Diamond Valley Footy

can anyone confirm or deny the rumour that heidelberg have picked up the living legend Bruce Doull? Heard he is getting $800 a game and unlimited headbands!

Watched the west boys train tonight. Looked very sharp and very fit. Think they will go really well this season. Moved the ball very well...

Do tell guys. Whats the feeling like the days before the 1st game?
What are the big in's this year for the clubs? Who has been
tearing' it up, and who do you think is in for a big year at your club?

:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: urple, thanks for the last bit appreciate but just a quick tip,
to get from mernda(where i live) to whittlesea you dont have to go through epping.

cheers:thumbsu:

But you drive past Epping on the way from work to get to Whittlesea.:rolleyes:

Dont worry mase, Im sure you have other reasons mate. All the best this year and hope you get a kick.. Everyone needs a change of atmosphere at some stage of their life.:thumbsu:

It's finally here! I'm off to see if The Bulls can maintain the're recent winning streak at Heidelberg and get off to a flyer. I reckon... this years dark horse.

West Preston

Apart from Saddington have Northcote Park done any recruiting?

Anyone know how Kane Massey from North Heidelberg goes??
kane massey can play.havent seen him since his famous sword trick at one after game sortee. he should be a very good second divvy player if he wants to be. all roads lead to warringal park cya there.

Hello Isha,

So you got a game this week, How did that happen? Might come
in earlier & have a look to see how many clangers you make.
See you Saturday.
Isha Isha Isha, ie ie ie

Eltham College D4 ammo's smashed Mernda less than 2 weeks ago, all B grade teams would smash any div 2 club and most B grade teams would give the some (not all) div 1 clubs a hiding...

i think ull find he was talking about division one reserves sides being able to beat division two ones teams mate. nothing to do wiht the ammos.

but chin up none the less

Lots and lots of talk about West being good this year.

Looking forward to seeing them on the park tomorrow, if they have improved as much as people are saying... it will be a cracking game.

Interesting stat I heard down the club last night:

In Mont's last 45 homes games (since end of 2001) - they have only lost five:

Epping 2002
Heidelberg 2004, 2005
Lalor 2005 &
Bundoora 2006

West have not beaten Mont there in a very long time, Larko knows Mont's record on the "stamp" better than anyone; and I know he is very keen to spoil that record.

*Note to Fig9 and the other Roosters: yes I know you beat Mont on an important day in September in 2003 :(

Eltham College D4 ammo's smashed Mernda less than 2 weeks ago, all B grade teams would smash any div 2 club and most B grade teams would give the some (not all) div 1 clubs a hiding...

It's a futile argument Portman- that will never be settled.. always dominated by opinion, mostly ill-informed.

Bias always plays a huge part - blokes from Ammos say they would smash suburb teams from DV & vice versa.

Comparing DIV 1 and B garde ammo ... two different styles and completely different conditions, so its too hard to say with authority who would beat who

One thing that is undeniably true about DV or now the "NFL" is that: it has it ALL over B grade Ammos in terms of crowd size and atmosphere, so, consequently enjoyment to watch.

Oh and you can drink beer while watching :thumbsu:

End of argument.

Watched Parkside train last night. It was only a brief session but very solid. Focus was on skills predominantly and it was a very sharp hitout. Many of the onlookers were talking up their hopes against Thomastown this week. General feeling around the place is that they like their chances.

Lots and lots of talk about West being good this year.

Looking forward to seeing them on the park tomorrow, if they have improved as much as people are saying... it will be a cracking game.

Interesting stat I heard down the club last night:

In Mont's last 45 homes games (since end of 2001) - they have only lost five:

Epping 2002
Heidelberg 2004, 2005
Lalor 2005 &
Bundoora 2006

West have not beaten Mont there in a very long time, Larko knows Mont's record on the "stamp" better than anyone; and I know he is very keen to spoil that record.

*Note to Fig9 and the other Roosters: yes I know you beat Mont on an important day in September in 2003 :(
J&B really looking forward to tomorrow.. The place is a buzz, and the boys are ready.... What better then a huge challenge first up!
Good Luck!
Go Roosters:thumbsu:

Well I'm sure everyone is pumped for the 1st game of the season, I can't wait:thumbsu:!! Good luck to all, except if your playing the Watsy Saints!! Here are my tips for both divvies:

Div 1:

Epping V Eltham : Eltham

Greensborough V Diamond Creek: The Creekers with big Braddy Phelan to Star!!

Heidelberg V Bundoora: Heidelberg by a country mile. Would be great to watch Cory Mckernan out there!

Montmerancy V West Preston: Monty

Northcote Park V North Heidelberg: Northcote Park

Div 2:

Hursty V panton Hill: Hursty

Kinglake V Heidelberg West: Battle of the Wooden Spoon. Would have to go Kinglake to win.

Lower Plenty V Whittlesea: Lower Plenty, Havent heard much about Whittlesea except for mase.

South Morang V Mernda: South Morang, if there not all injured:eek:

Parkside V Thomastown: Thomastown by a country mile.

Wallan V Lalor: Lalor (welcome back to divvy 2, first game back and you have to travel all the way up the bloody Hume)

Watsonia V Macleod: Would love to say Watsy, but I have to be honest and tip Macleod with them and Thomastown as favourites for the flag. But if we cause an upset be sure that I will of course let you all know right here on bigfooty.:thumbsu:

peace out.

:thumbsu: :thumbsu: :thumbsu: urple, thanks for the last bit appreciate but just a quick tip,
to get from mernda(where i live) to whittlesea you dont have to go through epping.

cheers:thumbsu:
Just a tip for you to mase. If you are at work, you have to travel pass Epping to get to Whittlesea. I never mentioned in my post about where you live. I think you may need a melways. Plus last time I looked Mernda is in bewteen Whittlesea and Epping, both fairly easy to get to. So dont say where you live is the reason, because if that was your sole reason on leaving Epping, Im sure you would head to Mernda with all of the other ex Epping boys.

Great to see the Wallan clubrooms packed to the raftors last night after training with players, sponsors and supporters all sticking around. Hopefully its like that every Thursday night not just when we hand out free steak and chips for everyone.

After a tough pre season with players leaveing, meetings to see if the club would fold and struggling to get a committee together finally in 24 hours the real stuff begins. I'M EXCITED.

P.S. The league could have gone easy on us regarding to the fixture.

Good to hear Wallan still going alright Iceman, we have had enough teams fold for the season hope there isn't anymore.

Gottah agree with you on the fixture, we have a tough trot but yours looks even worse. Good luck!!

Good to hear Wallan still going alright Iceman, we have had enough teams fold for the season hope there isn't anymore.

Gottah agree with you on the fixture, we have a tough trot but yours looks even worse. Good luck!!

I'll be very surprised if Heildleberg West last the season from the reports I am getting.

heard a rumour watsy picked up kane massey? how has his practice match form been and is he playing round 1? also how many ex reservoir players will b in the ones first up, have any of them looked the goods pre season and how have they fitted in around the club? stayed back etc?

Yes we have picked up Kane Massey, he hasn't played any practice matches but is playing in the seniors against macleod tomorrow. Will be interesting to see how he goes.

There are a few reservoir boys in the ones, they were all at a function we had on saturday night and stuck around thursday night to hear the teams have a beer and a chew which is good. Will get to know them alot better as the season goes but at the moment with 110 people on the track it is hard to get to know everyone.