Dear Eddie....

This is absolute rubbish.

Eddie only ever makes a point for the good of COLLINGWOOD. He has no interest in the good of the game if Collingwood isn't winning it. Time and again he has taken the low road, and tried to damage opposition teams. He tries to claim it's for the good of the game, but really, it's just dressed-up self-interest.

"Good of the game" is such rubbish. Just look at equalisation. He's all for equalisation... except the bits that might take away from Collingwood's success. I thank god for the AFL commission, because if guys like Eddie were in charge, the competition would be dead in about 5 years, thanks to blind self-interest.
Have to accept some validity in the first half of your post and frankly, Eddie is doing what he should do. Collingwood supporters accept and understand that he will rub supporters of other clubs the wrong way and to be honest, I reckon that plenty of us would rather at times that he said nothing on certain issues but there can be no denying what he's achieved for Collingwood and ultimately that's what we will judge him on.

Unfortunately, the second half of your post seems to miss the point that Eddie's self-interest, were he in charge of the AFL would almost certainly change to being that of the AFL as a competition and not just Collingwood although it's hypothetical because who knows if he could divorce himself from his passion for Collingwood. My feeling is that if he couldn't then he probably wouldn't even consider such a role but if he were able to he would probably do as good a job for the competition as he's unquestionably done for Collingwood.

Have to accept some validity in the first half of your post and frankly, Eddie is doing what he should do. Collingwood supporters accept and understand that he will rub supporters of other clubs the wrong way and to be honest, I reckon that plenty of us would rather at times that he said nothing on certain issues but there can be no denying what he's achieved for Collingwood and ultimately that's what we will judge him on.

Unfortunately, the second half of your post seems to miss the point that Eddie's self-interest, were he in charge of the AFL would almost certainly change to being that of the AFL as a competition and not just Collingwood although it's hypothetical because who knows if he could divorce himself from his passion for Collingwood. My feeling is that if he couldn't then he probably wouldn't even consider such a role but if he were able to he would probably do as good a job for the competition as he's unquestionably done for Collingwood.

Sorry, i wasn't clear in my post. I'm not saying Eddie would be poor in Demetriou's position. I think he would actually do an OK job. I do think he could put his bias aside, and do as good or likely a better job than Demetriou.

What i meant was in the pre-AFL commission situation, where the competition was run by the clubs, and was basically a war of self-interest. Eddie would be a nightmare in that situation, as he would use the size and power of Collingwood to keep the other clubs down. We'd be left with an English Premier League situation where only 4-5 clubs were actually competitive, while the rest struggled down the bottom of the ladder, and were simply development schools for the top clubs to poach the best players. And i'm well aware that my club would be one of the ones on the bottom, if we survived at all. I remember the early days of the Swans in Sydney. I'd never wish that one anyone.

Cool.

Buckley may have had worse on field performances to date in comparison to Malthouse due to us retooling at this point, but don't give me any nonsense about your messiah Hird and what he put your club through.

Collingwood move on from Mick and replace him with club legend in Buckley. Makes finals but lose unexpectedly in elimination final.

Essendon move on from Knights and replace him with club legend in Hird. Essendon miss finals due to doping scandal with Hird being suspended for 12 months.

You tell me which one has been more damaging and disappointing.
Buckley has taken the pies from a power to an average side.

Hird is a clear improvement on knights, taking them from 7 wins in Knights last year to 14 this year.

Sorry, i wasn't clear in my post. I'm not saying Eddie would be poor in Demetriou's position. I think he would actually do an OK job. I do think he could put his bias aside, and do as good or likely a better job than Demetriou.

What i meant was in the pre-AFL commission situation, where the competition was run by the clubs, and was basically a war of self-interest. Eddie would be a nightmare in that situation, as he would use the size and power of Collingwood to keep the other clubs down. We'd be left with an English Premier League situation where only 4-5 clubs were actually competitive, while the rest struggled down the bottom of the ladder, and were simply development schools for the top clubs to poach the best players. And i'm well aware that my club would be one of the ones on the bottom, if we survived at all. I remember the early days of the Swans in Sydney. I'd never wish that one anyone.
You may be right but then that's exactly what was wrong with that system and why it was changed. Eddie's job is to do the best thing for Collingwood and that's what he does. I will add though that it's not as if Eddie doesn't help out other clubs from time to time and even David Koch will tell you that.

God I hope the flogs potting Eddie in this thread are only about 12yrs old, because that would explain it, if you are adults.....well, there's that old saying, stupid young people don't grow up to be smart adults.

Eddie's quite a good commentator apart from his Collingwood bias.

I bet he's spewing that Carlton and Mick Malthouse are still in the finals and Collingwood aren't.

Don't question his knowledge of the game but he lacks control over his voice for mine he seems to be restricted to two tones of voice - normal and sudden scream.

I would say he would be spewing about that.

Settle pettel, a Geelong newspaper writing an article that sings the praises of it's home town team is a surprise to you? And Eddie McChins doesn't speak for all Vic clubs.

It's almost like there's no bias over in WA/SA and Vic is the only state that does. :rolleyes:

Vic bias affects results.

Therein lies the difference.

The Pies thrive on being "hated" and, as such, Eddie is doing a terrific job maintaining that.
Genius, Pumpkin-Head, Self-immolator.

IMHO the harsh reality for Eddie is that has attached his presidency directly to Buckley's tenure as coach. If he fails as coach, I doubt Eddie's presidency would survive that ... but maybe his use by date as Pres. would be up then any way.

Was just a bit of fun get some humor, really little dick syndrome or what.

<shrug> I wasn't personally offended. Any twit can see that the "research" for the article would have consisted of lifting the banter from any WCE-Freo thread on this site. So I'll rephrase it for any shrinking violets here who can't handle criticism of Victorian media: Nyah nyah. You lot look like idiots.

Buckley has taken the pies from a power to an average side.

Hird is a clear improvement on knights, taking them from 7 wins in Knights last year to 14 this year.

You forgot to add the part where he took you to 14 wins and had the club suspended for the season and missed the finals this season whilst putting his players in line for possible infraction notices.

Settle!

We don't have a newspaper in Perth. We have a WCE sponsor that publishes paid promotional material for Eagles. When we get a newspaper that behaves in the manner you describe, you can criticise. In the meantime, news is available on the web.

Really? So that wasnt your team on the front of the newspaper yesterday sharing the front page with the national election because you won a game of footy? Hmm...

It was our footy team where indiscretions, even those that nobody saw were pointed out to the MRP while none of Geelong's cracked a mention. As usual with the West.

Are you going to pretend they are not a major sponsor and cheerleader of the Eagles?

Maybe Eddie should have kept his mouth shut, but it isn't his fault the Pies lost. Him looking forward to the week after didn't effect the players on the night.

It was our footy team where indiscretions, even those that nobody saw were pointed out to the MRP while none of Geelong's cracked a mention. As usual with the West.

Are you going to pretend they are not a major sponsor and cheerleader of the Eagles?

Mate, you were on the front page a day after the National elections for winning a game of footy, which shows they rate your achievement in this instance. You should be happy. The problem is up til now you havent really had much to crow about, so you see it as cheerleading being done by the newspaper because they talk about West Coast, but theres been plenty of articles denigrating West Coast when they have underperformed (as thier should be), just as thier has been many articles over the years praising Pav, Sandilands and co. I'm sure if Freo continues to perform well and win big games of footy (thats finals games, not derbies ;) ) then you will see more praise going your way. :)

Maybe Eddie should have kept his mouth shut, but it isn't his fault the Pies lost. Him looking forward to the week after didn't effect the players on the night.

Didn't affect the Pies players, but I suspect it geed up the Port lads somewhat.

Dear Eddie....