D3 Ammos

sidewinder said:
Can't find space for a Mahony?
Just ask Old Worriers today. A.Mahony B.Mahony C.Mahony.... they collectively beat the Worriers today. First one, then the other.Crowd Craig and Brian will beat you! The Worriers were shown up as a one dimensional side today. Question on their game. Tough conditions....soft side! Pretty boy football does not work on an ugly day. September football is different and providing they make it, the worriers might make good use of their style of football but first...you've got to make it!

The Bloods go on.....Kew had no answers today. Their Two's were just making up the numbers. No problem though. Just round 12. Passage to the big games later on in the season.

Bloods are awesome, have to be a certainty for the flag. Kew played the best the have played all year despite being severly undermanned. Bloods are the best side in D3 by a long way!!!

Watch out for Monash. I reckon they're gaining some momentum. May be too late for a finals campaign, but may upset a few sides.

sidewinder said:
Can't find space for a Mahony?
Just ask Old Worriers today. A.Mahony B.Mahony C.Mahony.... they collectively beat the Worriers today. First one, then the other.Crowd Craig and Brian will beat you! The Worriers were shown up as a one dimensional side today. Question on their game. Tough conditions....soft side! Pretty boy football does not work on an ugly day. September football is different and providing they make it, the worriers might make good use of their style of football but first...you've got to make it!

Be careful not to judge OW on the side that was playing on Saturday. Lots of key outs that meant they were below full strength.

Was that a full strength Elsternwick? Cos OW were missing at least 7 senior players and you only won by 2 goals???? :confused:

Not it wasn't Berzerk, and somehow I get the feeling that your club knows that. Elsternwick has a long injury list at present - that'swell known.

Besides, I think that you had better have a yarn to your mate Tibia, who has been recently quiet I have noticed. Here's something from him from 21/04/06:

"Mate, this is exactly what I am talking about. Every team has injuries, and it is just that we hear more about them from the Wickers than anyone else. All these comments are to me are excuses, nothing more. Thanks for justifying my point."

Personally, I would make sure you kept your pseudonym to yourself there Berzerko. Old Tibs may have a bone to pick with you.

That's three from four you've dropped to them. Maybe you will have to accept that this team may be as good, if not better, than OW? I'll have to, as I didn't even have Elsternwick in my GF quinella.

Still, will be hard to get Mr Flower to admit that. This week's it was the home ground advantage that would split the two teams. Why wasn't that the case for Round 3, especially given the 2004 result?

While you're not replying Mr Flower, I know you're reading. You don't have to reply, however I suggest to you that the bias ends in favour of OW in your writings. We all know you are passionate about the club, but it gets in the way of your writing and makes it difficult for other clubs who watch one team get written up so glowfully at the expense of others.

Take a step back. Talk about and tip OW where and when warranted, but don't use nicknames of OW players where you wouldn't other teams players. Choose OW players in your half teams of the year where they are warranted. Don't just choose a player because of past form and their reputation. NSW did that in this season's State of Origin and look what happened to them.

Give a 100% unbiased perspective. Trust me, your writing style will improve, your respect from your peers will increase and maybe, just maybe, your popularity on the VAFA website may just incease. Let's face it, you can't go any lower!

mcglede said:
Not it wasn't Berzerk, and somehow I get the feeling that your club knows that. Elsternwick has a long injury list at present - that'swell known.

Besides, I think that you had better have a yarn to your mate Tibia, who has been recently quiet I have noticed. Here's something from him from 21/04/06:

"Mate, this is exactly what I am talking about. Every team has injuries, and it is just that we hear more about them from the Wickers than anyone else. All these comments are to me are excuses, nothing more. Thanks for justifying my point."

Personally, I would make sure you kept your pseudonym to yourself there Berzerko. Old Tibs may have a bone to pick with you.

That's three from four you've dropped to them. Maybe you will have to accept that this team may be as good, if not better, than OW? I'll have to, as I didn't even have Elsternwick in my GF quinella.

Still, will be hard to get Mr Flower to admit that. This week's it was the home ground advantage that would split the two teams. Why wasn't that the case for Round 3, especially given the 2004 result?

While you're not replying Mr Flower, I know you're reading. You don't have to reply, however I suggest to you that the bias ends in favour of OW in your writings. We all know you are passionate about the club, but it gets in the way of your writing and makes it difficult for other clubs who watch one team get written up so glowfully at the expense of others.

Take a step back. Talk about and tip OW where and when warranted, but don't use nicknames of OW players where you wouldn't other teams players. Choose OW players in your half teams of the year where they are warranted. Don't just choose a player because of past form and their reputation. NSW did that in this season's State of Origin and look what happened to them.

Give a 100% unbiased perspective. Trust me, your writing style will improve, your respect from your peers will increase and maybe, just maybe, your popularity on the VAFA website may just incease. Let's face it, you can't go any lower!

Maybe you guys should start your own thread for "whingeing girls"

mcglede said:

A simple yes/no answer would've been fine thanks. Quite an impressive essay, but wasted on me as all i wanted to know was if you had injuries, not the history of the effect of injuries on life as we know it within the VAFA. Nor did i need cross referencing with past discussions or your own bibliography.

Just to clarify .... yes you have injuries too? Are they key injuries or just injuries?

mcglede said:
Knackers (oops, Knackers_2), Mr Flower won't debate me, but perhaps you'll be so good as to ask him what has changed since Round Two?

Whatever you say, mcglede. What has changed since Round Two?

matera30 said:
hamilton and curtin the two fat slow gnomes are doing an alright job it seems at west, considering the key players they lost.

pity neither of the two can coach, must be some good onfield leaders down there

Good Point Pete
I hear on the grape vine Paul Cook has been sighted at the club, this might help explain the clubs current win/loss ratio

There's a poll running on the VAFA website asking for votes on the favourite VAFA scribe. There's even the option to vote for Gavan. If you've got a grievance exercise your democratic right.

Bentleigh is currently 8-4 and not in the top four. On this pace, they will finish with 12 wins, and if they don't make the finals with 11 or 12 wins, will they then have claims to being the unluckiest team in all amateur football? Remember last year they got relegated despite winning 6 games.

Any meaningful thoughts?

The Punter said:
Bentleigh is currently 8-4 and not in the top four. On this pace, they will finish with 12 wins, and if they don't make the finals with 11 or 12 wins, will they then have claims to being the unluckiest team in all amateur football? Remember last year they got relegated despite winning 6 games.

Any meaningful thoughts?

Winning 6 games and dropping a grade is certainly a sharp little punt in the groin, and I would reckon winning 12 games and dipping out on September action by percentage would be an equally painful blow to the vas deferens. One of the top 5 has to miss out- at this stage I think it will be Westbourne. But we really should consult mcglede.

Agreed Knackers.....OW are 1 from 5 against top 4 and with their % and being 4 points behind the pack they will have to win 3 from 3 against these sides on the way home to make it. With only one of those games at home I think it's game over.

collinsr said:
Agreed Knackers.....OW are 1 from 5 against top 4 and with their % and being 4 points behind the pack they will have to win 3 from 3 against these sides on the way home to make it. With only one of those games at home I think it's game over.

That could be true Collinsr, but you must not forget the wild cards, being Monash who are very tough to beat at home and are playing good footy at the moment, and also the relegation battle at the bottom. If Kew go down to the Saints this week, all three are back in the hunt to stay up, which means danger for the Big 5.

I agree though that the Warriors will need to win one of their road trips against Bentleigh or South, as well as beating the Magpies at home if they are to be certaintities (and of course not dropping one to the bottom 5).

My tip at this stage is we are the most likley to miss out, but there are still many twists and turns before this season is over!!

The Punter said:

Any meaningful thoughts?

Yes. Delist Stewart

The Punter said:

Any meaningful thoughts?

I think any of the current top 5 would by stiff to miss out. It's quite possible though that one of them will miss out with more than 10 wins.

collinsr said:

It is worth noting that there one win against the top 4 was over the previously undefeated Sths who have taken out all of the other top teams (some of them twice!) which indicates that OW can play on their day! :eek:

That said i must agree that the task for OW is a difficult one, but most of the other top teams are in the same boat. All must win against the other contenders and can't afford to drop one to the bottom 5!

It should make for a great second half of the season. :thumbsu:

Hey guys,

Who would be leading their club's B&F at this stage of the year???

I would nominate Swooper Pavez from Westbourne. He has been the most consistent so far for the side.

dave31 said:
Hey guys,

Who would be leading their club's B&F at this stage of the year???

I would nominate Swooper Pavez from Westbourne. He has been the most consistent so far for the side.

Totally agree Swooper would be leading he has been awesome all year, from Paul Chalmers for his early form and maybe Trav Edwards with his recent good run and Jucka Horsborough has been consistently good?

Unfortunately, Knackers thinks I have something against Old Westbourne.

If he went back and checked the history of this thread however, he would see that I tipped Old Westbourne to win the Premiership over Bentleigh this season.

Yes Knackers, I tipped your club to win the Premiership...and I believe they still can.

What we have is a situation whereby we have an even competition, with the top five being outstanding prospects to go to D2. I have no doubt we could currently take any two of the top five and they would be competitive in the league above to the point where neither would be relegated.

Monash are ever improving and Swinburne are not as bad as many made them out to be. I am surprised by the form of Kew, while UHS-VU and St Mary's can honestly say they picked the wrong year to be a little off the pace.

So Knackers when you try to suggest I do not respect your club, you're off the mark. I already do, and have for some time. What I don't like however is the two page homage to OW that we get in the Amateur Footballer every week. Simple.

berzerk22 said:
Totally agree Swooper would be leading he has been awesome all year, from Paul Chalmers for his early form and maybe Trav Edwards with his recent good run and Jucka Horsborough has been consistently good?

Its a shame they cant get Nick Smith in the side more often. He is certainly one of the players that come Sept will be the difference between Westbourne making up the numbers and actually having a crack at the flag.