D4 D4 2009

Saw a great hanger taken by an Albert Park player in the last quarter on Saturday.

Are Albert Park at full strength or are they expecting to get more senior players back on the ground before the end of the year?

Also great come back from Kew in the reserves but just fell short by 5 points in the end.

From all reports they have had a lot of top line players out and will be expecting them back before the years end.

Is that why they (AP) lost to Latrobe and only just beat Kew?? I thought they were at full strength and credit to them they certainly don't highlight any top line outs that may or may not have a baring on their results.
The season's over so let's all pack up, it's a AP v Latrobe GF already and at home this week they'll smash MTL to make it certainly a two way contest!!

Kew had Bell, Thorp, Poxon, Duke, Hawking, Haddad, Phipps, Mutton and Wang out of their starting 18 and Horne and McDermott played their first games for some time. Obviously will be a lot better when these players come back.

Noticed Maunder and Bennett haven't played for a while - serious injuries??

Kew had Bell, Thorp, Poxon, Duke, Hawking, Haddad, Phipps, Mutton and Wang out of their starting 18 and Horne and McDermott played their first games for some time. Obviously will be a lot better when these players come back.

Noticed Maunder and Bennett haven't played for a while - serious injuries??

AP have two serious knee injuries and a broken collar bone... not sure of the players... just the reports from previous posts?

Few more than that i believe and one extremelly serious one where a player has had to have 4 plates inserted into his face plus broken collar bone and dislocated shoulder to the same player against Latrobe lets hope all is well with him in his recovery. But in saying that ya put ya best side out there with what you have got. They make no excuses tho from what i hear Latrobe were the better team and Kew played well. 2nd half of the year is looking like a ripper with some very good games coming up. Top sides playing each other which is great leading into the finals.

Watched a great game of ammos footy on saturday between nth brunny and manningham, a high scoring contest between two evenly matched sides played in good spirits. The only sour note was after the game only 5 players and the runner came in for a drink from manningham really poor effort, we know they had a function that night but this doesn't stop you from coming in and buying 1 drink makes you look like poor losers.

Totally agree with your take on the days events.

It was a great arm wrestle with the game not really put away until the last 5 minutes.

As for the after game attendance, it's a total DISGRACE!!!!

Function or no function, how hard is it to go and have a beer with the opposition. How many times have North Brunswick been on the end of a hiding and still managed to have a fair representation in the clubhouse for a beer? At least wait for the after game presentations!!! But then, i suppose, if your Coaches and your Captain don't lead the way, what hope do you have?

We also give half a dozen to the BOG for both opposition snr and res teams which were duly passed on to the two guys that bothered to hang around.

Lucky Brunswick isn't further away from Bulleen otherwise those 4 or 5 may not have come in either.

When it's all said and done, we all hate each other for a couple of hours on a Saturday afternoon and we want to knock each other over (i know, it's happened to me very often), but after that final siren sounds, it's a great opportunity to mingle with the opposition and get to know one another.

Perhaps a leaf should also be taken from the Pres at La Trobe for more or less creating a 'Lock in' a few weeks ago at the after match preso.

Bulleen = soft

That's my rant.

A major function is a decent excuse for poor after match attendance. It happens once or twice a year for each side?

Apart from that, Manningham is up for a treat at the snake pit this Saturday. Brand new canteen/bar/lounge opening! Cant wait :)

Agreed that a function is a reasonable excuse. Fortunately EP and BHN both had functions on Saturday so the after-match was done quite soon after the game.

Bringing your own beer is much worse!

Agreed that a function is a reasonable excuse. Fortunately EP and BHN both had functions on Saturday so the after-match was done quite soon after the game.

Bringing your own beer is much worse!

Fair point but......

The game finished at app. 4.30pm.

Brunswick is a 15 - 20 minute drive from the Bulleen area. 30 at most.

You'd think the function wouldn't start before 7pm.

Knowing they had a function, our Pres would have done the presentations early.

Leaves a fair bit of time to acknowledge your hosts, even if it was for one solitary drink.

And if i'm not wrong, one of the two who hung around for the presentations may have even been the President of Bulleen. You'd think if the function was a MAJOR function, he'd have hot tailed it out of there as well.

Poor form in my opinion!!

As for bringing your own beer, all i can say is Thank God Hawthorn are in a higher grade!!!

Lucky Brunswick isn't further away from Bulleen otherwise those 4 or 5 may not have come in either.quote]

# 9 - I'll take on the duty of responding.

We had virtually a full compliment of players attending the function on Saturday night. Different to a function at the rooms, the boys had to get to the city for a boat cruise. This left most of the boys just over 2 hours to get home, changed & for the boat to depart. It was a bit tight & may have been better organised for a home game. We'll live & learn from that.

In saying that it is always disappointing when opposition clubs don't attend the after match, win, lose or draw. The game itself was a great contest & NB deserved the win. I don't know of any sour grapes at the result or against the club. We've always had a great relationship with NB & it was felt it was entirely appropriate to play the VAFA rivalry round against them.

A major function is a decent excuse for poor after match attendance. It happens once or twice a year for each side?

Apart from that, Manningham is up for a treat at the snake pit this Saturday. Brand new canteen/bar/lounge opening! Cant wait :)

Most teams have their functions on away games correct ?, then why is it that some teams use this as an excuse not to set foot into the opposition rooms. We as a club make it a rule to have a drink with the opposition, function or no function most don't start till 7.30 / 8.00 gives you plenty of time.Waz as president you and the coach set the tone we know not all players will abide but 5 is pathetic no excuse.
Ps; Manninghams silence says it all.

I am tipping that it was the Kew player McIndoe would have to be the 2nd softest big man in D4.

witnessed some pretty soft efforts by D. Penny on the weekend-crying and pretending he got hit too high-milking a few free kicks-i guess this is why every week he gets a few goals.

Yes, It was the Kew player reported.

kew player reported for unduly rough play...which pretty much means that the umpire deemed it was reportable but couldnt find anything else to book him with (i.e striking)...pretty sure the kew player is accepting the prescribed penatly (2 weeks) as to not waste his or the AP's player time tonight.

Watched a great game of ammos footy on saturday between nth brunny and manningham, a high scoring contest between two evenly matched sides played in good spirits. The only sour note was after the game only 5 players and the runner came in for a drink from manningham really poor effort, we know they had a function that night but this doesn't stop you from coming in and buying 1 drink makes you look like poor losers.

sorry for not hanging around as anyone who knows me i always make sure i stay to watch the "real game" and have a beer after, but i deff still got a traveler on sat and i got a couple for a couple of the boys that played in the ones. The 2 blokes i went with after the game also made sure they got a drink before they left aswell. i know not alot hung around but as i said i know more than a handful of guys make sure they grabed one as they left.

kew player reported for unduly rough play...which pretty much means that the umpire deemed it was reportable but couldnt find anything else to book him with (i.e striking)...pretty sure the kew player is accepting the prescribed penatly (2 weeks) as to not waste his or the AP's player time tonight.

4 weeks penalty......must have been unduly rough!!

Selections

L'trobe by 18g over NB
12g BHN to beat Chaddy who are just Chaddy at the moment
RC x 10g over the Cobras
AP x 12g against the Rams
Kew to smash the Peninsular lads x 11g
The Sharks to be there abouts again this year with a win over Swin x 5g

two's

LT x 10g
BHN x 5g
RC x 15g
AP x 5g
Kew x 11g
EP x 6g

Selections

L'trobe by 18g over NB
12g BHN to beat Chaddy who are just Chaddy at the moment
RC x 10g over the Cobras
AP x 12g against the Rams
Kew to smash the Peninsular lads x 11g
The Sharks to be there abouts again this year with a win over Swin x 5g

two's

LT x 10g
BHN x 5g
RC x 15g
AP x 5g
Kew x 11g
EP x 6g

LTB over NB by 10 goals
BHN by 3 goals over The Chad (Last chance for the Chad?)
RC by 1 point over MAN (Will test out the theory that MANN dont stick around after away games?)
AP by 3 goals over MTL (Could be an upset here? MTL coming on strong.)
Kew at home over the Tigers by 5 goals
Match of the Round EP v Swin... If Swinburne lose they probably fall out of the race for the finals. I haven't seen EP yet, but I reckon they'll hold swinburne off at home. EP by 3 goals.

Reserves?

LT by 5 goals (top of the table Ressies clash)
Chad by 3 goals
RC by 1 point
MTL by 1 goal (interesting reserve match as well)
Kew by 10 goals
EP by 1 point to get the double home win.

i would say it was unduly rough penalty ....the ump said during and after the game that it would be the prescribed 2 weeks....not sure what happened and how it got to the tribunal to get two weeks added on.

i actually thought he would get off if it went to the tribunal...silly me