Roast DeGoey Arrested in NYC

Hey guys and gals
Please help your Pies mods by not quoting and replying to trolls, just use the report button and it will make cleaning up and removing them much easier.
Thanks.

I keep seeing the video of him walking out of the slammer and the fu** wit can’t even wear a mask properly, fmd what a tool.

We are talking about a bloke who thinks a bathrobe is a Halloween costume!

Because we are starting out again at the bottom, it becomes quite an easy decision to get rid of him. Proper rebuild. The new leadership team don’t seem like they will suffer BS like the Ed regime did.

If he is going to drink and do whatever else like he was in those videos, he will forever be getting into trouble. He was in our three most important players and needed to be stepping up to being a leader, instead he is giving us a repeat of shit he was doing years ago.

People have short convenient memories.

EFA.

I think it’ll depend on whether he is convicted of anything sexual - if he is then it’ll be game over in the AFL. It would have been over anyway, but add to that being in an age of #metoo and all clubs either having an AFLW team or in the process of setting one up.

If he’s acquitted or charges dropped, then I think the aim for everybody involved will be to get him off to a second club, preferably an interstate one. He’ll be a FA so Collingwood wouldn’t be involved in that process.

Cant be high end for mine if it plays out that he remains registered but is suspended for say 22 or significant part there of. May get medium dollars if a few are interested but to bring him into your playing group on top dollar is inviting problems with the rest of the list. Couldnt be rewarded with a new club and high money contract, would be a terrible look.
You're probably right. I can't read the sentiment on this in terms of how interested clubs would be. From a purely football perspective, a manager shops him around for a one year contract to the highest bidder - surely any club in the window would be bloody tempted, but I may be underestimating the media backlash - there's likely to be sections of it wanting him to become persona non grata.

There will be half a dozen clubs who played finals and think they just need a bit extra. Can't believe none of them would take JDG on for free on a small contract.

If he was a short term need, particularly for an interstate team, a more intense effort can be made to police his lifestyle beyond footy. There are teams that value premierships and will move heaven and earth to acquire one. The cup held in the air, the North Smith medal and the players celebratory circuit of the ground will be all that's remembered after the GF win. Many fans will probably even want to give De Goey a hug. People have short memories.

I am responsible for a major sponsorship with an AFL club that consider themselves to be in ‘the window’. This responsibility requires me to put aside my personal thoughts on football and consider the expectations of my Board, my hundreds of thousands of customers and hundreds of staff - in all cases about half are women. If I became aware that the club we sponsor was contemplating offering a contract to JDG, I would be writing to them immediately to let them know we would be revoking our sponsorship if they went ahead. Of course, the club could still politely tell me they’re doing it anyway - but I doubt it.

I found this bit interesting

The club will continue to pay De Goey under the terms of his contract until such time as an outcome to proceedings against him in the United States is reached or a more complete account of events is established.

It sounds more like an explanation as to why he is still getting paid but the fact they said until such time etc. seems to me like they are exploring how they can terminate the contract and not going to let him see out his contract taking up salary cap space in 2022.

The bit that gets me is how it's not just the outcome of the charges but more complete account of events that will lead to that decision. Surely all account of events are alleged until he gets his chance to defend his case? A LOT of thought would have gone into the wording of the statement. This last bit has meaning and I wonder if they are exploring how they can terminate his contract even before a guilty charge.

Lastly does this date in December represent when he will learn his fate or is this more an initial hearing before possibly having to return to court possibly months later?
The pay bit confused me also, stood down presumably because he can’t leave the states anyway…

Seriously don’t get how some people can be so stupid. One thing after another, and groppingaside from being totally inexcusable is even more mind boggling given the recent court case. Innocent until proven guilty, but how does one end up in a situation like that…again?!

Either it makes our list decision dilemma (if there ever was one) around who to pay out of Moore, Maynard and Degoey easy. He’ll have to accept a pretty significant pay cut in my view if he’s going to stay.

Why does every season have to have an unwanted distraction?!

I am responsible for a major sponsorship with an AFL club that consider themselves to be in ‘the window’. This responsibility requires me to put aside my personal thoughts on football and consider the expectations of my Board, my hundreds of thousands of customers and hundreds of staff - in all cases about half are women. If I became aware that the club we sponsor was contemplating offering a contract to JDG, I would be writing to them immediately to let them know we would be revoking our sponsorship if they went ahead. Of course, the club could still politely tell me they’re doing it anyway - but I doubt it.
I am probably still living the 70's in my head. You don't even think he'd make it to Sydney?

so what's he up to now? does he have to stay there?
bloody FWit must feel like a right idiot now he's sobered up, if he has.
Depends. If he has a good lawyer (I would assume so), he will probably be able to leave. But he's missing pre-season and Round 1 unless he's acquitted. If not, he's on the sidelines until evidence proves otherwise.

We are talking about a bloke who thinks a bathrobe is a Halloween costume!
Behaving like a true flog, embarrassing…but that’s not a crime. I’m sure many of us have done things that we’d look back upon embarrassingly now.

What I can’t excuse is the trouble he keeps finding. Dusty went to live with Cotchin, maybe we need the same for Degoey.

I can't believe people think he will get a contract at another club. His AFL days are over. He can never be trusted again, no one is going to take the risk on him. We can only hope that there is a club foolish enough to believe they can turn him around. I just want to add that everybody needs a mate like his, what an absolute knucklehead, they were like clones of each other
DeGoey obviously hasn’t heard what a very wise man once said.
“Show me your friends and I’ll show you your future”.

Depends. If he has a good lawyer (I would assume so), he will probably be able to leave. But he's missing pre-season and Round 1 unless he's acquitted. If not, he's on the sidelines until evidence proves otherwise.
Could he just do trial by phone from his Melbourne bed while bailed? Then be extradited if as Dave tips he gets decades of jailtime?

The pay bit confused me also, stood down presumably because he can’t leave the states anyway…

Seriously don’t get how some people can be so stupid. One thing after another, and groppingaside from being totally inexcusable is even more mind boggling given the recent court case. Innocent until proven guilty, but how does one end up in a situation like that…again?!

Either it makes our list decision dilemma (if there ever was one) around who to pay out of Moore, Maynard and Degoey easy. He’ll have to accept a pretty significant pay cut in my view if he’s going to stay.

Why does every season have to have an unwanted distraction?!
Commercially, JDG merch has taken a hit. We can sell Moore and Maynard nearly everything because people love those guys. Having kids wear the number 30 or 37 on their backs is ok. The same cannot be said for 2 at the moment, even if you look past this current incident, he still isn't a great role model and should steer clear of any promotional gear/family days.

The other thing too, is that if you call 911 about a complete stranger in a country where they have 0 profile, you're less likely to be mucking around. Didn't she call a specialist hotline?

Behaving like a true flog, embarrassing…but that’s not a crime. I’m sure many of us have done things that we’d look back upon embarrassingly now.

What I can’t excuse is the trouble he keeps finding. Dusty went to live with Cotchin, maybe we need the same for Degoey.
Not sure Mrs Cotchin would be too keen on that.