Draft Smokys - Who May Get Picked Up Surprisingly

Jimmy Gwilt

Sep 22, 2005
Northern Suburbs
who will be the smokys of the draft u think from tac cup and elsewhere - can be in national and rookie drafts
e.g. a bottom age player that will get picked up this year that u thought would next year
e.g. john anthony,clint bartram

vinnie_vegas69 said:
I don't know exactly HOW surprising it might be, but I'd think Dean Kelly will be picked up, and he's not on a lot of the Top 50's going around.

well thats good to hear cos i used to play against him and thought he was a good player, though he must have improved a bit but
hope he does get picked up

vinnie_vegas69 said:
I don't know exactly HOW surprising it might be, but I'd think Dean Kelly will be picked up, and he's not on a lot of the Top 50's going around.

not surprising at all, he is definately in my top 50. Got another smokie, but will be keeping him a secret for the phantom draft.

Sam Jacobs ;)

Haven't seen much about him posted on here, but he's played senior SANFL for half a season rucking against men in a very tough competition. Did represent at the carnival but didn't have a great one, he is better than that though. Big body for an 18 year old loves to throw it around too. Has good hands - gets a lot of clearances - and can kick a goal. Predominantly a genuine 200cm ruckman.

Could see him go maybe third round or lower. Good kid too!

I reckon former Essendon and RIchmond player Ben Haynes is a chance of getting picked up again, has dominated the SANFL this year and is only 25.

Jason Davenport from our VFL team would be a decent late round pick up or rookie list option. 21yo, 185cm, 78kg.

Runs, carries and can kick goals from the wing. Has a fair bit of tow and has a nice long kick, if a little enigmatic with disposal.

After the success of Egan coming through the EDFL and our VFL team, I'd like to give Davenport a shot at replicating M.Egan's step up into the AFL. He is exactly the type of player we need more of and with Tenace and Byrnes going nowhere fast I reckon he would be a good addition.

Unwritten_Law said:
Jason Davenport from our VFL team would be a decent late round pick up or rookie list option. 21yo, 185cm, 78kg.

Runs, carries and can kick goals from the wing. Has a fair bit of tow and has a nice long kick, if a little enigmatic with disposal.

After the success of Egan coming through the EDFL and our VFL team, I'd like to give Davenport a shot at replicating M.Egan's step up into the AFL. He is exactly the type of player we need more of and with Tenace and Byrnes going nowhere fast I reckon he would be a good addition.

I've actually played against Davenport when he played for Nilma Darnum. He had a shocker that day. I'm pretty surprised at how well he is going in the VFL.

I'm not exactly sure how he got noticed in the EDFL. He must have had a good game against Bunyip when they had the 3 Ablett's and Ben Ross playing for them.

Budda 230 said:
I'm not exactly sure how he got noticed in the EDFL. He must have had a good game against Bunyip when they had the 3 Ablett's and Ben Ross playing for them.

The story about Davenport is that he followed a mate down to an open training session with the Cats. His mate didn't make the cut but Davenport did.

Could certainly see him getting a rookie-list spot, or a late draft pick. One of those guys (running, wingman) who would be more suited to AFL footy that country footy (where you have to get your own footy).

haze.13 said:
Sam Jacobs ;)

Haven't seen much about him posted on here, but he's played senior SANFL for half a season rucking against men in a very tough competition. Did represent at the carnival but didn't have a great one, he is better than that though. Big body for an 18 year old loves to throw it around too. Has good hands - gets a lot of clearances - and can kick a goal. Predominantly a genuine 200cm ruckman.

Could see him go maybe third round or lower. Good kid too!

Good call. I reckon he'll go too.

wat about any of the NT boys?
wats ur opinions on those smokeys?
anyone else think Jo Anderson and Nathan Djerrkura will be a definate draft?

Andrew Jenke - Old Haileybury VAFA, won the Woodrow medal, dominant ruckman, only about 22, could be a decent pickup for clubs in need of height.

Anyone from W.A think Danny Chartres (Peel) is a chance? Rookie-list?

I've seen him live 3 times this year and he has been more impressive than Gumby, albeit he is 20-21 I think.

Mark Austin from the glenelg tigers has played a few league games this year. Missed out on the under 18 champs becuase of a broken wrist. Plays centre half back, is a real athlete with sub 12 second 100M time and stands at 194cm. Makes the odd error but a club can fix that up.

Daniel "Crusher" Currie of the Knights and formerly Eltham. Goin to this years draft camp.
Also former Eltham players adam henderson and sean lee and possibly Dale Equid

Dale Didak #134 said:
Robbie Tarrant - Chris' Brother

Has anyone actually seen this guy play, or are we just jumping to suspicions because he is the brother of an overrated player?

he had a shoulder reco at the start of the year, ha splayed about 5 game sof footy, somehow going to draft camp and some of us on the board are getting caught up in it all...

How about we look at the Dean kelly's, and the leigh adam's, players seriously udnerrated who are genuine footballers, all class and dont gather the respect they deserve by the wider recruiting/ supporter fraternity.

johnson_26 said:
Has anyone actually seen this guy play, or are we just jumping to suspicions because he is the brother of an overrated player?

he had a shoulder reco at the start of the year, ha splayed about 5 game sof footy, somehow going to draft camp and some of us on the board are getting caught up in it all...

How about we look at the Dean kelly's, and the leigh adam's, players seriously udnerrated who are genuine footballers, all class and dont gather the respect they deserve by the wider recruiting/ supporter fraternity.

I played against him in the Sunraysia League and he was reasonable. Probably about the 4th best player in his team. None of the other 3 made pioneers. Admittidly I haven't seen him play since he moved away, but unless he has drastically improved since then I can't see him making an AFL list (Unless the name continues to carry him ;) )

Draft Smokys - Who May Get Picked Up Surprisingly