Review Did Scotts throw a black cat through a mirror whilst walking under a ladder?

GarnerSmash

They tried to make me go to rehab
10k Posts Ex-Moderator North Melbourne - 2015 Daw & MacMillan Player Sponsor North Melbourne - 2014 Daw, Black, Gibson Player Sponsor North Melbourne - 2013 Daw, Black and Gibson Player Sponsorship North Melbourne - North 2012 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2011 Player Sponsor North Melbourne - North 2010 Player Sponsor
Jun 2, 2009
Man, the last few weeks have been ****ing frustrating.

Just when we come into the tough part of the draw, where we get the chance to prove our credentials, we get smacked by key injuries which were compounded by already existing long term injuries to fringe best 22 types.

To make matters worse we keep losing players early in games so as to be a rotation down for pretty much the entire game. Then last night we play a team fresh off the bye in shit conditions after playing tough encounters against Geelong and Hawks with limited rotations after two six day breaks.

Just look at the last three weeks. Already without Higgins, Wright, Jacobs, Garner, Anderson, Turner

Geelong: Close encounter expected. Tough tussle to half time. Lose Swallow in the first half to concussion, have Cunnington unable to break out of a hobble from early in the game due to a corkie and Dal Santo creaking around with an adductor strain. Midfield get swamped by Selwood and Dangerfield. Game over.

Hawthorn: Lose Cunners, Swallow and Waite to injury, dominate play, lose McDonald in the 2nd quarter, lose game due to shit goal kicking.

Crows: Cunners and Swallow back, no Wells, Waite and now McDonald. Lose Ray in the first quarter when already up against it physically as a collective with the crows coming off a bye and us of 2 6 day breaks against tough opponents where we were under duress due to rotation issues thanks to injuries in game.

With all these compounding issues it’s like we walked under a ladder and threw a black cat through a mirror or something. It’s saying something when we as a team are relying on the likes of Ray, Nahas and Wagner to play consistent roles for us. Two rookies and a first year player. If you were to rank players on talent and importance for the 2016 season I can think of at least 30 who are more important, yet we need to play these guys. And that’s fine. That’s what depth is about. But **** me could the timing of injuries be any worse? Both during games and against who we are playing?

The bye has certainly come at the right time. Wells and Waite should be cherry ripe for the Weagles, Cunners and Dal will be better for the rest, as will Goldy. Anderson will get games into him and could come back into the 22 in the next few weeks for our soft run after the Eagles, and then wind up again for the slog home. Come the game against Port at home I reckon we will be ticking again and we will win the 3 games coming into the game against the Dogs. Then the last 4 games will be the real test as long as we can stay fit, and blend the likes of Higgins, Wright and Jacobs back into the 22 before finals.

If we can get fit for September no team will want to play us. None.

On a positive note it has been a great opportunity for the likes of Wood, Dumont and McKenzie to get some time at AFL level and show what they can do. I think the first two have taken the opportunity by the horns and have shown enough for us to be genuinely excited about their futures. McKenzie has shown bits n pieces but I think it unfair to judge the guy given he plays deep and based on what has been happening across the team. It’s always the defenders who cop it.

It ain’t all doom and gloom but **** me, just when things were looking really promising we get the worst run of luck.

Man, the last few weeks have been ******* frustrating.

<snipped a lot of good stuff>

It ain’t all doom and gloom but **** me, just when things were looking really promising we get the worst run of luck.

While feeling flat after last night I'm looking forward to the bye and coming back re-invigorated for the second half of the season.

When we're fresher and have a few key players start to make their way back into the team I can see us being a real force.

The first six games after the bye are definitely winnable:
Weagles
Port
Pies
Saints
Dogs
Hawks

And Sydney in Hobart and GWS at Etihad are far from Mission Impossible.

Top 4 still beckons!

While feeling flat after last night I'm looking forward to the bye and coming back re-invigorated for the second half of the season.

When we're fresher and have a few key players start to make their way back into the team I can see us being a real force.

The first six games after the bye are definitely winnable:
Weagles
Port
Pies
Saints
Dogs
Hawks

And Sydney in Hobart and GWS at Etihad are far from Mission Impossible.

Top 4 still beckons!
Its just really feikken frustrating. We get the chance to step up against the best and we are in the worst position physicallywe have been in for years.

We hear coaches and players say consistently that a team only needs to be off by 5% and they can lose to anyone. How much are these in game injuries and missing key players hurting us in that context? Its bullshit but thats footy.

Its just really feikken frustrating. We get the chance to step up against the best and we are in the worst position physicallywe have been in for years.

We hear coaches and players say consistently that a team only needs to be off by 5% and they can lose to anyone. How much are these in game injuries and missing key players hurting us in that context? Its bullshit but thats footy.
And two six day breaks in a row and then come up against a team fresh off a bye is total bullshit.

I heard of this idea from a guy giving out free hand clappers at an SANFL game, so I'm not going to take credit but I think it's got merit.

There should be a sub on the bench that gets used if you get an injury during a game. That way, if you do cop an injury early in the game you aren't disadvantaged. AFL should seriously look into this idea.

Man, the last few weeks have been ******* frustrating.

Just when we come into the tough part of the draw, where we get the chance to prove our credentials, we get smacked by key injuries which were compounded by already existing long term injuries to fringe best 22 types.

To make matters worse we keep losing players early in games so as to be a rotation down for pretty much the entire game. Then last night we play a team fresh off the bye in shit conditions after playing tough encounters against Geelong and Hawks with limited rotations after two six day breaks.

Just look at the last three weeks. Already without Higgins, Wright, Jacobs, Garner, Anderson, Turner

Geelong: Close encounter expected. Tough tussle to half time. Lose Swallow in the first half to concussion, have Cunnington unable to break out of a hobble from early in the game due to a corkie and Dal Santo creaking around with an adductor strain. Midfield get swamped by Selwood and Dangerfield. Game over.

Hawthorn: Lose Cunners, Swallow and Waite to injury, dominate play, lose McDonald in the 2nd quarter, lose game due to shit goal kicking.

Crows: Cunners and Swallow back, no Wells, Waite and now McDonald. Lose Ray in the first quarter when already up against it physically as a collective with the crows coming off a bye and us of 2 6 day breaks against tough opponents where we were under duress due to rotation issues thanks to injuries in game.

With all these compounding issues it’s like we walked under a ladder and threw a black cat through a mirror or something. It’s saying something when we as a team are relying on the likes of Ray, Nahas and Wagner to play consistent roles for us. Two rookies and a first year player. If you were to rank players on talent and importance for the 2016 season I can think of at least 30 who are more important, yet we need to play these guys. And that’s fine. That’s what depth is about. But **** me could the timing of injuries be any worse? Both during games and against who we are playing?

The bye has certainly come at the right time. Wells and Waite should be cherry ripe for the Weagles, Cunners and Dal will be better for the rest, as will Goldy. Anderson will get games into him and could come back into the 22 in the next few weeks for our soft run after the Eagles, and then wind up again for the slog home. Come the game against Port at home I reckon we will be ticking again and we will win the 3 games coming into the game against the Dogs. Then the last 4 games will be the real test as long as we can stay fit, and blend the likes of Higgins, Wright and Jacobs back into the 22 before finals.

If we can get fit for September no team will want to play us. None.

On a positive note it has been a great opportunity for the likes of Wood, Dumont and McKenzie to get some time at AFL level and show what they can do. I think the first two have taken the opportunity by the horns and have shown enough for us to be genuinely excited about their futures. McKenzie has shown bits n pieces but I think it unfair to judge the guy given he plays deep and based on what has been happening across the team. It’s always the defenders who cop it.

Just a tiny correction - Wells injured during Hawks game and unable to run in the midfield where he was dominating. That doesn't happen and the game is a wasteful win instead of a frustrating loss.

Injuries in games has killed the past few weeks even more than the ones we know about at selection. When Ray Farren is out in the first quarter after being hit in the head with a ball, we might as well accept that a curse is operating.

I heard of this idea from a guy giving out free hand clappers at an SANFL game, so I'm not going to take credit but I think it's got merit.

There should be a sub on the bench that gets used if you get an injury during a game. That way, if you do cop an injury early in the game you aren't disadvantaged. AFL should seriously look into this idea.

So a bench of 5 with one emergency on there who only comes in for an injury?

Its probably not a bad idea. The interchange limit changes the dynamic of the game a lot.

A note of caution re Port. Few teams do well off Perth and we are faced with another six-day break.
A note of caution re Eagles. Margetts will probably play.
That Prick. :thumbsdown: Do me a favour and throw some eggs at him for me. :stern look

Would need to be signed off by a neutral AFL doctor that it actually was an injury that needed the emergency subbed in, and that opens all kinds of doors for the AFL to employ its ever-flexible code of ethics to arrive at its desired outcomes. Could see it descending into a farce where clearly injured players weren't allowed to be subbed because the 'neutral' doctor said they couldn't. Where the AFL is concerned, best not to give them grey areas to exploit.

mate i love this post and any roos supoorter who comes in here and wants to say its not significant can f*** off!! we have blokes who havent been able to get a game when we have a fit and firing best 22 in wood dumont nahas daw mckanzie mullet ray and wagner not only are they playing but dumont wood daw mckenzie arent coming in just as fringe players but are being asked to play signnificant role which to be fair i think they have been super and cant wait to see when theyre able to play roles as what most 20 gamers are expected to play! i think wood dumont and even mckenzie will be hard to keep out come finals especially wood hes a star

Brilliantly put B Tron. A joy to read.

I've got a saw throat virus and feeling pretty down so went to see my psychic yesterday and he said chin up i think your team will win tonight and give you some joy so i came home and thought we might get the chocolates but instead all there was last nights loss and some fishermens friend to suck so cant see the joy there.

watching the u18s and seeing another atley and ryan clarkes brother playing keen to see how they go and wonder if we look to draft any of those especially dylan clarke who apparently is very good

i a

i agree with this but should t be able to be used unless an injury occurs not just swapped at 3 qtr

I have been thinking about this for a while and at the very least it should apply when a player fails a concussion test. These days very few players come back on after going off with concussion and the team is left disadvantaged for the rest of the game.

In the old days it was not uncommon for a concussed player to return and still contribute, even though they were not necessarily full aware of what was happening. In a final there may be a temptation for a club to blur the rules a little and send someone back on when they shouldn't .

This is what I see as one of our main problems. McKenzie is a 5th year first rounder and we're only now getting games into him?! Playing guys like FRay and Nahas isn't helping any of the other kids.

I have been thinking about this for a while and at the very least it should apply when a player fails a concussion test. These days very few players come back on after going off with concussion and the team is left disadvantaged for the rest of the game.

In the old days it was not uncommon for a concussed player to return and still contribute, even though they were not necessarily full aware of what was happening. In a final there may be a temptation for a club to blur the rules a little and send someone back on when they shouldn't .
There could also be a temptation for a team to try and 'knock out' a Dangerfield type player, knowing the Doctors will be reluctant to let him back on.

BS should suggest that at his next press conference

Sent from my E6653 using Tapatalk

Review Did Scotts throw a black cat through a mirror whilst walking under a ladder?