Eagles Leadership

Big_Ives

Sep 27, 2007
Broome
Is it just me or are they lacking a player who is a real leader out on the field?

sure glass is clean as a nuns undies but we are lacking that x factor we got from cousins and worsfold back in the day?

o ye what the ____ ? waters was the only one who had a fair go. that shit that hall done was ridiculous!!!! hell go for a long time me thinks

Do you reckon Benny is sitting back with a bit of a smirk on his face?
It's true...Ben Cousins WAS the West Coast Eagles...too bad he liked good sh*t :(

The Eagles are seriously lacking in leadership. Even when we didn't have Cousins and Judd last year they seemed to still play with the same spirit, working on borrowed leadership I guess. I think they lack leaders, their fitness seems croppy, and the fact our Captain in Glass is injured purely reflects how the team is playing atm.

The really sad thing is that I would love to argue all the bad points about him.
But right now, I miss him dearly

The leadership group will probably change. Stenglein for one isn't really playing like a leader, Waters is leading on field as best as he can without much support. Another player I'm really liking right now is Brett Jones. He's gonna be an important backbone in our backline in the years to come.

We've got about 5 problems:

1. Judd & Cousins gone - team harmony.

2. Injured Players - score tonight is what I expected.

3. Sole off-season purpose was lectures on not getting into trouble. Wa is Barnaba that said "winning football games doesn't even come into equation this year".

4. Forward line entry - effieciency, defensive traits, crumbing and gameplan is a disgrace. And its not even the fwd's fault. There is simply no system. Whoever the fwd lime coach is, should be SACKED. This tripe has been going on for about 8 years now.

5. Add all of the above up - Player Confidence is down the hole.

Edit: There was a thread about questioning Glass as Captain. i said it should of been Cox.

I was wrong, it shown of Beau.

Beau is probably a bit young at the moment. Tell you what though, if I was one of the young uns - I would fairly be letting the older guys know about it soon.

Glassy is a good bloke, but it's hard to lead on field from fullback. Probably someone like Cox would be better.

On the points made in this thread about Cousins and Chick, there are no regrets in letting them go. They took their selfish habits with them.

Beau is probably a bit young at the moment. Tell you what though, if I was one of the young uns - I would fairly be letting the older guys know about it soon.

Weren't Worsfold and Judd both 22 when they were made captain? Waters is 22.

Unfortunately for him, with the "new breed" campaign, the taxi and goldfish episodes may count against him.

Glass goes alright.

cousins was wc. without him look at us.
No mate. You're confused. Cuz was a natural leader of men and longstanding Captain/leader of the team.
Both of the team's captains from the last several years left at the exact same time. Even the oldest players at the club will have been used to Cuz's leadership, they would have played most (if not all) of their careers with Cuz at the club.

The leadership 'gap' in the team is muhc more noticable then I thought (or maybe hoped) it would be. Especially in the midfield (obviously), but the effects have spilled out to the rest of the team too, even our much touted defence seems to be struggling.

I reckon it will sort itself out over the coming weeks/months - the more natural leaders in the player group will instinctively start gelling together on the field, it's just they have to get used to having completely new leadership & leading each other as well. I get the feeling that we will be looking at a different West Coast by the end of this season, or the start of next.

I thought Glass showed good leadership at the back tonight. Spangher would have been comfortable knowing his captain is there with him, though we also need a leader in the middle. Who is going to step up and take that mantle?

Glass was smart, he ha his go at barry when everything had calmed down, he ____ing whalloped him pretty hard too, without hitting him high then barry gave away a free.

His leadership is fine, a cool head but not too forgiving. Waters is indeed a natural leader but he can't just take it off glassy.

Glass was smart, he ha his go at barry when everything had calmed down, he ____ing whalloped him pretty hard too, without hitting him high then barry gave away a free.

His leadership is fine, a cool head but not too forgiving. Waters is indeed a natural leader but he can't just take it off glassy.

Yeah I got that impression too.

After the "incident" Glass' tackles on Hall definitely had a bit of extra bite to them. Instead of just grabbing him and holding him as he usually does, Glass would tend to add an extra push or shove - like in the second quarter when Glass caught Hall holding the ball and instead of just tackling him, he really drove him into the ground.

He's the silent assassin

Glassy is a good bloke, but it's hard to lead on field from fullback. Probably someone like Cox would be better.

On the points made in this thread about Cousins and Chick, there are no regrets in letting them go. They took their selfish habits with them.

:thumbsu: Agreed.

I think its insane to say Cousins = West Coast. Of course him leaving has had a huge impact on us. He was an amazing footballer and he definitely held the position of our 'spiritual leader' as people like to call it, but I feel its hugely degrading to say that our team is nothing without him. That isn't giving us enough credit at all.

Think about all those games we played without him last year! We still fought hard and played decent footy, we actually played with passion and won matches and this had nothing to do with Ben Cousins. He was in a whole other country getting treated for his drug addiction! It simply can't be that the only reason we are playing like s**t is that we no longer have him. Because if that was the case we would have played this utter crap in all those games last year. And the fact is we didn't.

I still have faith. We can get our act together! It's gonna happen! :thumbsu::)

Eagles Leadership