Diamond Valley Footy

Winter made a welcome return to football fields on Saturday and I managed to catch the Lower vs Thomastown game from the comfort of my Volvo. Very one sided affair, with Thomastown running out 10 goal winners. It could have easily been more to if conditions suited. Better players for Thomastown were #65 (ruckman); #1 (midfielder/forward) and #11 (forward). Not many winners for Lower Plenty although their back pocket (#33) was a shining light.
Also caught the last quarter of the Reserves game and Lower won that game by 3-4 goals. Not much to boast about for either side, although one of Thomastown's young Under 19s kids kicked a ripper goal after baulking his opponent on the mark.
Will be heading out to watch Lalor train later this week and see what they have to offer.

Winter made a welcome return to football fields on Saturday and I managed to catch the Lower vs Thomastown game from the comfort of my Volvo. Very one sided affair, with Thomastown running out 10 goal winners. It could have easily been more to if conditions suited. Better players for Thomastown were #65 (ruckman); #1 (midfielder/forward) and #11 (forward). Not many winners for Lower Plenty although their back pocket (#33) was a shining light.
Also caught the last quarter of the Reserves game and Lower won that game by 3-4 goals. Not much to boast about for either side, although one of Thomastown's young Under 19s kids kicked a ripper goal after baulking his opponent on the mark.
Will be heading out to watch Lalor train later this week and see what they have to offer.

Was certainly one-sided after quarter time, when the rain set in. So i would have to disagree and say dry conditions might have made it slightly closer. I was very impressed with a bloke playing in the midfield for them with dreadlocks. Was number 40 or something close to that. Apparently he played at Bullants in there 2's last year. Wouldn't read too much into the result though. I dont pick the team, but i would think there will be 8 changes to that side for round 1, with another 4 or so also returning soon after and pushing for selection. And i'm sure Thomastown will also have players to come back in. They should be right up there come the business end of the season.

just wondering if fig9 could give me rundown of west prestons ghame on saturday against brighton....best players and goal kickers.

i stopped for a while but it was too wet.

The boys started the game pretty slowly, but the boys worked their way back into it in the second half. The Brighton boys had some big boys out there, but the fitness of the west boys won out.
Goals:Grainger 4
Gill 3
Better players Andy Gill, Leigh Broad, Mat Cacutt and Nick Sacco

Fair to say the pre-season has gone far to long.The amount of crap on here is astonishing and all this talk about 2nd division is draining and boring.If the season doesnt start soon 2nd Division might fold as one club is collapsing after the other.To all posters cut the drible about what you had for dinner or whether some kid who cant get a kick in a stampede is capable of getting a run on the bench at Watsonia.Seriously does anybody have something of value..............By the way.What the f**K do you think your doing VinnyD back here?Get back to the u19's thread.

I had a parmie and chips.

did my eyes decieve me last night? Could it be Shane Whitnall watching the U/19's train at Bundoora? Is he going to stay on at the Bulls? Will all the other club supporters love giving him a sledge? C'mon Shane, stay in our league it will bring some interest to the crowd!:)

If you have something to talk about div 1 go for it! But I don't think there is much to say, everyone knows that Heidelberg are going to smash everyone, so it's more interesting to talk about divvy 2 cos its gonnah be alot closer.

By the way I had bangers and mash:D

Montmorency gained a big signing on Friday night when Daniel Sage committed to the club for year 2007. Will be a handy addition for the magpies and only strengthen their midfield with his raking left foot kick and hardness around the ground.

That's great news for the black and white! Gutto kicks in from a behind to Sage in the centre, Sage 2 steps, GOAL! We do play at Monty after all. ;)

Yep - he's a handy signing. After looking at H'Berg on Saturday we are going to need him... and about 4 more blokes over 6'4 :cool:

J&B I do believe you owe us a match report from saturdays waterlogged game vs Heidelberg.

Apologies to those not interested.. stop reading now.

My day commenced having a look at the 2's.... and it's not often J&B can look out over a DV paddock and see 10-12 blokes in one team that are both smaller in size and stature than my good self. However that was the scenario with our 2's on the weekend... minus senior bodies like McCabe, Anver, Celloti, Swindon, Reily... we seemed small and a little undermanned - consequently the man-child brigade unfortunately got beaten comfortably. I'm sure a few more "in's" will make a difference.. but its still good to see the club is bringing through a heap of kids.

The rain continued to fall for the main event, which made viewing a little difficult for me... I was looking longingly at a few of the boys standing on the balcony drinking stubbies... however as I had stupidly brought the Rodney Hog with me, I was forced to keep an eye on him and endure the rain.

We started off well with Yeo proving to be a bit of handful playing at full forward, he presented well and I like the idea of him playing out of the forward line. We didn't make the most of our chances early and H'Berg started to get on top from about the mid-way point of the first quater. Finnan was playing on Nolan at CHB and both got sent off for a couple of little jumper punches... though I think Finnan looks like he will be good.

While we were technically in the game up until about half way through the third ... From half time on I think they played better wet weather footy, Franchina and another bloke I don't know (number 15 Dobson??) both were good ...... same with Harvey.

Gutterson was good for us, and some promising signs from a few other blokes: Peter Moore an u/19 played in the ruck and showed that he has some promise against a taller, bigger and more experienced Gay... (I mean the player not H'berg on ball sexual preference)

I liked the look of D Loney from Parade - unfashionable hard at it type....

They seem bigger this year, if that's possible... Bruce or Dodge or someone... can you tell me who the bloke at CHB was?? Big ears.. he is not Irish is he?I'm sure i heard an accent.

We still have Fricker, T Watson, Plugg, Cuthberson, Grimes, Hayes, Sage, Cesari to come back in.

But final obvious summation: They are going to be hard to beat...

With all due respect KID, I dont care how much you have seen him play this year, he is a CAT and always has been. Will not get near it against sides that are hard at the body or fast around the ground.

we will see the results of this year mate. actually ill see the results as ull be busy following ur clubs to places like wallan and kinglake. enjoy that. ill let know how he goes dont worry.

enough said on conno. move on.[/quote]

Geez you have a short memory dont ya! You mustve forgot where you came from, where it took 10 YEARS to win a flag. Unlike the mecenarys that have gone to play at your toilet of a club, I would follow my club anywhere regardless of where they played.

what you know about my club u could write on an asprin with a crow bar.

i have heard eough out of u, ur a keyboard warrier fighting cyberspace battles, a real big man belittlin opposition players.

Id suggest investing in a new beanie and warm jacket, cause u'll need it over the next few years at kinglake and wallan mate.

Please dont reply cause im not interested in ur dribble.

quote]

D Loney will fit nicely into back pocket or run with player on ball at Monty.
Will find it hard to break into on ball bridage there. Is R.Wise playing this year?
Monty have done some pretty handy recruiting from OP's side from recent yrs.
Where is the Dion Ciavola machine playing this yr. Did Monty offer him enough spondoolie to come back?
Would love to see Porty play for a DV club, i think Monty would be the only real chance of recruitnig him. You guys think Plugger is a good FF. Wait to see Porty, if he comes.

quote]

D Loney will fit nicely into back pocket or run with player on ball at Monty.
Will find it hard to break into on ball bridage there. Is R.Wise playing this year?
Monty have done some pretty handy recruiting from OP's side from recent yrs.
Where is the Dion Ciavola machine playing this yr. Did Monty offer him enough spondoolie to come back?
Would love to see Porty play for a DV club, i think Monty would be the only real chance of recruitnig him. You guys think Plugger is a good FF. Wait to see Porty, if he comes.

Yeah Loney to play back pocket/flank... not on ball at Mont.
Most of the OP recruits also played juniors at Mont.
Dion is playing at West Coburg this year, and Sabby is playing for Old Ivanhoe... I hope they both go well... D is looking pretty big at the moment - but it doesn't stop him getting the pill.

I have seen Porty play - I thought he retired?

J&B the bloke you are refering to is Mick Finn and he is very Irish.Mate of stingers and has been a very good get.I think he has come from the amo's not to sure or maybe eastern league.I am sure someone would know on here.

what you know about my club u could write on an asprin with a crow bar.

i have heard eough out of u, ur a keyboard warrier fighting cyberspace battles, a real big man belittlin opposition players.

Please dont reply cause im not interested in ur dribble.

Speaking of dribble ... what's a "warrier" ? :confused:

hey force whats with the rumour i posted here a few days back in regards to the big wire fence on the cnr of grimshaw & greensy rd.
30k from local r/estate firm??????
confirm or deny pls

Fawkner Park in recess according to DVFL site.

Where does that leave divison 2?
13 rounds plays each clubs once.
15 round plays each clubs one with 2 having byes
18 rounds play 8 teams once, 5 team twice.

Sorry Bruce almighty i didn't realise u owned this thread and if u were wondering i had pasta for tea and lunch.

did my eyes decieve me last night? Could it be Shane Whitnall watching the U/19's train at Bundoora? Is he going to stay on at the Bulls? Will all the other club supporters love giving him a sledge? C'mon Shane, stay in our league it will bring some interest to the crowd!:)
get a life why would u be watching kids train does that excite u