• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Darnos 2009

Jesus, looking at that there is only two locals or guys that dont get paid. However i could be wrong those two might recieve something to keep them there.
Dont know what anyone else thinks but thats a disgrace having 95% of your team being paid.

The worst thing is Darnum people try to justify this.

And Saint leo youngman gets paid quite well dont worry about that.
i now consider you the worst person on bigfooty.

everyone knows we have recruited big.

everyone knows players are getting paid.

everyone is pretty much over talking about.

just because we are lucky enough to have a person(s) in the position to help the club out of what was described as "the worst senior football club in amatuer football" so what? we've had our time at the bottom, we've found an avenue out so bit it from one two or three people contributing from their own pocket for something they are passionate about and love. we will hopefully have our day of glory and then no doubt slide back to the pack as happens at most clubs whom win flags.
We've recruited very good footballers and very good people, all of who stuck around the club for the function to create one of the most memorable nights ive had at the club. we're excited of course we are, we've just registered our biggest win in 18 years and have every other club crapping their pants.

Stinger, I know of clubs that pay all of their senior players. Every last one of them. When they play seniors, their games add up and over time, on a sliding scale they are paid to play each game.

I am not in charge of the money at Darnum, but as Goodie says, the people that are, are very passionate about what they are doing.

And for the 5th? 6th? 7th? time. Those same people have also invested heavily in the infrastructure at the club and Recreation Reserve. $150k has easily been spent there and the place looks a treat. Not only does it look good, we have drought-proofed ourselves as well.

Future players and teams will reap the benefits of this. It wont matter whether we are playing finals or getting belted like in the past. All that will remain.

But you just keep talking about all those paid players we have. I guess Cora Lynn gets off a bit lighter whilst Darnum are around. Does Chad Ingram get paid down there? Id reckon so. Most of their side would too, and have been for a few years now.

And Goal Sneak, Mal will play forward for most of the year. There are a couple of very good reasons for this. One on one he is almost impossible to contain (I think 3 goals in the first 5 minutes on Sat). By the end of the game he actually had 5 players going up with him to contest the ball. Needless to say it didnt need to be kicked to him a lot. Too many free players around him.

We have picked up some blokes that will hold down defensive roles very well this season. 17 scoring shots are reduced to 12 when you consider 5 rushed behinds. After 29 goals were kicked on Saturday, the Full Back was BOG.

You drought proofed Darnum???

Isn't that a bit like rain-proofing the Simpson Desert?

Couldn't be a bad thing having an AFL multiple premiership player to play with and shoot the sh!t.

I feel sorry for his ears late Saturday night if he was still there

Stinger, I know of clubs that pay all of their senior players. Every last one of them. When they play seniors, their games add up and over time, on a sliding scale they are paid to play each game.

I am not in charge of the money at Darnum, but as Goodie says, the people that are, are very passionate about what they are doing.

And for the 5th? 6th? 7th? time. Those same people have also invested heavily in the infrastructure at the club and Recreation Reserve. $150k has easily been spent there and the place looks a treat. Not only does it look good, we have drought-proofed ourselves as well.

Future players and teams will reap the benefits of this. It wont matter whether we are playing finals or getting belted like in the past. All that will remain.

But you just keep talking about all those paid players we have. I guess Cora Lynn gets off a bit lighter whilst Darnum are around. Does Chad Ingram get paid down there? Id reckon so. Most of their side would too, and have been for a few years now.

And Goal Sneak, Mal will play forward for most of the year. There are a couple of very good reasons for this. One on one he is almost impossible to contain (I think 3 goals in the first 5 minutes on Sat). By the end of the game he actually had 5 players going up with him to contest the ball. Needless to say it didnt need to be kicked to him a lot. Too many free players around him.

We have picked up some blokes that will hold down defensive roles very well this season. 17 scoring shots are reduced to 12 when you consider 5 rushed behinds. After 29 goals were kicked on Saturday, the Full Back was BOG.

ND are clearly spending a bit of $ to get some success but how many of Nyora's p/ship teams were paid imports ? Cora Lynn would be still spending as much as ND and have spent big for the last 3 yrs even NNG would have at least 8 of there best 18 regarded as imports. Now Dusties with a huge population base have recruited heavily from SE Melb to be competitive Catani, Lang Lang ?? Yes maybe ND have recruited some big names good for them if a triple AFL p/ship player wants to play district football I'm sure its not for the money hope they do well. I've had little interest in Ellinbank football and don't rate it as highly as others on this forum but intend to have look at a ND game this year.

So what do you call a paid import? I am sure at Nyora we played a lot of players but lots of these were locals or guys that had played at nyora juniors, then left and came back again, eg Osler, Miles, Brendan Hislop. I think Fia was the only guy to play for us in a premiership that I didnt personally know before they played at Nyora.

We all know ya cant win a flag without recruits and paying good money, thats just the way footy is these days.

Anyone who played juniors at the club - not an import.
Anyone who has just moved to area and came to club - not an import

Yeah that makes sense.

We had Fia (2nd flag), Corrie Wilson, Brad and Chris Langley then that would have got paid. I think everyone else lived in Nyora or played juniors and Nyora at some stage.

Yeah that makes sense.

We had Fia (2nd flag), Corrie Wilson, Brad and Chris Langley then that would have got paid. I think everyone else lived in Nyora or played juniors and Nyora at some stage.
Cant say i know a lot about Nyora but if Gilliatte & Osler played juniors i stand corrected again dont wont to get in to a slanging match but by your own rules as Sweeney lived in Poowong last year he isnt an import, should a club recruit 4 players from Darwin place them in a house within their town their not imports just players who live locally interesting?

Yeah good point about sweeeney, but i think GS is saying if they move to the area then play footy, not too play footy. Not sure where sweeney lives now but apparently he is playing soccer somewhere.

Gilliatte lived in nyora for about 5 years, played cricket for us, then got sick of travel to stony creek for footy so came to play footy for us, easiest recruit of a superstar ever. Osler played at nyora when he was 16, played mostly seniors that season though, he has family connection at the club.

Cant say i know a lot about Nyora but if Gilliatte & Osler played juniors i stand corrected again dont wont to get in to a slanging match but by your own rules as Sweeney lived in Poowong last year he isnt an import, should a club recruit 4 players from Darwin place them in a house within their town their not imports just players who live locally interesting?

who cares if they are recruits or local.
do you think old mate sitting on the sideline eating a pie a drinking his beer gives a rats ass if his team is fielding players from outside his community??????

who cares if they are recruits or local.
do you think old mate sitting on the sideline eating a pie a drinking his beer gives a rats ass if his team is fielding players from outside his community??????

I couldn't agree more liz. I know it is only round 4, but alot of credit must go to the Darnum President. He took over a basket case, put his money up and recruited an excellent coach who has great history of rebuilding teams. From that they built a competitive team over 2 years, whilst not winning alot of games, they have built a competitive side. Then in their 3rd year it was able to recruit good footballers, not only because of money, but because it was no longer a complete basket case. These types of players don't just want the money, they pride themselves on success as well. Of course the money is great along the way, but they also understand if they don't bring success, the money will dry up for them. He obviously won't be there forever, but hopefully for Darnum people is that he leaves the club in a much healthier position than the way he found it. From what I seen on Saturday is that this group has bonded very quickly, I was in the rooms immediately after the win and I have only ever seen the song sung like that after a premiership win, no amount of money a player gets makes him sing the song the way I seen it sung!!!

you guys have picked up so many you should of handed out a song sheet at the start of the year, like in under 10s. its funny to be proud of that

I assume from your name that you are a Cora Lynn player/official/supporter, and from all reports (I don't know first hand, as I haven't followed the league up until this year) there is the odd Cora Lynn player who has come from elsewhere in the past few years. Maybe Cora Lynn are being trumped at their own game, and someone has gone out and recruited a better group of players than they have and there is a hint of jealousy in the air. I sensed a real arrogance about the Cora Lynn players on the weekend, it was as though they just expected to thump Nilma Darnum and prove to everyone that Darnum are wasting their time/money, when in reality, the players that have come to Darnum all put their hands up in the big game on the weekend, and showed that they are worth every dollar they are being paid.

Oh, and in relation to the song sheet, they probably should hand it out, cos, from what I saw, they will be singing it a lot this year. Probably fairly important that they know the words! Would hate to have the embarressment of not knowing the words to the song on grand final day.

mate, you'll be surprised at what charges the boys up week in week out. We've heard that darnum play their song over the loud speakers. we talked about doing this we think its a great idea gets the whole club involved!

It's pretty good value and I agree that it can get the whole club involved.

But I have to admit that even after all the beltings we have been through over the years, and I remember when other clubs laughed at us on the field, it is pretty embarassing hearing it over the loud speakers when you win by 100-odd points. Not sure it is required at that point, but when you win by maybe under 40 points it may be ok.

Just my opinion.

very, very well.

Phill Harris has been injured since round 1 and kane martin missed last week because of suspension but they have been great.

david ivey is a deap set champ.

Yeah he probably does, they rate him very highly. I just remember him playing when they were really crap about 3-4 years ago so at least he has been at the club for a while.

There is a reason we rate Shane Youngman very highly. He can get the pill.

On Saturday he had it 30 times I reckon. Not too bad against the reigning premier. Hasnt had a bad game in his time at the club. Even when we were getting belted. Quietly spoken but tough, hard and uncompromising.

What you see is what you get with "Head".

I heard an interesting rumour on the weekend pluggeroo, just wondering if you can deny or comfirm for me. Your coach is in the final year of a 3 year contract and he has stated he wants to go on at Nilma next year, possibly the next 2 years. That would take him to 5 years at the club. When he told the club this, they responded with that the coaching job will be advertised at the end of the year and that he can apply for it if he so wants. If this is true, you will surely lose him as I would imagine he might have a few wanting to talk to him around mid to late this season for next year. Also if he already knows he may not be there next year, it makes it hard for the remainder of the year for him. Maybe your club already has someone in mind for 2010! Can you shed light on this?

Darnos 2009