D3 D3 2009

Nah its probably more 50/50 to be honest. The St Mary's boys had alot more youth that are pushing through now.

Not sure about the exersise bike though, i wouldnt have thought so...

Dont worry Griff, was just stirring you. Its good u guys have an even mix. I dont know how id feel if my club merged.. I suppose if it were through necessity id prob stay put.

U guys training on spermdale park yet?

Any teams applied to play under lights at Elsternwick this year?
Has Bentleigh??
I'd love to get that chance again.
Played one night a couple of seasons back against Ormond in the U19s.. would like to hope it wasn't a "once in a lifetime" thing.
Anyway, hot week in Melbourne, summer finally arrived. I'm tipping it's still going to be quite warm around practice match months and leading up to the season.
Are most teams back training yet?
Looking forward to sweating it out on Wednesday..

Dont worry Griff, was just stirring you. Its good u guys have an even mix. I dont know how id feel if my club merged.. I suppose if it were through necessity id prob stay put.

U guys training on spermdale park yet?

As a ex-salesian boy is was a necessity, it was that or go under really! We really stuggled the year before without a ground and such. From the inside, its working really well (allthough our results last year dont appear so) and the group seem to have taken to each other. Personally very happy! We havent been able to use the ground as yet. The council have re done the suface in that summer grass and its starting to look the goods! They have allocated us a ground to use on Wednesday nights only and Monday and Friday will be a mixture of things. There is alot of parkland around Ferndale so we should be OK.

so the sms boys are training 3 nights a week, thats pretty full on for this level. is that to ensure everyone gets 2 sessions a week or are guys expected to attend all 3?

looks like a new benchmark is being set by sms boys

so the sms boys are training 3 nights a week, thats pretty full on for this level. is that to ensure everyone gets 2 sessions a week or are guys expected to attend all 3?

Everyone is expected to train 3 nights a week. The expected and the reality...... i guess we will see how it goes. See who is fair dinkum!!!

May have to give up the old XBOX mate...

Any one heard of the confirmed numbers for the Phillip Island trip?

We did a pre season trip at Phillip Island last 2 years, very good.

Any word if you boys will be doing the dunes at woollami???? Hardest thing I have ever done!! Ever....

Everyone is expected to train 3 nights a week. The expected and the reality...... i guess we will see how it goes. See who is fair dinkum!!!

I thought 3 nights a week + a boot camp and training camp was the standard preseason, of course you dont expect everyone to turn up 3 nights a week, although that would be ideal to lose the extra xmas belly..

I cant imagine not having a home ground and how hard that must have been to recruit players, New recruit: "Where do we train?" Coach: "oh we do laps of the local Woolies and play in the Maccas carpark on Sat, the changerooms and showers are at the Quix truckstop down the road."

I would love to get a night game too, friday night lights..

We did a pre season trip at Phillip Island last 2 years, very good.

Any word if you boys will be doing the dunes at woollami???? Hardest thing I have ever done!! Ever....

The night before wasn't ideal preparation, neither was the 20 km sand run at 7 in morning, or the bacon and egg breakfast or the praccy match after all of it. Insane training day, even the superfit felt like biggest loser contestants after all that!!!

Yeah all good points you raise....

Was still very hard..

Night games are magic. Richmond Centrals vs Albert Park at Sportscover for the season opener.

Amazingly, it seems to be the only night game fixture for the year.

Edit: So far, the U19 draw isn't out yet, there may be some more later.

Saint Marys Salesian start pre-season training Wed 28th Jan at Cooper reserve Camberwell and then Friday night at Ferndale Park at 6pm. Training will then continue Monday,Wednesday, Friday

More details of future training dates and venues can be found soon at http://www.stmaryssalesianafc.com.au/. All new players most welcome

Practice games

21st Mar- Neerim South (Away)
28th Mar- Olinda (Away)
4th Apr- Sydenham Hillside (away

All venues to be advised

Bails u coaching out at Salesian this year? I heard that u weren't at the Moorabbin Kangas no more but wasn't sure where u we're going to? Any idea how the Kangas will go this season. Is Danny O coaching them?
All the best for the season at ur new club...

Who is the new coach dyl tigerman??

I heard your seniors were after Paul Groves from St Bedes last year but he opted to play in A Section (smart move as it turned out for him - no offence to you guys.) He would have been almost unstoppable in D3 last year.

Matt Jones
coached the 18's last year and has now moved up...
he loves the game is organised and strives for commitment and disipline...

Added to which no-one likes travelling to their home ground to play either. They'll win more than they lose thats for sure.

the ground is awesome... it is like playing on carpet it would have to be one of the best going round but the rooms need to be fixed up... too small i say but we get there look out in 09 i say

by the way is the new fixture out...

So trainings on today.. Were all running marathons today wearing trakkies and sweat shirts?
Brave boys turning up tonight but obviously coaches are smart enough not to make their players do too much.
I would say we had about 25 there tonight. Numbers have been great at all sessions we've had with tonight being the lowest by far, but (about) 25 is still good considering the conditions!!
It's great to see new blokes showing up each week, as well as players from previous years making the effort to set a good example.. it's all positives at this stage.
Hopefully the temp in a couple of months is about half what it was today when we prepare to take to the field..

Very very light night for SMS tonight but a really good fun session to kick off 09. 37 blokes trained and 4 injured guys there which was very pleasing. No training Friday due to the extreme heat

Whats your average attendance for Friday night sessions?

I see that the clearances have started on the VAFA website & Elsternwick are the 1st D3 club to have a signing, a player from Lyndale (SFL). Is anyone in a position to announce their big signings or any significant losses yet or are we going to have to wait for the official lodgements?