• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

D4 D4 2009

wow. have been some interesting suggstions on here this easter. kew. hmmm. bhn wooden spoon? if evrything on this site was true, d4 footy would be far and away better than d3 even! ap smash powerhouse by 12 goals, sm smash uhs. could d4 really be that good? ml are apparently the second coming! its been said that d4 is the hrdest div to get promoted from. wow. next we'll have some afl players at chaddy. happy easter!
big waz did you have bongs instead of eggs yesterday my friend? i chose kew because everyone thinks that ML or AP are the ones yet Kew beat ML last year both times by over 50 points, they also sound like they havent lost anyone and got a couple more good players! Whilst BHN was pretty good last year they seem like they are struggling with numbers and injuries and with a tough first 5 rounds i no after bdeing involved in d4 for a while it might be tough to intice players back to the club!

Maybe get off the gear and give us your predictions instead of sitting back and judging others

big waz did you have bongs instead of eggs yesterday my friend? i chose kew because everyone thinks that ML or AP are the ones yet Kew beat ML last year both times by over 50 points, they also sound like they havent lost anyone and got a couple more good players! Whilst BHN was pretty good last year they seem like they are struggling with numbers and injuries and with a tough first 5 rounds i no after bdeing involved in d4 for a while it might be tough to intice players back to the club!

Maybe get off the gear and give us your predictions instead of sitting back and judging others

dude. read back a few pages for my predictions!

i dunno about anyone else but im pretty excited footys only 4days away as we play friday night and i cant sleep already bring on 09 sure to be a great year

id reckon were all pretty keen for the season to begin, allclass - its been hard yakka since november 2008 for most of us & all we want to do now is get out there & kick a ball in anger!! :thumbsu:

good luck friday night. you may need to rub polish under your eyes to stop the glare coming off the lights!! ;)

you with the falcons or the snakes??

That excited about the 09 season I awoke early this morning and went for a run.........

Was there another earthquake tremor recording? :)

Albert Park v Richmond Centrals - falcons by 28
Sth Mornington v Manningham - cobras by 7
Box Hill Nth v Mt.Lilydale - mounties by 30
La Trobe v Kew - bears by 1
Swinburne v Chadstone - razorbacks by 54
Eley Park v Nth Brunswick - sharks by 37

Premiers - Cobras (if not us albert park)
Wooden Spoon - Chadstone
Movers - us or eley park
Sliders - B.H.N.
comp medal - Rhodes

Thats harsh for Chadstone, 54 points highest prediction of them all and agasint a team that only won one game last yr and got beaten by 10 goals in there practice match. La Trobe to be a force this yr in d4 few key players back from 07..

Ok. Predictions - i'll have a crack:

Albert Park v Richmond Centrals - AP by 15 points
Sth Mornington v Manningham - SM by 20 points (always strong at home in the early rounds)
Box Hill Nth v Mt.Lilydale - Mt Lilydale by 6 goals.
La Trobe v Kew - La Trobe by 25 points.
Swinburne v Chadstone - Swinburne by 32 points.
Eley Park v Nth Brunswick - North Brunswick by 4 goals.

Can't wait.

After CLEARLY winning the D4 ladder tipping competition last year, I thought I'd better give it another crack.

1 - La Trobe Uni - Were a rabble last year for the first 9 weeks then got their sh!t together and finished the year strongly. Played last year with temp goal posts on green space which didn't help their cause. Quite simply, they're too big a club to remain in D4.

2 - Kew - The Hawthorn of D4, prob second best team last year then chocked in finals, same won't happen again.

3 - Albert Park - Big win a fortnight ago impressed me, no matter how many the House said were out, I dare say AP were in the same boat

4 - Richmond - Big improvers last year and will make the finals for the first time since the middle ages

5 - Mt. Lilydale - Always there abouts, need more numbers to really improve which has always been a problem for them.

6 - Box Hill North - Will be unlucky to miss finals on % only. Honestly couldn't decide between BHN and Mt. Lilydale

7 - South Mornington - Tipped them to make the 5 last year and they let me down, won't be making the same mistake again

8 - Eley Park - To be honest, I'm filling the gaps here between who I think are the good sides and the bad sides

9 - North Brunswick - Improve on last year, but finals out of the question

10 - Manningham - Beat my expectations last year and didn't finish bottom, 10th this year. Tip of the year last year to get WB reserves -119.5pts againts the Cobras in the wet

11 - Swinburne Uni - This club could be the "new Richmond Central". They were as bad last year as Richmond were in D3 in 2002.

12 - Chadstone - Name change wont help this year. Hidden ground makes it hard to find players.

After CLEARLY winning the D4 ladder tipping competition last year, I thought I'd better give it another crack.

1 - La Trobe Uni - Were a rabble last year for the first 9 weeks then got their sh!t together and finished the year strongly. Played last year with temp goal posts on green space which didn't help their cause. Quite simply, they're too big a club to remain in D4.

2 - Kew - The Hawthorn of D4, prob second best team last year then chocked in finals, same won't happen again.

3 - Albert Park - Big win a fortnight ago impressed me, no matter how many the House said were out, I dare say AP were in the same boat

4 - Richmond - Big improvers last year and will make the finals for the first time since the middle ages

5 - Mt. Lilydale - Always there abouts, need more numbers to really improve which has always been a problem for them.

6 - Box Hill North - Will be unlucky to miss finals on % only. Honestly couldn't decide between BHN and Mt. Lilydale

7 - South Mornington - Tipped them to make the 5 last year and they let me down, won't be making the same mistake again

8 - Eley Park - To be honest, I'm filling the gaps here between who I think are the good sides and the bad sides

10 - Manningham - Beat my expectations last year and didn't finish bottom, 10th this year. Tip of the year last year to get WB reserves -119.5pts againts the Cobras in the wet

11 - Swinburne Uni - This club could be the "new Richmond Central". They were as bad last year as Richmond were in D3 in 2002.

12 - Chadstone - Name change wont help this year. Hidden ground makes it hard to find players.
Tips
Albert Park easily
Latrobe just
Eley Park Just
Mt Lilydale 4 goals
South Mornington
Swinburne

Top 5 Season
Latrobe
Kew
AP
MtL
South Morn

Its hidden for a reason! Though the cedar wood finish in the away rooms gives it that sort of spa/sauna retreat feel........Pitty you have to go back out and play after 1/2 time usually bracing yourself against a harricane breeze with your team 15-20 goals up.

Maybe this is old news and it probably been talked to death on this thread (or maybe not), I was looking at the clearances and there is about 20 players going from Box Hill North to Dandenong...
Can anyone enlighten me as to the reason for this??

Thought I would join in on the fun and banter for 2009

I'll throw my hat in the ring -

Round 1 tips
Albert Park v Richmond Centrals - AP by 37pts ( AP to have a strong 2009)
Sth Mornington v Manningham - Mann by 3pts (Hard to see either teams push for finals berth this year)
Box Hill North v Mt Lilydale - The MountainMen in close encounter of the Ruck Machine Kind by 13pts

La Trobe v Kew - Kew to stamp its mark early on - by 18pts -Match Of The RND (Both side to finish 1st and 2nd )
Swinburne v Chadstone - The Razorbacks by 69pts.
Eley Park v Nth Brunswick - Sharks by 23pts in fairly even contest.

Top 5
Kew
La Trobe
Albert Park
Mt Lilydale
Swinburne

Wooden spoon - sorry Nth Brunswick for mine
League B&F - M.Rhodes as well

Only early tips and Good Luck to all .

id reckon were all pretty keen for the season to begin, allclass - its been hard yakka since november 2008 for most of us & all we want to do now is get out there & kick a ball in anger!! :thumbsu:

good luck friday night. you may need to rub polish under your eyes to stop the glare coming off the lights!! ;)

you with the falcons or the snakes??

i play for the falcons big yr this yr as we go for glory

Thought I would join in on the fun and banter for 2009

I'll throw my hat in the ring -

Round 1 tips
Albert Park v Richmond Centrals - AP by 37pts ( AP to have a strong 2009)
Sth Mornington v Manningham - Mann by 3pts (Hard to see either teams push for finals berth this year)
Box Hill North v Mt Lilydale - The MountainMen in close encounter of the Ruck Machine Kind by 13pts
La Trobe v Kew - Kew to stamp its mark early on - by 18pts -Match Of The RND (Both side to finish 1st and 2nd )
Swinburne v Chadstone - The Razorbacks by 69pts.
Eley Park v Nth Brunswick - Sharks by 23pts in fairly even contest.

Top 5
Kew
La Trobe
Albert Park
Mt Lilydale
Swinburne

Wooden spoon - sorry Nth Brunswick for mine
League B&F - M.Rhodes as well

Only early tips and Good Luck to all .

Albert Park & La Trobe round 8, preview of the grand final.
Is M.Rhodes playing this season, when we played the other week at MTL he didn't:confused:

I saw on the Swinburne FC website that they got beaten pretty well by Panton Hill... though I have no idea who Panton Hill are except they are in NFL div 2... Anyone?

Bit Harsh to talk about ML in the same breath as Box Hill. They did smash Box Hill both times they played last year, And by the looks of it have recruited alot better over the summer.