News David Buttifant quits.

Butters has been with us a long time, been great but his going presents an opportunity to take our fitness programs to a new level, Port over ran us twice this year and we have certainly had our issues with injury management past couple of seasons, here is a chance to address that as well.

I used to work for Collingwood, but can't tell you when. Would kind of give the game away. Worked for another AFL club up until a couple of years ago. Can't say which industry, because that too would give the game away. But that club was much more successful in managing injury than the Pies on a fraction of the budget...
fair enough mate, thanks for clearing that up. So I am assuming that since you are no longer at the club that you are only hypothesising on what goes on inside the four walls?
I have some connections within AFL & from all accounts Buckley is a great person and people really admire & respect him. We all got to remember that he is in 2nd year as a senior coach so will take some time to adjust but in saying that it's to be expected that not everyone at the club is going to get along with him.

This is really concerning.

Every season we seem to lose key personnel. We used to be a beacon of stability and excellence. Now we are just a shell.

The fact that we are replacing quality personnel with amateurs like Lappin, Harvey, Hart, Eade etc is insult to injury.

It's like watching a horror movie and thinking to yourself, this cannot be happening.

Telling you how I know isn't something I am going to say. Even being on here is in breach of my contract.

This makes you one of two things:

(a) Absurdly unprofessional. You've breached the conditions of a contract in order to have a moan on Big Footy? Gee, what a wonderful catch you must be.

(b) A liar.

Given that just one month ago you said you wanted the "best in the business" to be shown the door as it was in Collingwood's best interests, I'd suggest that you're a little from column (a) and a little from column (b).

It's Saunders from North apparently who is his replacement.
He has a good reputation in the circles however I hope we go for someone with extensive experience with big sports club a la Burgess from PAFC. Look overseas if we have to and bring them here for a 3 year contract.

fair enough mate, thanks for clearing that up. So I am assuming that since you are no longer at the club that you are only hypothesising on what goes on inside the four walls?
I have some connections within AFL & from all accounts Buckley is a great person and people really admire & respect him. We all got to remember that he is in 2nd year as a senior coach so will take some time to adjust but in saying that it's to be expected that not everyone at the club is going to get along with him.

Say gday to Eugene Arocca.

Worked for pies left to Poor poor Roos who has had a great run with injuries for many years now on a centerlink budget....

He has a good reputation in the circles however I hope we go for someone with extensive experience with big sports club a la Burgess from PAFC. Look overseas if we have to and bring them here for a 3 year contract.
Being the salary cap is such a small sector of our teams revenue and expenditure and there is no cap I wouldn't mind seeing pies have a few of these guys, so its not just one guy who has free reign but more a group decision on matters - they do it a lot internationally with a lot of success - hell just follow whatever model phoenix suns use in NBA (lets just offer all of Phoenix's staff extra to come here)

Say gday to Eugene Arocca.

Worked for pies left to Poor poor Roos who has had a great run with injuries for many years now on a centerlink budget....

Didn't Eugene get the sack from the Roos? Just like he did the Pies.:cool:

Although he's now running CAMS I believe, I feel sorry for the people there.

Little about Phoenix ideals here (obviously they are quite literally world leaders and innovators and would be paid more than we could ever afford but I like their ideas of innovation - although preferably not Dank style :p) and it has worked beyond well for 12 years now...

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2012/writers/paul_forrester/01/22/suns-trainers/index.html

Gotta be careful comparing with US sports I don't think they have 1 clean competition in any of their major sports including Olympics.

Little about Phoenix ideals here (obviously they are quite literally world leaders and innovators and would be paid more than we could ever afford but I like their ideas of innovation - although preferably not Dank style :p) and it has worked beyond well for 12 years now...

http://sportsillustrated.cnn.com/2012/writers/paul_forrester/01/22/suns-trainers/index.html
That's what I am talking about. Pies were the trend setters with altitude training, now we need to look outside the box -within legal limits of course - to gain an edge.

I find it hard to believe we have so many sports scientists in here who think they have a more valid opinion than other people who act like they know what they're talking about.

I studied chemistry in high school.
It was fun.

A fresh face will be a good thing.

We've been abysmal in last quarters the last few years and only one person to blame for that. Plus once MM went over to the scum I think he was always gonna follow him. I'd say good luck to him but his going to Carlton so I'm not gonna.

Pies were only going to offer David a 1 yr extension in a slightly reduced role. Where Carlton can offer a 3 yr deal.

When Mick was coaching Collingwood, Buttifant was basically 2IC in the football dept. Malthouse left the entire fitness side of things up to Buttifant, I remember Mick saying after the drawn GF that the most important person at the club that week will be David Buttifant with the preparation for the replay, we all know how that turned out!

There is no doubt that things have changed since Buckley has taken over, Bucks is now the boss but he has to let his staff do their job, I don't think we have been at our best fitness or injury wise for the last 2 years and I don't believe It was all the fitness dept's fault.

Hopefully we will hire the right person who will be trusted to run the program without interference from others. Obviously not to the Stephen Dank level of independence!
I'll be absolutely livid if this is true.

It could also explain why our fitness and injury management has been so "bad"

It's a bit strange that Butters is leaving.

He was the architect of our new training facilities - which includes the pools, the altitude room, etc. A long time fitness coach gets the facilities of his dreams and then leaves? :confused:

What's going to happen with his PhD candidate? :confused: I guess he's going to have to leave the club as well - he can't have a supervisor who is employed at a rival club. Hope that doesn't become messy (particularly for the poor candidate)

And what happens with the NICK foundation stuff which seems to be a bond between Butters and Collingwood?

Look, it all is strange - but let's face it, after 13 seasons it's probably time for a change, particularly after a couple of poor seasons fitness wise.

We can argue all we like about who is to blame for our fitness woes, but the fact is that Mick is not coming back to be reunited with Butters. We can't continue with the way things have been the last two seasons, something has to change.

I had the good fortune to hear Butters speak earlier this year and he was a very impressive person. He'll succeed with whatever he does next.

Thanks Butters, wish you well :thumbsu:

Surprised people see change as a bad thing. We have one premiership in how many years? People who have been around the club for the last 13 years haven't exactly been around success that time.

I can't comment on the Buttifant's performance but we have not looked a particularly fit team for the last two years. I do believe a change of personnel around the place, not just players, is crucial to changing the culture.

This is annoying. A real worry. Although, I was worried as to how unfit our players were looking against Port, Buttifants reputation speaks for itself. It's a huge loss.

It's obvious he is going to Carlton. My worry right now is Hine following is a possibility. Now that's a huge loss.

Yeah that worries me big time as well.

Burgess got most of his expertise in Australia before going to Liverpool, not sure if his period at Liverpool made him better qualified or suited to do his job. Having worked for the Swans previously he would understand that the requirements for AFL is very different from soccer or other sports, I think getting someone in who doesn't understand that or have experience with that could be a risky proposition.

News David Buttifant quits.