D1 2009

Stuey, as an ally from the west can I suggest you just resist taking the bait? It's not becoming of a coach to keep posting about buttercups and princesses who should take jars of cement! You aren't doing yourself or the club any favours. We are better than that aren't we?

Cheers

Grum

I saw you there recuiting your reserves team

You should have come and said hello.....

Grum, i see what you saying to stuey, however, A bit of banter on a forum site, is hardly a reflection on a footy club.

Stuey flies the flag for his team and I think its admirable.

Being from the West - were always going to cop it. its an eastern comp, and we are all trespassing. Thats why its so fun...

Good tough win for the Friars today out at BSO, tough ground to play at when its blowing a gale across the ground

I must though congratulate one of the field umpires for showing that his performance a couple of weeks ago wasnt a bad day, it was his usual standard :rolleyes: Shame the observers werent there so he could be banished to D4

Good tough win for the Friars today out at BSO, tough ground to play at when its blowing a gale across the ground

I must though congratulate one of the field umpires for showing that his performance a couple of weeks ago wasnt a bad day, it was his usual standard :rolleyes: Shame the observers werent there so he could be banished to D4

Which one Eddie? As a former goal umpire (if I'm correct) you seem to harbour grave misgivings about some of the men in white despite having been one yourself. :confused:

Eddie is referring to Jason Evans i think, he had them 2 weeks ago and we have had him 4 times. Without being too critical as he seems a genuine fellow and a reasonable umpire, i understand how supporters can feel, Jas was very pro- Fitzroy round 2 against us IMO. I even think scribe would subscibe to this and an outside chance even the ump himself.

Rupppo's win today IMO was a ripper. As i said i rated NOBS, they took it right up to us and we responded with a hard fought gutsy win in difficult conditions. We answered the challenge strongly and i feel today will put us in strong position coming home in the last 6 rounds. Much to look forward to for the Ruppppo boys, and a great win by the reserves.

Go Saints!!!! and Ruppppppppppppppppo!

Eddie is referring to Jason Evans i think, he had them 2 weeks ago and we have had him 4 times. Without being too critical as he seems a genuine fellow and a reasonable umpire, i understand how supporters can feel, Jas was very pro- Fitzroy round 2 against us IMO. I even think scribe would subscibe to this and an outside chance even the ump himself.

Rupppo's win today IMO was a ripper. As i said i rated NOBS, they took it right up to us and we responded with a hard fought gutsy win in difficult conditions. We answered the challenge strongly and i feel today will put us in strong position coming home in the last 6 rounds. Much to look forward to for the Ruppppo boys, and a great win by the reserves.

Go Saints!!!! and Ruppppppppppppppppo!

Nup Mick - no chance.

I wrapped one of your sons up a treat in the final term and Evo just called for the footy when clearly a free 35m out from goal was warranted. :D

We've had Jason 3 times this year and I'd have to say he's been fair each week. If it's there, he pays it. If you play for it (as I have in the past) he tells you to start focusing on the footy. Given he was with Santo Caruso, who I believe has made the transition from boundary to field umpire this year (?), I thought they worked pretty well. They officiated according to the conditions, refusing to award the tiggy-touch-wood ones, and let the game flow.

Friars deserved to win both games, and their depth (now the injured lads have returned) bodes well for a good finals campaign for both teams. To see Baggoley running around in the 2s on a wing suggests they have a little bit more improvement to come!

reasonable effort by SMD on the field today. Didn't handle the slippery ball as well as Om's and paid the price in the end.

Off the field I am truly embaressed as only our goal umpire, coach, pres and 1 player stuck around for a beer and to hear Justin read the awards.

Shit effort lads....

and where the **** were our fair weather supporters? thanks!

Which one Eddie? As a former goal umpire (if I'm correct) you seem to harbour grave misgivings about some of the men in white despite having been one yourself. :confused:
I can finally say some of the things I couldnt back then :p

But KB is right about which umpire, Santo was good, actually made the transistion this week, they have 30 or so field umpires unavailable

He frustrates the hell out of me and most people watching, however I was speaking to one of the players afterwards and he says they have also now started to work him out so if we see him again they know how to play it. I dont know, he probably does let some go then he seems to pluck some strange ones out of the blue

But it is frustrating, the interpretations vary greatly from week to week, last week they were great and Aquinas you never noticed it but I want to see AD come up to D1 :D

reasonable effort by SMD on the field today. Didn't handle the slippery ball as well as Om's and paid the price in the end.

Off the field I am truly embaressed as only our goal umpire, coach, pres and 1 player stuck around for a beer and to hear Justin read the awards.

Shit effort lads....

and where the **** were our fair weather supporters? thanks!
Great win for the bloods today against Prahran,it was nice to sing the song for the first time since round 2.Looking forward to having a crack at Mentone next week "GO BLOODS".

Nup Mick - no chance.

I wrapped one of your sons up a treat in the final term and Evo just called for the footy when clearly a free 35m out from goal was warranted. :D

We've had Jason 3 times this year and I'd have to say he's been fair each week. If it's there, he pays it. If you play for it (as I have in the past) he tells you to start focusing on the footy. Given he was with Santo Caruso, who I believe has made the transition from boundary to field umpire this year (?), I thought they worked pretty well. They officiated according to the conditions, refusing to award the tiggy-touch-wood ones, and let the game flow.

Friars deserved to win both games, and their depth (now the injured lads have returned) bodes well for a good finals campaign for both teams. To see Baggoley running around in the 2s on a wing suggests they have a little bit more improvement to come!

I was pointing out 3 things
I knew who Eddie was referring to
IMO he was biassed against us in Round 2, (because some of our supporters including myself possibly over did our thoughts from the boundary).
Overall i think he is a reasonable umpire, definitely lets the game flow.
The other 3 games IMO he has been fine.
This is not bagging him.

Good win by us as we played 4 quarters of football in the worst wind conditions ever.
Congrats to the ESL boys who stayed back after the game as we have the utmost respect for them.
Rumour has it that the Werribee Coach and ESL's coach took Matty A and Foxy out to a nightclub after the game as they were seen leaving the ground arm in arm:D

This thread is nearly dead.

Saturday's game of the round will be NOBS at home to Whitefriars. The season is on the line for NOBS and with this in mind it will be interesting how they respond. W/Friars will be very keen to push for the double chance and their form suggests they should win. These two teams are not disimilar in structure, so it should come down to who converts opportunity. W/Friars by 10pts.

Other games
Aquinas in an upset by 6pts
Fitzroy in a tough one by 19pts
Werribee stifled by SMD flooding by 26pts
Ruppppo in a tight one by 12pts, We will happily take the 4pts.

Like the Pies I am worried again this week, both are on 7 game winning streaks and you just feel a loss is coming soon unfortunately, hopefully not this week but I dont think it will be a good day. They have had a couple of tough matches recently, but then again so have their opponents, I expect another hard and tough game again that on form the Friars should get up

Thinking of scribes i must say the scribe for D1 is a ripper, a fair bit out there but definitely worth a read.

Share da passion: how did your boys pull up?, they must be pumped for Saturday in both games.

KB
the season really starting to heat up now
whitefriars & webees chasing hard after a rampant roopo who
have a final series before the final series
will mentone keep nobs at bay
if nobs loose saturday and their season is all but gone
will it have been a wasted year for the nobbys?
will rocky balboa rip terry scanlon a new one ?
then a very hot fight who will avoid the relegation zone ?

what a couple of weeks ahead ,..bring it on I say

I see we have got nearly a full compliment out at NOBs this week with a team from RDFL, couldnt find another boundary umpire obviously

Interesting to note the Werribee v SMD game has a full VAFA contingent, a reasonably strong one at that, dont know if its a milestone game or they feel Werribee need VAFA umpires ;)

I know when I umpired there were some D4 teams who always got a full team and some matches that got a strong one

I see we have got nearly a full compliment out at NOBs this week with a team from RDFL, couldnt find another boundary umpire obviously

Interesting to note the Werribee v SMD game has a full VAFA contingent, a reasonably strong one at that, dont know if its a milestone game or they feel Werribee need VAFA umpires ;)

I know when I umpired there were some D4 teams who always got a full team and some matches that got a strong one

Might have something to do with no A&B Grade games this week Eddie. Bit hard on Werribee mate.

Also the last time we played SMD at LH oval the waterboy and SMD pest had a disagreement. The court case for the incident is only about a month away.