Dangerfield on Kelly

Anyway, as eldorado stated, the consistency/outcome vs action discussion is best left for another time and in another thread. He'll get 3 weeks min. and probably could get more. There's nothing really left to say, as the majority of you really seem to hate Danger. Like, passionate hate. Hope it's worth seeing the worst in people.

Enjoy :)

Maybe should wonder why oppo supporters see him as an arrogant flog.

Hot tip , its not because he is a good player.

I can? In two different incidents. Go watch the footae of him walking off after he hit kelly

He was trying to come off the ground because he was bleeding from the hit himself and play had not stopped - you can see the tape in the fox sports article, where he'd obviously been split open too.

But clearly he hates his friend, just wanted to hurt him and doesn't care at all about anyone or anything. Because that's the most likely outcome - THAT DANGERFIELD IS EVIL INCARNATE!

Seriously, enjoy your outrage, I've had enough as this 'discussion' isn't going anywhere.

P.S. being a flog, in your eyes, doesn't mean he intended to hurt someone/is even applicable to this situation.

Catch.

Anyway, as eldorado stated, the consistency/outcome vs action discussion is best left for another time and in another thread. He'll get 3 weeks min. and probably could get more. There's nothing really left to say, as the majority of you really seem to hate Danger. Like, passionate hate. Hope it's worth seeing the worst in people.

Enjoy :)

People have spent half the thread talking about the 2017 brownlow, what better place to discuss the mrp process than here.

You are 100% correct the penalising based on outcome/injuries is bollocks.
If they had an ounce of credability they would have a set penalty for the action with a loading for injuries after that, Astbury should have gotten a week, throwing an elbow at someone is garbage then a loading if he injured his opponent.

Agreed Shadow 89 - like your posts.

Don't believe he intended malice or injury. But this is professional sport and if you elect to play you play by the rules. And as they say "the head is sacrosanct'. So suck it up. I've had enough too of the serious idiots here who can't tell the difference in severity between a laceration and a brain or spine injury. :rolleyes:

People have spent half the thread talking about the 2017 brownlow, what better place to discuss the mrp process than here.

If they had an ounce of credability they would have a set penalty for the action with a loading for injuries after that, Astbury should have gotten a week, throwing an elbow at someone is garbage then a loading if he injured his opponent.

Literally came back here just to say thank you for this. Always objective in your response - and it's really nice to hear a Tiger supporter acknowledge that Astbury - while not a dirty player at all - should not just be able to throw elbows and get away with it because Plowman suffers no ill effects.

Nice to actually see a bit of sanity within this thread prevail. Have a good one Sterge

P.S. cheers too fairfooty , agree 100% :)

Given the medical report there is no way it is under 3 weeks. The "I was not bumping" is baffling, never gonna fly
Agreed. And the fact that Kelly is apparently still concussed over 60 hours down the track will make for a very interesting Tribunal deliberation. I've moved from 3 to 4 weeks.

Yep I can live with this. Along as neuro injuries (which are so dangerous and run a much higher risk of resulting in permanent severe disability) are in their own category. No-one signs up for permanent life-long disability.

“It’s still a collision game,” the Brownlow Medallist said.

“I certainly appreciate and understand that looking after concussion and the head is extremely important.

“But as I said, you also have due diligence to protect yourself when you are in an environment and a game where you can collide with others … It’s a split moment decision to protect yourself with incoming opponents. That happens every week.”

The AFL updated its protocols regarding accidental head clashes after the 2018 season. Since then, any player who elects to bump has been deemed liable for injury caused, regardless of whether it’s a head clash or a shoulder to the head.

But Dangerfield’s answers on Tuesday indicate he will argue he never elected to bump and tucked his arm into his chest to protect himself in a split second decision.

“It’s a contact game but we also have to make sure we are looking after concussion and approaching that in the right way and respecting that,” he said.

“But it’s also a game that is played in 360 at high speed and it’s been a part of the game for a long period of time.”

... oh yeah he really doesn't care or address it at all, lol.

As Dr Phil always says "but is a powerful word. It means forget everything I just said, I'm now going to tell you what I really mean"

I hate how smug he looks with the explanation

Have some respect for the guy you just collected in the head because you couldn't make the right choice to lay a tackle.

Add to that the disgusting behaviour of the footage from down field. Where he just walks away from Kelly. Yet another Geelong player went to check on him.

2-3 weeks
The head of the AFLPA

I can? In two different incidents. Go watch the footae of him walking off after he hit kelly
Did the same with vlastuin walked away nothing to see hear, pig of a human being

He was trying to come off the ground because he was bleeding from the hit himself and play had not stopped - you can see the tape in the fox sports article, where he'd obviously been split open too.

But clearly he hates his friend, just wanted to hurt him and doesn't care at all about anyone or anything. Because that's the most likely outcome - THAT DANGERFIELD IS EVIL INCARNATE!

Seriously, enjoy your outrage, I've had enough as this 'discussion' isn't going anywhere.

P.S. being a flog, in your eyes, doesn't mean he intended to hurt someone/is even applicable to this situation.

Catch.
Blush it the blood was ten minutes later go back and watch the replay

Had to post this one last thing:

Sloane - Jake Kelly's captain and also his mate -, his opinion/perspective overrides all you Danger haters in here:

"Adelaide captain Rory Sloane has gone in to bat for ex-teammate Patrick Dangerfield after he was referred directly to the AFL Tribunal for a bump on Jake Kelly.

Dangerfield is facing a suspension of at least three weeks as he awaits the Tribunal's verdict, due to the fact that Kelly was left with a broken nose and a concussion from an inadvertent head clash.

Despite the fact that his own teammate came off second best in the collision, Sloane refused to be drawn into whether Dangerfield should be suspended in an attempt to eradicate the bump from the game.

"I think you're making too much of this, really," Sloane said in response a question regarding the incident on 3AW's Sportsday.

"That one was just completely unlucky. You could see Danger was hardly going for a bump. In the end, it was just a head clash really.

"It was a head clash and it was completely accidental and something that is just a part of footy. You can't control those, that's something I certainly feel for Paddy for."

Sloane shared a locker room with Dangerfield between 2009 and 2015, and said he was no stranger to heavy collisions with the bulldozing 2016 Brownlow Medallist.

"He doesn't mean to headbutt Jake in the head and unfortunately for Jake, Paddy has got quite a stiff head," he said.

"He ran into someone with a rock-hard melon and I've ran into that bloke a couple of times and you do certainly come off second-best normally."

Dangerfield will front the AFL Tribunal on Tuesday night, as he looks to avoid a major suspension to start the season."

Do what you will with it, but recognize that as captain of the football club in question, Sloane's perspective holds far more weight than my perspective, your perspective, or any obviously partisan poster in here - who just wants to see Danger burn or hates him for whatever reason

Literally came back here just to say thank you for this. Always objective in your response - and it's really nice to hear a Tiger support acknowledge that Astbury - while not a dirty player at all - should not just be able to throw elbows and get away with it because Plowman suffers no ill effects.

Nice to actually see a bit of sanity within this thread prevail. Have a good one Sterge

P.S. cheers too fairfooty , agree 100% :)

astbury should have got a week I was watching the game from my hospital bed and my blood pressure spiked when he threw the elbow. I also watched the Dangerfield hit, and the ball was gone , so it was effectively behind play , he jumped , he braced, deliberate in any language, and this Malarkey about defending himself ....pig of a human being, defending from what a stationary bloke?

Carlton supporters are salty about the Astbury incident because just the weak before Williams copped a week because the tribunal decided to apply the potential to cause damage in assessing the impact rather than the actual impact. They should have been consistent

Two entirely different actions.
Astbury was ever going to cause injury. He got Plowman with his tricep with a shrugging motion. Refer to the video. Plowman milked it as most players would.

Totally different if he struck him with his elbow. He would have been rubbed out as he deserved to be. Plowman would have been lucky to have played on.

The closest comparison to Williams copping a week was McKay’s jump and bump on Vlaustin.

Do what you will with it, but recognize that as captain of the football club in question, Sloane's perspective holds far more weight than any obviously partisan poster in here

No, it doesn't.

No malice in the bump but, according to the RULES, he elected to bump and concussed another player, head clash or no.

3 weeks minimum due to the impact. To give anything less sets a dangerous precedent that rules can be bent for star players.

But we all knew that happens anyway.....

Had to post this one last thing:

Sloane - Jake Kelly's captain and also his mate -, his opinion/perspective overrides all you Danger haters in here:

"Adelaide captain Rory Sloane has gone in to bat for ex-teammate Patrick Dangerfield after he was referred directly to the AFL Tribunal for a bump on Jake Kelly.

Dangerfield is facing a suspension of at least three weeks as he awaits the Tribunal's verdict, due to the fact that Kelly was left with a broken nose and a concussion from an inadvertent head clash.

Despite the fact that his own teammate came off second best in the collision, Sloane refused to be drawn into whether Dangerfield should be suspended in an attempt to eradicate the bump from the game.

"I think you're making too much of this, really," Sloane said in response a question regarding the incident on 3AW's Sportsday.

"That one was just completely unlucky. You could see Danger was hardly going for a bump. In the end, it was just a head clash really.

"It was a head clash and it was completely accidental and something that is just a part of footy. You can't control those, that's something I certainly feel for Paddy for."

Sloane shared a locker room with Dangerfield between 2009 and 2015, and said he was no stranger to heavy collisions with the bulldozing 2016 Brownlow Medallist.

"He doesn't mean to headbutt Jake in the head and unfortunately for Jake, Paddy has got quite a stiff head," he said.

"He ran into someone with a rock-hard melon and I've ran into that bloke a couple of times and you do certainly come off second-best normally."

Dangerfield will front the AFL Tribunal on Tuesday night, as he looks to avoid a major suspension to start the season."

Do what you will with it, but recognize that as captain of the football club in question, Sloane's perspective holds far more weight than my perspective, your perspective, or any obviously partisan poster in here - who just wants to see Danger burn or hates him for whatever reason
They're good mates, its hardly a non-partisan opinion.

The rules have changed and the rules are the rules. Time to stop this "but it was an accident" excuse, the consequences of head injuries are just too high. I'd much rather be Dangerfield missing 3 weeks than Kelly with my brain hitting my skull at high impact.

Did feel a bit sorry for Danger though, until his crappy self defence alibi.

Second game in a row that Dangerfield has poleaxed a bloke into next month while 'taking evasive action'. Noone believes his rubbish anymore.

He’s a cheap sniper. Should focus on playing out games rather than delivering cheap hits.

Dangerfield on Kelly