the Gillon in my time at Fitzroy, we've left empty-handed. The first time we got pantsed in the first term and couldn't recover, the second was an arm-wrestle ending in a 4 goal loss. I'm sure everyone will be fully switched on and we will aquit ourselves better tomorrow than recent history would suggest.

Finally, as for why some clubs can win lots of reserve games whilst their seniors struggle, Share da Passion pretty much covers it. These clubs may have quite a few experienced, clever, skilful players who may no longer be able to match it with the intensity of the senior level, but at the slightly more sedate pace of the curtain-raiser, they can still play very good team footy. They can not only help by putting pressure on the fellas on the fringe in the seniors, but also can educate the younger guys graduating from the U19s into how to best ply their trade at senior level.

Are Werribee travelling all that well???? after all they have only beaten the 5 bottom sides

Thats a tough one...........................YES!!

My tips in a few words

Rupy over hard working Prahran - 50 points
The Roys over a desperate NOBS - 2 goals
OM's (Mitchell is reasonably big loss) too good for Aquinas - 40 points
The Friars will not enjoy Soldiers Field - the Bees by 60 points
And bottom of the ladder ESL with a really tough assignment at lindsey hassett -margin will be better than last week

Cheers

Thats a tough one...........................YES!!

My tips in a few words

Rupy over hard working Prahran - 50 points
The Roys over a desperate NOBS - 2 goals
OM's (Mitchell is reasonably big loss) too good for Aquinas - 40 points
The Friars will not enjoy Soldiers Field - the Bees by 60 points
And bottom of the ladder ESL with a really tough assignment at lindsey hassett -margin will be better than last week

Cheers

Hope Terry Scanlan has got his batting helmet on!! Hard to know about process etc but surely the coach can only be as good as his players.

Missed the game at Friar Park last week but heard we were ok against a injury ravaged Fitzroy (we've got plety too - in excess of 20, some who should be bcack after the break).

Big trip to Werribee though this week and reading this forum they are obviously pretty confident about their prospects this year, good luck to em!!

My Tips

NOBS over Fitzroy 6 goals
Rupo over Prahan by lots
OM over the bloods by 8 goals
Friars to provide the upset of the season over Werribee 1 point
The animals to bounce back and draw with SMD

the streetman says
red roys boys can get up and topple the nobbers
om over bloods 4 gls
bees up on friars 10gls
sth melb over manimals 4 gls
rupo to beat prahran 10gls

Werribee are a disgracful club, cheap late hit's in both games against the Friars today, a cheating goal umpire that allowed a goal clearly marked on the line and said another was touched when it clearly wasn't. Also it was a true western suburb display from their supporters who where threating to knock other supporters teeth out.

It makes you wonder why they don't play in a western league if they are so tough, instead of whacking blokes who have their head over the ball and trying to start fights in the crowd in the ammos.

Well done to the friars boys on a 5 point victory and look forward to pumping the gutless club at frair park latter in the year.

Werribee are a disgracful club, cheap late hit's in both games against the Friars today, a cheating goal umpire that allowed a goal clearly marked on the line and said another was touched when it clearly wasn't. Also it was a true western suburb display from their supporters who where threating to knock other supporters teeth out.

It makes you wonder why they don't play in a western league if they are so tough, instead of whacking blokes who have their head over the ball and trying to start fights in the crowd in the ammos.

Well done to the friars boys on a 5 point victory and look forward to pumping the gutless club at frair park latter in the year.

Pull your head in numb nuts.

44 deserved all he got for playing the man and not playing the ball. Umpire clearly asked the boundary umpire if he believed it was a goal. This boundary happened to be the league officiated umpire, and he gave the all clear.
The other one you bring up with the touched call. Mate c'mon. Your full forward was the one that touched it clearly.

You are the biggest bunch of sooks starting at the club 18's all the way through to the seniors.
Congrats on getting one win today. You surely deserved that win.

Pull your head in numb nuts.

44 deserved all he got for playing the man and not playing the ball. Umpire clearly asked the boundary umpire if he believed it was a goal. This boundary happened to be the league officiated umpire, and he gave the all clear.
The other one you bring up with the touched call. Mate c'mon. Your full forward was the one that touched it clearly.

You are the biggest bunch of sooks starting at the club 18's all the way through to the seniors.
Congrats on getting one win today. You surely deserved that win.

Our clubbies apparently played wih 17 men all day and 15 in the last quarter.

Can't believe your club condones starting punch ons in the crowd, utter disgrace to the competition!

Your downhill skiier ones found it a bit tougher against a good side.

The VAFA boundary umpire said Werribee were a scum club and all the umpires hate their bogan players and fans.