Roast DeGoey Arrested in NYC

Hey guys and gals
Please help your Pies mods by not quoting and replying to trolls, just use the report button and it will make cleaning up and removing them much easier.
Thanks.

Completely get your outrage. I think JDG is gone from our club, whatever the outcome of this latest ‘incident’.

Those who try to diminish this - to reduce and unpack and disassemble so that Jordan comes out the other end as less responsible or less involved or the matter is less serious - good luck with that. And it may be justified.

But I think the club may have had enough.

Straw + camel’s back = gone.

Time to move on.
I think he is gone from the AFL altogether. No club would ever trust or believe him again.

Let’s start talking footy cause really that’s all that matters.

Obvious caveat is that if he’s found guilty of anything sexual he’s gone.

Assuming he’s found not guilty or cops a minor slap on the wrist what do we do? Whilst he has priors, he was found not guilty of the most serious of them so you can hold it against him. A lie about a broken finger is hardly sackable, albeit stupid.

I think we’re in a good position whereby we can lowball his next contract offer, and if he purses FA we can cash in on what will be a top 5 draft pick. Even if we have to suspend him for half a season, who cares - just make sure you’re extracting value from his departure.

Could be a while coming. Fair chance that he's got a fair bit of black out and is only clear that he was having a great night, then woke up in a police cell with a bad feeling...

Yeah, the club’s press release appears to be consistent with that.

I’d imagine it’d be a straightforward process for the club to phone one of its legal contacts, who puts through a call to colleague in NY, who engages a private investigator to find out. Or less likely they might do it through a club to club contact (Yankees, Mets, Knicks, etc). Somebody will know somebody, especially in New York, and the club could have a copy of CCTV footage, statements by staff, maybe even statements by the victims within a week or two.

Or maybe the club doesn’t even bother? Maybe they simply move on, make him a persona non grata until the matter has been resolved?

Or maybe they told him to get some sleep, engage his lawyer, and when his lawyer has figured out what’s gone on then to call the club and let them know?

It's all my fault. I was in the car, entertaining my wife with an explanation that De Goey was in the US to prepare strongly for a big final year of contract, drive up his value, we'd fail to meet his demands, he'd go to a higher bidder and we pick up a nice high compo pick. Almost immediately, it came on the radio. I'm sorry, I wont mention Daicos to her, luckily she's never heard of him.

Understood.
I think he will end up at GWS or the Suns for a compo pick. Just a feeling.
AFL will be happy to see this.

I’m putting my money on the Swans. Franklin’s monster contract ends at the end of 2022. The Swans adore their iconic forwards (Capper, Plugger, Barry Hall, Franklin, … Tippett was a bust) They have a strong form of getting in bad boys and wringing the best out of them. I’m sure DeGoey would welcome getting out of the AFL bubble that is Melbourne. I could see him fitting in at the Swans.

If De Goey is found guilty of forceful touching and becomes a registered sex offender then when he comes home will he have the same status locally?

And he can kiss goodbye ever thinking of holidaying in the US again

Getting into fights after a few too many drinks/drugs is such loser behaviour. I’ve stopped being friends with people who are liabilities when on the sauce. I’m not getting king hit because you go from zero to a 100 when somebody accidently brushes your shoulder.

The sexual assault allegations are just plain scumbag behaviour. Anybody who says otherwise or tries to justify it in any way, shape or form is as much of a creep as De Goey.

What with the same potential? Who is this player?

He is 26 & has not lived up to the so called potential. Defensively lazy as well.
Opposition supporters thing he is way overrated & I agree with that sentiment.
He has as many crap games as good ones & gets the whole club in the shit with sponsors & the press nearly every year.
Use his salary saving from next year on to start building a war chest. Then sit back in the knowledge that when he next screws up (and he will) that it wont be our problem.

I’m putting my money on the Swans. Franklin’s monster contract ends at the end of 2022. The Swans adore their iconic forwards (Capper, Plugger, Barry Hall, Franklin, … Tippett was a bust) They have a strong form of getting in bad boys and wringing the best out of them. I’m sure DeGoey would welcome getting out of the AFL bubble that is Melbourne. I could see him fitting in at the Swans.

You don't get more out of the AFL bubble than the USA. That worked well for him. He did last about a week until he got pissed & screwed up though.

Assuming he’s found not guilty or cops a minor slap on the wrist what do we do? Whilst he has priors, he was found not guilty of the most serious of them so you can hold it against him. A lie about a broken finger is hardly sackable, albeit stupid.

Have a look at this video linked below, it was recorded three JDG scandals ago in 2017. It could have easily have been recorded today, or after any one of his other scandals. The bloke doesn’t learn, redemption hasn’t worked …

The social media footage is cringeworthy enough alone. His conduct is concerning. He appears to grab his own genitals.

You’ve never watched an Michael Jackson or Elvis Presley film clip?

Must be embarrassing for his folks.

And his brother-in-law have just had the shortest player manager career in the history of the game.

I think we’re in a good position whereby we can lowball his next contract offer, and if he purses FA we can cash in on what will be a top 5 draft pick. Even if we have to suspend him for half a season, who cares - just make sure you’re extracting value from his departure.
My opinion. The only way we get any value is if DeGoey plays the back half of ‘22 in a similar manner to ‘21. I can’t see that happening though and reckon he’s played his last game for Collingwood. Just think the club has ran out of patience regardless of the outcome. Standing him down is huge and it’s probably difficult to get past.

A not guilty finding may see him given a chance at another club via FA or even as a DFA (after 12 months state league), but I struggle to see how a club would sign him for more than a couple of years at half his current contract. It will be a buyers market and they’ll factor in risk. The AFL’s magic FA formula probably nets is a third round pick if that occurs.

All the indicators seem to be that Collingwood wish to sack him now, clear the decks and not pay him a cent of his 2022 salary
Be interesting how hard De Goey’s management and the AFLPA would try and contest a contract termination

I see some people say keep paying him so we can get trade value at end of 22

I would say the salary cap benefits far outweigh any draft picks available by retaining him

it goes without saying he should be sacked regardless if the charges are proven.

Just speculating -but if De Goey is found guilty and convicted/sentenced in New York, Collingwood and the AFL have the right to terminate his contract. Would this prevent him from being re-drafted again down the track? Andrew Krakouer was delisted by Richmond, spent time in jail, then was re-drafted by Collingwood. After De Goey serves any sentence/probation (again, only if found guilty and convicted) would he be able re-join a club?

He's pleaded not guilty to the forceful groping.

The grey area in this is if they are dancing together and she's touched him in a certain manner maybe he thought he could get a little sexual.. drunken encounters like this are often hard to distinguish what was implied or not implied. I've had many a dance floor pash and fondle and neither party has asked for consent.. obviously in 2021 consent is becoming far more of an issue..

I'm not excusing his behaviour as there seems to be a trend, but in terms of conviction for that offence there would probably need to be multiple eye witnesses or video footage.

In regards to the fight, did the alleged victim throw any punches.. how aggressive and threatening was he?

I guess all will be answered in due course, never a dull offseason with our club.. shits me!

Selfishly I want the best outcome for us, tribal ties and moral compass are very hard to align!

Not going to happen. Two years ago the Swans parted ways with recruit Elijah Taylor who pleaded guilty to domestic assault. I strongly doubt they would consider a player with a history like DeGoey.

Essendon for me. Stringer and jdg rotating mid and forward would be hard to resist, even if them sharing a changeroom might be terrifying.

No club morally would touch him, morally we can’t keep him on the list either if guilty.
Dockers always seem to have a slot available for head cases with lots of talent.
If we get in quick we might be able to trade one of our first rounders before we go and do something stupid with it like draft some decent young forwards.

Not going to happen. Two years ago the Swans parted ways with recruit Elijah Taylor who pleaded guilty to domestic assault. I strongly doubt they would consider a player with a history like DeGoey.

All this is predicated on him being found not guilty / charges being dropped.

I can't believe people think he will get a contract at another club. His AFL days are over. He can never be trusted again, no one is going to take the risk on him. We can only hope that there is a club foolish enough to believe they can turn him around. I just want to add that everybody needs a mate like his, what an absolute knucklehead, they were like clones of each other