Do we the wider footy public support Essendon as per Little's comment today?

Do you back Essendon in their fight against ASADA?

• Yes, all the way with Jimmy Hird and his merry band of men

Votes: 14 2.7%
  • No, burn the joint down

Votes: 487 93.3%
  • Don't care, pass me the scotch

Votes: 21 4.0%

I reckon Little has his head up his a$$ if they think that the weight of public support if pro-essendon. The more they talk the more they make it worse. They would be best advised to just shut the hell up and deal with it behind closed doors as comments like these just make people look at them worse.

It seems that the comments section in any of the newspapers is now full of people unhappy at Littles/Essendons actions, unfortunately for all involved, if the players have been injected with banned supplements, then even though they were most likely duped they have to pay the penalty, it is the only way to clear this mess up.

As for the coach and the football department I have no sympathy at all and they should be banned from coaching for life if the large amount of evidence against them proves to be true after all it is they and not ASADA that has brought this shit storm down on the players.

I have no sympathy for the club, so I am most definitely not on their side.

I am also probably one of the minority who has little sympathy for the players either. These are professional sportsmen, who have been made fully aware of their responsibilities regarding drugs. I simply don't buy ignorance or "trust" as an excuse on their part.

Apparently the AFL presidents do NOT support Essendon...

http://www.watoday.com.au/afl/afl-news/rivals-urge-essendon-to-accept-penalties-20140616-zs9z2.html

AFL club presidents have expressed serious disenchantment with Essendon and its chairman Paul Little, increasingly enraged that Little’s latest round of legal manoeuvring is holding the game to ransom.

Fairfax Media understands that rival clubs are considering bringing forward a crisis meeting of all 18 clubs in a bid to bring some closure to the drugs saga.

The next scheduled meeting of club presidents is not until the end of September, but several clubs have contacted AFL chiefs in recent days urging the league to stand up to the Bombers’ litigious chairman.

West Coast chairman Alan Cransberg echoed the private and public thoughts of 10 club bosses contacted on Monday when he said: “I just think it’s a bloody pity that we’re going to have at least another 18 months of this circus. At some stage you’ve got to take your right whack.”

Very telling...

no club contacted on Monday prepared to defend Little.

West Coast:
West Coast chairman Alan Cransberg echoed the private and public thoughts of 10 club bosses contacted on Monday when he said: “I just think it’s a bloody pity that we’re going to have at least another 18 months of this circus. At some stage you’ve got to take your right whack.”

Geelong:
Geelong boss Colin Carter said: “When Paul Little says he has the support of the AFL community, he shouldn’t assume he’s talking about us.

“This is going to have a damaging effect on the reputation of the competition and every time the AFL pays a legal bill every one of us is paying one-eighteenth of that amount.”
Carter echoed Fitzpatrick’s position in supporting Essendon’s right to take ASADA to the Federal Court. But in a pointed remark, Carter said: “You can’t deny them that right regardless of the ethics involved.”

Port Adelaide:
Port Adelaide’s David Koch warned the Australian sporting community and the international sporting community were closely watching the AFL’s handling of the drug allegations levelled against Essendon.

‘‘I want them to see that we are absolutely true to our values and that we are prepared to stand by the values which supposedly define us,’’ Koch said.

“We cannot fight this on technicalities; we’ve got to fight this on facts. Especially when we pride ourselves on being absolutely relentless in ensuring that our sport is clean. It doesn't matter who individuals are or their reputations in our code – they have to be dealt with correctly.”

Hawthorn:
Hawthorn president Andrew Newbold, who reportedly strongly challenged Little when the 17 clubs called Essendon to account last August, and whose coach Alastair Clarkson aired his disappointment at the game being hijacked last year, said on Monday: “I think our view from a Hawthorn point of view and an industry point of view is well known. You don’t need me to say how it’s affecting the game. It’s obvious.”

Adelaide:
Adelaide chairman Rob Chapman, whose club takes on the Bombers on Saturday week, said he looked forward to discussing the issue first hand with Little.

“I know what it’s like to be under scrutiny, and we still get that here,’’ he said. ‘‘But this does have to end sooner rather than later. It’s distracting for everybody because it’s taking the focus from what is shaping up as a great season.”

GWS:
Greater Western Sydney chairman Tony Shepherd said of the Essendon scandal: “I think it is debilitating ... The sooner this is fixed the better for the whole competition. The other 17 clubs have always put the AFL first, supporting the game in what it is trying to do.”

Just look at all that support that the wider AFL has for Essendon:rolleyes:

It can be against the rules to engage in conduct that is unbecoming or likely to prejudice the interests or reputation of the Australian Football League, or to bring the game of football into disrepute

Just a question, and this may sound a little harsh..But do you actually understand what you just typed..If so please explain how what you have typed is relevant to a team rushing behinds in an error where it is well within the rules.

I am intrigued..I think I speak for many when I say, we all are..You have my full attention..

What ever people say about Collingwood being feral and the like, I don't think they've ever cheated. Their achievements have always being legal.

Baw haw haw.

Leaving recent years aside, learn a little more about how Collingwood managed the great period of success in their history.

A complete bogan club. All clubs have bogan elements, but Essendon have managed to make their entire ethos bogan.

The same petty mix of entitlement and lack of personal responsibility, and it has become so sickening it threatens what little remains of the competition's relevance and credibility.

Bogan elements, entitlement and lack of personal responsibility. All in the same post. By a Collingwood supporter about another Club?

THe landscape is indeed changing.

Just a question, and this may sound a little harsh..But do you actually understand what you just typed..If so please explain how what you have typed is relevant to a team rushing behinds in an error where it is well within the rules.

I am intrigued..I think I speak for many when I say, we all are..You have my full attention..
A person shall be deemed to have engaged in conduct which is unbecoming or likely to prejudice the reputation or interests of the AFL or to bring the game of football into disrepute if a reasonable person would regard that conduct as unbecoming or likely to prejudice the reputation or interests of the AFL or to bring the game of football into disrepute

It is quite reasonable to suggest that the deliberate rush of behinds that were used to run time of the clock was an unprecedented strategy which immediately brought the game of football into disrepute. Thankfully the AFL quickly closed this loophole within a couple of months before it was a real problem

A person shall be deemed to have engaged in conduct which is unbecoming or likely to prejudice the reputation or interests of the AFL or to bring the game of football into disrepute if a reasonable person would regard that conduct as unbecoming or likely to prejudice the reputation or interests of the AFL or to bring the game of football into disrepute

It is quite reasonable to suggest that the deliberate rush of behinds that were used to run time of the clock was an unprecedented strategy which immediately brought the game of football into disrepute. Thankfully the AFL quickly closed this loophole within a couple of months before it was a real problem

Can you comprehend the difference between breaking rules and manipulating them? These are 2 totally different things. Your current argument suggests you don't understand either.. The spin has been spun so far you are now stuck in the web...
The bombers last year weren't kicked out for breaking a specific rule it was deemed that their governance brought the game into disrepute

Look at the poll, outside of cult HQ and the faithful, no one supports your argument.

It would appear that the only way Essendon will ever accept what it did is for the players to be taken down. Not the ideal outcome but as your club seems to think itself somehow above the law there is only one solution, for it to be gutted.

Do we the wider footy public support Essendon as per Little's comment today?