D4 2013

Dragons played crap crap crap. If they serve the poo they dished out on Satdy they will be in for a bloody long year. Who cares if the club is using the excuse that they were missing 3 of there best 5 players???

The forward line needs to sort themselves out. Everyone being hungry and having a ping from anywhere demonstrates a team that is selfish and think theyre champs already. Having TEN MORE scoring shots and still losing to a lower league vafa team is pathetic!! No disrespect towards hawthron but a full strength dragons team should easily account for any team in this divvy. the Coach and Leadership team need to re group and re group quickly.

In bold is the only thing that made sense.

Given the Dragons have been continually brought up on this forum by one (if not two) trolls, just thought I’d quickly set the record straight from our end. By now it would be pretty obvious Kangbang is NOT involved with our club whatsoever, although it may appear otherwise to a few from the outside. Don't know what your motivations are, but stop wasting everyone's time MATE.

Both games against Hawthorn were played in good spirits. Our only club gripe was that the two designated VAFA umpires did not rock up for the Snrs game (does that often happen in this comp??), so we were stuck with an 'umpire' – a weasel looking fella with a full sleeve - who left all his integrity and impartiality behind the moment he stepped onto the field. That being said, no excuses, 22 behinds will not win you a footy game! Yes, we were missing a few guns, but no club has their best 22 on the park on any given day. Well done to Hawthorn again.

Anyway, there are 11 teams in D4, so hopefully future discussions can focus upon other clubs and games!!

What’s the go with the Northern Blues? Are they predominately players that have progressed through the jnr ranks a few years ago? I take it they’re all younger lads in their early 20s?

I don't think it is even worth mentioning these 'guns' that were missing, because as you said there would not be many sides out there on the weekend that have the full compliment on the park, so just like the Dragons I am sure Hawthorn were missing players. The Dragons will have another chance later in the year to showcase these missing Guns and try show that they are the better side.

As for the umpires, not too sure we can say they were not 'impartial' - We are in D4 so can expect the umpires to be that standard, and just like both sides missed goals and targets on the weekend, expect the umpires to get the odd one wrong - And for the record, the guy with the sleeve was one of the VAFA umps!

Selections were a bit off for the opening round, but did get one of the newbies up, so hopefully will be a bit more accurate this week.

North Brunswick vs Hawthorn
Box Hill North vs Point Cook
Chadstone vs Manningham
Dragons vs Northern Blues
West Brunswick vs Mt Lilydale
Eley Park Sharks vs Bye

Round 2 Tips

North Brunswick vs Hawthorn - HAW by 4 goals
Box Hill North vs Point Cook - BHN by 1 goal
Chadstone vs Manningham - MC by 5 goals
Dragons vs Northern Blues - DRG by 3 goals
West Brunswick vs Mt Lilydale - WB by 2 goals

Reserves: NB, BHN, MC, DRG, WB

Good win from North Brunny on the weekend - They were too good for the Hawks on the day unfortunately and had a couple of handy mids that went all day.

Anyone have any word on Manningham? I see Chadstone got pretty close to them on the weekend, was that expected?

Poor post mate. We took it up to the dragons all day and it was only a poor first quarter that really cost us.
pretty sure the dragons won every quarter and majority of the game was controlled by them. blues had their chances but dragons looked more dangerous all day.

Pang free all day????

Without him, the result would have been 5 goals closer, at least.

The big fella (McSomething), if given more support would have kick 12 and would have almost swung the game the otherway.

Just stirring the convo away from Dragons for now, anyone can give us a good encounter of North Brunswick's win over Hawks...that's an awesome win...

JP, Nth Brunswick are a good team. They have some extremely good mids and forwards. Further to this I have watched Nth Brunswick play at Allard Park many times now and they play there ground very well.

I think by you saying that this is an awesome win is actually downgrading Nth Brunswick as a team, cause they properly were expected to win.

Tiger, no mean of disrespect, Hawthorn is a good team and against good team 4 points is awesome. Any win is awesome doesn't matter who against. If you know me at all I don't downgrade anybody, I've played against most the D4 sides while playing for Hawks and 10 plus years ago with the Jocs. A lot of work go into running a footy club so yeah, I don't down grade anyone.

Have to apologies to Northern as well as Mt Lilydale in advance for no canteen at our game we have been shifted by the council out of Keeley to another ground due to resurfacing. Will be back to normal after Mt Lilydale game. Thanks.

JP, surely you can plug a dimmy steamer in somewhere?
PS. North Brunswick had awesome dimmys in their canteen.

Yes Clancy...will look right into it this morning...I think a BBQ maybe the way to go...there's absolutely no kitchen mate...and unless Mt want to eat Dimmies coming out of our changing room steamed in the shower...I think it's best to leave the dimmies....hahaha...I'm trying to organise a ute or something to get the BBQ from Keeley to this ground, and get a few eskies for the drinks...

Mmm, improved last week on the previous but really need to get the locals across the line again:

North Brunswick vs Box Hill North
Chadstone vs Eley Park Sharks
Dragons vs Mt Lilydale
Hawthorn vs Manningham
Point Cook vs Northern Blues

Is there any chance we could not talk about the SFL or the Dragons being in this comp for at least a week, one would think the Dragons are the only team in D4. Verdict on Point Cook is they are a tough, fit and hard running side that go right up the guts, however, to be honest have not really been tested by a top side yet. How is it possible BHN get beaten by Mt Lilydale yet can beat Nth Brunswick, off day for the Bulls? The one positive after 3 rounds, good to see most teams having a win and it being so even.