Disgraceful = Pagan and his merry men

cypher said:
No, he'll help Teague, Russell, Hartlett down back where we are regularly exposed for height and run.Unless you want to see Morrell and Prendergast running around again instead of an established 142 game backmen. :confused:

I love how we're already bagging a guy who was a very good player, and lumping him in with players like Chambers and Longmuir. :mad:

And exactly how long ago was he very good?

At least you used the word "was" in the sentence.

He's been that injury prone over the last 2-3 years.

He's a stop gap option no more no less, the same as Chambers and Longmuir.

I'm sure he will labour hard for us but the reality is to the average fan on the street if this is the best they can offer them as a sign to rebuilding then i can see fans begin to wonder what the hell are they doing down there.

AndSmithMustScore said:
And exactly how long ago was he very good?

At least you used the word "was" in the sentence.

He's been that injury prone over the last 2-3 years.

He's a stop gap option no more no less, the same as Chambers and Longmuir.

I'm sure he will labour hard for us but the reality is to the average fan on the street if this is the best they can offer them as a sign to rebuilding then i can see fans begin to wonder what the hell are they doing down there.
yeah your right ..it's just not good enough by the Club to only pick up Saddington ..the should have traded :
Lappin for Judd
Campo for J Brown
Sporn for Reiwoldt
Wiggins for Mal Michael
and Prenda for Dean Cox
I can't believe they didn't push these trades hard enough

gandaal said:
Who says Lance got $400,000 a year? Nonsense. Carlton offered $350,000 and he accepted.

As for the trade period, I can live without trading for more hacks. We've got enough of those as it is.

Sure it would've been nice to get some picks for Campo or Lappin but that wasn't going to happen. The reality is that clubs didn't want them that much and I can understand why. Pagan and co can't do anything about that.

The negativity of some of the posters on this board sickens me sometimes.
nice try....

we will also get lappin back on a 3 year contract... camouflaged with a thing called a third year option...
and we will fight to keep campo.

weak!!!

Paddy Hicks said:
Thanks for the great work done during trade week Denis! You and your merry men did a fantastic job to improve our player list. Saddington is all we got?

I like Saddington but why was nothing done for Lappin, Fevola, Whitnall or Camporeale - 1 or 2 of them should have been traded at the very least.

Camporeale and/or Lappin will now walk for free so well done Denis!

What are you smoking, why trade to get someone elses problems, what did you want them to do, trade pick 1 and 4, i say they done the right thing, we have a young side and we should continue down that path, as for campo, im glad he has gone, he has been a sook for years, i say keep up the great work denis

AndSmithMustScore said:
Selwood seems destined for Collingscum , not us.

He doesnt have a choice if he nominates for the psd, he goes to who ever picks him, we have 1st pick, so if we want him and can afford him, he will be at carlton.

irish_setanta said:
What are you smoking, why trade to get someone elses problems, what did you want them to do, trade pick 1 and 4, i say they done the right thing, we have a young side and we should continue down that path, as for campo, im glad he has gone, he has been a sook for years, i say keep up the great work denis

We shouldn't have let Camporeale walk for free, simple as that!

Lappin hopefully will sign but we should have got his signature either during trade week or get something for him, we face the possibility of losing 2 quality midfielders for nothing. We ca ill afford that.

Get your head out of the clouds and have a look at what this really means. The CFC cannot afford to let quality players walk for free.

I think signing Lance and keeping Fev was great news for the club. I don't think we should have traded these guys. I hope Lappin stays but letting Camporeale walk out for free is a disgrace. Get something for him for crying out loud!

Paddy Hicks said:
Thanks for the great work done during trade week Denis! You and your merry men did a fantastic job to improve our player list. Saddington is all we got?

I like Saddington but why was nothing done for Lappin, Fevola, Whitnall or Camporeale - 1 or 2 of them should have been traded at the very least.

Camporeale and/or Lappin will now walk for free so well done Denis!
Reason is that you have a Melb city council CEO doing the trading for you, what do you expect, what does he know about football/trading?

Paddy Hicks said:
We shouldn't have let Camporeale walk for free, simple as that!

Lappin hopefully will sign but we should have got his signature either during trade week or get something for him, we face the possibility of losing 2 quality midfielders for nothing. We ca ill afford that.

Get your head out of the clouds and have a look at what this really means. The CFC cannot afford to let quality players walk for free.

I think signing Lance and keeping Fev was great news for the club. I don't think we should have traded these guys. I hope Lappin stays but letting Camporeale walk out for free is a disgrace. Get something for him for crying out loud!
What would we have got for Campo? Fourth round pick? Hardly worth it really. I would rather get nothing than that hack Bolton. Campo is worth f-all!

juzza316 said:
What would we have got for Campo? Fourth round pick? Hardly worth it really. I would rather get nothing than that hack Bolton. Campo is worth f-all!

I hope you are joking mate. You would rather get nothing for Camporeale. Well that says it all really - I don't know what to say to that comment as it simply is ridiculous. We cannot afford to let players walk fro free. We finished last this year again and need whatever we can get. I would definitely rather Bolton, Bullen, pick 50 or whatever for Camporeale than let him walk for free.

Paddy Hicks said:
I hope you are joking mate. You would rather get nothing for Camporeale. Well that says it all really - I don't know what to say to that comment as it simply is ridiculous. We cannot afford to let players walk fro free. We finished last this year again and need whatever we can get. I would definitely rather Bolton, Bullen, pick 50 or whatever for Camporeale than let him walk for free.

I don't give a sh1t what you say, I don't care if Campo walks! Why would we want duds from the Bombers, when we have enough dud's on our list as it is.We didn't get anything for him, so what does it matter now? Whinging about it isn't going to get us anything for him now!

We didn't get nothing for Camporeale. We got salary cap space for the future, and room on our list for an extra young player.

We didn't want him back next year at the rate he was asking. We also didn't want whatever Essendon offered. I don't know exactly what they offered (and would have personally liked Bullen or Bolton) but there's no point taking a player onto our list if we don't actually want them. The tradeoff is between the player we can get in the draft with our last pick, and what is offered. If the latter is viewed to be better, the only conclusion is to let him walk.

bee dee said:
Reason is that you have a Melb city council CEO doing the trading for you, what do you expect, what does he know about football/trading?
he doesn't do the trading and dealing, he is just answering Q's from the press so the football dept can concentrate on trade week

Negativity may sicken some but what sickens me is the CFC belief that a good, strong list will just fall into its lap. I feel more 'guttered' now than after any previous wasting of high draft picks for hacks.

When will Carlton learn how to seize an opportunity?

Hawthorn has a better list than us but have a far superior drafting position - this should not be happening.

Paddy Hicks said:
The CFC cannot afford to let quality players walk for free.
We didn't! It was Camporeale we let go and a financially struggling club doesn't need any more Bolton's or money-grubbing players.Rather have Selwood than that downhill skier who wasn't prepared to work for his 500-600 K.

bee dee said:
He was doing contract re-negotiations for us not trading. All of his media addresses were about negotiation progress such as Lance re-signing and Campo quitting the club.

Pafloyul said:
Negativity may sicken some but what sickens me is the CFC belief that a good, strong list will just fall into its lap. I feel more 'guttered' now than after any previous wasting of high draft picks for hacks.

When will Carlton learn how to seize an opportunity?

Hawthorn has a better list than us but have a far superior drafting position - this should not be happening.
What opportunity?

Trading Lance for pick 12 which is only 7 picks better than the one that got Ted Richards? No thanks.

Or trade Fev for pick 8 and then pay him to play for Richmond? The club made the right choice in keeping them and will have a stronger hand to play than Hawthorn in next year's draft.

With all those draft picks and Croad and Jacobs the only 25 year olds with more than 100 games to their names.The Hawks are going to have a huge exodus of senior talent (Crawford, Everitt, Barker, Dixon, Lekkas, Smith, Vandenberg) over the next three years and will be on the end of a lot of thrashings like us.

A team needs a mix of experienced and young players or you're risking throwing the draftees to the Wolves before they are ready.Clarkson's going for a long time in the cellar if he keeps trading away senior talent.

Why didn't Hawthorn trade the 31 year old Everitt if it's such a good policy? Sydney would have paid above the odds for an ageing ruckmen and given up picks 19, 35 and 51.

It is not how high a draft pick is it is what you can concievably get with it.

I am sure that we would have got more on top of pick twelve for Whitnall.

You have to be prepaired to take risks in order for a greater benifit in the long term or you will go nowhere. I don't want Carlton to finnish mid-ladder for the rest of its existance. As I said on CSC, how do the Carlton FC hope to gain 'the edge' when there are fifteen other clubs with the same idea?

Where is the evidence that Carlton has any plans other than just 'treading water'?

some steps that resemble a plan

don't offer 3 year contracts without board approval
don't be held to ransom by players re contract length/salaries
don't trade away 1st or 2nd round draft picks without board approval
with a late draft pick in 2002 selecting A Raso who was touted as being a top 10 pick in 2005

what guarantees are there hawtorn will win a premiership with their current players? there are no guarantees

st kilda have arguable the most talented list, but twice now they have not made the GF.

for years now the CFC have allowed players to basically run the show, this culture has to stop. if that means losing campo for nothing then so be it.

no induvidual is bigger than the CFC and letting campo go or nothing reinforces this statement.

irish_setanta said:
He doesnt have a choice if he nominates for the psd, he goes to who ever picks him, we have 1st pick, so if we want him and can afford him, he will be at carlton.

He can price himself so that clubs will not want him.

He can say to Carlton i want 400k a year, then we pass on him and he gets to Collingscum where they pay him 275k a year.

AndSmithMustScore said:

He can say to Carlton i want 400k a year, then we pass on him and he gets to Collingscum where they pay him 275k a year.
my understanding is whatever price a player puts on his head, they must be paid that, there can be no re-negotialting

that is why the player must nominate their price and advise the AFL

also- all afl contracts are reviewed by the afl

juzza316 said:
I don't give a sh1t what you say, I don't care if Campo walks! Why would we want duds from the Bombers, when we have enough dud's on our list as it is.We didn't get anything for him, so what does it matter now? Whinging about it isn't going to get us anything for him now!

I think if you trade a player for a pick you have to use that pick. Meaning, if we said to Essendon, just give your 4th round pick, we would be forced to use that pick even if there wasn't someone late in the draft we want. No point being forced to take a dud. Maybe I'm wrong, but I remember something about this on the trade board. I think with Campo, the players we actually wanted from Essendon and which Essendon were willing to trade didnt want to come to Carlton and we probably didn't really want a fourth round draft pick we were forced to use (I think Essendon need their 3rd rounder for FS). Even if we weren't forced to use a traded pick, foregoing a 4th rounder to make things difficult for Campo and Essendon seems worth it ;-).

AndSmithMustScore said:

No you are so wrong, he has to nominate his price to the afl, he cant say i want 400 to play for carlton and 275 for collingwood, it doesnt work that way, he has to nominate a price and who ever picks him has to pay that price, so if he nominates 400, carlton, collingwood or anyone else who drafts him has to pay the same price as any other team would have.Thats what makes it fair to all teams, if what you are saying is true, why didnt nick stevens do that to us a few years back?

juzza316 said:

Mature!

It's no whinging mate, I'm just not agreeing with the line they have taken with Camporeale. I don't think we should have traded for heaps of recycled players or whatever - what I'm saying is that we should have got something, anything for him, even pick 60 as we could use it on a kid.

Pick 60 could be a Heath Hocking or Alipate Carlile from the TAC Cup. That's what I'm saying and you think they did the right thing, come on!

Disgraceful = Pagan and his merry men