Darwin Football Association - Part 3

saint50

Sep 16, 2008
on the pine
Nothing like a good stir on here from what i've read. Yeah the NTFL is ahead of the Darwin no question, but the gap isnt huge. Commitment and Age is definately on the NTFL side.. But there are some good players running around in the Darwin. The Ridgley Natone game on the weekend was a pretty good standard, although delivery into the forward line for both teams was a bit suspect. The ladder is Ridgley unbeaten, Natone one loss, South Two losses, then its pretty tight after that. Not sure whos winning the goal kicking though..

won lost pts per

ridgley 6 0 24 237.71
natone 5 1 20 165.89
s.burnie 3 3 12 137.38
somerset 3 3 12 109.15
yeoman 3 3 12 99.82
yolla 3 3 12 98.49
queeny 1 5 4 47.65
cuprona 0 6 0 39.78

Re: Darwin Football Association Part 2

Nothing like a good stir on here from what i've read. Yeah the NTFL is ahead of the Darwin no question, but the gap isnt huge. Commitment and Age is definately on the NTFL side.. But there are some good players running around in the Darwin. The Ridgley Natone game on the weekend was a pretty good standard, although delivery into the forward line for both teams was a bit suspect. The ladder is Ridgley unbeaten, Natone one loss, South Two losses, then its pretty tight after that. Not sure whos winning the goal kicking though..
guy grey 25
bj miller 24
jarrod wilcox 23
matt clarke 19
tim baldock 18
brent burgess 16
brynn petterwood 15
ash dudman 15

guy grey 25
bj miller 24
jarrod wilcox 23
matt clarke 19
tim baldock 18
brent burgess 16
brynn petterwood 15
ash dudman 15
So how many ppl guna eat their words about Guy Grey being too old and no good anymore? Looks like the old stager still has some goals left in the lethal (stolen) right boot of his:thumbsu:

Yeah not an easy job but is made easier when the selectors actually know who is unavailable and or injured and or simply does not want to play which by the way may take up until this week.Couls and Browny only want comitted players and sometimes the so called ''better" players may not be better if not paid and interestingly some players are considered better players by the results in the paper when in fact there are selfless acts by most players on a weekly basis which do not transcend to best players or goalkickers in the papers.Everyone wants to stick up for their own and often judgement is made when factors like injury, opposition and roles given to players by their respective coaches may not be known about by the average Joe Blow on the sidelines.I hope the Darwin boys flog em this week , also I wonder how many scribes out there ventinh their opinion will actually go and support the two teams this week ?Go the Darwin

It would be an easier job if they ran it more professional like the NWFA. Is the rumour right coulson and brown never rang any of the other coaches to get opinions therefore there are players missing out whom should be playing(like a Codi french) Only want committed players what a joke, half of em selected reckon they are going to get flogged along with 95% of people who follow the darwin if the names mentioned are playing. I no blokes in the Darwin who have played a lot of darwin who would give there left testicle to play and are a lot harder and quicker, which showed out like dog nuts in last years game. But i suppose it is on the coaches selected head if they get flogged as there would be praise if they win but for me a darwin supporter i hope it rains like hell and they only get beat by 10 goals not 20. The best reult clubs can hope for is no one gets injured. Its time the Darwin got up to the professionalism of the NWFA.

That's no excuse mate. Yolla are a short side. Their only decent tall (wilson?) has been out for a few weeks now. Another bloke I know who plays in the DFA told me before the game that he reckoned you guys would lack intensity and that if Yolla were any chance at half time, that they would run all over you, as apart from last week all of your games had been over by half time.

I am a Yolla supporter and watched the game,somerset turned it over to easy but i am afraid to say Buck Taylor (umpire) blatenly CHEATED. Buck should be disgraced in himself and i like the guy i did play 100+ games with him.

We all know you dont support yolla

I heard that a lot of Somerset people were whinging about the umpiring just because the result was close. I think the umpiring was pretty bad both ways, and a few tight decisions were probably made in the dying stages, but I don't think you could accuse the umpires of deliberately cheating.

So how many ppl guna eat their words about Guy Grey being too old and no good anymore? Looks like the old stager still has some goals left in the lethal (stolen) right boot of his:thumbsu:
chalky grey is a fossil he has kicked 26 goals he'll only kick 36 for the year if has some luck and some lucky bounces. he only kicked as many as he did last year cause baldy felt sorry for him and feed him a few. as for painey wat a rabbit couldn't box apples well maybe he could if they wasn't lookin and then he'd only cry at the tribuneral AGAIN and say i didn't mean it. now for the dfa combined side fair dinkum my nan could run a choock raffle better then this attemept, how about a bit of communication and not last minute phone calls the night before. people from the other team told me they all recieved letters with squad names traing times and congradulating every single one of them. and really with a goose like dave (egg flip) gillham running around or even getting a mention in that team is a joke get a hair cut and get a real job big fella. hope that stirs the pot

It would be an easier job if they ran it more professional like the NWFA. Is the rumour right coulson and brown never rang any of the other coaches to get opinions therefore there are players missing out whom should be playing(like a Codi french) Only want committed players what a joke, half of em selected reckon they are going to get flogged along with 95% of people who follow the darwin if the names mentioned are playing. I no blokes in the Darwin who have played a lot of darwin who would give there left testicle to play and are a lot harder and quicker, which showed out like dog nuts in last years game. But i suppose it is on the coaches selected head if they get flogged as there would be praise if they win but for me a darwin supporter i hope it rains like hell and they only get beat by 10 goals not 20. The best reult clubs can hope for is no one gets injured. Its time the Darwin got up to the professionalism of the NWFA.

If a bloke would give his left nut to play and are harder and quicker, what was to stop them from going to training????

If someone thought they were up to it they only had to show up at training, maybe they might have impressed and gained themselves a spot, no use heckin'g whingeing if u do nothing about it.

So for all the blokes that think they were hard done by, fu cking wake up, use some initiative and either contact the coaches or rock up to training.

chalky grey is a fossil he has kicked 26 goals he'll only kick 36 for the year if has some luck and some lucky bounces. he only kicked as many as he did last year cause baldy felt sorry for him and feed him a few. as for painey wat a rabbit couldn't box apples well maybe he could if they wasn't lookin and then he'd only cry at the tribuneral AGAIN and say i didn't mean it. now for the dfa combined side fair dinkum my nan could run a choock raffle better then this attemept, how about a bit of communication and not last minute phone calls the night before. people from the other team told me they all recieved letters with squad names traing times and congradulating every single one of them. and really with a goose like dave (egg flip) gillham running around or even getting a mention in that team is a joke get a hair cut and get a real job big fella. hope that stirs the pot
Are you willing to put a bet on that? 1000 dollars says he'll kick over 36??

Chalky will definitely kick more than 36 goals, if hes kicked 26 in 6 games im sure he can manage more than another 10 in the remaining 8 games and flip gilham is a player i rate very highly and has been a good player for a number of years and give Couls a break im sure hes doing a good job u dont lead a side to back to back flags not knowing what youre doing!

If a bloke would give his left nut to play and are harder and quicker, what was to stop them from going to training????

If someone thought they were up to it they only had to show up at training, maybe they might have impressed and gained themselves a spot, no use heckin'g whingeing if u do nothing about it.

So for all the blokes that think they were hard done by, fu cking wake up, use some initiative and either contact the coaches or rock up to training.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: couldnt have said it better myself, as they say
"jealousys a curse"

I heard that a lot of Somerset people were whinging about the umpiring just because the result was close. I think the umpiring was pretty bad both ways, and a few tight decisions were probably made in the dying stages, but I don't think you could accuse the umpires of deliberately cheating.
The players never said a word, it goes both ways although the rumour goes that Mick Hardy who was the other umpire may have apologised to someone from Somerset anyway the game is gone and the Roos had their chances so no use crying over spilt milk, our supporters as with every other club have a bit to say but they are away from the playing group, we cannot have games without umps so lets get on with it

85 last year including the finals and almost 800 goals in ten years at Somerset-not too bad for a fossil !

Having known and watched chalky for a big chunk of my life, he would have more football brain and experience than some of the darwin sides put together! I'l take a bet he has 50 before breaking a sweat. Go chalky

Half of them picked didnt even train. The COACHES whos job it was picked the squad, why is it up to the individual when it was clear the coaches didnt want them. Hense the question i asked in previous post was there any communication with other coaches if there was then they to blame as well.

This is a very poor selection of players that are going to be representing the Burnie area. Dear me if this is the best you can select the NWFA will again slaughter you. Poor management from the senior coaches and administration seems to be a common thread. Lift your games and do the Burnie area proud. I can't get over how poor a side you have selected.

Having known and watched chalky for a big chunk of my life, he would have more football brain and experience than some of the darwin sides put together! I'l take a bet he has 50 before breaking a sweat. Go chalky

Quite easy when you sit in the goal square and not have to worry about running into bodies. FF is the easiest position on the ground to play. Thats why Chalky turned himself into a ff. No contact, no running, no injuries and no commitment.

This is a very poor selection of players that are going to be representing the Burnie area. Dear me if this is the best you can select the NWFA will again slaughter you. Poor management from the senior coaches and administration seems to be a common thread. Lift your games and do the Burnie area proud. I can't get over how poor a side you have selected.

Can only select blokes that make themselves available and who want to actually play

Quite easy when you sit in the goal square and not have to worry about running into bodies. FF is the easiest position on the ground to play. Thats why Chalky turned himself into a ff. No contact, no running, no injuries and no commitment.
your an idiot docker chalky is a great player 40 odd years old how much run do u think he would have if i was 40 odd and was still playin like chalky i would be pretty happy no commitment and no contact how many contested marks do u think he takes a game your an idiot

Can only select blokes that make themselves available and who want to actually play

Thats the point there were good players available who actually wanted to play, but not included in squad, so they made other arrangements for the long weekend, cant blame em and if previous post correct was there ringing around for players yesterday not even in the squad. A couple of names in todays paper arent even playing BJ Miller, A king what i hear.

your an idiot docker chalky is a great player 40 odd years old how much run do u think he would have if i was 40 odd and was still playin like chalky i would be pretty happy no commitment and no contact how many contested marks do u think he takes a game your an idiot

Not as many marks as me but that is another story. The great Micky McGuane always said son your age is only a number. But your weight depends on how many dim sims you consume and how many jumpers you have fleeced. Still believe after having plenty experience covering them that ff is the easiest position on the ground to play.

Sometimes history is exactly that, history in fact, "Yesterday is history, tomorrow is a mystery, today is a gift ", hows about that then fellow forum scribes ?

Mooch i just found this old post from way back in December. It caught my eye because Brendon Fevola used a similar one in the Sun a couple of weeks. Are you playing a role in curbing Fevs off field antics in the same way Billy Brownless has mentored Stevie J;):thumbsu:

Thats the point there were good players available who actually wanted to play, but not included in squad, so they made other arrangements for the long weekend, cant blame em and if previous post correct was there ringing around for players yesterday not even in the squad. A couple of names in todays paper arent even playing BJ Miller, A king what i hear.

Lists were sent to clubs well over a month ago i believe. Couls had been in touch with most club coaches and told them if there were any they thought should be added then to let him know and they would be added straight away. BJ out Ado King is playing

Darwin Football Association - Part 3