• Please read this post on the rules on BigFooty regarding posting copyright material, including fair dealing rules. Repeat infringements could see your account limited or closed.

Darnos 2009

from what i have heard they have been other applicants, internal and external to the football club and they would be good coaches for nilma darnum but my money will be on brad sinclair for next season.

I understand what you say, but if he has to wait and apply at the end of the season, there is no guarantee he will get it. So he would be taking a huge gamble on whether or not he would have a job. In the meantime if another club comes along in say July or August and can give him the security of another 2 or 3 year contract, what do you think he would do? he would have to take it surely. It's a tough one for the club, they maybe testing the water, but could also lose what they already know and have! I have no doubt there would be guys lining up wanting to coach Nilma at the moment, great list to work with.

I think it all depends if Patto is president. If he is then Sinclair will coach.

Goodie, how can ppl already have applied for the job if its not advertised?

Is Terry Wallace or Mick Malthouse one of them?

correct. i think you'll find there will be an announcment in the coming weeks, either way. i hope we retain him and reward him with another season because he has been great for the club, not just with the top line players but the improvment in the "bottom tier" players. also off the field he's an easy person to talk to and always happy to listen to your views on the game no matter how drunk you are and little sense your making.

well im not saying they are "applicants" ive just heard of a few people who are "interested" but as ive said my money is on brad again next year

Its very hard for me to comment, bigdukes. I am one of the executive committee so need to be careful what I say about this.

I do know that All three coaching jobs, according to the constitution, will be advertised at year's end.

Both Duds Platschinda (Reserves - Even though they finished finalists for the first time in 13 years) and Ben Unstead (Thirds) were advertised for 2009 as these guys only had a 1 year contract. Sinclair's wasnt advertised as he had the third year option on his contract and was wrapped up by R10 2008.

I dont particularly agree with this theory. In my opinion if it aint broke..... If a coach is going fine, and wants to go again, I would be wrapping him up quick smart.

The other thing to consider is that I know that Mal Michael has spoken about going again in 2010, to Sinclair. I would think that with his contacts at the club being Sinclair and Talji, if they werent there, then neither would Mal be there. I am only surmising this though. But you may lose 3 quality people if you make a decision to not include the current coach for 2010.

I will also add that any decision would be made by the committee, I would think, not unilaterally.

Hope this helps.

How can all you blokes say he is a great coach and all this crap. He is on rumoured 30-40k for a non playing coach, thats huge cash. The talent he had last year and the money you spent to finish second last is a terrible effort. You were prob in top 3-4 i player payments for how many wins?

Dusties went from being same position as darnum 3 years ago, i doubt spending near the cash darnum did in 07 and look like making finals. Wasted a lot of money I think in the last 2 years.

Plugger, you said your thirds and reserves coach were on one year contracts. Would i be wrong in assuming from that, that they are paid positions at Nilma Darnum?

Also, i agree with Leo to an extent. Considering the amount of money spent over the past couple of years and the amount of wins you've had, i would've thought he's been a pretty unsuccesful coach. In saying that, it's never easy coaching a side which hasn't played a lot of footy together and has a lot of paid players thrown in together.

What? That $50 is too much or not enough?

Remember the reserves coach travels past 3 other clubs just to get to Darnum twice a week plus Saturdays.

Lets also remember that a contract is there to protect both parties, irrispective of any amounts paid.

How can all you blokes say he is a great coach and all this crap. He is on rumoured 30-40k for a non playing coach, thats huge cash. The talent he had last year and the money you spent to finish second last is a terrible effort. You were prob in top 3-4 i player payments for how many wins?

Dusties went from being same position as darnum 3 years ago, i doubt spending near the cash darnum did in 07 and look like making finals. Wasted a lot of money I think in the last 2 years.

Certainly getting higher now. Do I hear 50k? 50, 50, 55k to the man on the left..... hmmm:rolleyes:

So to get your reserves coach you had to offer him $50 a week is that right? You did say he was contracted. Surely you can find someone from within the club who isn't asking for money to coach the magoos or the thirds. I've never heard of that before.

So what if he drives past 3 clubs to get to training, i drive passed about 35 clubs to get to training and games and I still pay for my beers!

Gee really struggling if you can't find someone to coach the reserves and juniors free of charge. $50 is such a nominal amount. Surely all it is doing is setting a terrible precedent of money grabbing around the club. IMO that is the easiest way for a club to die.

At Lang Lang the good local players and reserves/junior coaches have never been paid. Blokes like Kurt Batt, Dean Brown and Adam Baxter have just played for free all there careers. I am sure it is the same at Catani and Nyora and probably another 10 clubs.

Paying reserves coaches and fringe players is ludicrous and just asking for the place to fall apart when the money runs out.

Gee really struggling if you can't find someone to coach the reserves and juniors free of charge. $50 is such a nominal amount. Surely all it is doing is setting a terrible precedent of money grabbing around the club. IMO that is the easiest way for a club to die.

At Lang Lang the good local players and reserves/junior coaches have never been paid. Blokes like Kurt Batt, Dean Brown and Adam Baxter have just played for free all there careers. I am sure it is the same at Catani and Nyora and probably another 10 clubs.

Paying reserves coaches and fringe players is ludicrous and just asking for the place to fall apart when the money runs out.

Sinclair is on at least 30k, you know that plugger.

Kurt Batt played for free? i dont think so, i know he could get heaps more other clubs but no way he plays for free.

Sinclair is on at least 30k, you know that plugger.

Kurt Batt played for free? i dont think so, i know he could get heaps more other clubs but no way he plays for free.

Ill tell you what I do know, Leo. Sinclair is on nowhere near 30k. He wasnt on that in his first year and he has taken substantial pay cuts in the following years to allow for more money freed up for players.

You would truly be shocked to know, my friend.

We only have 3 locals in our ones. Weller, O'Hara & Youngman. So what if they get paid? Just puts them on an even playing ground to everyone else, and no-one gets their nose out of joint. And Batt playing for free? Yeah, nah, No. You can't pull that one over us, IAUT.

I reckon you are wrong, tiger. How many senior players are reserves coaches? They would be paid, dont worry about that. A portion of it would be for coaching.

Those that arent getting paid probably live next to the ground are millionaires or are happy to part with all costs associated with coaching. Fuel, time, paying to get in to away games, membership. In Darnum's case, the coach, as stated before, is a pensioner and he has been around the club in one form or another for 15 years.

Darnos 2009