Certified Legendary Thread Delusional Pearlers IV

Kane Cornes suggesting we trade Shiel to PA and pay some of his salary.
Matthew Lloyd for suggesting we do not need Shiel.

Sure, we'll take Wines.

Kthx.

I think you underestimate how vital Hurley has been for them, and you definitely underestimate how much trouble they're in if they don't find a decent sized KPD to replace Hooker and Hurley over the next few years. Stewart is ordinary I agree, and having him and Laverde as your KPD's is a recipie for a King twin, McKay, Dixon, Kennedy/Darling et al to kick a bag against you.

The point of my post is that the list as it currently stands is sitting right in the right region to be making finals and contending, not losing to the likes of us - whose football department is a shambles, and whose average age is blown right the fu** up due to Murphy, Casboult and Betts. They've certainly underachieved, and the reason why it's necessary to point that out is that is because it's simply not coming up in the press. They are severely lacking in KPP talent, their prime movers from a midfield standpoint are injury prone, and while they have young talent the majority of the blooded talent below the age of 24 are overhyped.
200.gif

If Paddy Dow wants out that fine, as long as we get at a decent pick, 10 to 15.

Kane Cornes sees Essendon midfielder Dylan Shiel as a perfect trade target for Port Adelaide and believes it could be a win-win move for both clubs.
He didn’t state why it’d be a win for Essendon.

I have looked at the Carlton thread on us a few times. Of late a couple of them have posted saying it is embarrassing and should be shut down. Someone also posted recently that they (ie Ess board) are laughing at us (ie Carlton board). Which we are.

If we have the good fortune to win a flag in the next few years, many of those Carlton and Norf posters are going to self combust.
Were it to happen, bigfooty won't know what hit it.

Reports, suspensions etc will melt this place into the ground.

I'm on fire at the moment, gold nuggets everywhere.
Is it school holidays ATM?

First things first, Winston Abraham was a better footballer than Michael Long. Essington supporters will tell you otherwise but they’re biased.

All of Simpkin, LDU, Thomas and Horne will be be better than the Merrett. He has minimum 4 years experience on them

Powell and Phillips every chance too.

I'm on fire at the moment, gold nuggets everywhere.
Is it school holidays ATM?

You most certainly are. Kind of like comedians when Trump was in office, so much material to choose from..
Perhaps it's the result of realising finals are out of the question and having nothing better to do?

God I like this one soooo much. :laughing:

I present Carlton flog who thinks lots of words makes him smart.

Spoiler Alert: He's not.

Given that this is not in general a thread for reasonable discussion, people need to cool their jets a bit when discussing their prospects. People are behaving as though they're suddenly super young, when in reality they've been setting themselves for this particular tilt for a while.

Their top players this year are Parish (24), Wright (24), Merrett (25), Stringer (27), Hind (26), Stewart (27), Tippa (28), Smith (28), Shiel (28), Heppell (29), Hurley (31), and Hooker (32).

I mean, Hurley hasn't played and Hooker is outside the 22, but ok.

They can talk up Laverde's year as much as they like; he's playing as an unaccountable third tall beside two of their oldest and most experienced KPP.

He's literally been standing the oppositions most damaging key forwards, AND captain derp-rocket here still seems to think Hooker and Hurley are in defense...

Harrison Jones is averaging 7.3 disposals, 1.3 tackles and 1.3 goals a game;

Harry McKay is averaging 9.7 disposals, 1.4 tackles and 3 goals a game. He's also the only mid to tall sized forward they have that's kicked any goals this year, meanwhile Essendon has three other players (Stringer, Wright, Hooker) that have kicked 100 goals...

the goal average is something to look at, but as a medium forward he's lead up. He's not big enough to challenge a proper KPD, nor is he fast enough to beat them straight line; he's a clever footballer, and while they have their place they're always a chance to go through a game goalless or possessionless.

Kicked a goal in 9 out of his last 10 games...

Archie Perkins, for all the dare of his play, averages 12.2 disposals and 2.2 tackles a game as a HFF/midfielder; he's young (the three players everyone's raging about are) so he has every chance to improve on those numbers, but they aren't screaming AFL quality, either.

I mean his rising star nomination, AFLCA votes probably scream AFL quality.

But you're right. Who in their right mind would think 12 touches and 2.2 tackles a game screams AFL quality...

1629416389258.png

We finally get to the unicorn himself, Nick Cox. Nick's tall, in case you haven't heard; he's built like a giraffe. He's a midfielder. My issue with him - as, in general, with most hybrids - is that while he's fast and agile, it's for his size not his position. Nick Cox is not faster than Andrew Gaff, he's not got better skills than him, he's not more agile than him. What he is is taller. Cox is averaging 12.9 disposals, 2.4 tackles as a utility, but mainly on the wing or manning a 3rd tall down back. That's hardly gamebreaking, and the real problem is this; his best attribute is his speed, agility and ball handling for his size, the former of the two are endangered if you bulk him up some. And if you don't get some muscle onto him, he's going to get out-muscled by other talls. So, there's a quandry there: do you keep what he does well and let him be a jack of all trades (which entails that he cannot truly beat the best KPP or smalls) or do you change him into a conventional tall, and if you did that why'd you pick the unicorn in the first place?

Well shit, he's got us there.

Nik Cox's best attributes are ONLY his speed, skill and athleticism for his size.

The **** were we thinking...

Hooker and Hurley are on their last legs, and they've Wright and Stewart to compensate at either end. Wright's done okay in his first year at his new club; how's he going to go without Hooker?

1629416562504.png

Apparently pretty well.

How's Laverde going to go if Stewart goes down and he has to sit Harry McKay, Charlie Dixon, Tom Hawkins?

Probably about as well as any decent key defender, he'll win some, he'll lose some. That's the thing with good key forwards, they're tough to beat, even tougher when you don't have your full compliment of defenders.

Plowman could manhandle Cox if they put him forward to have a matchup, much less Jones.

You know when you're right, you're right.

Straight swap - Plowman for Cox. Let us know if you need a sweetener.

Then you have a look a little deeper. Heppell's struggling to stay on the field.

Only one season in his entire career where he's played less than 17 games...

So is Shiel.

One long term injury in his career at 29yo...

Smith has played 1 full season in his entire career,

Good thing he's not in our top dozen players.

Stringer 2.

Other than his debut year has literally had one year with large chunks on the sidelines. Don't facts suck?

Stewart is being held together with some ducttape and a fencing pole.

Dude seems to really rate Stewart.

Laverde's done well given that it's come out of the blue; wonder how he'll go without help and/or now that people know the jig a little better?

Well the jig's been known for about twelve weeks. So no need to wonder, the answer is - pretty well.

And it isn't as though he hasn't had his own troubles with injury, either. Wright's had a good year - note, the word here is good, not great; he's performed on an acceptable level, as did Mitch Brown on less coin a few years back - but it's really his first reasonable year ever; can he back it up?

Peter Wright, who Gold Coast thought couldn't get a game in 2020, who is paying for part of his contract, is on MORE coin than Brown?

Holy shit. Hook me up with your source, bro.

But he's had a good year. I mean he's kicked more goals than anyone in navy blue not named McKay, has featured in the AFLCA votes multiple times (cracked twenty). But I agree, good year.

Merrett and Parish are the only ones from that list who you could call durable.

Apparently not since most of them seem to play most of the year, most of the time.

But cool story bro.

Then, you've got their second tier: Langford, Redman, Snelling, Clarke,

You mean Hind, Walla, Waterman, Francis, Ridley, Caldwell, Durhman, Bryan, Reid are all THIRD TIER??

Dodo you magnificent son of a bitch, you've done it again.

Draper, McGrath

Wut.

Some will object to me putting Draper and McGrath in here,

Ya reckon?

but those people would be wrong.

Oh ok, thanks for clearing that up.

For all that McGrath has terrific AFL traits, he's essentially just a straight line player.

I've always loved this kind of comment. Ya know, he doesn't really have any REAL insight in to McGraths game, so he makes up a vague concept (he's a straight line player) to try act like he's coming from a position of authority. Straight line player? Wow, that's deep - this guy really knows his footy...

The best mids all have a kind of 360 degree awareness that allows them to know if they're being tackles; McGrath doesn't have that, and because he doesn't have that he's never going to be more than a wing, and even then that's if he has a very intelligent coach. He could still be a very good player; just, he's not going to be that in/out gun mid.

Here come those pesky facts again...

McGrath has spent two years averaging around 4.5-5 clearances a game. Ya know, that thing you have to do in traffic... which requires 360 awareness... and an ability to avoid being tackled...

4.5-5 is pretty good. Certainly within the top 10% of players.

Actually puts him Sam Walsh territory.

Draper is legitimately the most overhyped player in the competition. He's big and aggressive and he plays for Essendon so of course he was always going to be the next big thing. Firstly, he's a ruckman and a ruck's contribution to the game is overemphasized in the first place, and secondly he concedes free kicks because - and this is my real issue here - he's distractable.

Here wo go again. Not 'straight line player' it's 'distractable'. I really need to get this guys statistician on the phone, he's got some trippy ****in measurables.

His entire game is getting in a good ruck's face and smashing into them. His job as a ruckman, though, is to give his team first use, not to bludgeon his direct opponent as often and as legally as he can. If you want to beat him, talk sh*t at him and distract him and he's done for the day. You're guaranteed first use and they're left with an angry big bloke with sh*t hair.

Careful now, I'm about to fact all over myself...

Of all the first rucks in the game that attend more than 30 contests a game (ie. actual ruckmen, not people pinch hitting in the ruck) - Sam Draper rates THIRD in the league for hit out to advantage rate. There are two ruckmen that hit the ball to advantage more often - Ben McEvoy and Sean Darcy. That's it.

So if the measure of being a 'good' ruckman is getting his team first use - which is what captain blue douche here is saying - then Draper is quite literally the third best ruckman in the game - and he's played 19 games.

I rate Redman, because he flies under the radar a bit. He's essentially pre Geelong Zac Tuohy.

HE RATES REDMAN EVERYBODY!

Snelling is Newnes but shitter.

I mean, Snelling gets more of the ball, kicks more goals, tackles more, clears the ball more - but yeah sure...

I have less memories of Clarke than I do my last bowel movement.

You know he's right - with his head shoved that far up his own arse I'm extremely confident he remembers his last bowel movement.

Langford's a bit like Jack Silvagni, in that he's underrated. Send him into the middle and he'll win you a clearance, put him up forward and he'll give you a target, put him behind the ball and he'll fu** it up but look extremely frustrated while doing it. He's a bandaid you can put on any given problem, and he'll give his best to sometimes surprising results.

I mean Langford gets WAY more touches, kicks more goals, makes more tackles, and gets about twice the amount of clearances.

How is he like Silvagni again?

The key here is: this is a list in prime age to contend. They have a whole bunch of players who are genuinely into their prime years, and as a team they're underachieving as much as we are. On the basis of list demographics, they should be sitting roundabout 6th+ on the ladder; on the basis of output, they're exciting to watch but extremely disappointing. They're somewhat lucky to be able to pull Hind, Laverde out of cloth and have them compensate for where they're weak, and to have Wright play so well for the first time in his career, but make no mistake: Essendon are not going to get that much improvement out of their current 22. Perkins and Jones are the ones to watch there, and two players do not make a team.

Thorough list analysis.

If by thorough you mean factually wrong at every turn.

Congratulations, you're been awarded dumbass of the week.

Dunning-Kruger. Take a look. Please.

Since we beat the Dogs and finals has become a genuine possibility, the extent of delusional pearls out there has gone off the charts. Everyone, especially crap blue and white teams (rather than the particularly good blue and white team), are finding ways to pretend we aren't heading in the right direction. The thread on the main board which started at the start of the year about whose rebuild is better out of Ess and Norf is now completely crazy. One team is in the 8 and the other has a 1 in front of that position and the Norf deadheads still want to claim their midfield is better than the team of the century.

If we do actually snag winning a final regardless of when it happens, I seriously don't know what these guys will do. I fear for their mental wellbeing (actually given most of the real nuff nuffs support Norf and Bloos I should already be concerned about their mental wellbeing) BF seriously won't be able to handle it. There will be reports of outbreaks of mass lunacy that doctors will put to COVID lockdowns, but it will be the realisation that Ess might actually have done something ok.

A tiggy supporter wrote this in the Analysis of Essendon and Norf rebuild thread.

"Essendons midfield is better this year. In three years time in my opinion they won’t hold a candle to North Melbourne’s midfield and that’s when they’re challanging. Unless you think the dons are challenging now which becomes a touch awkward."

Now I've bolded the bit which to me is interesting. I mean how the **** is anyone supposed to know how any team's midfield let alone anything else is going to be in three years? I mean there are so many variables. Trades, draft picks, finding a gem out of no where for example our very own Sam Durham, natural improvement and um you know life...

Gee there are a lot of idiots on this site.

I read that yesterday and i

john-jonah-jameson-lol.gif

Certified Legendary Thread Delusional Pearlers IV