D3 Ammos

harper said:
Gav, down lakeside way these days we prefer the name "dish lickers". Don't know why but it gets a good work out at training.

No problems, I will start using it.

tigers said:
what about cade lever? I hear he broke his hand pretty badly as a result of a bentleigh bloke stepping on it... your not a fan of lever Mr Flower, as he has never been included in any of your D4/3 teams?

Disagree there mate as I do rate Cade pretty highly. It is always hard to slot him into the TOTY though, as I try to keep a balance between teams represetatives and he is always pipped by either those who are shining a little more brightly down at Warrior Park or someone from another club who may pip him in position.

Gavone said:
No problems, I will start using it.

Disagree there mate as I do rate Cade pretty highly. It is always hard to slot him into the TOTY though, as I try to keep a balance between teams represetatives and he is always pipped by either those who are shining a little more brightly down at Warrior Park or someone from another club who may pip him in position.

Gav can you please give me an idea of how you see the season playing out???

how would you rate Bentleighs chance?

Nick Smith out for westbourne, big loss.... pretty hard for them from here?

Attention all D4 clubs. Relegation is soon to be a possibility!
Football Victoria are investigating the SFL management and may soon see the VAFA running the Southern League.
Huge gap between standards so D5 might be possible.

sidewinder said:
Attention all D4 clubs. Relegation is soon to be a possibility!
Football Victoria are investigating the SFL management and may soon see the VAFA running the Southern League.
Huge gap between standards so D5 might be possible.

Perhaps this should be in the D4 forum.

madpie said:
no 31 how is big bill magee travelling at the districts this year ?

I don't play in D3, but I have seen a couple of the Districts games and from what I've read in the VAFA record and in this forum he is having a pretty good year. Others on this forum would give you a better idea than me.

tigers said:
Gav can you please give me an idea of how you see the season playing out???

how would you rate Bentleighs chance?

Nick Smith out for westbourne, big loss.... pretty hard for them from here?

Not sure if you read my predictions a couple of rounds back, but I have not waivered in these thoughts too much.

Certainties are obviously South and Bentleigh. Elsternwick with their run home would need something catastrophic not to make it.

Therefore it comes down to the Warriors and the Magpies. Warriors have South (A), Saints (H) and Bentleigh (A). Magpies have Swinburne (H), South (H) and Saints (A).

Given Westbourne is a game and percentage ahead, they would have to lose at least one to South or Bentleigh for West Brunswick to have a chance. If they drop two, West Brunwick could afford to lose one of theirs as well and still make it.

It really does depend on how big the margins are, and as I said in my analysis in the record, have those calculators ready in Round 18.

Now for my opinion. I have waivered somewhat now in that I now think Westbourne will sneak in on percentage. My reasoning is that they will lose on the road to both Bentleigh and South. However, having the best defence in the league, I do not think the damage will be that great to the %. They also have the Saints at home and this will be a big % booster with the visitors not having much to play for.

As for West Brunswick, they will win comfortably against Swinny and the Saints, however, I cannot see them pegging back some 24% (equivalent to 236 points currently) to overtake the Warriors.

As such, they would have to win all three (ie beating South Melbourne as well!) and hope Westbourne drop their two against the league leaders to be any chance.

Therefore my ladder prediction is South, Bentleigh, Elsternwick and Westbourne.

First Final, I am sticking with Bentliegh at this stage. I know the South guys will hate me for this, but I had them as my preseason favorites and from what I have seen and heard I reckon they are still the side to beat. Will be a classic game.

Wickers v Westbourne. Another classic. Could go either way and (I hate saying this!!) but I think injuries could play a part. Toss a coin here mate.

The Prelim will be another coin toss and I would not dare predict now as momentum and form will play a huge part.

However, if I had to choose my favorite at present, I would still be sticking with Bentleigh, but as this season has shown. Any of the top 5 are capable and it will depend on who is playing well on the day. An old cliche, but it really does apply when a season has been so even.

Interested to hear anyone else's thoughts.

Also, team of the year nominations will be happily received, preferably in position and with reasons!!

Gavone said:
Wickers v Westbourne. Another classic. Could go either way and (I hate saying this!!) but I think injuries could play a part. Toss a coin here mate.

The Prelim will be another coin toss and I would not dare predict now as momentum and form will play a huge part.

True to form, expect a lot more tossing on this forum - especially with the non-flag-favourite Souths playing Gavan's OW this weekend

knackers_2 said:
True to form, expect a lot more tossing on this forum - especially with the non-flag-favourite Souths playing Gavan's OW this weekend

Knackers if your going to post something, at least have an opinion on a topic or state something relevant.

As much as I dont want to stick up for Gav, he was asked his opinion and he has given some pretty good insight into how the final few weeks could plan out.

Regardless of who he thinks will win he has at least thrown all the scenarios in. And then added what his thoughts are.

You have contributed nothing but garbage.

dave31 said:
Knackers if your going to post something, at least have an opinion on a topic or state something relevant.

OK Dave. Thanks for your opinion.

With South having plenty of supporters on this forum, Gavan having plenty of non-supporters, South playing OW, Gav being an OW supporter and tipping against South for the flag, And OW playing South this weekend (bearing in mind OW beat South last time), I think there is some relevance stating there will be tossing ahead.

I think you may have already proven my point.

Gavone said:
Not sure if you read my predictions a couple of rounds back, but I have not waivered in these thoughts too much.

Certainties are obviously South and Bentleigh. Elsternwick with their run home would need something catastrophic not to make it.

Therefore it comes down to the Warriors and the Magpies. Warriors have South (A), Saints (H) and Bentligh (A). Magpies have Swinburne (H), South (H) and Saints (A).

Given Westbourne is a game and percentage ahead, they would have to lose at least one to South or Bentleigh for West Brunswick to have a chance. If they drop two, West Brunwick could afford to lose one of theirs as well and still make it.

It really does depend on how big the margins are, and as I said in my analysis in the record, have those calculators ready in Round 18.

Now for my opinion. I have waivered somewhat now in that I now think Westbourne will sneak in on percentage. My reasoning is that they will lose on the road to both Bentleigh and South. However, having the best defence in the league, I do not think the damage will be that great to the %. They also have the Saints at home and this will be a big % booster with the visitors not having much to play for.

As for West Brunswick, they will will comfortably against Swinny and the Saints, however, I cannot see them pegging back some 24% (equivalent to 236 points currently) to overtake the Warriors.

As such, they would have to win all three (ie beating South Melbourne as well!) and hope Westbourne drop their two against the league leaders to be any chance.

First Final, I am sticking with Bentliegh at this stage. I know the South guys will hate me for this, but I had them as my preseason favorites and from what I have seen and heard I reckon they are still the side to beat. Will be a classic game.

However, if I had to choose my favorite at present, I would still be sticking with Bentleigh, but as this season has shown. Any of the top 5 are capable and it will depend on who is playing well on the day. An old cliche, but it really does apply when a season has been so even.

Also, team of the year nominations will be happily received, preferably in position and with reasons!!

Cheers gav, i would have to say i agree with you....

i would have to say from all reports on the weekend that OW will struggle with some injuries. Smith being a major one.

It will be interesting, if OW can get there running game going this weekend it should be a good game against souths...

the wicks are my roughy....

knackers_2 said:
OK Dave. Thanks for your opinion.

With South having plenty of supporters on this forum, Gavan having plenty of non-supporters, South playing OW, Gav being an OW supporter and tipping against South for the flag, And OW playing South this weekend (bearing in mind OW beat South last time), I think there is some relevance stating there will be tossing ahead.

I think you may have already proven my point.

knackers, mate your the reason these forums turn to S**T....

i dont even know gav, but at least the bloke can give an honest opinion with some point to his statements....

you just continue to disappoint....

tigers said:
knackers, mate your the reason these forums turn to S**T....

Way to lead by example. Knackers will probably never insult anyone on the forum again now that you've insulted him.
[please note the sarcasm, I wouldn't normally feel the need to sign post it but given some of the intelects we're dealing with...]

The forum isn't turning to sh1t still getting plenty of traffic and warming up to an intriguing close to the season. There's as much room for witty word play as there is for verbose self congratulation and footy analysis; that's what keeps it interesting.

Pavlova... He he he...

Gavone said:

Therefore it comes down to the Warriors and the Magpies. Warriors have South (A), Saints (H) and Bentleigh (A). Magpies have Swinburne (H), South (H) and Saints (A).

As for West Brunswick, they will win comfortably against Swinny and the Saints, however, I cannot see them pegging back some 24% (equivalent to 236 points currently) to overtake the Warriors.

I reckon u might be right gavone the two semis look all but sorted - bentleigh v sths & wicks v OW

i see the finals will be played at cheltenham this year. anyone have any info about this ground?? i think sths should win the flag they're clearly the best team in the comp.. although if cheltenham is a small ground.. elsternwick must be some chance - they play the postage stamp grounds very well

big_man said:
I reckon u might be right gavone the two semis look all but sorted - bentleigh v sths & wicks v OW

i see the finals will be played at cheltenham this year. anyone have any info about this ground??

Elsternwick's stamp-sized oval makes the Cheltenham ground look like an envelope. A good quality envelope too- it's usually in top nick

knackers_2 said:
Elsternwick's stamp-sized oval makes the Cheltenham ground look like an envelope. A good quality envelope too- it's usually in top nick

Totally agree, ground is generally in excellent condition. Ground is very similar to Bentleigh's. It is a good length, however, has wide flanks and pockets. Perfect ground to play football on.

big_man said:

i see the finals will be played at cheltenham this year. anyone have any info about this ground?? i think sths should win the flag they're clearly the best team in the comp.. although if cheltenham is a small ground.. elsternwick must be some chance - they play the postage stamp grounds very well

Best thing about Cheltenham is that you can buy beer and sit behind the glass in the social club and enjoy watching the game. Really enjoyed watching the D4 finals series last year with a pot in hand.

Big game this weekend in the ressies between Kew and Monash.

They will play each other in the second semi final but the winner this weekend will get a solid psychological advantage.

Who does everyone think will win?

Probably Monash. They can most afford to stack the 2s and not risk relegation in the 1s. If Kew drop this game and St Mary's beat UHS then a relegation dog fight will be on.

Krusty, depends if Wes Death is playing, he is the Xfactor. Kew are safe from relegation in the seniors. Witchell to kick 6 and Kew to win easy.

Johnny0nthespot said:
Krusty, depends if Wes Death is playing, he is the Xfactor. Kew are safe from relegation in the seniors. Witchell to kick 6 and Kew to win easy.

Death injured, may be out for rest of year with groin injury and Witchell having a week off due to soreness. Still not safe from relgation yet, it's ammo footy and anything can happen. Old Bell is back in the 1's tomorrow for some extra hardness. Kew pretty much full strength for 1st time this year. Looking to finish with 2 wins and grab 6th, which would be a fair effort considering such a disappointing season.

oldtimer said:
Death injured, may be out for rest of year with groin injury and Witchell having a week off due to soreness. Still not safe from relgation yet, it's ammo footy and anything can happen. Old Bell is back in the 1's tomorrow for some extra hardness. Kew pretty much full strength for 1st time this year. Looking to finish with 2 wins and grab 6th, which would be a fair effort considering such a disappointing season.
Gee thats a blow to Kew's chances. I might change my mind now. Witchell is the main avenue to goals. The midfields of both 2's sides are pretty good. But no Witchell and No Death, Ill go Monash by 10.

OW's big win against WB on the weekend has cost them dearly. It seems the club has been forced to make 6 changes; all due to injury. OW must be at their very best to knock off SM this week, and losing 6 players to injury must severely hurt their chances. Still, OW are the only team to beat SM this year, so one must give them a chance of replicating their round 7 display.

My predictions this week:

Bentleigh by 17
St. Mary's by 48
Monash by 30
West Brunswick by 24

akkadakka said:
OW's big win against WB on the weekend has cost them dearly. It seems the club has been forced to make 6 changes; all due to injury. OW must be at their very best to knock off SM this week, and losing 6 players to injury must severely hurt their chances. Still, OW are the only team to beat SM this year, so one must give them a chance of replicating their round 7 display.

My predictions this week:

Bentleigh by 17
St. Mary's by 48
Monash by 30
West Brunswick by 24

akkadakka,

can you confirm that one of those injuries you mentioned was not suffered during OW's stirring victory over WB? In fact that it was an ill fated dance move which caused a certain injury prone young bloke to be outed for the rest of the season?