D1 2009

generally the umpires do a good job. and i dont want to turn this into an umpire bashing thread (which i probably have now done) but yesterdays game was some of the worst umpiring i have ever seen.

had no idea what way the free kicks were going to go when they blew the whistle. those two umps were power hungry and whistle happy. then one of the umpires had the gall to threaten to put a complaint in against werribee.

one of the umpires even told our goal umpire to "take his job more seriously" !!! absolute joke

the VAFA needs to start holding these umpires accountable

Mate your goal umpire was an absoloute tosser yesterday! if you are going to do an "offical job", it needs to be done with some sort of maturity, not carrying on like that nob was yesterday, trying to impress all his mate. And also i hope the bloke in the 2's that punched one of our players from "behind" and fractured his eye socket feels really good about himself, must be a really tough bloke!.......sums up what werribee is all about!!!

What a great month for the mighty NOBS! Terry really has the boys back on track for a tilt at the premiership! Great work Tezza...could be shaping for his first finals win in 27 years!

SMD...in disarray! Sacking their coach obviously work a treat last year.

D2 beckons boys!

Go the mighty Terry Scanlon!

Who are you mate? Admittedly it hasn't been a great year and the boys at the Districts will say the same but unless you are down at the club you wouldn' know what was going on.
The players and administration are totally behind the coach and we hope as a club that we can fight out of this big hole that we have dug ourselves.
Referring back to last year and the way Killer left shouldn't be brought up because it has nothing to do with how the club is going this year so you just keep talking NOBS up because they indeed gave us a touch up yesterday and I believe will fight very hard for either 3rd or 4th in the finals.

Mate your goal umpire was an absoloute tosser yesterday! if you are going to do an "offical job", it needs to be done with some sort of maturity, not carrying on like that nob was yesterday, trying to impress all his mate. And also i hope the bloke in the 2's that punched one of our players from "behind" and fractured his eye socket feels really good about himself, must be a really tough bloke!.......sums up what werribee is all about!!!

No surprises here.

The poo farmers continue to disgrace Ammo's

Didnt see the Reserves game, so not sure what happened there. But dont worry, Werribee have been on the end of a fair share of incidents like this in the Ammos, this year and previous years. It happens in all footy.

However before you go throwing stones in you glass houses boys. There were a few behind play snipes at some of Werribee's more influential players on the weekend.......

Was this a directive or mere chance?

Were the reserves from Aquinas so distraught that they had to start drinking in the back of the ute behind the goals? A few draugthies had there..... thought that would be frowned upon from such a stand up club.....

Aquinas are a disgrace to D1 and would have been belted by 100+ again if it weren't for umpires.

8 of 12 goals were direct from the whistle. more often than not in retaliation to Aquinas being thugs.

Just like to say that the Werribee Amatuer Football Club do not endorse the comments made by Table Tennis refering to Aquinas. We have the respect for all teams in D1.

As for the alleged incident i would hardly say it was behind play in fact at the time one of our blokes was put in a Hulk Hogan esq choke hold.

Whatever the extent of Lovey's injuries all players shook hands at the end of the game and we wish him a speedy recovery from whatever he needs to recover from. In actual fact Lovey and i have had our battles over the years and he would be the first to admit that he may have dished a couple of fresh ones in his time on the park.

As for you Kruzering please please find some new joke or catchphrase for us. The ****armers thing is sooooo 1980's. In actual fact in accordance with the UGB that part of Werribee will be rezoned as Little River. So you absolute pathetic, tough guy with a computer shut your pie hole!!!!

Didnt see the Reserves game, so not sure what happened there. But dont worry, Werribee have been on the end of a fair share of incidents like this in the Ammos, this year and previous years. It happens in all footy.

However before you go throwing stones in you glass houses boys. There were a few behind play snipes at some of Werribee's more influential players on the weekend.......

Were the reserves from Aquinas so distraught that they had to start drinking in the back of the ute behind the goals? A few draugthies had there..... thought that would be frowned upon from such a stand up club.....

Aquinas are a disgrace to D1 and would have been belted by 100+ again if it weren't for umpires.

8 of 12 goals were direct from the whistle. more often than not in retaliation to Aquinas being thugs.

You got a few goals from umpiring decision too TT. First rushed behind free i have seen from the year, and it was a ridiculous decision at a very tense time of the match!! I suppose it didnt help when your goal umpire is yelling at the umpire while doing an official role that he rushed it?????

Didnt see any drinking behind the goals and considering i was there i will have to just take your word for it!! But there has been previous posts on BF about Weribee drinking during games so maybe that stone in your house has bounced back??

Thought the snrs game wasnt that bad and played in pretty good spirit? Obviously you were out there playing TT and saw "incidents" and then you must of come off the ground to check the car park for drinking on utes? Jeeez you were everywhere!!

I must say though the incident in the reserves game was one of the most gutless acts i have ever seen in my football time!! The bloke that got his cheekbone/eyesocket and nose fractured isnt exaclty the smallest bloke so the blow must of been significant!! And considering he was in a pack with no way of defending himself i found it a disgrace!!! Especially considering the rest of the game was fine with no real incidents, this came straight from left field!!!

Why is there an increased trend with Weribee and other teams complaining about them?? Or is Weribee perfect TT and everyone else is in glass houses as you put it??

Just like to say that the Werribee Amatuer Football Club do not endorse the comments made by Table Tennis refering to Aquinas. We have the respect for all teams in D1.

As for the alleged incident i would hardly say it was behind play in fact at the time one of our blokes was put in a Hulk Hogan esq choke hold.

Whatever the extent of Lovey's injuries all players shook hands at the end of the game and we wish him a speedy recovery from whatever he needs to recover from. In actual fact Lovey and i have had our battles over the years and he would be the first to admit that he may have dished a couple of fresh ones in his time on the park.

As for you Kruzering please please find some new joke or catchphrase for us. The ****armers thing is sooooo 1980's. In actual fact in accordance with the UGB that part of Werribee will be rezoned as Little River. So you absolute pathetic, tough guy with a computer shut your pie hole!!!!

Champ Kind, as i said in my previous post, the reserves game that i was part of was played in great spirit except for that one incident! Hopefully the bloke that did it knows that what happened wasnt the smartest thing and doesnt reflect well on his club who i think he let down by doing this!! We also know that you in particular (if i am on the right track with who you are) were concerned with Loveys injury when spoken to after the game, and there was no issues with the other 21 blokes out there!!

The ones game the part i saw it seemed to play in decent spirit and didnt seem to be any incidents?? Maybe TT knows more??

Also in relation to umpires, well we play D1 ammos football, apart from a couple of games most of the umpires we have had have been below average, but i think that is more the level of football we play!!

Well what does this tell you?? Werribee have a major discipline issue if you can afford to give away 8 goals due to retaliation??? ..........mentally weak!

As for the drinking, you may want to get your facts straight, they were no memebers of the reserves team drinking behind the goals, they were supporters of the Under 19's who decided to hang around and see an amateurs game played in the right spirit,........ pitty werribee let them down!

rupo proved a little to strong to outlast a gutsy st.leos outfit on the weekend.

for mine there are 3 groups,

Rupo, Werribee, Friars, Om's, Nobs ( 5 fighting for four sports )

Fitzroy, Prahran ( making up numbers )

South, Aquinas, Emmaus St Leos ( avoiding the drop )

My end of season ladder :

Rupo
Whitefriars
Werribee
Nobs
Oms
Roys
Prahran
St.Leos
Aquinas
South Melbourne

Frase, my " Big four " are just about there with Nobs steaming home, and their match against the tigers this week will see them jump into the 4, because whitefriars will send OMs packing with a 10 goal win, and the purple ones will deal the tigers a double chance blow, getting up away from home in a hard fought slog,

The roys will hang around for another week, winning a close game at BSO, and sit just outside the 4, Oms will fall to 6th, south could find themselves in the bottom two this week because the animals will get a good win at home against the two blues ( st.leos could be the best side that sits on the bottom of the table in history )

Anyway D1, footy is alive and well, with some ripper matches this week,

Pherhaps I should go about things the Werribee way and threaten to assault people in the crowd?

Side SHow - im not 100% sure with your suggestions, but your not far off the money.

The Big Three are locked in and planning no holidays in September,

- Rupo, Beez, Friars. - think the beez lack a bit of polish and the friars lack a few hardball winners - once sorted both can throw up to Rupo.

Three clubs fighting for the last spot
- Nobs, fitz, mentonians
with nobs facing the big three in the next three weeks, they may have to knock off one or two, to be thinking September. Round 18, Nobs V Mentone, could come down to be a beauty.

Prahran, not up to the above 6, but superior to below 3.

Aquinas, will have another crack at D1 next year, whilst see you later to SMD and Leos, Leos will well n truly be favourites for D2 flag 2010 if pick up a few, as there top 10 are very strong.

Side SHow - im not 100% sure with your suggestions, but your not far off the money.

The Big Three are locked in and planning no holidays in September,

- Rupo, Beez, Friars. - think the beez lack a bit of polish and the friars lack a few hardball winners - once sorted both can throw up to Rupo.

Three clubs fighting for the last spot
- Nobs, fitz, mentonians
with nobs facing the big three in the next three weeks, they may have to knock off one or two, to be thinking September. Round 18, Nobs V Mentone, could come down to be a beauty.

Prahran, not up to the above 6, but superior to below 3.

Aquinas, will have another crack at D1 next year, whilst see you later to SMD and Leos, Leos will well n truly be favourites for D2 flag 2010 if pick up a few, as there top 10 are very strong.

Dunno about "the big three" talk. More like Rupo then daylight. Haven't seen anything from Werribee or Whitefriars to suggest they're any better than NOBS, OMs or Fitzroy.

You got a few goals from umpiring decision too TT. First rushed behind free i have seen from the year, and it was a ridiculous decision at a very tense time of the match!! I suppose it didnt help when your goal umpire is yelling at the umpire while doing an official role that he rushed it?????

Didnt see any drinking behind the goals and considering i was there i will have to just take your word for it!! But there has been previous posts on BF about Weribee drinking during games so maybe that stone in your house has bounced back??

Thought the snrs game wasnt that bad and played in pretty good spirit? Obviously you were out there playing TT and saw "incidents" and then you must of come off the ground to check the car park for drinking on utes? Jeeez you were everywhere!!

I must say though the incident in the reserves game was one of the most gutless acts i have ever seen in my football time!! The bloke that got his cheekbone/eyesocket and nose fractured isnt exaclty the smallest bloke so the blow must of been significant!! And considering he was in a pack with no way of defending himself i found it a disgrace!!! Especially considering the rest of the game was fine with no real incidents, this came straight from left field!!!

Why is there an increased trend with Weribee and other teams complaining about them?? Or is Weribee perfect TT and everyone else is in glass houses as you put it??

I have previously distanced myself from the Werribee Amatuer footy club, as I am just a follower, not a player or official in any sense of the word. My views are that as from across the fence.

Like i said, did not see what happened in the reserves game, and do not condone that behaviour on the streets, or on a ground. However, Kruezerings comment about what do you expect from the poo farmers is what got me going. For starters he follows the most gutless team in the world, but You think that these things have not happened to Werribee players before? Ask the Lee & Taylor Brothers how many times they have been whacked off the ball... I see it every week, gutless thugs that run around behind play, who are only in teams to sneakily hit guns of good teams. It happens everywhere, I am disappointed that something like that happened, those sorts of things are always terrible for the game.

In terms of being "perfect" - were far from it. We are just very passionate. There are only a few blokes that come on here and speak thier minds too. every one else just wants to hold hands and have this friendly banter. I just go to games, passionatley support the club, and type what i feel & what i see on here. Of course its one eyed, of course i have a perception that my club is perfect - dont you of yours?

I am what you call a Big Footy Menace - I stir things up, get people going, and its all for the interest of the readers who are sick of reading the same old - Tips for this round or how did Friars go this week or Rupppo are going to win the flag.

By the way, that rushed behind was clearly a free kick as he was 10m clear of any opponent.

All i can say is go tigers - and happy reading.

What a great month for the mighty NOBS! Terry really has the boys back on track for a tilt at the premiership! Great work Tezza...could be shaping for his first finals win in 27 years!

SMD...in disarray! Sacking their coach obviously work a treat last year.

D2 beckons boys!

Go the mighty Terry Scanlon!

Well sacking the coach was the right move. If we didnt we wouldnt even field a side this year. Jessy is the right man for the job. Absolute champion bloke. It doesnt help that through injuries and work commitments we have 5 - 8 changes every week. When at full strength we will be very competitive.

I will have a $100 with you we dont get relegated.

NOBS will fall over in the finals anyway.

Champ Kind, as i said in my previous post, the reserves game that i was part of was played in great spirit except for that one incident! Hopefully the bloke that did it knows that what happened wasnt the smartest thing and doesnt reflect well on his club who i think he let down by doing this!! We also know that you in particular (if i am on the right track with who you are) were concerned with Loveys injury when spoken to after the game, and there was no issues with the other 21 blokes out there!!

The ones game the part i saw it seemed to play in decent spirit and didnt seem to be any incidents?? Maybe TT knows more??

Also in relation to umpires, well we play D1 ammos football, apart from a couple of games most of the umpires we have had have been below average, but i think that is more the level of football we play!!

Have to disagree with you there Bloods. The senior game was filled with cheap shots from Aquinas players all day. Plenty of little elbows and rib ticklers which is not a problem and i consider part of the game. Its when blokes like number 15 are tackling players down to the ground then throwing hay makers into players heads at the bottom of packs that gives me the sh1ts. He did it to W pelar atleast 3 times that i saw. Then there was number 2 in the forward line who decided to head butt M Dean with about 10 minutes to go. About 2 minutes later the big blonde fella up forward (i think he was no 16) throws a big right hook across the face of D Pelar from behind. He was the 3rd man in to a scuffle between 2 blokes who were chesting each other.

Dont get me wrong here, if two guys want to shape up to each other and throw a couple, so be it, but when situations like the above happen, people from Aquinas can't go around complaining about cheap shots. I didn't see the hit in the magoos so i cant comment, but any of that kind of stuff in disgraceful.

It is generally regarded by the Amateurs themselves that as you go down the grades there are more thugs running around. If the men in charge at headquarters would be reading this we are affirming their thoughts.
Every club has incidents (especially the Sydney Swans), i think as a collective group of D1 we need to make sure we don't follow the lead of other local leagues who are plagued with problems in this area. That is part of the many great reasons we play Amateurs.

First and foremost no alcohol at games is the best thing about Amateurs, and i love a beer.
Second is the promotion relegation system.
Third is playing for nothing with your mates.

Let's not stuff up, we may not be "A" graders but there is no reason to not be as professional as an "A" grader.

It is generally regarded by the Amateurs themselves that as you go down the grades there are more thugs running around. If the men in charge at headquarters would be reading this we are affirming their thoughts.
Every club has incidents (especially the Sydney Swans), i think as a collective group of D1 we need to make sure we don't follow the lead of other local leagues who are plagued with problems in this area. That is part of the many great reasons we play Amateurs.

First and foremost no alcohol at games is the best thing about Amateurs, and i love a beer.
Second is the promotion relegation system.
Third is playing for nothing with your mates.

Let's not stuff up, we may not be "A" graders but there is no reason to not be as professional as an "A" grader.

Good call KB. Right on the money with everything you have said.

Have to disagree with you there Bloods. The senior game was filled with cheap shots from Aquinas players all day. Plenty of little elbows and rib ticklers which is not a problem and i consider part of the game. Its when blokes like number 15 are tackling players down to the ground then throwing hay makers into players heads at the bottom of packs that gives me the sh1ts. He did it to W pelar atleast 3 times that i saw. Then there was number 2 in the forward line who decided to head butt M Dean with about 10 minutes to go. About 2 minutes later the big blonde fella up forward (i think he was no 16) throws a big right hook across the face of D Pelar from behind. He was the 3rd man in to a scuffle between 2 blokes who were chesting each other.

Dont get me wrong here, if two guys want to shape up to each other and throw a couple, so be it, but when situations like the above happen, people from Aquinas can't go around complaining about cheap shots. I didn't see the hit in the magoos so i cant comment, but any of that kind of stuff in disgraceful.

Well i wasnt out there so i didnt see the incidents close up, from all reports u guys were doing exactly the same to us? One of our taggers copping it twice from behind when in a pack, seen as protection which is fine if you want to protect ur better players but when u hit from behind that isnt the best???? Another one of our young players hurt his shoulder and this was fair game but when weribee players purposly hit him when not near the ball, drop knee ect, thats when it goes to far???

Are u sure when u talk about hay makers in packs u werent talking about ur ressie bloke who did a king hit that one our players will miss the yr and have surgery for?? But unlike you i wont put a number on an open forum for everyone to see (especially when u do it when u are completly one eyed!!) Im sure the ppl that matter at weribee know who this player was and have told him that this kind of action is not what VAFA football is about, and im sure Weribee AFC are not about too, by the way he was ashamed by his actions at the end of the game i am sure he knew what he did was wrong and will be thinkin twice before doing it again!!

Well i wasnt out there so i didnt see the incidents close up, from all reports u guys were doing exactly the same to us? One of our taggers copping it twice from behind when in a pack, seen as protection which is fine if you want to protect ur better players but when u hit from behind that isnt the best???? Another one of our young players hurt his shoulder and this was fair game but when weribee players purposly hit him when not near the ball, drop knee ect, thats when it goes to far???

Are u sure when u talk about hay makers in packs u werent talking about ur ressie bloke who did a king hit that one our players will miss the yr and have surgery for?? But unlike you i wont put a number on an open forum for everyone to see (especially when u do it when u are completly one eyed!!) Im sure the ppl that matter at weribee know who this player was and have told him that this kind of action is not what VAFA football is about, and im sure Weribee AFC are not about too, by the way he was ashamed by his actions at the end of the game i am sure he knew what he did was wrong and will be thinkin twice before doing it again!!

If this was Number 32 - He hurt His shoulder trying to wrestle one of the young blokes. That was quite funny to see. probably the comical point of the day. reminded me of the footage of Crackere Keenan pulling his back when throwing one at Don Scott. (please note that im not inferring that someone threw a punch)

All in All, Aquinas were extremely Competitive, and anyone rocking up to play them should be on thier toes, because they will throw everything at them.

IMO we are a lot more disciplined in the VAFA than most other comps and there is no thuggery. From time to time a few players may get hot under the collar and through frustration overstep the mark.
From my association with the VAFA I know that this is not tolerated by Players, Coaches and Committee.
If a club has issues with competing players I'm sure it will be dealt in house. If they believe it to be of a more serious matter, then they can take it up with the VAFA.
This is not the right forum to be naming players (IMO) as we do tend to be one-eyed and see it the way we want to see it.
Looking forward this week to NOBS as they have improved from the last time we played them. We need to keep winning to hold onto 2nd spot. Some handy inclusions this week will bolster our side and improving form from some of the blokes who have been down over the last few weeks will make it a good game.

Whilst we sit bottom of the ladder and are not the measuring stick - NOBs impressed me last Sat.

They jumped on us from the word go - took all their chances up forward and made us look completely inept going forward - infact their back 6 was terrific.

We are obviously fighting for survival now at Emmaus but NOBS showed plenty on Sat to suggest they will challenge for a finals berth on the run home.

You can rule out the bottom 3 clubs and you can lock in Rupertswood.

That means we have 6 teams battling for 3 spots (have to include Prahran) which means many crunch games on the back 9.

Lets hope the Animals can atleast interfere with a few of the contending clubs

Cheers

Drifter
howd the boys go on saturday , obviously we know the score but what was the story.. can you take it to prahran this week
l read beluszar didnt play, will he come up ?

Drifter
howd the boys go on saturday , obviously we know the score but what was the story.. can you take it to prahran this week
l read beluszar didnt play, will he come up ?

Well streetwise we actually played pretty well against Rupertswood.

They are obviously the side to beat in D1 and we couldnt penetrate their half back line.

Injuries to key players like Beluszar havent helped but would have made no difference to the result on Saturday

Training tonight will see how our list is looking but it is no longer an option - we must start winning games or we are gone to D2

Prahran have been pretty hot lately winning 4/6 or 4/7 so we will have our work cut out again getting near them this Saturday.

Just a quick one - NOBS hit their straps against us in Round 9 and dismantled SMD last week.

The race between them, OM's and Fitzroy is shaping as a really good one to watch.

Whoever gets 4th will have earnt it

Bloods, i'm not saying that out boys didn't throw any, i actually did see a couple of our guys throw one, but only after they were given one in the pack first. Not saying we are perfect, but more often than not if our guys throw one, it's usually while the two people having a crack are facing each other.
I agree with you in that you should always protect your team mates, but if you want to hit someone, do it fairly in play. Like you said, there is no room for hits from behind or knees in a pack, that's not how footy should be played.

Like i said previously, didn't see the ressies so i cant comment on the hit from our player that did the damage to the Aquinas bloke. If it was as bad as everyone on here has said, then he should be disgusted with himself and probably should have got a couple. I wasn't being biased, just merely stating what i saw. Either way, there is no room for that kind of stuff on the field.