News Draft Prospects 2021

I guess you have to take these draft prospect write ups with a grain of salt.

Reading the above makes you think she’s one of the picks of the draft!

Her highlights package does look pretty good. Looks a bit of a natural. Very nice mover. I always tend to try and look for any hint of awkwardness in movement, kicking or handballing which is often prevalent in prospects a bit lower in the draft and there is certainly none of that.

Might be a pretty good call for top 10 Lord of the Wings

I guess you have to take these draft prospect write ups with a grain of salt.

Reading the above makes you think she’s one of the picks of the draft!

Her highlights package does look pretty good. Looks a bit of a natural. Very nice mover. I always tend to try and look for any hint of awkwardness in movement, kicking or handballing which is often prevalent in prospects a bit lower in the draft and there is certainly none of that.

Might be a pretty good call for top 10 Lord of the Wings

Too right TigermanM2
Some of the girls that look good & have great write ups, don't even get drafted
Even with our club, there has been comments like best player available
But Sheahan did say
"Our recruiter Trent Mosbey has done a power of work in identifying the best young talent in Victoria and around the country.
We’re really scouring the draft at the moment to find what we want and what’s available."
So identifying the best young talent in Victoria and around the country, are we looking interstate as well????
With find what we want and what’s available, what do we want????

So identifying the best young talent in Victoria and around the country, are we looking interstate as well????
With find what we want and what’s available, what do we want????
I think Sarah Black summed it up nicely in her write up in terms of our needs.

“The Tigers now have a strong first-choice midfield, but struggle for depth below the likes of Mon Conti, Ellie McKenzie and Sarah Hosking. Recruit Jess Hosking will assist somewhat, but more help is needed. Key forward Courtney Wakefield had an outstanding 2021, but the 34-year-old mum from Mildura is coming into her last season or two".

We need Midfield depth and forward power.

With still a couple of unknowns with father daughter and zones that are likely to play out in the next week, up until our 2nd pick (Vic only) draft could look like this.
  1. Geelong - Georgia Prespakis
  2. St Kilda - Tess Craven
  3. Richmond - Tara Slender
  4. Geelong - Ella Friend
  5. Geelong - Amanda Ling
  6. Carlton - Aurora Smith
  7. Carlton - Stella Reid
  8. St Kilda - Gabbi Featherstone
  9. North Melbourne - Poppy Schaap
  10. Geelong - Annie Lee
  11. Richmond - Emelia Yassir
  12. North Melbourne -
  13. Western Bulldogs -
(Georgia Campbell father daughter and Tasmania’s Perri King going outside first round to Bulldogs and North Melbourne with them nominating this way).

If St Kilda believe that Tess Craven who is arguably the next best inside mid is a next clear choice moving on from losing Rowbottom to Gold Coast they may take Tess at No. 2, or if they think that its a line ball between her and other midfield options, they may go for a tall forward at 2 and use their next pick on a mid. This tall could be Slender, Reid or Friend who can all rotate as mids. Either way I think that the 3 talls here will just be shuffled between 3 of Richmond, Geelong, St Kilda and Carlton who all need tall forwards.

I think Geelong would like GWV’s Ella Friend as she would suit their draft policy of GWV girls. I like her long penetrating left foot and physicality, watching the Collingwood and Bulldogs VFLW game she set up their only goal for the game with a mark, and precision long kick to her teammate (The commentators credited Tahlia Meier with this but it was Friend), Her marking and kicking are excellent. Either Slender, Friend or Reid here with Carlton maybe in the mix if one falls.

It would be a nice combination for Carlton who could pick up Aurora Smith and Stella Reid considering their losses during trade week if it falls this way.

With all of Geelong, St Kilda, Tigers, Carlton and St Kilda requiring forward power I think that no matter which way the first half dozen picks go Gabbi Featherstone and Poppy Schapp could be the next options as forwards here. Both have plenty to offer.

I think Jaide Anthony may fall lower than expected because the clubs involved are unlikely to have a priority to drafting defenders with the first 10 - 12 picks, (with the exception of Geelong as their next pick is no. 31 and they will need to take Annie Lee with their 4th pick #10 Vic)

If either St Kilda or North grab Emelia Yassir before our second pick, then, any of Eliza James, Chloe Leonard or Brooke Vickers could be next available as midfield options.

Interesting if the Saints take Craven?

I have to say I think Friend is the most talented of the talls. A big pre-season and her fitness will improve heaps. Already has the athleticism edge over Slender.

Reid is a little outside for my liking. Wouldn't consider her with our 1st pick.
ya personally not the biggest fan of reid that early, slender, campbell & craven are my favourites after prespakis, but campbell is club tied. would love us going for slender if not her then craven more than anything, who knows what happens at our 2nd pick

Interesting if the Saints take Craven?

I have to say I think Friend is the most talented of the talls. A big pre-season and her fitness will improve heaps. Already has the athleticism edge over Slender.

Reid is a little outside for my liking. Wouldn't consider her with our 1st pick.

Yeah Craven to Saints is an interesting choice, but may play out that way as they need inside grunt to allow Patrikios & Smith more outside run
Maybe they take Nyakoat Dojiok with their 2nd pick for that KPD depth i think they need
Ella Fiend is a ripper player & won't last past Cats or Blues picks
Reid is a no from me as well for our 1st pick, i'd take Slender or Friend

I think Sarah Black summed it up nicely in her write up in terms of our needs.

“The Tigers now have a strong first-choice midfield, but struggle for depth below the likes of Mon Conti, Ellie McKenzie and Sarah Hosking. Recruit Jess Hosking will assist somewhat, but more help is needed. Key forward Courtney Wakefield had an outstanding 2021, but the 34-year-old mum from Mildura is coming into her last season or two".

We need Midfield depth and forward power.

With still a couple of unknowns with father daughter and zones that are likely to play out in the next week, up until our 2nd pick (Vic only) draft could look like this.
  1. Geelong - Georgia Prespakis
  2. St Kilda - Tess Craven
  3. Richmond - Tara Slender
  4. Geelong - Ella Friend
  5. Geelong - Amanda Ling
  6. Carlton - Aurora Smith
  7. Carlton - Stella Reid
  8. St Kilda - Gabbi Featherstone
  9. North Melbourne - Poppy Schaap
  10. Geelong - Annie Lee
  11. Richmond - Emelia Yassir
  12. North Melbourne -
  13. Western Bulldogs -
(Georgia Campbell father daughter and Tasmania’s Perri King going outside first round to Bulldogs and North Melbourne with them nominating this way).

If St Kilda believe that Tess Craven who is arguably the next best inside mid is a next clear choice moving on from losing Rowbottom to Gold Coast they may take Tess at No. 2, or if they think that its a line ball between her and other midfield options, they may go for a tall forward at 2 and use their next pick on a mid. This tall could be Slender, Reid or Friend who can all rotate as mids. Either way I think that the 3 talls here will just be shuffled between 3 of Richmond, Geelong, St Kilda and Carlton who all need tall forwards.

I think Geelong would like GWV’s Ella Friend as she would suit their draft policy of GWV girls. I like her long penetrating left foot and physicality, watching the Collingwood and Bulldogs VFLW game she set up their only goal for the game with a mark, and precision long kick to her teammate (The commentators credited Tahlia Meier with this but it was Friend), Her marking and kicking are excellent. Either Slender, Friend or Reid here with Carlton maybe in the mix if one falls.

It would be a nice combination for Carlton who could pick up Aurora Smith and Stella Reid considering their losses during trade week if it falls this way.

With all of Geelong, St Kilda, Tigers, Carlton and St Kilda requiring forward power I think that no matter which way the first half dozen picks go Gabbi Featherstone and Poppy Schapp could be the next options as forwards here. Both have plenty to offer.

I think Jaide Anthony may fall lower than expected because the clubs involved are unlikely to have a priority to drafting defenders with the first 10 - 12 picks, (with the exception of Geelong as their next pick is no. 31 and they will need to take Annie Lee with their 4th pick #10 Vic)

If either St Kilda or North grab Emelia Yassir before our second pick, then, any of Eliza James, Chloe Leonard or Brooke Vickers could be next available as midfield options.

Fantastic post toenail63, bang on the money
Yeah Craven would be next in line after Rowbottom as that inside mid that Saints need & i think they need KPD depth rather than fwd
Friend won't last past our or Cat's picks, we both need KPF players, with more likely Slender to us & Friend to Cats
Personally after the first 5 or 6 it's pretty even for talent, just depends what a club wants fwd or def
I'll have a crack at the top 12 picks
  1. Geelong - Georgia Prespakis CC
  2. St Kilda - Tess Craven GF
  3. Richmond - Tara Slender BP (175cm, for mine the best utility in Australia, can play anywhere & do it well, a true leader on field)
  4. Geelong - Ella Friend GWV
  5. Geelong - Stella Reid OC
  6. Carlton - Amanda Ling OC
  7. Carlton - Emelia Yassir CC
  8. St Kilda - Nyakoat Dojiok GWV
  9. North Melbourne - Poppy Schaap GF
  10. Geelong - Annie Lee GF
  11. Richmond - Ingrid Houtsma GF (176cm midfield utility with massive upside & X factor)

ya personally not the biggest fan of reid that early, slender, campbell & craven are my favourites after prespakis, but campbell is club tied. would love us going for slender if not her then craven more than anything, who knows what happens at our 2nd pick

I'm in the love us to draft Tara Slender camp, our 1st pick please
If the Saints do a dirty on us, then my 2nd fave is Ella Friend
Not fussed who we pick with our 2nd, they'll be good :)

Fantastic post toenail63, bang on the money
Yeah Craven would be next in line after Rowbottom as that inside mid that Saints need & i think they need KPD depth rather than fwd
Friend won't last past our or Cat's picks, we both need KPF players, with more likely Slender to us & Friend to Cats
Personally after the first 5 or 6 it's pretty even for talent, just depends what a club wants fwd or def
I'll have a crack at the top 12 picks
  3. Richmond - Tara Slender BP (175cm, for mine the best utility in Australia, can play anywhere & do it well, a true leader on field)
  4. Geelong - Ella Friend GWV
  5. Geelong - Stella Reid OC
  6. Carlton - Amanda Ling OC
  7. Carlton - Emelia Yassir CC
  8. St Kilda - Nyakoat Dojiok GWV
  9. North Melbourne - Poppy Schaap GF
  10. Geelong - Annie Lee GF
  11. Richmond - Ingrid Houtsma GF (176cm midfield utility with massive upside & X factor)

My Top 11 Victorian picks are slightly different.

3. Richmond - Ella Friend GWV
4. Geelong - Nyakoat Doijok GWV
5. Geelong - Tara Slender BP
6. Carlton - Stella Reid OC
7. Carlton - Gabbi Featherston GF
8. St Kilda - Amanda Ling OC
9. North Melb - Annie Lee GF
10. Geelong - Ingrid Houtsma GF
11. Richmond - Eliza James OC

My Top 11 Victorian picks are slightly different.

3. Richmond - Ella Friend GWV
4. Geelong - Nyakoat Doijok GWV
5. Geelong - Tara Slender BP
6. Carlton - Stella Reid OC
7. Carlton - Gabbi Featherston GF
8. St Kilda - Amanda Ling OC
9. North Melb - Annie Lee GF
10. Geelong - Ingrid Houtsma GF
11. Richmond - Eliza James OC

i like this as well Lord of the Wings, Ella Friend & Eliza James would be a good haul for us, certainly helps our fwd line

Think the last game of our AFLW season against the Dogs highlighted just how much we need to boost our midfield. Our key forwards were "on" in Brennan, Wakefield and Stahl but Blackburn, Lamb and Lochland had an absolute picnic through the middle for the Dogs who were themselves a chunk away from the top teams while they are giving their youngsters decent game time.

Makes it so much harder when we practically concede midfield battle before the ball is bounced.

I wonder who lured her back to the game?

View attachment 1182186

A club is in her ear. You don't retire at 33 and just nominate for the draft out of the blue unless you have an idea where you are going. Number of Vic clubs are in need of a short term key forward solution. Thinking Blues or North.

Saints have a Grieser or bust problem so wouldn't rule them out but you'd think, as they probably won't make finals, developing a young key would be a better go for them.

A club is in her ear. You don't retire at 33 and just nominate for the draft out of the blue unless you have an idea where you are going. Number of Vic clubs are in need of a short term key forward solution. Thinking Blues or North.

Saints have a Grieser or bust problem so wouldn't rule them out but you'd think, as they probably won't make finals, developing a young key would be a better go for them.

Oh yes, she knows where she is going - that's why I put it up - it's not a suck and see situation. I'd say the Blues if I had to pick one scum of a Club ;) :D

Did I see that Phoebe Monahan has been picked up by the lions?

Certainly did - they compared her as a like for like for Emma Zielke - bit of a stretch for mine on last year's form - but at her best if she re-produce it we know good she can be. Watched her closely at Port games and she was so disinterested and dispirited - to me at least. Love to know how that went down!

I wonder who lured her back to the game?

View attachment 1182186

Another veteran, former Brisbane and Gold Coast skipper Leah Kaslar, has nominated for the Victorian pool of the draft.

The 35-year-old was delisted by the Suns after a cumulative 36 games across her five seasons at both clubs.

Kaslar is more traditionally a key defender, but spent considerable time in attack at Gold Coast.

Another veteran, former Brisbane and Gold Coast skipper Leah Kaslar, has nominated for the Victorian pool of the draft.

The 35-year-old was delisted by the Suns after a cumulative 36 games across her five seasons at both clubs.

Kaslar is more traditionally a key defender, but spent considerable time in attack at Gold Coast.

Thought she had a pretty good job as an Environmental Scientist up in QLD

Again some club has her in mind for her to make such a big move it seems.

Certainly did - they compared her as a like for like for Emma Zielke - bit of a stretch for mine on last year's form - but at her best if she re-produce it we know good she can be. Watched her closely at Port games and she was so disinterested and dispirited - to me at least. Love to know how that went down!

She took her hurt out of the club. Unprofessional and happy to see the back of her.

Given that draftees can only sign 1 year contracts, St Kilda and Geelong have their work cut out for them to keep Essendon & Hawthorn from poaching Prespakis and Rowbottom
in hindsight it worked out better for us to draft Ellie McKenzie last year & pick one of Tara Slender, Stella Reid or Ella Friend this year
Less pressure on us as the 3 we have a choice on won't be on top of the two expansion teams wish list
Our Vic pick 3 this year has turned out to be a blessing in disguise
Any of the 3 players have huge upside to turn into valuable members of our team, without the immediate pressure of expansion teams sniffing around, get one of them into our club, become best friends for life with our players and we're winning games, no-one would want to leave
I was rapt McKenzie extended she seems pretty happy and fitted in well with the group , I reckon when hawks enter she would have been no 1 target

News Draft Prospects 2021