Design a Jumper Competition: 17th Team - Gold Coast **See Now Version 2**

Re: Design a Jumper Competition: 17th Team - Gold Coast

o881hy.png

something I knocked up today
I like!!!
The clash jumper would be made by putting the yellow on the outside, the red as the stripe and blue in the middle - it looks good

It won't be Southport. It will be a new club. Might be the Sharks but won't be Southport.

They should do what the NRL did and involve the community - have fans vote on the colour, name, etc.

Those in the southern states can be forgiven for such comments. When the whole GC17 proposal came out all the Gold Coast was talking about it. The local radio stations and the web site asked for suggestions for a team name, colours etc. There was a lot of interest until eventually they got down to 5 names that you could vote for. Come the big announcement on the AFL footy show... well in their wisdom they decided not to give the team a nickname, let is grow organically (stupid). The whole thing was a huge anti-climax, now I'm sorry to say interest has waned. Do the locals think the committee will consider anything we want? I haven't met one yet.:mad:

Gee, that's frustrating... and it should flipping be frustrating for the AFL. What a BRILLIANT way to knock the wind out of the sails of support. And anyway, what does it mean for the whole thing to grow "organically", if not that the locals choose it, in some way like a radio competition.

o881hy.png

Brisbane-2008.gif

Brisbane-Away-2008.gif

Brisbane-Clash-2008.gif

Why on earth would the GC go with the same colours as their cross town Rivals. Please somebody explain. This is stupid, they need to rethink their colours completely because this makes absoloutely no sense to me!

All great Derby's have different colours.

Man utd red, man city sky blue etc.....Adelaide/Port, Freo/WC.......AC milan/Inter

I'm goin to post new colours and I hope everyone can slowly weed out these colours and maybe the GC17 will wake up and start making some smart business decicions if they want any success. :)

nba_wizards_hdr_player.jpg
p5303454reg.jpg

This is my favourite choice for the Gold Coast. Glitzy gold, Black with white trimmings.

As a new team you have to go down the same path as Freo-PURPLE and Port-TEAL in becoming a unique AFL club like no other.

Other key primary colours that we are yet to see in AFL are Green which is obviously reserved for a Tassie team one day, Sky blue which would most suit the new WS team and Orange.

It's time for GC17 to use their imagination a little bit and standout from the crowd........
javascript:void(0);

guernseygc173om5.jpg

Here's a stripes version, incorporating all the colours. I tried to make it not too overcomplicated, but obviously failed, too difficult with trying to incorporate 3 bright colours.

Beleive me mate I was trying to get Gold black and white in for GC17 from the start.

They are making a brain-headed decicion that will back fire I guarantee.

Just wait till they run out for the first derby against the lions wearing the same colours. It will get to that point before people realise; "Oh, boring choice of colours".:D

I thought GC17 was going to be a good thing but it gets worse and worse with every idea and concept they release.

Why are people not revoking these boring colours and just being contempt? Maybe it's time to send their jumper colours alongside Brisbanes jumpers and they might change their mind. Maybe they haven't heard of the lions yet or forgotten what colurs they wear.:rolleyes:

Take a load off Freo Dockers. You are no longer the laughing stock of the AFL.:thumbsu:

guernseygc173om5.jpg

Here's a stripes version, incorporating all the colours. I tried to make it not too overcomplicated, but obviously failed, too difficult with trying to incorporate 3 bright colours.

The stripes remind me of beach huts, like these
2364477400_bffe83dcf4.jpg

Not sure if thats the look you were going for, or if these are a feature of the gold coast (never been there), but it definately gives a beachy feel.

Why on earth would the GC go with the same colours as their cross town Rivals. Please somebody explain. This is stupid, they need to rethink their colours completely because this makes absoloutely no sense to me!

You're preaching to the choir here. Bloody ridiculous decision.

GCFC38.gif

this is similar to a previous jumper i made, i tried to keep the red and yellow together to be like the beach flags
it looks a bit like the bulldogs and a bit like adelaide but thats GCs fault for picking these colours. the clash to this would be the white and blue swapped.

GCFC38.gif

this is similar to a previous jumper i made, i tried to keep the red and yellow together to be like the beach flags
it looks a bit like the bulldogs and a bit like adelaide but thats GCs fault for picking these colours. the clash to this would be the white and blue swapped.

Not bad actually.

Wouldn't clash with Brisbane either which is a plus.

Clash version
GCFC39.gif

i'm not usually a fan of white jumpers but it seemed the easiest solution seeing as it would just be worn for a couple of games

GOLD coast.

GOLD represents first place, success etc.

no team in the AFL wears gold GOLD, only yellow GOLD.

I like the GOLD, black and white scheme the Washington Wizards wear in the nba.

http://spln.imageg.net/graphics/product_images/p3746106reg.jpg

And so does everyone, it has been brought up tons of times already. Unfortunately they have chosen their colours and logo.

guernseygc173om5.jpg

I like this a lot too.
I like how you have blue sides, and a curved yellow line there, and then a predominantly red top.
I just think those yellow vertical stripes need to go completely.
Leave it like that and see how that looks? Wont be too busy then.
Or put the GC logo large across the chest?