Do the Lions lack a bit of grit?

Nov 7, 2000
Melbourne, Vic.
I was having a discussion with a Roys supporter the other week about Fitzroy's finals appearances in the 80's. One comment that was made was that the Roys didn't have that physical edge to beat the likes of Collingwood and Hawthorn, and other teams of the like, who had finals experience over a number of years. There were a couple of times in the 80's, when the Roys met some of these top sides in do or die clashes, and were not up to it physically, and ultimately were intimidated into losing the game.

With this in mind, one thing that seems to be a major factor in successful teams, is the ability of that team to intimidate the opposition physically.

Take a look at the likes of WCE and North in the early and late 90's respectively, as well Essendon and Carlton of recent. The successes of those units can be partly put down to how they go about dealing with the opposition. All of these teams have/had and excellent intimidation factor.

In the preliminary final of 1999, there were stages when the Lions looked small compared to that of the Roos players. Comparitively, they weren't 'actually' smaller, but they certainly looked smaller in stature.

Similarly, against Carlton in this year's finals series, the Lions were smashed by the likes of Hamill, Allan, Porter and others. A lot of times the Lions just looked to be taking the second step to the ball, rather than being the first in, breaking the packs.

It's not that the Lions don't have the ability or skill to match it with these sides either. For instance, the manner in which the Lions have disposed of weaker sides over the last 2 seasons is very similar to that of Essendon and Carlton in 2000. On paper, the Lions also have just as much talent on average across the field as any of the other top sides.

However, when we seem to encounter any one of these to sides in a do or die clash, we seem to be intimidated into losing. Similarly, we seem unable to match the intensity set by these top sides. If the Lions are to be a premiership side, they need to set the intensity themselves, leaving the opposition to match it (let them play to our tune - which is what has happened to us).

One comment at this year's finals meeting against Carlton was "they don't know when to play the man".

Apart from taking this as a comment to imply that the Lions should play 'dirty', you could also take it that the Lions don't know when to play in a physical way to win a game.

I think knowing when to run through an opposition player is just as much a part of top football as is good disposal, team work, and any other attribute you care to name.

I'm not suggesting that the Lions do a Mick Martyn, and belt someone senseless for the sake of winning - however, there are plenty of other ways of showing your physicallity and marking a stamp of authority on the game.

IMO, this is the one area that the Lions lack in their game. They don't have that physical edge when confronting top sides. Similarly, against top side, the Lions often get caught playing to 'their tune' - often unable to match this intensity. In 1999, the preliminary final was won by North on the basis that the Lions let them play 'their' game too much. The same happened against Carlton this year - we were smashed out of the midfield, and then offered very little resistence in defense.

In both cases, the physicality of the opposition appeared to be a major factor in which way the game turned at crucial points. A lot of these crucial points were signified by big name players putting their body in and doing the big things (ie: G.Archer's goal in the 3rd qtr from 60m out in 1999, and A.Hamill for most of the game in 2000).

Apart from the likes of Voss, Molloy, C.Scott, Lawrence, A.Lynch, and a few others, in the last two years we haven't had many individual players who have been capable of emulating similar feats on the field.

The drafting of M.Pike, and the growing stature of some of the other players should help to combat this.

However, is it also a case of "team/club culture" coming into play? Clubs like Essendon, Carlton, and North (in the 90's), have almost seen it as their right to win, and take the opportunity by the throat. This type of thinking seems to be bred-in at these clubs. Part of the culture.

In contrast, you have a club like Geelong, who were easily good enough going on ability alone, to have won one or more premierships in the 90's. However, in most cases they came up against opposition who took it up to them physically, and showed them up as not having the grit required to win a premiership. Similarly, their record through the 90's, albeit quite good, has also been fairly erratic.

Then you also have a club like St.Kilda, who having only won one premiership, always seem to falter against the top sides, despite often having shown enough ability beforehand. Afterall, they were favourites in 1997. Similarly, their record since hasn't been that notable.

Similarly, Fitzroy's record in the 80's also showed that they were an extremely capable side, however, were knocked out by more experienced and physically tougher opposition teams such as Collingwood, Hawthorn, Carlton etc.

IMO, Leigh Matthews is one of the best people available to give this sort of "club culture" to the Lions. However, is it also a case that this type of culture is "bred" into a club, via it's history of successes?

I'm interested to know what other people think. Does anybody else reckon that our major downfall over the past few years has been not being able to match it with the top sides physically in do or die clashes?

Is it just a case of experience, or is it something that can be 'taught' to the players?

Do people agree that club culture is an important aspect?

Hi Olmy,

Good post & goes to the heart of why we have faltered. After a "nearly there" season in 1999, 2000 came along & the small gap seemed to widen to a huge chasm.

I would like to look at 2 finals.

1999 v Roos what went wrong?

height - hard to compete with height & the Lions have smaller list than most.
injuries - had injuries to key players in all positions forward, midfield, back.
suspensions - to 2 key players

Lions v Carlton 2000 what went wrong.

Well all I can say is inexperience. Sides like the Hawks are held up as a young team making good, but I cannot ever work out why the Lions with only a small handful of older players are not held up in the similar light.

Looking at this game we had a handful of 18-19 year olds, & mostly young 20's players in key positions. IMO you cannot win big pressure games until you get a side with reasonably even experience across all positions. North & Essendon premiership sides all fitted this profile.

With regard to the "intimidation" factor - again in the Lions case of 1999 I cannot see that they were intimidated. Still went in with a lead at 1/2 time. From what I rememember even Leigh Matthews said he couldnt quite believe it. To me that shows a lot of guts & determination.

I think also that what looks like intimidation can actually be indecision under pressure, leading to bad options or skill errors. This can either be inexperience or lack of true class. Like all supporters I like to gloss over the clas issue, but only time will tell with these players.

If you look at the broken dispirited side North in the final 2000 - Essendon flailed the Roos & made them look silly. You cant tell me the Roos were intimiated, they were outclassed.

I think that with the players we have we should be aiming at 2 years to get that necessary experience. The players like Bolton, Brown, Cupido, Headland Knoble & macDonald will have had 3 or more seasons & hopefully more finals experience under their belt.

I think Brisbane have always lacked in one department .... they have never had a "big unit" to kick to up front.

We need a plugger or a dunstall .... a star who will step up to the plate for the big games .... until we get one, forget about winning any flag.

------------------
Anyway, that's what I reckon ........

mud n blood

Hi Mud & Blood,

I disagree. It is a team game. Relying on one player is no good these days.

Geelong had Ablett but look how many flags he won for them - 0. Look at Plugger - 0.

Dunstall was a great player in a great team.

No you need the best defence, midfield & forwards. Does not mean an individual, but a group.

Anyway Bradshaw going to be our gun forward?

I wouldn't discount Lynch and Molloy as having provided a 'big-man' up front. Once again with Molloy in 99, it came down to the fact that he didn't have as much effect against North as he did in previous weeks. Lynch was still a dodgy prospect at that stage (even though he fared alright for the game).

I think Lynch is just as good as anyone in the league for providing a big man up forward - in fact he's probably the best 'true' big man up forward in the league (going on 2000 performances).

But as was said, you can't just rely on one player to do the job.

I think as a team we lack the overall ability to stand up to our opponents (the top sides) and give them something to think about.

Imagine if we could combine the team work and spot on skills of our 10 win streak in 1999, along with the physical presence or 'grit'. Wow, now that would be fantastic!

Originally posted by InTheBack!:
With regard to the "intimidation" factor - again in the Lions case of 1999 I cannot see that they were intimidated. Still went in with a lead at 1/2 time. From what I rememember even Leigh Matthews said he couldnt quite believe it. To me that shows a lot of guts & determination.

I think also that what looks like intimidation can actually be indecision under pressure, leading to bad options or skill errors. This can either be inexperience or lack of true class. Like all supporters I like to gloss over the clas issue, but only time will tell with these players.

Good point. But isn't making mistakes under pressure also a result of intimidation? That was one of North and Carlton's great tactics against us in those two finals. They kept on coming at us, physically, and forcing our guys into errors. It happened at crucial times, when the Lions looked like getting back, but a resulting turnover just worsened the problem.

I still think we were intimidated in that game against the Roos. Against North when we went in with the lead at 1/2 time, it was down to an extremely good quarter by the likes of Lappin and Ashcroft to get us back in it after being out of it for the first bit (then you also have A.Stevens going out of it which helped us a bit).

The first quarter. C.McKernan killed us in the air, Carey provided a target, and I think C.Sholl also snared a few (albeit Sholl is as soft as the proverbial). To me, it looked a lot like the Lions were intimidated in that first bit. They just didn't look like they wanted to go anywhere near those bigger players.

Whether it was a lack of finals experience, or just a lack of suitable players, they sure looked like as if they were to be taught a lesson in that 1st quarter. That was partly where the game was won. They spent too much coming back in the 2nd. Eventually North won out through weight of numbers. But the damage was already done in that first bit.

The North forwards looked far more commanding than ours. McKernan and Carey figured at key moments, and Sholl also provided a good support. Then you have the midfielders like D.King who just didn't take a backward step all night along with G.Archer who came into his own in the second half. Match that with the thug tactics of Martyn and McCartney and the Lions just didn't seem able to keep up.

One example was in the third quarter. The ball went OOB near where I was sitting. In fact, it was at a crucial time in the game, when the Lions looked about ready to break down the wing and kick a goal. Some brilliant play from Archer and Pickett stopped them.

Notting was on Archer at the time. After the ball went out, Archer starts having a go at Notting, pushing, shoving, hip and shouldering. To this Notting replied by running away (literally!).

I can't remember if this was after, or before that famous Archer goal, but I clearly remember the Roos rallying behind that type of play. It was the point where I knew our fate was sealed.

There was always a chance that we could have come back from there (as well as in the last quarter), but it would have taken one of the greatest efforts in football - considering that North were on a roll at that point. They were as good in that match as they ever were.

It just seems in the 'big games' that our 'big players' seem to have less of an impact on the outcome of the game. Kennedy was missing that night, Molloy was too (I can't remember Leppitsch's performance off hand). Both of them had been right in it in weeks before so they weren't down on form.

I put this down to the fact that they weren't up to it at that point in time. They seemed intimidated by the intensity that was put on them physically by the oppostion, which caused errors, turnovers etc.

Hmm. It makes you realise just how much we need a fit C.Keating in our side! Here's hoping he makes a return in 2001!

GO LIONS!!!

Originally posted by Danni:
Imagine if we could combine the team work and spot on skills of our 10 win streak in 1999, along with the physical presence or 'grit'. Wow, now that would be fantastic!

I think a lot of that was missing right from the start in 2000. I put it down to a poor pre-season (which occured for a number of reasons).

Hopefully pre-season for 2001 will be a lot better!

InTheBack .... I'm not saying that they should be a one man team .... the title is "do they lack grit" .... no, I don't think they do. I feel they have plenty of the "right stuff", just that the only thing stopping them from jagging a flag is one big man up front, as well as the team they have now - a target - a sole fearsome attacking man - this is the area they have always lacked.

------------------
Anyway, that's what I reckon ........

mud n blood

Mud n Blood, we have never, in my opinion, had a true CHF - that is what we need!!!

Now a fit Keating could fill that role. But also, even tho Beau has done a fantastic job in the last 12 months, we still need Keating in the ruck too. Maybe in another year of so, Beau could take on the full time ruck role.

Hi Olmy,

I think your story on Archer & Notting says a lot! I acknowledge that North has some hard heads that can back up their physical play with talent.

As an aside, I was very interested to hear some Melbourne supporters comment that they thought the Lions players played like "thugs" after some particularly impressive Lions defence in their game at Docklands. Interesting to get another perspective on it.

Mabye Matthews needs to build on that & take the Sheedy/Essendon marshmallow approach to fire up his players?

After all Essendon were a talented team that were perceived to be a bit flashy & this season past has put paid to that!

As an aside, I was very interested to hear some Melbourne supporters comment that they thought the Lions players played like "thugs" after some particularly impressive Lions defence in their game at Docklands. Interesting to get another perspective on it.

Yeah, I remember a few comments like that during the game. (Then again, where deos that leave D.Neitz after running through C.Bolton!).

I guess though, when it got down to the crunch, it was D.Schwarz who broke the packs to ensure the sealing goals for Melbourne (that was one thing I made a point of at the time).

It was like as if the Lions were prepared to do the hard stuff as long as they weren't challenged. When they were, they just stood back.

That's one thing about the Lions that always seems happen. Whenever a team lays down the challenge to them, they cave in. It's like as if when opposition teams play good against them, they think "we're not up to this", and get run-over.

It's probably a harsh call, but you'll find that a number of Victorian sides probably view the Lions in that light. Hawthorn certainly do (it was even mentioned in the media), and you have to give it to them - they beat us twice in 2000 - both times they really put the challenge up to us, and we weren't strong enough to give them a challenge back.

The only time I've seen the Lions SERIOUSLY face up to a challenge against a top side was in that 1999 preliminary final against North. As it happened, North were good enough to lay down 'another' challenge, and we just didn't have the legs to go on. I guess you could say that the 2000 games against Sydney (not a top side at any rate), the Roos and Carlton fit into a similar mould, but you could also argue that both of those teams had outdone themselves in previous quarters.

But in 2000, most of the matches we lost, it was not because we weren't good enough. A lot of them were lost because the team as a whole (barring the outstanding individuals) were not prepared to face a challenge.

The loses to Melbourne, Richmond, Hawthorn (2), Port Adelaide, and Fremantle (6 games in total) were all games that were within the Lions grasp after 1/2 time. These opposition sides were able to lay down the challenge to the Lions, who were unable to answer. Some of these opposition sides didn't even make the finals.

This is what I believe is holding us back from being a true top side, and winning a premiership. The team has the ability, but they also need to have the mentality that says "we're going to go out and win regardless of what the opposition do".

GO LIONS!!!

Hopefully seeing a lot more of b.voss on the footy field this year, i really think he will excell, though i like it how you are putting your thoughts across on two forums, very considerate of you to share your articulate opinions with more people. Are you in training yet

Peter, get back to the yahoo forum you maniac.

I see that you also use the John Howard name under this forum as well.

That's right, I remember you mentioning your back in the social club at Coburg, Olmy. No luck yet bringing it back into gear? Hope it comes good for yer soon, mate.

One question, this bad back, was it from too much of it ... or from too little of it?

Cheers.

yeah, the games that were winnable last year that we lost really hurt.

mabye thats why the players need a rev up - some sort of mental conditioning.

the marshmallow trick semed to have worked for Essendon

Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer:
That's right, I remember you mentioning your back in the social club at Coburg, Olmy. No luck yet bringing it back into gear? Hope it comes good for yer soon, mate.

One question, this bad back, was it from too much of it ... or from too little of it?

Cheers.

Too much GOLF Kev! Not to mention lifting oversized boxes for a local school book distribution company early in 2000. Nah, it's got a fair bit better actually! Thanks.

I'm getting all pumped up for season 2001 at Brunswick St. Should be a ripper!

You never know though, there might even be a special event held there later on this year, which would be fitting of your Roymanship's presence!

Stay tuned!

yeah, the games that were winnable last year that we lost really hurt.

mabye thats why the players need a rev up - some sort of mental conditioning.

the marshmallow trick semed to have worked for Essendon

So what are you saying? We feed them marshmallows before games?
wink.gif

I agree though, we need someone to come out and publically question the mental toughness of our team. The Hawthorn clash and the Gary Lyon comments afterwards came close this season - but we need something bigger, like the Sheedy/Pagan incident. Not to mention it'll make for a good slagging-off session on bigfooty!

Hope you don't mind an outsider putting in his five cents worth.

Do the Lions lack a bit of grit? Well, the only time that the Lions lack grit is when a Michael Voss isn't playing. It seems to me that he is as vital to the mental strength of the Lions side as Paul Kelly is to Sydney's. I remember reading a report of how the Lions players felt down after Voss pulled out of the side just before the '96 Preliminary Final. When he is playing, the players around him seem to play with more confidence.

The '99 Preliminary Final result had two sides to it. Firstly, the Lions lost players before the game to suspension and injury. Secondly, you were playing a North team that was hellbent on making up for our screw up in the '98 Grand Final. Forget the final margin...it was blown out by our last 5 goals....but your boys took the physical pressure and just kept on coming back. A team that lacks grit stays down...but your team kept on fighting on.

I think that your boys will be one of the main challengers to Essendon for next year's premiership. AS long as you can keep Voss on the field, I don't think you should be worried about any lack of grit.

Ok then Olmy, I'll keep my ears to the wall and also to the ground, so I'll on my face on the floor in the corner for a while. Or you could just drop the beans to me now. I should be seeing at least half a dozen of their games.

PS : Get back to the Lions Forum (It just seemed to be a popular request. Perhaps there could be a petition.)

True Grit ! You need initiators - in and under types like Lambert / Hocking / Ratten who can get fired up but have the in-clode skills and vision - and then you need gamebreakers - the big mark, take on the pack, the desperate tackle ( sometimes known as team leaders ).
The Lions have a solid core ( class of 96 I guess ) of skilled - Lappin, White -, tough - Akermanis, CScott - explosive - Leppitsch, Lynch - types lead by the all-in-one Voss. This nucleus must be manitained and added to - Black, Power, Bradshaw - on EVERY line. The Bombers have got this with any number of unsung tough nuts.
What we have lacked - for ever it seems - is the contested mark. This tends to result in huge turnovers as our running forward game gets exposed. Witness THAT final V Blues. Did anyone take a mark ? We had a couple of large players - even one-on-one failed. Contested marks is one of those 'loose end' real football skills that you either have or not ( endless kick to kick at school ).
I think we need more 'real' football skills, and Pike and Michael will help considerably. But PLEASE get someone to teach Beau and Trent to grab the thing when it's in the air - they've got one of the primary ingredients - heigth. A tall going forward can really break a game open.

Do the Lions lack a bit of grit?