Do we the wider footy public support Essendon as per Little's comment today?

Do you back Essendon in their fight against ASADA?

• Yes, all the way with Jimmy Hird and his merry band of men

Votes: 14 2.7%
  • No, burn the joint down

Votes: 487 93.3%
  • Don't care, pass me the scotch

Votes: 21 4.0%

Little Jobe may lose a bit as well.

A misdiagnosed hip flexor for 12 months? Give me a break. Pretty obvious the smokescreen. No booing for Jobe ;)

With the current information you have at your disposal, re: AOD, you choose this path to argue a point? You have the knowledge that ASADA have withheld the fact they did not provide accurate advice in relation to AOD, yet elect to goad posters with redundant points?

C'mon BOWN. Pretend you are better than that. Your other posts deny you the right to hide behind this BS angle.

Putting it in bold doesn't make it a fact. The only facts at our disposal are that Dank was told to contact ASADA on AOD, that Hird knew it was experimental, that players believe they were given it, that Dr Reid was not at all happy players were given it, and that McDevitt said this week that ASADA has decided not to send show cause notices to players over it because players could not reasonably have been expected to get to the bottom of its status before May 2013. We also have a range of claims about the extent to which it has been tested, and we know it hasn't been approved anywhere in the world to give to humans.

Everything else is guesswork and/or deliberate misinformation. But nothing you or EFC guess or claim goes anywhere near countering what we know about the risks that were taken when it was administered. And that's a fact.

LoL... Toss it around anyway you want fellas but the problem lies more on the fact that there were gaping holes in the law which we all know they tried to adjust on the run...

A rule needed to be in place where in such a case, a rougue genius could be disciplined (giving players grey area drugs knowing they will ultimately be the only ones hauled in)...

Said genius knew this all along that a clear blame path could not be established because of (at the time) structured legeslation... Yet many want to ban players for pound of flesh fulfilment...

We hired the wrong guy, we believed the wrong guy, we got a huge smack for hiring the wrong guy... Forcing players to admit guilt in this scenario is wrong... Beat the club up all you want for mistakes but hoping and praying for our players demise to get joy is preet flipping sad...

LoL... Toss it around anyway you want fellas but the problem lies more on the fact that there were gaping holes in the law which we all know they tried to adjust on the run...

A rule needed to be in place where in such a case, a rougue genius could be disciplined (giving players grey area drugs knowing they will ultimately be the only ones hauled in)...

Said genius knew this all along that a clear blame path could not be established because of (at the time) structured legeslation... Yet many want to ban players for pound of flesh fulfilment...

We hired the wrong guy, we believed the wrong guy, we got a huge smack for hiring the wrong guy... Forcing players to admit guilt in this scenario is wrong... Beat the club up all you want for mistakes but hoping and praying for our players demise to get joy is preet ruddy sad...

You don't understand how the WADA code works. There is no way for the players to be let off if they are found to have taken banned substances. The sentence is mandatory 2 years, which can be reduced to 6 months.

If you do the 'crime' then under the WADA code, you will do the time. There are no ifs or buts.

The fact that the officials at your club continue to be so arrogant and refuse to acknowlede fault and show remorse for what they have done is leaving a player ban as the only way to ram the message home. Factr facts, people are fed up with Little, Hird and all the other cultists who refuse to accept the penatly that was always coming. Its the price that has to be paid, as per the WADA code.

You don't understand how the WADA code works. There is no way for the players to be let off if they are found to have taken banned substances. The sentence is mandatory 2 years, which can be reduced to 6 months.

If you do the 'crime' then under the WADA code, you will do the time. There are no ifs or buts.

The fact that the officials at your club continue to be so arrogant and refuse to acknowlede fault and show remorse for what they have done is leaving a player ban as the only way to ram the message home. Factr facts, people are fed up with Little, Hird and all the other cultists who refuse to accept the penatly that was always coming. Its the price that has to be paid, as per the WADA code.

I do understand theWADA code fine... And I appreciate you totally missing the point of what I said... LoL

Investigation going for 16 months, and still people don't understand that PROFESSIONAL ATHLETES ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR SUBSTANCES THEY INGEST.

Maybe it needs to go another 16 months?

The outpouring for the players is really weird. You would think they had:

- No responsibility for what happened, even though they have legislated responsibility;

- No insight, even though they are educated about drugs in sport;

- No inkling that something was wrong, even though they were receiving huge numbers of injections into the stomach without any medical supervision; and

- No intuition that something was wrong, even though they were bulking up like genetically modified animals.

If these guys get off with six month sentences they've done very well for themselves.

I do feel sorry for them that their long term health is potentially at risk, but question why then they maintain blind faith in the board, management and coaches that put them in this position in the first place.

Investigation going for 16 months, and still people don't understand that PROFESSIONAL ATHLETES ARE RESPONSIBLE FOR SUBSTANCES THEY INGEST.

Maybe it needs to go another 16 months?

The outpouring for the players is really weird. You would think they had:

- No responsibility for what happened, even though they have legislated responsibility;

- No insight, even though they are educated about drugs in sport;

- No inkling that something was wrong, even though they were receiving huge numbers of injections into the stomach without any medical supervision; and

- No intuition that something was wrong, even though they were bulking up like genetically modified animals.

If these guys get off with six month sentences they've done very well for themselves.

I do feel sorry for them that their long term health is potentially at risk, but question why then they maintain blind faith in the board, management and coaches that put them in this position in the first place.

Yes, I always think of what happened to the Chinese female swimmers. They were injected by their coaches/doctors and had no right to question, no access to independent information or a sporting body to contact. Despite all of this they got the full 2 year bans.

Essendon players were by comparison, in a much better positon.

We hired the wrong guy, we believed the wrong guy, we got a huge smack for hiring the wrong guy... Forcing players to admit guilt in this scenario is wrong... Beat the club up all you want for mistakes but hoping and praying for our players demise to get joy is preet ruddy sad...

There's a couple of issues in what you say. There was more than one rogue guy. The whole admin knew what was happening to those players. You even had them sign waivers, so there is no one rogue. And what did these "great blokes" at Essendon do? Reid wrote a letter (which then went missing) and then did what? Bomber "back the boys" Thompson voiced his disapproval, then did what? Hird was even injecting himself with menotonine so, we know where he stood on the issue (as evidenced by the text messages). Corcoran? Evans? mate, your club new what was happening and everyone sat on there hands. You only self reported at the urging of Vlad.
As for it being unlawful, other bodies have co-operated with their countries versions of ASADA to complete cases. It's ironic that Little is suggesting the action is not about challenging on technicalities when it's exactly that. A challenge on a legal technicality.
Where people are angry with the issues on a few fronts -
1. the total lack of unaccountability of some key figures in the heirachy of your club.
2. the fact that while your club suggests they accepted the sanctions, it's very clear they haven't morally
3. the lack of remorse from your supporter base. The attitude of many of your supporters is just looney tunes. #standbyhird

So there's some light reading material for you.

There's a couple of issues in what you say. There was more than one rogue guy. The whole admin knew what was happening to those players. You even had them sign waivers, so there is no one rogue. And what did these "great blokes" at Essendon do? Reid wrote a letter (which then went missing) and then did what? Bomber "back the boys" Thompson voiced his disapproval, then did what? Hird was even injecting himself with menotonine so, we know where he stood on the issue (as evidenced by the text messages). Corcoran? Evans? mate, your club new what was happening and everyone sat on there hands. You only self reported at the urging of Vlad.
As for it being unlawful, other bodies have co-operated with their countries versions of ASADA to complete cases. It's ironic that Little is suggesting the action is not about challenging on technicalities when it's exactly that. A challenge on a legal technicality.
1. the total lack of unaccountability of some key figures in the heirachy of your club.
2. the fact that while your club suggests they accepted the sanctions, it's very clear they haven't morally
3. the lack of remorse from your supporter base. The attitude of many of your supporters is just looney tunes. #standbyhird

It is semi humorous that EFC, after making Dank the primary villain, who was seemingly on a frolic of his own, is now asking the same Dank for help.

Well done... You explained that you understand everything that's bantered around here quite well except the point I was making...

I think the players were complicit. At least partially. They have brains don't they?

It is semi humorous that EFC, after making Dank the primary villain, who was seemingly on a frolic of his own, is now asking the same Dank for help.

Yep. Irony isn't lost on me. It's just ridiculous. So, they agree to the joint investigation, go through the process, and then after show causes are issued, NOW it becomes unlawful and natural justice is being denied. Like they weren't leaking shit to the media as well through their fanboi's in Rohan Connelly and Slobbo on 360 and through his media columns.
The weapon hasn't even warmed up yet. Wait till he tips a bucket. Why isn't the EFC calling on the Weapon for assistance? He was the first to go after all.

Well done... You explained that you understand everything that's bantered around here quite well except the point I was making...

Nah mate, you missed the point. I think I answered pretty straight forward. Re-read what I wrote. It addresses what you say pretty clearly.
Or are you trying to hang your hat on the head of ASADA regurgitating what was said publically 16 months ago if players step forward and get a reduction in sentences? There was no open bribe on air, he re-stated facts.

I think the players were complicit. At least partially. They have brains don't they?

I can understand the younger blokes not piping up, but, where were the senior leaders at the club? Where was their objection? Not one bloke in 40 questioned it outside of the club???????

And that's the pity. These blokes have made a huge error in judgement. But, their body is their responsibility. They signed the waivers, so they consented.

While I clearly do not agree with what Little said at the presser, I don't think he really has much option other than to try this line.

If Malifice is close to the money here http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threa...fences-liability.1066592/page-7#post-33538009 EFC are looking down the barrel of a financial 12 guage shotgun with both chambers cocked. The directors have a duty to the company to do whatever is in their powers to the benefit of the company.

Technically as the players have not brought this action they have no risk should it fail (From what I have read - seems more likely to fail than succeed) but, whether ASADA still want to offer discounts if any of them provide substantial assistance remains to be seen.

I reckon Little has his head up his a$$ if they think that the weight of public support if pro-essendon. The more they talk the more they make it worse. They would be best advised to just shut the hell up and deal with it behind closed doors as comments like these just make people look at them worse.

If your players were Chinese swimmers and they had been encouraged to unknowingly take PEDs by there manager the World would be calling for them to be banned for up to 4 years.

It is a shame that your players find themselves in the position they are, but the reality is the Essendon FC club is responsible for the problem not ASADA or it's rules.

Do we the wider footy public support Essendon as per Little's comment today?