D4 D4 2009

Tips for Round 17:

The Chad @ SM - Tough road trip late in the season for Chaddy. SM will win comfortably - 10 goals.

BHN @ Man - Man slipped up last week after playing very good footy for a month. BHN have an opportunity to get up ahead of them on the ladder. BHn by 1 goal.

MTL @ RC - RC by 1 point in what should be a real fireworks display.

NB @ AP - AP still need to keep winning to finish top of the ladder. AP by 10 goals.

EP @ Swin - The wind has left the swinburne sails. The students will get back to late night fridays, and EP will come away with a road win by 3 goals.

Latrobe @ Kew - I'd say this was match of the round if there was a chance of elimination, but it'll still be a cracking game. Kew have RC breathing down their necks ;)
Latrobe by 4 goals.

Reserves - SM, BHN, RC, NB, EP, LT

Tips round 17:

Sth.M v Chaddy----Sth.M by 15 goals. They may need a 50 goal win to catch on % if it comes down to it.
Manny v B.H.N----Manny have been playing to well at home to slip up here, winners by 6 goals.
A.Park v Nth.B----A.Park by 10 goals. Great forward line far too strong.
Swinny v E.Park----Close game I think and will go with E.Park by a goal.
Kew v Lt.U----Will be a ripper game to watch, Kew at home will push Lt.U all the way but will fall short by a goal or two.
If Lt.U beat Kew and Mt.L beat Rich.C, then Mt.L will jump back to 3rd.;)

2's:
Sth.M, B.H.N, A.Park, Mt.L, Swinny, Kew.:thumbsu::thumbsdown:

What was the sticking point with marcellin - they seem a very strong club to be coming into D4?
the name and jumper were the two biggest points and also they tried a merge with ivanhoe/assumption about 5 years ago but never worked. They would like to start higher as they have a lot of good players signed up already but like any other team you have to work your way through the ranks. Old Carey is a good example at current and also rupertswood.

Tips round 17:

Sth.M v Chaddy----Sth.M by 15 goals. They may need a 50 goal win to catch on % if it comes down to it.
Manny v B.H.N----Manny have been playing to well at home to slip up here, winners by 6 goals.
A.Park v Nth.B----A.Park by 10 goals. Great forward line far too strong.
Swinny v E.Park----Close game I think and will go with E.Park by a goal.
Kew v Lt.U----Will be a ripper game to watch, Kew at home will push Lt.U all the way but will fall short by a goal or two.
If Lt.U beat Kew and Mt.L beat Rich.C, then Mt.L will jump back to 3rd.;)

2's:
Sth.M, B.H.N, A.Park, Mt.L, Swinny, Kew.:thumbsu::thumbsdown:

BHN v Cobras is actually at Elgar. Should be a close one.

Just wondering if my old 'mate' yellowblue has anything to say about Mt.L's run to the finals. Could be the first time 1's and 2's play finals in the same year. Let me know 'mate'.

Tips for Round 17:

The Chad @ SM - Tough road trip late in the season for Chaddy. SM will win comfortably - 10 goals.

BHN @ Man - Man slipped up last week after playing very good footy for a month. BHN have an opportunity to get up ahead of them on the ladder. BHn by 1 goal.

MTL @ RC - RC by 1 point in what should be a real fireworks display.

NB @ AP - AP still need to keep winning to finish top of the ladder. AP by 10 goals.

EP @ Swin - The wind has left the swinburne sails. The students will get back to late night fridays, and EP will come away with a road win by 3 goals.

Latrobe @ Kew - I'd say this was match of the round if there was a chance of elimination, but it'll still be a cracking game. Kew have RC breathing down their necks ;)
Latrobe by 4 goals.

Reserves - SM, BHN, RC, NB, EP, LT

Hmm - I'm not so sure about your tip of RC Reserves to beat Mt Lilydale Reserves. Whilst RC are playing at home, they're 2 games and 60% below Mt L on the ladder. Last time they met Mt L won by 26 pts slowing down - and Mt L have a much stronger Reserves side in tomorrow....

a pity for our reserves. they lost a few winnable games early in the season, and despite a strong finish were always going to struggle to make it. after a 0 from 4 start they have done very well. i didn't see the reservs game today but it was competitive from what i hear.another windy day at rc. great to see the seniors get up again, a hard fought win after trailing all day. at one point rc was trailing by 6 goals. only took the lead with 10 mins to play. it was a good game to watch. speckies from both sides. have to say thanks to kew for keeping us out of 3rd spot :( that loss to them at home a few weeks ago has cost us the double chance it seems. i'll say "your welcome" to glenn at south mornington :) if you can beat manningham next week you should be right, however albert park might be resting a few players next week and could let one slip against lilydale? if rc plays sm in the finals, do we both wear away strips or does the home team get the proud jumper?

Yeah - Mt L Reserves won by 6 goals.

i believe the game is at Bundoora so no real home team, but id say the team who finishes 4th would get to wear the yellow strip waz;), Hopefully for us down South this round results go the way of the ladder and we scrape in the five:D. I think Albert will be doing there best to get up seeing as top spot is still up for grabs and automatic promotion. But theres still 6 games of footy to go, so we will just worry about getting over the emproving manningham...

In the reserves Kew play Nth Brunswick and Mt Lilydale play Albert Park 2 weeks in a row (last round and finals).

Would be interesting if Mt Lilydale and Nth Brunswick loose the home and away match then win the finals game due to their senior sides not being there and a larger list to choose from.

In the reserves Kew play Nth Brunswick and Mt Lilydale play Albert Park 2 weeks in a row (last round and finals).

Would be interesting if Mt Lilydale and Nth Brunswick loose the home and away match then win the finals game due to their senior sides not being there and a larger list to choose from.

I think you'll find both clubs will field the same side in the finals as in round 18.
Both clubs are proud of the ressie's acheivements this year, especially Mt Lilydale who's ressie's have not played finals footy for quite some time.
I am sure both clubs would be doing themselves a lot of internal damage to be dropping senior players to progress in a ressie's finals campaign.

I think you'll find both clubs will field the same side in the finals as in round 18.
Both clubs are proud of the ressie's acheivements this year, especially Mt Lilydale who's ressie's have not played finals footy for quite some time.
I am sure both clubs would be doing themselves a lot of internal damage to be dropping senior players to progress in a ressie's finals campaign.

The fastest way I know for clubs to loose players is to drop ressies that have played all year so i agree with you Hack,from what i know of Brunny and the Lillies this year especially the improvement on the discipline side of things,they will honour their ressies players.Yes i know another white maggot comment,but the old addage still rings true"disciplined sides win footy matches"if you need proof,look no further than Brunny,the Lillies and Manningham,all of whom have had culture changes this season,in my opinion, and the improvement has been evident when I have had them.

As we are giving opinions Nellup, I reckon the best way for umpires to improve or improve the culture of the whistle blowers is to officiate a game without preconceived ideas or attitudes towards players.

Or not warn umpires before the game about players that certain umpires have personality clashes with.

Or incite or provoke players to respond to ridiculous comments made by umpires during the course of play.

Thats just my opinion though.

Will the Mountain Men play finals????? Looks as though the loss to Manningham will be very costly

They will if Manningham do them a favour this weekend. I reckon the SM Manningham game will be close.

No excuses from Mt Lilydale as to the position our seniors are in.
I'm not ashamed to beg Manningham to "PLEASE" do us a favour and turn it on like the whole of D4 know you are cappable of doing.

Go Cobra's......:D

Hey Big Waz. Who was the idiot officiating as runner for your 2's on the w'end. Constantly abusing mtl players and at one point even posing as an interchange steward. RC seems like a great club with a good bunch of blokes on and off the field. just a shame one clown can tarnish peoples perception of a football club.

If hes so good, why wasnt he out there having a crack!!

Hey Big Waz. Who was the idiot officiating as runner for your 2's on the w'end. Constantly abusing mtl players and at one point even posing as an interchange steward. RC seems like a great club with a good bunch of blokes on and off the field. just a shame one clown can tarnish peoples perception of a football club.

If hes so good, why wasnt he out there having a crack!!

Its funny that even Runners get white line fever.