Review Dogs choke the life out of The Eagles

Did you listen to the broadcast?
No.
But I wouldn’t have sooked about it if I had.
Have you heard people saying stupid things on this website?
Writing long essays like they make believe they are journalists?
Making up childish and stupid names?
Don’t get me wrong, sometimes the commentary isn’t great, but at least their being paid.
The sooking about them is more about jealousy.

Who cares.
People post here and abuse opposition players all the time.
Call opposition teams childish names like norf or whorethorn.
If supporters want our players and coaches to toughen up, we should probably stop sooking about commentators so much.

People complaining about commentators being crap is making our players soft is a ripper theory.

No.
Don’t get me wrong, sometimes the commentary isn’t great, but at least their being paid.
Yeah I'm reading one of those stupid things right now

I enjoyed Bont putting Reid on his ass early. I like Reid and seems like a decent kid even with the media fawning over him for 18 months, but after coming in and giving Dusty-like don’t argues to established players from the start I think that will be an early career moment he remembers.

I just rewatched the whole broadcast after attending the game. Dermotts comments on Sanders weren’t that bad? A touch unnecessary but you’d think he was really going at the kid based on some of the commentary here, the point he was making was we’ve really turned him into a selfless player quickly as perhaps he would’ve been reluctant to pass in the under 18s. I don’t think he’s wrong but I also don’t think people care.

Some thoughts ...
  • Gallagher and Sanders are pure footballers. Good decision makers, tough and kick the ball efficiently
  • Darcy is a more competitive ruckman than Lobb. Better second efforts and pressure acts. Not his best game, though we should persist and not be tempted by Lobb's VFL form (where he is the primary target)
  • Williams is a better HBF than wingman. He was moved to the wing off the back of one poor game in the GF in 2021. He's not the best 1-1 defender, though is so composed with ball in hand from the back 50. With Richards, Williams and Bramble disposing from the backline, our forwards will be queueing up
  • Whilst he didn't make the best in the report, Naughts gets my 3 votes. 13 score involvements and played a brilliant team game. Watch his celebration after West's 3rd quarter goal. Quality player and individual. Team first!
  • Dale is out of form (better in 2nd half) and maybe worth trying on the wing instead of Williams.

No.
Making up childish and stupid names?

Your high horse posts are becoming quite annoying.

People complaining about commentators being crap is making our players soft is a ripper theory.
I didn’t say that lol.
I’m saying soft whining supporters shouldn’t sook about actual players, coaches etc.
Being jealous is not really cool. Dreaming you’re worthy of being a paid commentator, because you write an essay, or can make up a childish name, on some free website, is next level.

I didn’t say that lol.
I’m saying soft whining supporters shouldn’t sook about actual players, coaches etc.
Being jealous is not really cool. Dreaming you’re worthy of being a paid commentator, because you write an essay, or can make up a childish name, on some free website, is next level.
Who is jealous of Derm? Most of us would feel for him now (he has a cancer battle as I understand it).

Irrelevant though to his poor professional display. Did you listen to it? It was awful.

Your high horse posts are becoming quite annoying.
I like hearing people talk about the game.
Constructive criticism also regarding the game.
Sooking about paid commentators, whilst commenting for free is pretty funny.
Imagine if a commentator thought he was funny calling us the bullflogs, how many people would get on their “high horse”?
Jealousy is a curse.

Imagine if a commentator thought he was funny calling us the bullflogs, how many people would get on their “high horse”?
Jealousy a curse.

The **** you on about?

Jealousy a curse.

Everyone on here may as well no longer criticise any players, because if you do, you’re therefore jealous that you’re not an AFL player. That’s your current logic.

See how ridiculous this sounds?

It’s a footy forum, to discuss, basically anything about the great game.

Everyone on here may as well no longer criticise any players, because if you do, you’re therefore jealous that you’re not an AFL player. That’s your current logic.

See how ridiculous this sounds?

It’s a footy forum, to discuss, basically anything about the great game.
It was about the commentators.
People criticising commentators for criticism of players, while going full numpty themselves.
Who cares about the commentators, let alone obsess about them.

And I clearly said people are jealous of the commentators, not the players.

It was about the commentators.
People criticising commentators for criticism of players, while going full numpty themselves.
Who cares about the commentators, let alone obsess about them.

And I clearly said people are jealous of the commentators, not the players.

I know that’s what you said, and how is it any different to people on here criticising players? It’s literally the exact same 😂

People criticising commentators = they are jealous and want their job.

People criticising players = nothing to see here.

If I was going to be jealous of anyone it would be the ripped athletes in their prime earning upwards of 500k a year performing incredible feats of skill, athleticism and bravery. Not the fat, old, dimwitted has-beens who ruin our enjoyment of the game with their inept commentary. If I was going to be jealous of a commentator it would be someone like Anthony Hudson, who is a master of his craft, and earned his position based on merit rather than a membership to the old boys club.

I know the opposition was weak, but one player who really took his opportunity today was Taylor Duryea

Bought a calmness and experience down back.

19 disposals, 8 intercept possessions, 3 score involvements and 100% disposal efficiency.

Very tidy.

Settle down, people - we won!
Yes, I came here to get some analysis and insights into the game because I missed the broadcast.

Looks like I'll have to wait until they put up the full replay.

I know the opposition was weak, but one player who really took his opportunity today was Taylor Duryea

Bought a calmness and experience down back.

19 disposals, 8 intercept possessions, 3 score involvements and 100% disposal efficiency.

Very tidy.

I was one who said he was finished - played very well today!

Some thoughts ...
  • Gallagher and Sanders are pure footballers. Good decision makers, tough and kick the ball efficiently
  • Darcy is a more competitive ruckman than Lobb. Better second efforts and pressure acts. Not his best game, though we should persist and not be tempted by Lobb's VFL form (where he is the primary target)
  • Williams is a better HBF than wingman. He was moved to the wing off the back of one poor game in the GF in 2021. He's not the best 1-1 defender, though is so composed with ball in hand from the back 50. With Richards, Williams and Bramble disposing from the backline, our forwards will be queueing up
  • Whilst he didn't make the best in the report, Naughts gets my 3 votes. 13 score involvements and played a brilliant team game. Watch his celebration after West's 3rd quarter goal. Quality player and individual. Team first!
  • Dale is out of form (better in 2nd half) and maybe worth trying on the wing instead of Williams.
I agree Williams is better in the backline than on the wing, but he’s serviceable on a wing and I like the flexibility it brings to the team with him being able to go back to cover an in-game injury if needed. Not a bad shout to mix it up with Dale though.

It will be interesting to see where the ladder lies after round 10 because right now our double ups are against the entire top 4 plus the Cats who haven’t lost yet (as well as Norf).
But we have an easy draw right? It’s an absolute furphy the easy draw

Carlton who almost made a GF have had an easier start to the year

Review Dogs choke the life out of The Eagles